Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ability Chem-Dry

Founded 1982 • With Angi since January 2006

4.9

(64) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12023 NE Sumner St

Portland, OR 97220

Description

Ability Chem Dry has been performing carpet cleaning, oriental rug cleaning, upholstery, and tile-grout cleaning since 1982. Serving Portland - Vancouver Metro areas. The Natural Cleaning solution Certified Friendly Technicians. A CRI approved company. Member BBB.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Eva S.
5.0
03/06/2016
Ability Chem-dry did a phonominal job! I first discovered them when I needed to have a large area rug cleaned before giving it to my son. The rug had been put away without being cleaned and then stored for several years. The customer service was excellent and the rug came out beautifully. So when it came time to have our home's wall to wall carpet cleaned I decided to give them a try. Dave was able to give us a rough estimate of the cost based on my description of the job. Russ, the technician arrived right on time and was obviously very experienced and capable. We have a somewhat larger home and our older carpet had endured the last few years of our aging beloved dachshund. Russ used a laser to accurately measure the square footage and then used a black light to identify and mark the areas that had pet stains. He placed index cards where the stains were so that he could appropriately treat them. I am embarrassed to say that there were way more index cards then I would have expected! The options regarding protectants and odor removers were carefully explained as well as reasonable expectations. I did not feel pressured to purchase add ons, just well informed of our choices. The technician really took ownership and pride in the job. He worked hard to reach all possible areas, treated all identified spots and was extremely thorough. He was very careful with our home and belongings. The results were beautiful, especially considering the age of the carpet, and we really felt that our home was cleaner and fresher. The work was done several months ago and has held up well. I will gladly have them back again and enthusiastically recommend them to others!
Description of Work
Cleaned, wrapped and delivered large area rug and cleaned wall to wall carpet
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
Cecelia P.
5.0
11/11/2015
Tim was very professional. He explained what he was going to do. He give us some hints on how to clean up spills in the future. The carpet looks amazing.
Description of Work
Cleaned carpet
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review. Russ always does a great job and likes to help. The protectant applied should help keep your carpets cleaner, longer and be sure and vacuum regularly and clean up spills quickly. Until next time, have a great 2016!
Larry M.
5.0
09/23/2014
EXTRAORDINARY EXPERIENCE! Called Dave about cleaning the carpet in a basement room (dogs, damp, etc). Did he say, and quot;We'll come right outand quot;? NOPE - He said.....and quot;We can do it, but from what you described.... YOU NEED A NEW CARPET. If we do it, it won't last.and quot; He made ZERO on the call. Referred me to places like Home Depot. Talk about honest feedback and customer service, WOW!
Description of Work
Dave Blaine is THE BEST!!!
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed], even though I was unable to solve your problem in your rental here in Portland. Yes, charging a customer for service that only temporarily fixes something isn't what we are about. Every case can be different, but with the information you gave me, I think replacing is your best and only option. I recommended Home Depot because their national, which in your case my be easiest for you. There are many good local carpet retailers here as well. I must disclose also, that Home Depot recommends Chem-Dry for all their carpet cleaning requests that they get.
Cecelia P.
5.0
10/21/2013
Lilli was very prompt, measured the area to be cleaned, vacuumed thoroughly, cleaned the carpet and applied a stain fighter. Lilli worked very h****** removing a few spots that we had in the carpet and repeatedly asked if we had concerns with the job she had done. She took a lot of pride in her work. Can't remember for sure, but I think it took about 3 hours. She got the edges of the stairs the cleanest anyone has in the last 15 years. Good job, Lilli.
Description of Work
Cleaned the carpet through out the house......living room, dining room, family room, stairs, hall, 3 bedrooms. Applied stain fighter. (857 sq. ft plus 14 steps)
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for that report. Lilli is very dedicated and does all she can on every job.
Sheila G C.
5.0
07/22/2013
Ability Chem-dry did an excellent job of cleaning my rug. David came, gave me an estimate and told me a few things I didn't know about the rug. He picked it up at the promised time and carefully moved my furniture so he could roll it up. When he brought it back he and his helper very carefully replaced everything. The rug hadn't been cleaned in a very long time and was very dirty and dull. When he laid it out again it looked like new. I would highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Cleaned my 60 year old 10' x 12' Karastan rug.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed] for the nice review! So glad we could help you out. And of course, love your dog!
Leslie L.
5.0
05/16/2013
The man was VERY nice, helpful, and prompt. I had an excellent experience.
Description of Work
I had two area rugs cleaned.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Carol A.
5.0
03/21/2013
This was the second time I have used Ability Chem-Dry. Russ is very efficient and professional. Once he measured all of the areas he showed me all of the cleaning options, but didn't try to upsell me. I did choose the highest level of cleaning because I don't plan on having these carpets cleaned again for a long time. All areas are noticeably cleaner, the runner on our stairs looks amazing..we knew it was dirty, but now that it's clean, there is an amazing difference.
Description of Work
Wall-to-wall carpet cleaning, runner on stairs cleaned.
Category
carpet cleaners
Marina B.
5.0
12/21/2012
A chocolate milk spill on the dining room carpet prompted me to call for a carpet cleaning and I decided to get other needed areas cleaned including an area rug. Dan, was extremely professional, knew his stuff and the job was completed in the time promised. The chocolate stains were completely gone with no sign of any stain being there. They are very professional, prompt and provide great customer service! Without a doubt, I will use their services again.
Description of Work
Carpet cleaning in 4 areas and an area rug
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you! And thanks for being flexible and for giving us the opportunity!
tina M.
5.0
12/05/2012
.Arrived on time, very personable worker answered questions knowledgeably. Carpet looks fantastic and it isn't soaking wet like it was after the last cleaners I used. Will definitely use this company again.
Description of Work
Carpet cleaned and protectant added.
Category
carpet cleaners
Michael H.
5.0
11/18/2012
My husband measured the area and got an estimate over the phone for carpet and a price for each of the chairs. We set the date and they gave us a time slot when the technician would come. Fifteen minutes before he was to arrive, the technician called to say he was on his way. His name was Brian and he was very friendly and took the time to tell us about some extra treatment he could give our carpet, which increased the cost a few dollars. We made that decision. He remeasured and it turned out that his measurements were less. Brian told us and adjusted the estimate. We appreciated his honesty. Also, they had a special, so we did get a couple of discounts, one for the carpet and one for the chairs. Brian was diligent in his cleaning and very thorough. In the end, there were some areas on the one chair and areas on the stairs where he was unable to get them any cleaner. This was due to wear and tear and age, so we understood and were happy with the results. We saw him giving extra attention to these areas, so he tried. He also moved the furniture and then moved it back, and there was never any mess. Everything was done in a timely manner and it made the experience stress free. We are extremely happy that we chose Ability Chem Dry and even happier that Brian was the technician who came.
Description of Work
We had our living room carpet cleaned, which also goes upstairs and onto a landing. We also had 2 upholstered chairs cleaned in the living room. Our carpet and the chairs have been with us several years.
Category
carpet cleaners, upholstery cleaning
Carol A.
5.0
11/15/2012
I was able to book an appointment only two days in advance. Russ was prompt, professional and thorough. I will definitely use Chem-Dry in the future. Once he measured the square footage, the actual cost of the basic carpet cleaning was lower than the estimate.
Description of Work
Cleaned wall-to-wall carpet in basement.
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to make a report! Glad we could fit you in the time frame you needed.
Glenn T.
5.0
09/21/2012
Quoted price before starting, moved almost everything by himself, cleaned all areas quickly and thoroughly.
Description of Work
Cleaned all carpets on main floor as well as stairs and landings.
Category
carpet cleaners
Jerry F.
5.0
08/16/2012
When Russ finished, his workmanship looked wonderful. He did a fantastic job on our couches. We had some dog stains that I was not able to remove myself but after he was through were gone like magic. The carpets were cleaned next and they look like new for now. I only wished they would remain this way. We used Ability in the past and won't hesitate to use them again. Thanks Russ.
Description of Work
First, Russ cleaned our couches which took around an hour to perform. He then moved to the carpets in most of our rooms and that took another 3 hours I believe.
Category
carpet cleaners, upholstery cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks Member. Actually, Russ was there nearly five hours to thoroughly clean your sofas and carpet. I emphasize this as speed is not a goal, but taking the time to succesfully clean the best we can is. There are steps that can be taken to keep carpets cleaner, longer, including an applicaton of carpet protectant. We at Chem-Dry, have a patented process for doing that. Also, wearing socks or appropriate slippers in doors only. Going barefoot adds oils to carpeting.
Jon K.
5.0
07/09/2012
it went great. A nice guy came in and cleaned our carpets, and the price seemed right to me!
Description of Work
They cleaned our floors, punctual and reasonable, friendly, and a job well done. A good experience, I will stick with them
Category
carpet cleaners
DARRYL M.
5.0
05/19/2012
Good friendly service. Didn't rush the job, very thorough. Explained to us the cleaning process, cleaning materials, spot treatment, etc. Offered a discount on subsequent cleanings which we will likely take advantage of. Some spots came back fairly quickly, but I understand it might take several cleanings to get the substance out of the pad below the carpet.
Description of Work
Wall to wall carpet cleaning of the entire house before move-in.
Category
carpet cleaners
Jack W.
5.0
05/18/2012
It went just fine. They arrived when they said they would. They did a good job and we were pleased.
Description of Work
They cleaned two area rug carpets.
Category
carpet cleaners
Brenda B.
5.0
05/16/2012
Went well. Arrived on time, called me with quote for services. We paid over phone and was mailed our invoice. Renter said carpets looked good. Only issue I had was since we're in a condo building the company charges a $25 access charge regardless of the fee/coupons, etc.
Description of Work
Cleaned carpets of our rental condo unit.
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks Member for the review. Our coupon does state a minimum of cleaning for $119, which we charged you. The access fee to cover parking fees and the additional time and effort accessing and loading into these security buildings helps us cover those costs. You may find many companies will not serve these properties because of the added hassles including the use of portable equipment. I would like others to also know that our access fee can be up to, and more often is $35.00. I am glad your tenant was happy with the cleaning.
STAN D.
5.0
04/25/2012
They were excellent. They got the stains out that I did not think were going to come out.
Description of Work
Carpet cleaning
Category
carpet cleaners
KAREN B.
5.0
04/23/2012
.I like the product they use. They were good. I like the fact there is no odor afterwards. They also do not use water so its not wet afterwards where you have to wait for it to dry. I am very happy with the service.
Description of Work
.I used Ability Chem-Dry Carpet Cleaning for the carpet cleaning in my home.
Category
carpet cleaners
Julie M.
5.0
04/06/2012
Arrived promptly. Got right to work. Trouble spots explained. Looked great when done.
Description of Work
carpets cleaned throughout house including stairs.
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks member for taking the time to right a review. We appreciate your business of course and look forward to the next time you have us out!
Alicia B.
5.0
03/23/2012
We dropped the rugs off. We described what we wanted (clean rugs, no dog urine smell). Our rugs were delivered all clean and wrapped up. We are very happy with this company and would definitely recommend it.
Description of Work
We had four area rugs cleaned, including two large rugs.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks member, I hope your move to Roseburg went well!
Sarah S.
5.0
03/14/2012
Did an excellent job in the timeframe proposed, at the quoted price.
Description of Work
Cleaning and deodorizing 5x8 wool oriental carpet with cat urine stains.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
MARY L.
5.0
12/28/2011
It was really easy to schedule in terms of my availability. He was very thorough, very professional, and careful with the equipment. One of the reasons I usually use Chem-Dry is because the carpet dries fairly quickly. He made it easy for me to continue working while he was doing his work because I work from home. The carpet turned out really clean. He was reasonably priced. He also gave me some coupons for future savings. I will be using him again.
Description of Work
I used Ability Chem-Dry Carpet Cleaning for carpet cleaning.
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Hi Member and Thank You for the report. Let us know about the two oriental area rugs you have yet to clean and when you would like us to pick them up? We appreciate the referrals as well!
WIND L.
5.0
12/10/2011
It was a $100 for two carpets. This is the first time that we have used them. We think their price was pretty good. We think their responsiveness was good too. They are very professional. We are going to use their services again in the future.
Description of Work
We used Ability Chem-Dry Carpet Cleaning for area rug cleaning. We had to take our rugs to their office to get it cleaned. That was two or three weeks ago.
Category
oriental rug cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks Member for your comments! We appreciate that you gave us an opportunity to clean your rugs. Also, we can pick up and deliver especially for large rugs if needed.
Jeremy E.
5.0
10/31/2011
We needed to have all of the wall-to-wall carpeting in our house cleaned. They were very, very dirty because we had two very old cats and two very young children. We had the carpets cleaned by another company and I wasn't impressed with the results very much, so I didn't have high hopes for this service. However, I was AMAZED by how clean our carpets were at the end of the treatment. Our very dirty, very stained off-white carpet was pristine. I had thought I needed new carpeting soon, but am just going to have Ability come out once a year until my kids are old enough to not make the purchase of new carpeting a fool's errand. Also, the person who came to our house was incredibly professional and friendly, and the quote I received over the phone was right on target. We ended up paying more because we decided to get the optional stain protection (see cats and children, above) but that was completely our decision and wasn't obnoxiously pushed by the companyat all.
Description of Work
Wall-to-wall carpeting cleaned in five rooms in our home.
Category
carpet cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    A J CARPET CLEANING

    Carpet and Upholstery Cleaning Green cleaning availabe on request Hot water extraction by truck-mount Locally owned & operated Cerified-skilled technician Serving the area since 1993 Free estimates Licensed Insured Bonded  

    Angi Certified

    S&A Cleaning Team

    We started as a husband and wife team that have been in the cleaning industry for more than 20 years combined. With such an amazing customer base, and the need for high quality cleaning, we soon found out that we need to add to our team! We are different from other cleaning companies because we treat your home or office like if it was our own and pay great attention to detail which makes us stand out from the rest. We provide residential cleaning as well as commercial - (office space, medical facilities, child care facilities, new construction, banks, retail and more.) We also provide carpet cleaning, air duct cleaning, hardwood floor cleaning, tile cleaning, strip and wax, and more! We use green products that are safe for your family and the environment. Rest assured, we are fully bonded, and insured.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Mission Cleaning NW

    Professional Carpet Cleaning, Floor, Tile & Grout Care, Furniture Cleaning. We use new state-of-the-art steam equipment and we also offer low moisture, quick dry method. We are an experienced husband & wife operated small business.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check, Discover
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Wall to wall carpet cleaning for homes and businesses. Oriental and area rug cleaning and washing at our plant facility, upholstery and furniture cleaning, mattresses, etc. Tile and grout cleaning and sealing, and related services. Since 1982.

    Services Not Offered

    tile, grout repairs, carpet stretching.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ability Chem-Dry

    How is Ability Chem-Dry overall rated?

    Ability Chem-Dry is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ability Chem-Dry open?

    Ability Chem-Dry is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Ability Chem-Dry provide

    Ability Chem-Dry accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check, Discover

    Does Ability Chem-Dry offer free estimates?

    Ask Ability Chem-Dry for details on free project estimates.

    Does Ability Chem-Dry offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Ability Chem-Dry offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ability Chem-Dry offer a senior discount?

    No, Ability Chem-Dry does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Ability Chem-Dry?

    No, Ability Chem-Dry does not offer warranties.

    What services does Ability Chem-Dry offer?

    Ability Chem-Dry offers the following services: Wall to wall carpet cleaning for homes and businesses. Oriental and area rug cleaning and washing at our plant facility, upholstery and furniture cleaning, mattresses, etc. Tile and grout cleaning and sealing, and related services. Since 1982.

    Are there any services Ability Chem-Dry does not offer?

    tile, grout repairs, carpet stretching.