Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Carpet Classics

Founded 1976 • With Angi since January 2006

5.0

(92) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13765 SW Pacific Hwy.

Portland, OR 97223

Description

Over 40 years of quality service in same location. If you don't know carpet, know your carpet dealer"...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/03/2018


Ellen C.

Jason did an awesome job of installing our carpet. He was very respectful, came each day on time and let us know what to expect for the following days. He finished on time and even brought in some furniture that was delivered by UPS. He was a very nice person to work with and the price of the carpet was quite reasonable and the quality is great. I would recommend Carpet Classics!

Description of Work
1700+ square feet of carpet installed in our home.

Category carpet installation

5.0

01/21/2018


Chris D.

After going to Lowe's in Tigard (and being given the bait and switch action...you get the whole house for one price...except this and this and oh, by the way you will need to pay extra at the dump for hazardous waste because you had some animal urine on your carpet. I had taken all of that carpet up, trashed it and put Kilz Maxx down on the floor. Which works really well.) we went to Home Depot where we received a more professional approach but still weren't sure what to do. Lots of research on the internet pointed to avoiding Big Box stores so we went to Carpet Classics. Jim is extremely knowledgeable, professional, customer service oriented and easy to work with. Jim came out to do measurements, called to remind us of the install date and called after the install to see how we liked it. The installer, Don Roberts, was an ace. He did a beautiful and timely job in our home. He kept the work area as clean as possible everyday. He vacuumed as he went and made sure that he didn't track dirt in other areas of the house. He and his support person, Zack were careful with our furniture that needed to be moved. I'm kind of OCD person and his seems and edges are terrific. I only have high praise for Don and Jim.

Description of Work
New flooring in dining room, great room, hall and master bedroom (approximately 2000 sq ft).

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/27/2017


J I.

These guys are GREAT! Jim (owner) works in the small shop and is knowledgeable, friendly and easy to work with. It is great to support a small business owner who has been in the industry for 30+ years. The installers were awesome! Showed up on time, worked very hard and the installation is perfect. No short cuts taken, great removal and clean up, moved the furniture and all with a smile. We highly recommended Jim and his installers!

Description of Work
Remove old carpet and pad, install new. Move furniture for install.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/18/2017


KAREN H.

We were very pleased with this experience. First, I was most impressed with the consumer information that Jim provided on the Carpet Classics web site. It's important to me to understand the products that I'm buying and knowing the pros/cons of each of the various options available. We were very comfortable with the recommendations that Jim gave us and most happy with carpet that we selected. This time of year we were able to take advantage of promotional pricing. It was quite a nice surprise how quickly we were able to schedule the installation. The installers, Jason and Darrel, were two really great guys and did a highly professional installation. Without complaint they did all of the heavy lifting when it came to moving the furniture, which amounted to quite a bit of stuff when the whole house was involved. In the past I had some limited carpeting experience with one of the more popular big box stores. That experience was enough to convince me that I wanted a more full-service operation this time around.

Description of Work
We had all of the carpeting in our house replaced.

Category carpet installation

5.0

11/01/2016


MARILYN K.

I was seeking a pet-friendly, easy-care saxony carpet. Prior to visiting Carpet Classics, I had visited a big box store, then a SW Portland carpet company who was "pushing" a polyester carpet which had bad reviews on the internet. The Carpet Classics owner, Jim, quickly helped me find a pet-friendly nylon carpet with great reviews. His price was considerably less than the other companies, and his measurements confirmed that I did not need the large quantity that the other companies told me I needed. In addition, unlike the others, Jim did not charge extra for problems associated with the construction of the house that resulted in more labor by the installers. The end result was that I have a better carpet for a better price... a win-win! In addition to the great sales assistance, Jim's installers, Jason and Dayle, were wonderful. They arrived when they said they would, did a great job. They moved all the heavy furniture, vacuumed each room very thoroughly after re-carpeting, and had the skills to overcome builder-caused problems with the baseboards and old tack strips. They even carpeted an ugly plywood platform in the closet at no additional charge. They both had great personalities, and obviously cared as much as Jim about providing their customers with outstanding service. I will definitely recommend Carpet Classics to anyone wishing to carpet their homes or businesses.

Description of Work
All carpeted areas of home (living room, family room, office, and 2 bedrooms) were removed and replaced with new carpeting.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/22/2016


Jeff W.

Owner Jim Goddard is knowledgeable, helpful and an honest straight forward businessman. We need more proprietors like him. Job went just as sold. Special thanks to installer Jason Martin who is a craftsman at what he does. The passion exhibited by this company is top notch.

Description of Work
Estimated, suggested carpet type and installed as agreed.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/29/2016


Nancy W.

Fabulous service. Jimm Goddard helped me select carpet that was right for our usage and lifestyle. Carpet was installed about three weeks after it was ordered. Installers were great. Helped us move furniture and spread the job over two days so we were able to have room for everything that came out of the bedrooms and hall. Everything was cleaned up when they were done and no dings on walls or furniture. Nice, friendly folks!

Description of Work
Helped me select carpet and provided installation.

Category carpet installation

5.0

10/26/2015


Tacy L.

Jim at Carpet Classics helped me select carpet for a large family room, stairs, hallway and bedrooms. Jim was very knowledgeable and incredibly helpful. He provided a very personalized carpet selection experience completely opposite of my experience at a big box store. Based on my answers to a few quick questions about my house and use of the rooms needing carpet, Jim quickly made recommendations about appropriate carpet choices and made the selection process very easy. He came to my home to measure and provide more information. The carpet was installed within 2 weeks of the date I ordered it. His installation crew was awesome!! They were very professional, friendly and hardworking. They moved all the furniture, explained exactly what they were doing, finished when they said they would and did an amazing job. The carpet looks and feels great! I would highly recommend Jim and his installation crew to anyone!

Description of Work
Sold and installed carpet.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

09/11/2015


RONALD S.

The entire process from purchase to install was our best experience ever when dealing with the purchase and installation of carpets. The owner, Jim, has been in the business for a long time and was able to provide us with excellent materials and workmanship. The installers, Jason and Dale were unbelievable. They moved our furniture, of which we paid a nominal fee for but they were extremely professional, quick and gentle with the large items. There were very bad animal smells on the old carpet, pad and floor that required extreme measures to insure they would not be there when the new carpet was laid. They told us the best material that would take away the smell, We purchased the gallon of Kilz and they painted the floor and after it dried the smell was completely gone. The installers insured everything was exactly the way it was before they started. Their efficiency, professionalism and helpfulness is not often seen in small businesses but they were the best. When we purchase more carpets for the other rooms in our condo we will go back to Carpet Classics in a heart beat.

Description of Work
We purchased carpet for two rooms in our Condo and Carpet Classics installed.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

08/03/2015


Linda K.

We used Jim Goddard's Carpet Classics previously for carpet and always had a great experience, so went back for an estimate when we needed new carpet for our upstairs. As always, Mr. Goddard was most knowledgeable and helpful. He takes the time to understand what is the best fit for your lifestyle. His carpet installer Jason did a fantastic job. Jason and his helper Dale worked for 3 days to get the job done. They were so careful when moving furniture in and out of rooms. We had an issue with poorly constructed stairs and Jason advised us on how to correct the problem. We did so, then he installed the carpet and the stairs look perfect now. Jason takes great pride in his work and it certainly shows in the finished product. We also had laminate flooring that looks like wood planking installed in a large bonus room. Eric and Don were the installers. They did a great job. Both crews showed up on time, worked hard, cleaned up the work site. We are very happy with the work that was done.

Description of Work
Re-carpeted upstairs of a large two story home, including stairs with upgraded carpet and pad. Also installed wood plank laminate in a large bonus room and repaired carpet in two lower floor rooms.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

02/24/2015


Dan K.

It was great! Jim was excellent to work with. Very knowledgeable. We are confident the choice we made at his recommendation is the right one. The crew showed up on time and worked long hours to get the job done. The fellas moved the furniture around as they laid the carpet down. They handled the furniture with care and were also careful with the walls and trim. The guys were super pleasant and worked efficiently. Their work is top notch; no visible seams, etc.

Description of Work
Replaced carpets on stairs and entire upper level and one room on the main floor.

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/29/2014


Kathleen M.

We worked with Carpet Classics a year prior to install new carpets in the upstairs of our home and had an excellent experience. We had a flood in our basement earlier this year, which necessitated having the carpets replaced. We initially were going to work with the contractors who were doing the rest of the repair but after visiting their suggested showroom, we decided to go back to Carpet Classics, for quite a bit less than the contractors were estimating. As usual, Jim Goddard asked a bunch of questions about the intended use, volume of traffic, family conditions, etc. and then recommended only a couple of selections, which made choosing the right carpet so much less intimidating. As was our previous experience, he was professional, his work was impeccable and the quality unsurpassed. His pricing was very competitive. He explains everything thoroughly, takes a lot of time to ensure he eliminates as much waste as possible, and the outcome was just what we expected of him. I so very highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Removed existing carpet, installed new carpet throughout basement.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

07/03/2014


HENRY K.

Prior to the sale of our home it was necessary to re-carpet the entire downstairs ares of our house (A former rug cleaning company had used water to clean the carpet on which they had previously used only chemical dry cleaning. This literally dissolved the backing on the carpet causing it to wrinkle and come loose.) We had used Classic Carpets before to re-carpet our upstairs living room, guest room and master bedroom. Jim Goddard had been great during this work and had done a wonderful job. He is extremely knowledgeable and his carpet layers do a fine job. So we decided to use him again and we were not disappointed. He helped us select an excellent, reasonably priced Berber carpet which greatly improved the appearance of our lower level and carried a 5 year warren-tee. His carpet layers arrived on time and did excellent, highly professional work (as they had earlier in the upstairs area). Jim and his team are easy to work with and highly skilled. We recommended him to our eldest son and daughter in law and they were very pleased with his work as well.

Description of Work
The provider laid new Berber carpet in the lower level of our house prior to the sale of our home. This included a bedroom, family room and stairs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/30/2014


Charlene S.

Jim, owner and guru, first inquired about our habits and needs before selling us Bliss carpeting. He also educated my husband and I on carpet. Additionally, we had to have the carpet installed within a short timeframe. Jim was able to meet our demands and never promised anything he could not provide. Jim's crew were absolutely professional, communicative, friendly, and worked expeditiously. I would refer Carpet Classics and in fact, have already. I cannot thank Jim and his crew (Eric & Team) enough. We are very happy with their service and the product.

Description of Work
Needed new carpet in most of the house (living, dining, 4 bedrooms, halls, stairs, and family room). We needed the work to be completed within a close and short timeframe. They moved furniture where we needed and always cleaned when finished for the day.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

05/06/2014


Amanda F.

They were very informative, on time, and they met the original price quoted. They were great!

Description of Work
They replaced carpet in the great room and two sets of stairs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/20/2014


Erin B.

Very much on time, very professional, excellent knowledge of carpets

Description of Work
Removed old and installed new carpet

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/19/2014


DON S.

They are very good. I got what I paid for.

Description of Work
Carpet Classics installed a carpet for me.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/11/2014


Chelsea G.

This was a great experience, start to finish. I started my carpet search at big box stores, then a few larger floor covering stores and wasn't happy with the selection or the service. I wanted pure wool carpet, a knowledgable sales rep, and a careful install. I got all of that with Jim at Carpet Classics. The carpet took about two weeks to get here and then install was scheduled shortly after. The two guys that came were competent and courteous, and they made every effort not to scratch my new baseboard paint. Couple of suggestions - it would be great if the installers would wear booties over their shoes. Also, there was a strong smoke smell in our house for hours after they left. I was happy with the work, so I would take the smell over sloppy install or bad manners, but just a thought.... Thank you for the good work!

Description of Work
Installed approx. 170 sf of pure wool carpet.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review of our products and services. We try to be the best at what we do. I am sorry for the smoky smell. This happens when we are seaming the carpet using our special six inch wide hotmelt seaming tape. The wider tape makes for a strong seam, and a better looking seam. The only drawback is that this wider tape does emit some smoke when we use our hot iron to melt the resin on the tape. I sometimes forget to warn our customers that this is part of the install process, and the smell normally dissipates in 48 hours. Thank you again, Jim
5.0

01/19/2014


Gordon H.

The job was done well and the team was great. I wanted to try supporting a local area vendor, and it worked out very well.

Description of Work
Carpet Classics removed an old rug and replaced it with new underpad and a new rug.

Category carpet installation

5.0

01/06/2014


Kathleen M.

Carpet Classics was wonderful. Jim spent a lot of time with us in the showroom, explaining the different types of carpet options, asking questions about our lifestyle and what look we were trying to achieve. Consequently, he produced a narrow band of choices for us based on our answers, which was far less overwhelming than choosing from the myriad options on display in any carpet showroom. When he came out to measure, he brought samples so we could choose the color and was very helpful in guiding us. The install process was seamless, the guys did a great job and the carpet looks exactly as we envisioned. We later got a stain on the carpet I was unable to remove and called Jim, who provided me with a bottle of a solution that took the stain right up. His ongoing customer service was also excellent.

Description of Work
Installed new carpets upstairs and on stairs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/14/2013


Norman A.

The owner, Jim, helped me pick a lovely, soft, and durable Mohawk carpet for our home. Jim's very knowledgeable about carpeting. I decided on a neutral color close to our original wall to wall carpeting, but in a brighter shade. We had lower pile installed in our downstairs area, as it is a high traffic area. We are having a thicker pile of the same carpeting installed in our upstairs bedrooms and living room in December. The installers did a wonderful job. They were punctual, neat, and they worked straight through until the job was done. You can't go wrong if you choose this company. They do it all- sell quality carpeting, advise you, measure & estimate the job and install it...and at a fair price.

Description of Work
They sold us carpeting and installed it.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

07/29/2013


SATISH N.

Jim gave us the best quote. Install took 3 days but was done very clean and professional. Jim offered a lot of inputs on cleaning off stains post install. Jim had great inputs and was very honest. Would strongly recommend.

Description of Work
Great job!

Category carpet installation

5.0

07/17/2013


Milt S.

The installers were very professional and did a fabulous job. Their workmanship was of the highest quality.

Description of Work
Jim explained a great deal about carpets and helped us choose the carpet that would be best for us.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

07/14/2013


KATHY R.

Jim Goddard (sales) called and said they would start 1 day early, which was great with me. Jason and his assistant (installers) showed up at 9am sharp and started taking off moldings and carpet out and scraped the floors until all the staples etc. were gone. They then cleaned the floor and set up their saw and canopy in my driveway, as it was to be in the high 80's for 2 to 3 days. They then put down the pad to go under the floor and started immediately on laying the flooring. They also moved my heavy furniture. Jason and his assistant were very polite helpful and hard worker, they never took breaks, only went off to have lunch and worked a regular day the first day and longer the second day, as all they had left was to finish molding. They were perfectionist in all they did. if a piece didn't exactly fit if it was only a matter of 1 saw blade width the did it until it was perfect. I love the flooring I chose with Jim's help and the whole of the flooring looks gorgeous. I would highly recommend them for any kind of work to be done. Kathy Roberts King City, OR .

Description of Work
the took out old carpeting in living room, dining room and hall and took old moldings off, so new laminate floors could be installed as well as all new 3" wood moldings.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

06/19/2013


Dianne S.

Our experience with Carpet Classics was wonderful from beginning to end. I went in and met with Jim. He asked about our carpet needs, made suggestions, informed me on the different types of carpets that might meet our needs. answered all my question and gave me swatches to take home. We set a time for the measure. Jim arrived on time, got the measure completed and a took the information on the carpet we had chosen. Later that day he called to let us know when he would get the carpet in--since we were still painting the rooms involve he was very flexible on setting the install date. The installer, Jason, was prompt, very helpful in answering all questions about carpet care, and was a hard worker.. The install went smoothly and was beautiful on completion. We could not have had a better experience. We are going to have some more carpeting installed in other rooms and would not even think of going anywhere else. Great price, great quality, great customer service. What more can you ask for?

Description of Work
Sold us carpeting and installed it in entry, hall and family room.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Floors Portland

    We provide excellent flooring installation services in the Portland Metro Area. Installing tile, carpet, hardwood, lvt/laminate. With over 10 years experience in the industry we guarantee the highest level of satisfaction and professionalism from our installers and staff.  

    ADVANCED HARDWOOD FLOORS

    Established in 1998, Advanced Hardwood Floors continues to be a family owned and operated business serving the Portland Metro area. Advanced Hardwood Floors prides itself on an outstanding record of quality service and personal attention to detail. Our philosophy is to treat your home as we would our own, and this is complimented by our years of experience in the industry. Our longevity is a testament to the level of service and quality of result you'll get when you choose Advanced Hardwood Floors for any installation, repair, or refinish project.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by ADVANCED HARDWOOD FLOORS on Angi
    Woodfloor Masters Inc.

    WoodFloor Masters has been servicing Vancouver, Longview, and Kelso Washington for over 11 years. Our Hardwood Floor Installation Experts specialize in all aspects of your wood flooring needs from new installation, to refinishing and even wood floor care.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Carpet sales & installation, some hardwood, laminate & vinyl flooring. We follow CR105 guidelines for carpet installation, thus ensuring that your carpet warranty will be honored by the mills.

    Services Not Offered

    Hardwood sales limited to a few high end brands of engineered flooring. We do not do refinishing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Carpet Classics

    How is Carpet Classics overall rated?

    Carpet Classics is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Carpet Classics open?

    Carpet Classics is open:

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Carpet Classics provide

    Carpet Classics accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Carpet Classics offer free estimates?

    Ask Carpet Classics for details on free project estimates.

    Does Carpet Classics offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Carpet Classics does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Carpet Classics offer a senior discount?

    No, Carpet Classics does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Carpet Classics?

    Yes, Carpet Classics offers warranties.

    What services does Carpet Classics offer?

    Carpet Classics offers the following services: Carpet sales & installation, some hardwood, laminate & vinyl flooring. We follow CR105 guidelines for carpet installation, thus ensuring that your carpet warranty will be honored by the mills.

    Are there any services Carpet Classics does not offer?

    Hardwood sales limited to a few high end brands of engineered flooring. We do not do refinishing.