Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Buck's Stove Palace

Founded 1974 • With Angi since June 2005

4.5

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6803 SE Foster Rd

Portland, OR 97206

Description

Buck's Stove Palace is small business that has operating in Portland since 1974. The founder and owner Buck has decades of experience in both new and antique stoves.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/06/2018


Marilyn B.

It went smoothly. They always kept in touch with email's & phone calls. They called 1/2 hour before scheduled time to say they were on their way. The laid down mats to protect my floors. The cleaned out the insert and vacuumed all around so not to spill any debris into the room. They were worth every penny. They said the stove was about 600 lbs. They carefully explained about the EPA needed proof that the stove was removed & destroyed which I had no idea it was needed.

Description of Work
I needed a old non certified stove insert to be removed

Category fireplaces

1.0

12/20/2017


Pablo L.

BE AWARE OF THIS GUY AND HIS BUSINESS! After months of dealing with Buck, he ask me to drive him to my house to take measurements for the stove installation. Five minutes after we arrived he receive a call from his shop, telling him that one of his clients was waiting for him, which he apparently forgot. He ask me to take him back, to which I Immediately did. On the way back he wanted to stop at the hardware store and later at a tire place to pick up his truck. I happily agree to drive him and help him with his personal errants. When we came back to the shop he was informed by his employee that the client left and cancel the deal. He immediately became angry at me and started to blame me personally for loosing his deal. He started to shout at me that I caused him $3000 and he does not want to do business with me. He commanded me to leave his shop and never come back. I told him it was not my fault he forgot his appointment and I did not ask for him to go to my house. He continued to tell me to leave and made comments about my ethnicity with was extremely rude and inappropriate. I have never in my life been treated so wrong and disrespectfully by a business owner.

Description of Work
BE AWARE OF THIS GUY AND HIS BUSINESS

Category fireplaces

1.0

10/01/2017


Joanne M.

Buck has no concept of time, and neither do his installers. I got a call the night before they wanted to come to do what I thought was disconnect the gas, and remove that insert at 8:40 PM for a 9 AM appointment. When I agreed, Justin then asked if he could come earlier. I had to call my boss to make sure it was alright, and as it turned out, I was docked pay because of this. Justin showed up 45 minutes late, but got to work right away. They installed the pipe leaving 3 feet above the chimney stack, and anchored supports to hold up this hideous looking pipe to my roof. None of which I had approved. Buck delivers a stove which I told them I did not like (I had not picked out a stove, this was Buck's decision), then Justin goes on to tell me that the stove is nearly 40 years old, and he questioned if it would pass inspection. As I was looking at this thing, I asked where's the blower? No blower. I came out from taking a shower, and Justin informs me that they are almost done, there was a 3/4 inch gap between the shroud and the brick which was completely unacceptable, there were scrapes and dents that I was just supposed to live with, the top piece of shroud is still missing, and this guy is expecting me to pay him $775 for the installation??? Seriously?? it was not only not complete, but it was a REALLY bad job. Then I head out for work but had not noticed this 36" long pipe protruding from my chimney. and later realize they screwed brackets to my relatively new roof without my permission. Two visits, and a month later, this ugly protrusion still sits without a cap on it, and a stove without a door that there is no possible way meets any EPA standards.

Description of Work
I had an old gas insert that I wanted to replace with a wood burning insert. I came across Buck's via Google. Went to his shop to look around, and get some questions answered. Buck seemed like a pretty knowledgeable character, so we scheduled a time when he could come by to see what I needed.

Category chimney caps, fireplaces, appliance sales

5.0

07/26/2017


Terry H.

It was a difficult job since this wood stove was in the basement and there were tight corners and 'iffy' stairs. The stove had to be cut in half to remove it.

Description of Work
Remove wood stove from basement.

Category fireplaces

5.0

06/12/2017


Rick A.

awesome - definitely get the on site assessment before exploring options - for $1.00! (one dollar, not 100)

Description of Work
fireplace insert

Category fireplaces

5.0

05/17/2015


Janis W.

Buck's technicians were able to come in one day's notice. They not only removed the insert, they did so without a trace of mess. Part of the service is the required destruction of the stove and official notification to DEQ. It pays to hire a pro. In addition, I was able to observe the lead technician mentoring a new employee. Impressive teaching and mentoring skills, in addition to professionalism.

Description of Work
Three days before my open house, I was told I needed to have our woodstove insert removed. Ours, installed in 1984 was now deemed illegal. I called Buck's Stove Palace to find out more about this. Buck himself gave me a quick tutorial. Later I made an appointment for removal.

Category fireplaces

5.0

12/20/2014


Tabitha B.

We have live in Estacada and every time the wind blows it seems to knock out power at least for a little bit which made us concerned for our snakes and ourselves. If the power goes out in the middle of a snow storm we would all freeze, even with camping gear we can't keep 10 or more snakes, salamanders, spiders, guinea pigs, a rabbit, dog and the humans warm. So we wanted a wood stove. About $700 for install, but Buck doesn't install he just sells the stoves and equipment and contracts out. He does talk a lot and answers phones but he is running a business but keeping it personal. In this day of cell phones and atms it's actually nice that he sits down and personally asks what we want. He didn't try to sell us anything over what we wanted, except a blower fan and I am still not sold yet. Great price, I budgeted $4000 but we didn't even tell him that until the end but he was spot on. He knows his stuff so if you go into a shop where the guy selling you the fireplace looks like he is selling you a car turn to Buck. From the second we walked in and were greeted I didn't feel it was fake or that we were going to get screwed out of a lot of money. If you are too stuffy to like tattoos, colored hair or genuine people you should go find yourself a salesman who will sell you a top of the line piece of crap. If you want a good priced stove and you don't want to be screwed out of money I strongly suggest you call Buck.

Description of Work
We have been paying $400 a month in electricity!!!!! So we wanted a wood stove.

Category fireplaces

5.0

09/11/2014


Diane P.

Buck is a lifesaver. I called him at 4:30 when I found out the seller in a real estate transaction had not lined up a contractor to take out the uncertified stove, 3 days before closing. I called Buck in a panic. Buck got on the phone, even though he was out the door to a well-deserved vacation, and told me he could have someone out by 6:30. They came, removed the stove and we closed the sale. They don't do roof or ceiling repair just fyi so you'll have to line up another contractor to finish the job. If you need a stove removed, call Buck. Tell him I sent ya. Great guy.

Description of Work
Removed uncertified free standing stove and disposed of it.

Category fireplaces

5.0

07/04/2014


APRIL H.

We had an old wood stove we hadn't used since 1996, and it was probably quite a bit older than that. We needed it removed. It sat on flagstones and had flagstones on the wall behind it. The two guys showed up right on time and were professional. We had already covered up stuff with plastic drapes. We probably should have done a better job because dust still got everywhere. When they started prying off the flag stones, it turns out there was a layer of bricks and mortar on both the wall and the floor that also needed to be removed. This was a surprise. After conferring with Buck, they told me they had to raise the price to cover the cost, but it seemed perfectly reasonable. It would have taken us weeks to do it ourselves, and we would have had to rent a dumpster. Instead they got it all taken out and hauled away, and vacuumed and swept as best they could (the dust was very fine). A real bargain.

Description of Work
Removed an old wood stove, as well as the stone wall and floor it had been installed on

Category fireplaces

5.0

09/18/2013


Peggy K.

They laid carpets to make sure there was no soot and cleaned up afterwards. It was especially difficult with our concrete tile roof, but they managed to do the job without damage and didn't leave any marks on the floor taking out the fireplace. They came when we wanted them and did the job in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Buck's people removed a free-standing fireplace from our living room.

Category fireplaces

4.0

12/20/2012


ED and CAROL P.

Buck was very responsive and flexible regarding scheduling. We had arranged for him to do the removal on a certain date and then, due to circumstances, asked him to do it ASAP instead. He was understanding and actually came out on a Friday night to do the removal. They made no mess getting the stove out. My only reservation is that the cap they used on the hole in the ceiling was too small. He told me later that it needed a 8and quot; cap but they had only had a 7and quot; cap with them. As a result they had secured it with duct tape and it didn't look very finished. Also, Buck forgot to sign the certificate for the removal, so I had to go down to his store the next day to get his signature. While I was there, he gave me two different caps to try on the ceiling, and even painted the one he thought would work best, so that it would look more finished, and asked me to return whichever one didn't work. The ceiling looks great now, but it's too bad I had to make two trips to the store when I wasn't expecting to have to make any. Having said that, his store is amazing and well worth a visit. He's got tons of stoves and accessories, his store is warm and cozy and beautifully decorated, and Buck himself is quite a character.

Description of Work
Removed uncertified woodstove from our house as condition of our home sale. Also removed the pipe and capped off the hole in the ceiling.

Category fireplaces

5.0

08/31/2012


Sonia M.

Very good service.

Description of Work
Removed uncertified wood insert in my fireplace, was prompt, friendly, concerned for protection of my property and new floors. Provided me with the correct paperwork for DEQ. Buck referred me to a Chimney Cleaner that could fix my frozen damper who came out promptly to repair it and clean my chimney. I would hire Buck again.

Category fireplaces

5.0

02/17/2011


RON S.

It was excellent service. The person I spoke with and made arrangements with was the owner. He always seems available to help and answer my questions. He would meet later in the evening after work. Whenever there was any issue or question, I was always able to reach him. He was very helpful and accommodating. My insert works great! The installation was done quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
They provided me with a new fireplace insert.

Category appliance repair, fireplaces

5.0

02/15/2011


Paul B.

He is a good guy. I would give hime straight A's because of his honesty and genuine dedication to his work.

Description of Work
He sold me a wood burning stove.

Category fireplaces, appliance sales

5.0

05/04/2010


Denise L.

Buck always answers my questions and explains the way the pipe goes together in a manner i can understand. If I don't get it the first time, he will try again from another angle. I appreciate his time and he is very knowledgeable. He, himself, is a walking museum, let alone his shop, that has as many relics as any museum around. He has so much of Portland's history, in his head, in his heart and in his shop. It's always an adventure going into his store. And I get what I need and understand what needs done with the pipe I buy.

Description of Work
stove pipe

Category fireplaces

5.0

02/15/2008


GINA R.

This company sold me the stove, but had another contractor perform the installation. I had to pay the contractor separately. The contractor did not follow up well and/or make sure I knew how to work it. After several months it was determined that the stove installation was not correct. Improper installation caused problems with the stove. They did eventually correct the problem to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
Put in a wood stove insert.

Category fireplaces

1.0

10/04/2006


JOSHUA L.

I don't know how this guy stays in business! He was the biggest flake I've ever dealt with during my years of home remodeling. He lost my phone number and address twice, never returned my phone calls when he said he'd call me ''right back'', and he even lost the measurements and details of the fireplace, making it so he had to do two house calls. The final straw was when he never delivered the venting kit so the installer/gas contractor had to provide this himself. There were also pieces missing from the fireplace kit, slowing down the installation process even more! If I already hadn't bought the fireplace kit, I would not have kept working with Buck. He is the most unprofessional business owner I've ever worked with.

Description of Work
They sold us a gas insert fireplace and removed our old woodstove. They provided us with a gas contractor for installation.

Category fireplaces

5.0

05/10/2006


DIANNE L.

Buck was very helpful, polite, knows stoves and has a great installer, that also did a great job.

Description of Work
Buck came out to house, looked at what it would take to install a wood stove I bought off Craigs list, gave great advice, measured and put together price list for all the stove pipe I would need.

Category fireplaces

5.0

03/01/2006


BILL P.

Buck delivered the Stove nine pm. as we had agreed to. He was very helpful in assisting us in installing the stove. He also took the old stove which was in very poor condition. The price included Stove, pipe and delivery.

Description of Work
Sold and delivered a Jotul F 600 Wood Stove.

Category fireplaces

5.0

06/13/2005


AARON E.

I WAS AMAZED WITH THE SELECTION AT BUCK'S STOVE PALACE. I NEVER KNEW THERE WERE THAT MANY DIFFERENT STYLES OF INSERTS TO CHOOSE FROM. THEIR INSTALLATION IN OUR RENTAL HOUSE WAS DONE VERY WELL.

Description of Work
WE PURCHASED AN INSERT FOR OUR RENTAL HOUSE FROM BUCK'S AND HAD THEM INSTALL IT.

Category fireplaces

5.0

06/06/2005


STEVE D.

THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AT BUCK'S STOVE PALACE WAS FIRST RATE. THE INSTALLATION WAS DONE THE SAME WEEK AND WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH HOW IT WAS DONE. WE HAVE SPENT MANY WARM NIGHTS SINCE.

Description of Work
WE PURCHASED A WOODSTOVE INSERT FROM BUCK'S AND THEN HAD THEM INSTALL IT IN OUR HOME.

Category fireplaces

    Other local Pros in your area

    Family Chimney Repair

    20 years plus experience 3 generation Mason. Employees have over 6 years in cleaning ,installing and inspections.We are A Family owned and operated business that brings a combined industry experience over 25 plus years. We are competitive and take our customers seriously. Like our name says family so are customers.  

    Angi Certified

    Murphy's Fireplace & Stoves Inc

    Murphy's Fireplace & Stove Inc. was started in 2000 when Paul Sanders saw there was a need for a certified and fully trained chimney service company in the Willamette Valley area. You never have to worry if the person that is entering your home and servicing your vent system or repairing your fireplace is trained and certified, because we guarantee it! Murphy's never uses subcontractors for our projects and is able to handle all of your home & hearth needs. Satisfaction Guaranteed CCB: 206435  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    PDX Appliance

    Call Today 503-853-5784 My name is Ryan Sickles. Throughout my life I have been exposed to the appliance industry. My father has been working in the field for 50 years now and has personally trained me since I was young. I remember cleaning parts from torn up dryers that he was refurbishing since before I was 12. I entered the field when I was 19 beginning my apprenticeship. Being in and out of the field for the last 10 years, taking breaks to further my education in surrounding industries such as construction. I began PDX in 2016 while still under the umbrella of my fathers company as I familiarized my self further with rapidly changing industry. Through my lifetime of being in the appliance industry I have been able to secure a foundation of solid understanding with the old mechanical elements in appliances and also supplement that foundation with an in depth comprehension of the new age (mainly electronic) required understanding that is needed for appliance repair in this day and age.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Sales and restoration of new, used and antique wood stoves, and gas stoves. We sell Avalon, Jotul, Hearthstone stoves, and Heartland cookstoves.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Buck's Stove Palace

    How is Buck's Stove Palace overall rated?

    Buck's Stove Palace is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Buck's Stove Palace open?

    Buck's Stove Palace is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Buck's Stove Palace provide

    Buck's Stove Palace accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, American Express

    Does Buck's Stove Palace offer free estimates?

    No, Buck's Stove Palace does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Buck's Stove Palace offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Buck's Stove Palace does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Buck's Stove Palace offer a senior discount?

    No, Buck's Stove Palace does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Buck's Stove Palace offer emergency services?

    Yes, Buck's Stove Palace offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Buck's Stove Palace?

    No, Buck's Stove Palace does not offer warranties.

    What services does Buck's Stove Palace offer?

    Buck's Stove Palace offers the following services: Sales and restoration of new, used and antique wood stoves, and gas stoves. We sell Avalon, Jotul, Hearthstone stoves, and Heartland cookstoves.