Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Accurate Window & Door Inc

Founded 1991 • With Angi since June 2005

4.9

(87) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3347 N Lombard St

Portland, OR 97217

Description

Our goal is to make your window and door replacement experience informative and pleasurable from start to finish. We will answer your questions and fully explain the entire process. We sell and Install Marvin wood and fiberglass replacement windows, Plygem premium vinyl windows, Simpson doors,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/28/2015


John S.

John and his team were great. Came in and really discussed my needs and potential solutions. The product they installed is really superior and performs wonderfully. I'm going to use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Installed new egress window in basement

Category egress windows, replacement windows

5.0

07/29/2015


Beverly B.

John Schwager is an excellent businessman. He returns calls promptly and provides written bids within a day or two. He tells you upfront that he installs only the best quality windows from manufacturers who stand by their warranties, and John stands behind his work, too. I had actually picked out a popular brand of window found in big box stores, and Parr's Lumber, but John explained why this brand of window was a poor choice and why it had many unhappy customers. (I did some research and found out that John was correct - lots of complaints about the company I had picked.) The window John recommended was ready exactly when John said it would be and he installed it promptly.

Description of Work
Replaced an ugly inferior quality garden window with a top of the line beautiful window.

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/04/2015


Flauren R.

All questions were answered with technical details as needed. I was treated like someone who could understand factual information. The windows are great!

Description of Work
new windows in whole house -- double pane w/ offset glass (i.e., two different thicknesses) -- double hung

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/21/2014


Brooke T.

John did a great job installing the windows and we are very happy with them. We would definitely recommend Accurate Window and Door. They were punctual, easy to work with, and they did exactly what they said they would do. First rate work without any hard sell.

Description of Work
Two Marvin Infinity windows were installed in a kitchen nook to replace the original wood windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/18/2014


ANNETTE B.

John Schwager is an old fashioned master of his craft. He only installs the best quality doors and windows from companies he knows to be ethical. He returned my call quickly and came within a couple of days to give me a written estimate. Even though my job was small and at the peak time for his business, he put me on his calendar and the window was installed within a couple of weeks, exactly when he said it would be.

Description of Work
Minor construction to fit a top quality window where an inferior garden window was.

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/23/2013


Betsy B.

I met him at his show room and he was very professional and did an excellent job of explaining everything to me. I was convinced that he would do nothing but the best work, however, we are on a strict budget. And his bid was at least $500 over what other bids were. He also gave me bids on smaller slider window that I was considering replacing but those bids were high as well. If I could afford to use this company, I absolutely would. I have already referred them to family because I do believe they will do a good job.

Description of Work
I met the provider at his show room and gave him the dimensions to replace my picture window and he gave me a bid for that.

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/07/2013


NANCY L.

Excellent. John and his team are wonderful. I have recommended him to family and friends. Would not hesitate hiring Accurate Windows as they do fabulous work.

Description of Work
Marvin replacement windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/04/2013


Ariel S.

John really knows what he is doing! This was more than a simple replacement. He removed 50+ year-old single pane with storms and replaced them with double pane fiberglass in the living room and vinyl everywhere else. The living room and family room work involved removing full walls of windows as one, and putting in all new windows, not just putting replacements into existing frames (other areas of the house were mostly straight forward replacements). He redesigned the window configuration to create a better view (bigger panes). He created new window openings and installed new windows in a dark area of the room, making the space much more inviting. When he discovered ant and dry rot damage, he was able to repair it himself, for no extra money except materials, so I did not have to find or wait for another worker. His crew is his son and another young man, who were both very competent and courteous, and John did the most detailed work himself. John also gave me the name of a very good sheet-rock man to finish the new installation wall after the windows were in. I had John come back and install new siding on the damaged wall of the house to prevent further water damage. I am extremely pleased with John's knowledge, skill, and professionalism. He was very helpful and easy to work with. I would definitely call on him again if I needed future window work.

Description of Work
Installed replacement windows and new windows throughout the home. Used both fiberglass and vinyl windows. Also repaired dry rot and carpenter ant damage that was revealed during the window replacement process.

Category replacement windows

5.0

04/09/2013


lorri W.

This is an updated review. I had a great experience with John and Accurate Window. It was a 2-part job, the basement and the living room. The basement project went very smoothly and looks great. The living room project had an initial glitch, but John/Accurate addressed it and remedied the problem in a very professional manner. I highly recommend Accurate Door & Windows.

Description of Work
Replaced basement window and put in molding/trim. Replace glass in one of the 2 upper windows in living room.

Category replacement windows

5.0

04/05/2013


Alexandra M.

They did a very good job. We had an issue with the edge of the door 4 months later and they promptly fixed the issue no questions asked. They were very professional

Description of Work
We needed a new front double door and replacement of a single pane glass over our door.

Category doors

5.0

01/25/2013


Happy B.

This was by far the easiest home improvement service we have ever experienced. John was reliable, communicative, and friendly. He answered all our questions and was always informative and responded almost immediately to my inquiries. John is clearly very knowledgable about this field and was able to provide us with lots of options to replace the windows in our house. He also seemed to genuinely love the work he is doing. The installation was great and the product was top of the line. I highly recommend Accurate Window & Door.

Description of Work
We had the windows on the second story of our house replaced with Marvin ultimate double hung windows. Outstanding quality.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/22/2013


JOHN AND JUDI G.

John Schwager, the company owner, did the measurements for our project. They performed the work in a couple of days. The job included a picture window approximately 5'x7' and cutting down some of the living room windows. The workman, Sam, if I remember correctly, insulated the vacated window space and replaced the exterior siding. John's son, who is home-schooled, helped Sam. They cleaned up thoroughly after each day's work. The price was higher than expected but they use good quality materials and do excellent work. We will call them when it's time to replace our doors.

Description of Work
Replaced all windows in our 1951 home in two parts. They replaced four corner windows during our kitchen remodel in 2009 and created a new window in a blank wall near the door to the basement. In December 2011, Accurate replaced the remaining windows in the house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/18/2012


R Michael W.

John Schwager, the owner, is fabulous! He first came to our house in late 2010 and provided extremely helpful advice and consultation. We then visited his beautiful showroom to see the exact type of windows we wanted. The work that followed was meticulously done and completed January, 2011. We gave him the key to our house. John and Sam carefully followed the EPA guidelines for containment of the lead based paint that these older houses have. The work on the windows and doors was perfect. The cleanup was spotless. We were completely impressed with their work and courteous professionalism. In May, 2012 he returned to install a new garage door with a wireless keypad (which we use all the time) and put in a swingout rear door to the garage. Again, perfect! Windows and doors are not cheap, but their work is exceptional and worth every penny! He is the best!

Description of Work
In January, 2011, we had 21 double pane windows installed. Almost all of these are Marvin Infinity fiberglass windows with divided panes matching the exact style of the original windows of a 1926 house in the historical Irvington district of Portland. In addition a new front door was installed with new hardware, also matching the 1920 era. A rear Marvin Integrity French door and a side door which swings out were installed. In May, 2012, we had a new garage door with a Genie garage door opener and a wireless keypad as well as a new rear garage swingout door installed. The swingout door allows for more space in the garage.

Category garage doors, replacement windows, doors

5.0

02/03/2012


Douglas S.

They really good. They are very reliable.

Description of Work
Put in some windows and siding.

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

01/19/2012


JOHN AND JUDI G.

Their installer, Sam, took most of three days to install 17 windows, essentially singlehandedly allthough part of the time, Accurate owner John Schwager's son, Joseph, was on site part of the time and helped Sam with various tasks. They were polite and efficient. The job involved cutting down two windows and Sam replaced the lap siding and installed insulation and sheetrock where the smaller windows eliminated part of the interior wall. He did not mud and tape the joints but Schwager said he could find a subcontractor to do the work if we wanted. We refused because the area will be covered with bookcases. Schwager himself came to the site to help Sam install the large picture window. We expect to replace exterior doors next year and will probably contract again with Accurate. We're happy with their work.

Description of Work
Accurate Window and Door replaced windows during a kitchen remodel in 2009. When it came time to replace the remaining windows in our 1951 rancher, we went back to Accurate because of their prompt and thorough service. Their price is probably higher than other vendors but they have excellent quality materials and their installers are professional and courteous. What doesn't cost more than you expect?

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/08/2011


LAURA P.

They arrived on time and did a great job. They were pleasant and clean in their work. They went above and beyond in their work. This is the third time we've had them replace windows and we would never use anyone else. They are the best.

Description of Work
John and his crew removed our older arched windows upstairs and replaced them with traditional squared windows. They redid all the woodwork as well as replaced some rotting siding on our house. John was amazing in helping us solve our problem with the arched windows and getting us a lower cost, better quality product.

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

09/26/2011


Diana P.

They were reasonably priced. Their service was good. They did a good job for a fair price. I would use them again in the future if need be.

Description of Work
I used the services of Accurate Window & Door Inc about 9 months ago. They installed some new windows and repaired a couple of old windows for me.

Category replacement windows, doors

3.0

06/19/2011


Geneveive H.

Live and learn. Chris was punctual and professional and returned an estimate quickly which is why we decided to use Accurate - we were on a tight time frame and we liked the windows. however, 7 windows cost $10,200 plus we spent 2 nights in a hotel - (another $150) while replacement was happening given lead based paint was involved (not given warning of this during the estimate process) and the drywall on the inside of the windows was not repaired - this cost an additional $400 to have a contractor do . All in all $10,750 for 7 average size windows. $1500/window for basic windows (no fancy features and basic white hardware) seems an awful lot. We are happy with the windows, but in retrospect - I know I could have gotten a better value and possibly been able to replace several more windows for that investment. In addition, I asked for an itemized invoice several times and was not given one. It is impossible to compare price to other companies without actual cost of the windows versus labor, etc. As a first time window-replacer on a timeline, we went with Accurate because of Chris's professionalism. However, in retrospect, I feel it was too expensive and am bothered that they would not provide an itemized invoice.

Description of Work
Replaced 7 average size double hung windows in a 1934 home with swing out windows. 2 of the windows were reframed to be smaller by about 1/4 total size. The windows are great. The outside looks great. However, they did not do drywall repair on the inside of the house...costing us another $400 to have that done. Lead based paint was involved and their precautions seemed thorough.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the straight A's on Quality, Responsiveness, Punctuality, and professionalism, and thank you for the constructive criticism. We work very hard to please. This homeowner chose Marvin Infinity fiberglass windows. We wish premium replacement windows were not so expensive and we are always trying to find ways to make our pricing more affordable without cutting corners. In our opinion this project was not just "basic windows". The project involved reframing some openings where a interior wall had been placed to close to a existing window. We had to remove the old frame and install the new windows to look like the old ones complete with new casing. We offered to bring in a drywall subcontractor but the homeowner opted to do it themselves. Also on this particular job there was a very high level of concern regarding lead based paint. For those unfamiliar with what is required by the EPA when working on a pre 1978 home here is a little insight. Containment must be done by covering the work area floors with plastic, building vertical walls of plastic, exterior plastic ground cover, mist the work area to keep dust down, hepa vacuum and damp mop areas after plastic removal. Also if there are pets or children in the home and the job is going to last for more than a day it is better for the homeowner in some cases to allow us to leave our containment in place for the entire job. This saves money as setup and tear down can take several hours on each end of the day. Our hope is that the quality of our work, and of our products will be appreciated long after the pain of paying for them is gone.
4.0

06/17/2011


Diana P.

The bid was just too high. We received a one page estimate from them with no details. The guy that came out was John and he was very nice. He had good ideas. We also got a bid from another provider but we did not go with them. I just emphasize that my report is been totally on the amount of the estimate and lack of detail.

Description of Work
We got a bid from Accurate Window & Door Inc in October to replace the windows on two floors.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words. We always try to come up with good solutions to meet our homeowners stated goals at the time of the meeting. Accurate sells and installs premium fiberglass replacement windows with the highest quality materials available. The reason for this is for over 30 years we have been replacing inferior builders grade products that are not lasting as long as they should. Accurate Window is a honest company that won't tolerate aggressive sales tactics. Unfortunately on large projects using quality windows there is sometimes sticker shock if a homeowner is doing this for the first time.
5.0

02/22/2011


ELIZABETH S.

It was an easy experience with this company. They worked with me to show me what was possible in the space and even made suggestions about how to fix some previous shoddy workmanship done in my bedroom. Their timeline was perfect; they worked on a holiday to avoid potential weather complications. They didn't try to sell me product that would have been more expensive (and wouldn't have matched the rest of the house). They exceeded my expectations as they also fixed a door that wasn't closing properly and showed me why the door wasn't working. They're very easy to work with, clear in their explanations and go above and beyond for their service to the customer.

Description of Work
Replaced a double window in my living room; replaced a double-hung window in my bedroom and replaced mismatched trim in all the doorways and closet in my bedroom.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/10/2011


LAURA P.

Since we have used them before we didn't even bother with other vendors. They came out and gave us the quote and then were very patient when we had to wait for the funds to schedule the job. All of the staff at Accurate are professional and pleasant. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We had our basement windows replaced. Accurate previously replaced the majority of the windows on our first floor. They do excellent work.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/04/2011


Katherine M.

Chris visited us to give us an estimate on a window project for which we've requested bids from three companies (all outstanding reviews on Angie's List) as due diligence. He fit us in right away, showed up right on time, and was completely honest and professional. We're getting bids for the same product from all companies and he explained that he could not outbid one we'd already received. He was super honest and friendly about it, and in a world where it's not uncommon to get a bid for something based on sizing up you and your home rather than the project, it was such a breath of fresh air. He also clearly explained an alternative approach, outlining the pluses and minuses. We may go with another company simply because they have done windows for us before and we're happy with the result - but Chris went out of his way to let us know that going with our existing bid was a sound decision based on price, while making sure we knew Accurate would be there for us when we needed it. I would not hesitate to take him up on it if we do.

Description of Work
Estimate for replacement of 5 double-hung windows (from 1901) with Marvin wood windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/01/2010


KATHLEEN H.

I shopped around and got estimates and visited the Accurate showroom in Portland. They handled high quality brands of windows and doors, which was what I wanted. Their estimate, while not the cheapest, seemed fair. I had a few special requests - I replaced standard windows with a garden window in the kitchen and a bay window in the dining room. They handled all aspects of the framing for these and the finishing of the inside of the bay window. The front door is gorgeous hard wood with stained glass and two clear glass side windows. I felt like the job manager gave us excellent advice on all aspects of the job and it was completed on time and cleaned up thoroughly. This has been 8 years now, and we're completely satisfied with their work. A few years after installation the garden window developed a leak and fogged. They came out and replaced the pane under warranty at no charge to us, even though I believe it was caused by a defect in the window from a manufacturer they no longer use. We've had no problems since that time. At the moment I'm planning to have them install a new backyard door for me. This is a company I am happy to go back to and have confidence in their ability to do quality work at a fair price.

Description of Work
We had all the windows in our 2700 square foot home replaced as well as the front door. Accurate installed energy efficient windows and a beautiful, solid wood front door.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

11/12/2010


LLI W.

Chris came out to measure my windows for an estimate. He also brought a sample window. He emailed me an estimate the next day. I ended up going with a different company because they offered a similar price for windows I liked slightly better, but it was a tough decision. I am planning more work on the house in the next few years and will definitely consider Accurate for those jobs.

Description of Work
Estimate to replace original single paned windows with Marvin energy-efficient windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/06/2010


DEBBIE S.

This company was excellent. They had a big job. We had fiberglass windows and doors installed and the guy who came out with it, the bidding representative, was very professional and they were the most cost-effective bid for fiberglass windows. The crew that came out and did the work were very professional, did all the trim work, and the cleanup was exceptional. They were down when they said they were going to be done, and I have nothing bad to say about them.

Description of Work
They replaced all the windows and doors in the house.

Category replacement windows, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Sunshine Painting PDX Inc

    Sunshine Painting when quality matter! We are in painting business for over 20 years. Exterior, Interior, Deck, Patio, Fence, Dry rot, Doors and Windows replacement No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fee. No extra charge for after hours service. License numbers: Oregon: CCB 199959; Washington: CCCBPW sunshpi97502. May contact through e-mail, prefer phone call. Lead Base Paint Training Certified  

    B&B Painting Experts LLC

    B&B Painting Experts LLC is a painting company that takes pride in getting things done right. Painting is our passion, we take pride in our work and our attention to detail. Customer satisfaction is our top priority! We paint all commercial and residential Exteriors, Interiors, epoxy floors, decks, refinishing kitchen cabinets in all paints and stains.  

    Coyote Painting & Window Cleaning

    Coyote Window Cleaning has a new name, but still continue to pride ourselves on quality work at an affordable price. We are an owner operated company founded by Ulises Coyote in 1999. Our diverse services continue to grow by following trends, improving our standard products, and listening to our customers  

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Door & Window Installation, Security doors, Plexidor pet doors, Foggy Insulated glass replacement, siding repair.

    Services Not Offered

    broken glass repair, auto glass,

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Accurate Window & Door Inc

    How is Accurate Window & Door Inc overall rated?

    Accurate Window & Door Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Accurate Window & Door Inc provide

    Accurate Window & Door Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Accurate Window & Door Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Accurate Window & Door Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Accurate Window & Door Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Accurate Window & Door Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Accurate Window & Door Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Accurate Window & Door Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Accurate Window & Door Inc?

    Yes, Accurate Window & Door Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Accurate Window & Door Inc offer?

    Accurate Window & Door Inc offers the following services: Door & Window Installation, Security doors, Plexidor pet doors, Foggy Insulated glass replacement, siding repair.

    Are there any services Accurate Window & Door Inc does not offer?

    broken glass repair, auto glass,