Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Active Mold Control

Founded 1981 • With Angi since July 2011

4.9

(17) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

824 SW 18th Ave Ste C-1

Portland, OR 97205

Description

We are environmental professionals who strive to keep you, your home, and your family safe and comfortable. We perform reasonably priced and quick mold remediations and mold inspections. All work is guaranteed, certified, licensed, and bonded. Please call us today for any of your mold and indoor air contamination problems!!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/12/2018


Ann R.

perfect, complete with explainations and pictures

Description of Work
moisture/mold remediation in attic space

Category mold removal

3.0

01/06/2017


Sofia S.

Service went well, but they did not solve my problem. As a matter of fact, I really didn't need the service. I called them back because I still have the same problem, they told me they would have to charge me again even though there is a 5 year warranty. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Mold remediation

Category mold removal

5.0

01/11/2015


Chad and Kim P.

Very professional and knowledgeable. This was 1 of two bids that I got. The other company I got a bid from did not test the mold but just assumed it was the very hazardous form and gave a bid that was twice this amount. reeI had screwed up and did not know the house needed to be empty of other contractors during the treatment. They were very gracious about re-scheduling. Also, afterwards I had a question about what caused the mold since I received two different answers from two different contractors. Tim was very nice to talk with me and let me know exactly how to find out the answer by myself so I wouldn't have to rely on others for the answer.

Description of Work
Removed mold in the attic and a very small amount from the ceiling of the garage area.

Category mold removal

5.0

05/14/2014


Rajesh S.

From the initial phone call to the complimentary inspection at our house, this company's demeanor was exemplary. They know their science, align by fact and studies and recommended appropriate options to us based on our problem. No hesitation in using or recommending them to anyone.

Description of Work
They provided free consultation over phone and visit to home. Spencer came across as an extremely knowledgeable, competent and seasoned professional whose first priority was to inform and enlighten us on our options upon inspecting the mold in our house. Compared to other mold inspection and remediation companies we looked up, this company's response appeared most credible and honest. We would definitely use them in future.

Category mold removal

5.0

09/30/2013


Julie H.

They did a wonderful job. Only company that tested our attic at no charge gave us the lab results prior and completed the work exactly as promised. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Mold remediation of our attic

Category mold removal

5.0

07/28/2013


Jennifer W.

We recently purchased a property with a mold issue in the attic. We had four bids on the job ranging from and gt;$3000 to AMC's bid at $1250. I rarely go with the lowest bid. However, in this case, it seemed clear that AMC had very sound reasoning behind their course of action. Specifically, they were the only ones to actually follow the EPA guidelines, while all the other contractors seemed to be bidding out a much larger project than EPA would suggest was needed. Additionally, AMC was the only company to actually perform a mold test to identify: 1) whether it actually was mold we were all looking at and 2) what type of mold it was along with what hazard it presented. AMC was prompt and proffessional, they were done with the job in about half a day and were able to schedule us quickly. Their work came with a five year warranty, and overall I'm very happy with the job that was performed.

Description of Work
Mold remediation in attic of rental property

Category mold removal

5.0

06/06/2013


Emily L.

Jim was extremely responsive and available to take my call and returned calls promptly. He scheduled me in quickly due to our concern with possible black mold. On the day of, he finished the prior job a bit early and called to see if it would be more convenient for us to meet him earlier (which it was) and came promptly. As it turns out, what we were seeing was not a mold problem, but he tested thoroughly and gave us a recommendation. Also, because it was a short visit and there were not several mold samples to be tested, he gave us a reduced price (unexpected and much appreciated). If we ever have mold concerns in the future, we will certainly call Active Mold Control again!

Description of Work
Mold inspection/testing and recommendation

Category mold removal

5.0

05/18/2013


Jessica S.

It went very well. He was also punctual.

Description of Work
We have visible mold in our basement/garage, at least partially due to a leakly outlet pipe from our furnace. Tim told us that we needed to have a roofer replace the "flash" on the top of the outlet pipe, and then get a handy-man to replace the molded drywall. He said he could do it, but as "mold remediation" it would cost double. In other words, he reassured us that our problem was basically cosmetic and his services were not needed! He also tested for mold particulates in the air and assured us that the level inside was the same as outside. In other words, no problem! And he was funny, explained everything well, and was attentive to our animals.

Category mold removal

5.0

05/16/2013


Gail H.

AMC came to do an estimate and they also did mold testing. They were extremely professional and I would use them for repairs. The new owners are choosing between AMC and another company. The prices are very fair

Description of Work
AMC came to do an estimate and they also did mold testing. They were extremely professional and I would use them for repairs. The new owners are choosing between AMC and another company. The prices are very fair

Category radon testing,mold removal

5.0

04/03/2013


Michael A.

Professional, complete, and competent service. Quick to respond and complete job. Good clean-up.

Description of Work
Treat all affected areas with EPA recommended procedure No 3, table 2, including hepa vacuuming and sponging, wiping and spraying with a mold pesticide, mold killing liquid, including a tint, and repeated vacuuming. 5 yr guarantee.

Category mold removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    Value Garage Door Service

    Value Garage Door works provides residential and commercial garage door services throughout Portland and Vancouver. We offer a full line of garage door services from new installations, repairs, and complete garage door overhauls. We have served the area with high quality garage door service for over ten years. You can count on us for your next garage door needs. We accept cash, checks and all major credit cards. Contact us today to see how we can help with your project!  

    Precision Door Service

    Local family owned business since 2003. 18 employees- no subcontractors used. Award winning. Additional contact names - Stanley Prosser, Kimberly Prosser. SK Services Inc dba Precision Door Service. Award wining.  

    All About Doors

    All About Doors has been continuously serving Portland metropolitan area for over 25 years and remains family owned and operated to this day. Our experience helps us connect with our customers and provide the superior garage doors Portland services that we strive to achieve. Our intensive training program ensures that our technicians have the skills and the experience to give you the best garage door Portland services in the area.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Mold inspection, testing, clean-up & remediation, indoor air quality assessment

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Active Mold Control

    How is Active Mold Control overall rated?

    Active Mold Control is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Active Mold Control open?

    Active Mold Control is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Active Mold Control provide

    Active Mold Control accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Active Mold Control offer free estimates?

    Ask Active Mold Control for details on free project estimates.

    Does Active Mold Control offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Active Mold Control offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Active Mold Control offer a senior discount?

    No, Active Mold Control does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Active Mold Control offer emergency services?

    Yes, Active Mold Control offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Active Mold Control?

    Yes, Active Mold Control offers warranties.

    What services does Active Mold Control offer?

    Active Mold Control offers the following services: Mold inspection, testing, clean-up & remediation, indoor air quality assessment