Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC

Founded 2007 • With Angi since October 2008

4.5

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9300 SE 55th Ave

Portland, OR 97222

Description

We are a small, local company. To date all of our work has come through word of mouth. Our focus in any work that we do is on quality, creativity and durability. Make it once. Make it beautiful. Make it right....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/16/2014


Tina R.

Thadeus was great! He's personable, reliable, a straight-shooter, and not afraid to roll up his sleeves and do the dirty work in addition to the nice finish work. I highly recommend him!

Description of Work
Bathroom improvements

Category woodworking

5.0

09/10/2013


Janet M.

The bid was timely and reasonable. The carpenter, Jeff, came out and switched the door right away so that we could accommodate a wheelchair. We needed it done in time for Thanksgiving and it was. The finish work was very nice; unless you knew already, you wouldn't notice the switch. As for the wall, they did it in the time promised and recommended we add insulation, which we did (at a slight cost). The owner came out afterwards and checked the work to make sure it was to our satisfaction.

Description of Work
We had a bathroom door switched so it opened out instead of in. We also walled off a portion of the garage to make a separate room.

Category drywall,woodworking

5.0

08/26/2013


michael D.

The house has extensive wood highlights with stucco around it, and developed dry rot that had to be replaced. The wood is curved and one of the pieces very large. The fear was that when the wood was removed, the stucco would be damaged and have to be redone at considerable cost. Thad had all the wood custom milled, and when he saw one of the largest pieces was warped, he had them redo it. I didn't know such beautiful wood was still available. He and his helper very carefully removed all the old wood, and cut the new pieces perfectly without any damage to the old stucco. The end result was perfect and beautiful. He thought it would take a day, but he was so careful to get it right, it actually took him 4 days, and charged the original bid. A real craftsman and wonderful to work with. If we remodel our kitchen, he will be the one to do it.

Description of Work
Replace rotten wood in 1932 Tudor home.

Category woodworking,doors

5.0

05/17/2012


JERRY B.

It's an old house, so there were problems. The results are completely satisfactory.

Description of Work
Black Rock removed a wooden door, replaced the jamb with a metal jamb, sourced, hung and trued a metal door.

Category doors

1.0

04/15/2011


Fergus O.

I came home from work early for my appointment to meet him. He showed up 1 hour late and smelled of alcohol. I did not hire him.

Description of Work
I called him to repair my front porch.

Category decks

5.0

07/16/2010


JERRY B.

These were 3 separate jobs. The bids were detailed and prompt, the jobs completed within a day or two of the start, and the workmanship excellent.

Description of Work
Replaced lap siding on dormer and repaired rotted soffits and fascia: replaced door and jamb at exterior basement entrance; replaced garage door jamb and casing.

Category siding,woodworking,doors

5.0

12/10/2008


Linda M.

The work was all beautifully done. I have never had a window job where the integration was so perfect and the cleanup so complete. They even washed the windows once they were finished. This job also involved the removal of an exterior door and the replacement of the internal and external surfaces, as well as reinsulation of the walls. The work was flawless. Thadeus Lutz also made suggestions as to how to perfect the project, which made the final product even more then we had hoped for. The stairway that they rebuilt was both sturdy and beautiful, integrated into the rocks of the canyon in such a way as to appear sculptural. We were very impressed! Our reason for replacing the stairway was because they were unsafe. Now they are both safe and beautiful, designed by the contractor to match the deck to our home and to provide the access to the lower part of our property that we wanted to be able to offer. Job well done!

Description of Work
Black Rock Carpentry, Adam Thadeus Lutz, Owner, did a number of projects at our Central Oregon home, including replacing the windows, retrimming them out, removing a door, patching and repairing all of the interior drywall and exterior finish, and repainting. In addition, they rebuilt a stairway from the upper level of the property to the lower level, to give us access to the area below our home. This part of the job was complicated, because the existing access was dangerous, falling 30 feet over a cliff to the ledge below. The old stairs had to be removed, the new stairs designed to our specifications and then installed.

Category drywall,insulation,replacement windows,woodworking,interior painters,doors

5.0

10/31/2008


JENNIFER L.

Excellent! Thadeus and his crew were recommended to us by our exterior house painters (Weinmann) and we were really pleased with the results! Nice, hard working, flexible and responsible crew. I will continue to use Black Rock Carpentry for all my future carpentry needs!

Description of Work
Numerous carpentry jobs: removing dry rot from the exterior columns on our 1914 Colonial house, removing warped & rodding wood siding and replacing, design and build a custom outdoor wood bench on a second floor flat roof/deck, installing picture rail moldings in master bedroom, installing wood baseboard moldings in kitchen.

Category woodworking

    Other local Pros in your area

    SEAS Painting LLC

    Hello, my name is Erick Jimenez. I am excited to bring our knowledge and our experience to you. My family and I have been in the industry for over 4 years. We simply have been working for other companies and now it's time to launch ourselves. We have the confidence in our work due to the many projects we have finished in the past, we are the crew you call to fix previous jobs. We don't sub out our work as other companies our work speaks for it's self. We are excited to be able to be of service to you with your project. We like to communicate with our clients to make sure we are following the agreement. We treat you as if you were part of our family. We do drywall repairs, siding repairs, painting interior, exterior, and wallpaper removal.  

    A1 Paint Removal Painting and Restoration

    Specializing in interior and exterior painting, paint removal services from many different materials/ surfaces, lead testing, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Paint removal from concrete, metal doors, chimney, window restoration, and MORE! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    NEIL W LIVINGSTON BULLIER

    OWNER-OPERATED. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. ASK FOR DETAILS ON SERVICE FEES. LICENSE NUMBER: 127041.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    SPECIALIZING IN FINISH CARPENTRY AND REMODELING, CUSTOM CABINETRY AND SHELVING, FENCES, DECKS, ARBORS AND SIDING, STAIRS AND RAILINGS, LIGHT DRYWALL WORK, & DRY ROT REPAIR.

    Services Not Offered

    PAINTING, ROOFING OR CONCRETE WORK.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC

    How is BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC overall rated?

    BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC open?

    BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC provide

    BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC?

    No, BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC offer?

    BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC offers the following services: SPECIALIZING IN FINISH CARPENTRY AND REMODELING, CUSTOM CABINETRY AND SHELVING, FENCES, DECKS, ARBORS AND SIDING, STAIRS AND RAILINGS, LIGHT DRYWALL WORK, & DRY ROT REPAIR.

    Are there any services BLACK ROCK CARPENTRY LLC does not offer?

    PAINTING, ROOFING OR CONCRETE WORK.