Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Apogee Landscapes

Founded 2006 • With Angi since March 2011

4.7

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3706 NE Holman St

Portland, OR 97211

Description

Apogee Landsdcapes is committed to providing the highest quality services while following ecological practices. The owner has a degree in Environmental Science/Ecosystems and has a deep understanding of the principals behind Green Building. We focus on creating beautiful, comfortable, and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

10/11/2017


Lynne C.

You better have a degree in carpentry and landscaping in order to deal with Apogee Landscapes. The work is beautiful, but dealing with Michael LaCasa was a nightmare. We had a disagreement over the finished product. I asked him to build a structure to wipe out the view of the neighbor's trashy yard. Upon completion there was a huge gap and I was still seeing rubbish. Michael stated he felt it looked great and that the did 90% of what I asked. Instead of saying to me, I understand you are not happy tell me what I can do to make this right, he argued arrogantly with me for an hour. He made me, a 70 year old woman, cry. After I said I would go in halves he fixed the gap. Cost $152.00. He risked a bad review for $152.00. Question: how many dogs can get out of an Apogee fence that only goes around 90% of the circumference of the yard?

Description of Work
They put up 2 free standing panels and put up lattice work.

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for voicing your concerns. We always strive to completely satisfy our clients and I am sorry that we were not able to do so with you. It is our company policy to meet with our clients at their property to discuss their project and specific needs in person. We provide a written explanation of the scope of work and any drawings that are necessary. Unfortunately, this did not seem to be enough for you. I am glad to take this opportunity to review our company's policies to see what we can do better. Please feel free to contact us with any additional concerns.
5.0

11/02/2015


angelo C.

It was really great. A+

Description of Work
Removed retired garden boxes dirt and materials.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/05/2014


MICHAEL S.

It was great. They gave me a bid to fulfill the plans. He did a nice job. He made a huge difference to our backyard for a relatively cheap price. He came in Feburay during snow storm. He was flexible and nice guy

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for $49 for Landscaping Evaluation and Plans. They put in metal edging around our grass and put in gravel to fill in the walkways.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel

5.0

05/08/2014


Faye P.

Michael came out and discussed what I wanted, measured my space and in a couple of weeks submitted a plan that included both native and non-native plant s as I had requested. For financial reasons, I've had to scale back my original plans so I haven't had any work done yet; however, the short amount of time spent with Michael was very positive and very helpful, especially his providing me with information about the types of plantings that would work in my area. The estimate was too much for me to handle at the moment, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Michael for landscaping work.

Description of Work
I used a Groupon for a landscape plan for my small backyard.

Category landscaping

4.0

04/22/2014


Clif L.

Description of Work
Came out to inspect and give good ideas and feedback about proposed landscape creation. Called back to schedule services this spring as promised.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/21/2014


MATT R.

Russell was courteous, efficient and helpful all the way through, from start to finish.

Description of Work
Mulched small front yard, removed weeds, cleaned up debris afterward.

Category landscaping, mulch

5.0

03/17/2014


Jeanne & Richard G.

not yet

Description of Work
provided a site plan to re-landscape our small front yard. He contacted us shortly after the Big Deal and we set up an appointment. Met as planned. Michael listened to my concerned, and provided a site plan in a timely manner. Very pleasant encounter. Because of the season, we have not moved forward on any plans at this time.

Category landscaping

4.0

01/22/2014


robert J.

The plants are still alive at this point and looking well. The only thing I didn't like was that there was tree included in the inital bid, and they took $50 off my bid because they couldn't locate it. I don't think they included the cost of the labor in the amount that they took off of the bid.

Description of Work
I bought a big deal for $49 for Landscaping Evaluation and Plans. They ended up planting landscaping behind a retaining wall for me. They planted about 25 plants and trees; they were at my house for about 4-5 hours.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that the plants are still alive. It will be nice to watch them get established and grow over the years to come. We are always available if you notice any problems.
5.0

01/15/2014


ADAM S.

That would have been last week, January 6, 2014. It was $1200. They are prompt, responsive, have competitive pricing, and good formal work. They did and help us aside. We were really happy.

Description of Work
I used Apogee Landscapes for hardscaping & pavers landscaping. It was paver block installed.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

I am glad to hear that you are pleased with our work. I hope you enjoy your new patio space.
3.0

07/22/2013


Carolyn B.

They are not so good, but the price was good. I will not use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Apogee Landscapes for landscape maintenance.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

It is our goal to satisfy all of our clients. I am sorry that we could not please you. We always tried to meet your desires and addressed your requests at our next scheduled visit. I offered a higher level of service for a higher price which you declined. Unfortunately the service level which you hired us for didn't meet your needs. It is important to understand what your expectations are and work towards developing a plan to meet them. Don't hesitate to call if you need anything else in the future.
5.0

12/04/2012


Evelyn S.

I called Michael to discuss creating a rain swale/rain garden in my backyard, and had many questions. Michael was so very professional and spent time explaining every detail of the project. After calling a few contractors and feeling unhappy with service, I was so glad to have found Michael. I explained that I also wanted fencing around my side yard, and he brought a portfolio and showed me different options. He was the ONLY contractor to do so, and I really appreciate the level of professionalism that he brought to the table. Throughout the entire process I was able to communicate to Michael and he kept us posted during the entire process. When we were undecided about plants, he was able to provide lists and descriptions of various types of possible plants that we could have. He created a beautiful rain swale that is draining appropriately and has transformed our formally ugly, empty space into something functional. The fence he built is absolutely beautiful and exceeded our expectations. When we asked him to fix our gate to provide more privacy, he was able to fix it in a timely manner in a way that we are extremely happy with. Michael was easy to deal with and he never made me feel like my project was too small (like other contractors did). I plan on using Michael in the future for other projects.

Description of Work
Michael created a rain swale in a backyard space, including rerouting downspouts to area and overall landscaping. He also build a 6 foot cedar fence with gate.

Category fencing, landscaping

Service Provider Response

I am glad that we were able to give you the fence and landscape that you wanted. I look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

11/26/2012


AL E.

Process went very well. The cost was reasonable, work done in a timely manner. Michael was knowledgeable about naturescaping and native plants. Plants are installed and waiting for spring! We plan to consult with Apogee for future landscaping needs.

Description of Work
Consultation for naturescaping sloped area of backyard that was previously lawn and now overrun with weeds. Michael developed plant list and installed native small trees, shrubs, ferns and assorted perennials. Also sheet mulched the area.

Category landscaping, mulch

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you. I am excited for you to watch the spring growth of all your new plants.
5.0

09/07/2012


MICHAEL G.

Apogee was on time, on budget, and worked well with our designer. They had a good aesthetic sense, and they had excellent craftsmanship.

Description of Work
They installed a rain garden, a deck, and a stone patio as well as a raised bed. They also constructed a walk way and did sheet composting at a later date.

Category decks, landscaping, pavers, gravel, patios

5.0

09/07/2012


CATHERINE S.

Description of Work
They did landscaping. It was fabulous.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you. I am glad the we were able to help improve your landscape.
5.0

09/05/2012


Kathy P.

Michael was prompt about coming out to look at the proposed job and quickly gave us an estimate, as well as a starting date. He was able to accomodate our wish to have the project done in time for our daughter's graduation. Everything went smoothly. The yard looked like a disaster zone before he started, due to a lengthy replacement of our front walk and porch. Michael and his workers came in and made everything look great, in time for our daughter's graduation party.We have used Apogee's services before and were very pleased, which is why we called Michael first. He is low-key, but very knowledgeable and was willing to make substitutions when our initial plan got too expensive.j

Description of Work
Michael and his crew removed lawn from our parking strip and half of our front yard. They made gravel paths in the parking strip, and laid a path of stone set in gravel from our front walk to the driveway. They replanted plants which had been removed during the replacement of our front porch, and planted new plants after the hardscaping was done. They repaired damage to the remaining lawn, and it grew in good as new.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

5.0

08/09/2012


Willa F.

Description of Work
I did a complete review of Apogee after they worked for us.

Category landscaping

5.0

01/15/2012


Jerry P.

We found Michael LaCasa very easy to work with in discussing the project. He was always prompt, and we liked his designs right off. He met with us twice: initial consultation to discuss goals, and then to review the design. The project was completed in one day with no problems.

Description of Work
Our goal was to replace some of our landscaping by native plants as part of the Backyard Habitat Certification Program. Apogee was recommended in the program's literature. The project involved design and installation in four small-medium sized areas around our house.

Category landscaping, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. I always enjoy working with homeowners who are striving for a Backyard Habitat Certification. I can't wait to see the progress in the front yard.
5.0

10/12/2011


Sarah S.

They let me know that they were coming ahead of time and did the work both competently and artistically. They priced very reasonable.

Description of Work
Apogee Landscapes installed about 200 Feet of rock edging around raised beds.

Category hardscaping

5.0

08/25/2011


Kathy P.

Michael and his coworker did a great job! Having used Michael's services before on a stone pathway in our backyard, I knew he was careful and took pride in his work. He also gave us options for ways we could reduce the cost of the pathway. Michael and his coworker were here for just a little over a week, and completely transformed the look of our front yard. Many neighbors have complimented his work, and one is planning to use his company for their own job. Michael and co. cleaned up every day and were respectful of our other plantings. We were given Michael's name by a landscape designer who has worked with Michael many times on other jobs. She provided consultation (which we paid for separately), and she and Michael communicated perfectly with each other and with me.

Description of Work
Michael removed the sod in our parking strip and on one side of our front yard. He replaced the sod with a combination of stone-and-gravel pathways and plantings. He also raised the level of the remaining lawn up a few inches by adding topsoil and amending the existing soil to accomodate a newly poured concrete walkway, and repaired damage (resulting from the concrete job done by another contractor) to that portion of the lawn. In addition, he improved a connection to our downspout. Mulch was applied to all newly-planted areas.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your input. I enjoyed working with you both. It is nice to see the transformation first in the back and now in the front. I am glad to have been able to help you with you projects.
5.0

06/07/2011


Willa F.

It included a rain garden. They disconnected our gutters and ran them underground into pipes underneath the rain garden. They just tied everything together with rock work and moved some big bushes. I could not recommend them any more highly. They did exactly what we wanted, on time, in the pouring rain. We talked to a number of different companies that told me they couldn't do what I wanted. But Apogee said they could and when they were doing it, we had an intricate design, I was looking at it from the second story and noticed something that I wanted them to fix. He really went out of his way to fix it. He gave us a lot of recommendations for plants. He used recycled materials and also recycled the materials they took out. They didn’t use any poisons to kill off grass. We had a place that didn’t have any grass in the backyard and moved the removed sod from the front yard there and laid it down so it grew in.

Description of Work
They did a design and landscape and complete redo of our front yard.

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure working with you. I am glad we were able to get your gardens started and hope you enjoy them for years.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Red Bark Inc

    Red Bark Inc. can help with any of your bark dust blowing needs. We have 25 years of experience, dependable, licensed drivers, and top of the line bark blowers to ensure a job well done, every single time.  

    Angi Certified

    Chimcare

    Chimcare Portland is family owned small business servicing our local community since 1989. We pride ourselves in going above and beyond the call of duty for each and every one of our customers. All of our employee's are pre-screened, drug free and provide top notch service! Our Employee's arrive in uniform and in marked vehicles. When you Choose our company you really choose the best Chimney Sweep and Chimney Repair Company that Angies List has to offer! We also specialize in fireplace installations of gas and wood burning fireplace inserts. We also build outdoor fireplaces. Call Today and Get Ready to have the best Service Possible! Additional email - info@chimcarellc.com. Additional phone - (503) 655-2446  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    The Original Fence Company

    serving oregon with over 50 years experience, we can help with all your fencing needs. Give us a call or click for a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Lighting. Landscaping & design. Hardscaping. Irrigation. Planting. Lawn maintenance. Stone work.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Apogee Landscapes

    How is Apogee Landscapes overall rated?

    Apogee Landscapes is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Apogee Landscapes open?

    Apogee Landscapes is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 AM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 AM

    What payment options does Apogee Landscapes provide

    Apogee Landscapes accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Apogee Landscapes offer free estimates?

    Ask Apogee Landscapes for details on free project estimates.

    Does Apogee Landscapes offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Apogee Landscapes offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Apogee Landscapes?

    Yes, Apogee Landscapes offers warranties.

    What services does Apogee Landscapes offer?

    Apogee Landscapes offers the following services: Lighting. Landscaping & design. Hardscaping. Irrigation. Planting. Lawn maintenance. Stone work.