Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A ROOF ABOVE

Founded 2001 • With Angi since January 2009

4.8

(24) Verified Reviews

Description

LICENSE: CCB#147271. A ROOF ABOVE offers quality service at an affordable price. All of our installers are Master Certified. We offer FREE ESTIMATES, and a workmanship guarantee on whole roofing jobs. Experience: James Schlatter began roofing in 1996, working for a high-end metal roofing company. He wanted the freedom to offer a higher level of customer service along with reasonable prices, so he started his own business in 2001. Since then, the business has grown, and Jim has maintained his high standard of conduct for all his employees, and interacts personally with each customer. His success is proven by his reputation for quality, honesty, and satisfied customers. Customer service: A Roof Above is committed to providing the homeowner with a positive experience. We know that having work done on your home can be stressful, so we strive to be courteous and respectful, leave the job site orderly, and answer any questions you may have. If there is any way we can make the experience more pleasant, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate you. Reasonable price: Jim will use his years of experience and product knowledge to give you the best price possible. Licensed, Bonded, Insured: Integrity is important to us, and we take the law seriously. It is expensive to carry the insurance necessary to protect your home and our employees, but contractors who cut corners are putting you and your home at risk. If something happens to your home and they don’t have the right insurance, your loss may not be covered; if a worker is injured on the job, you could be sued. We encourage you to check out any potential contractor, including us, with the Construction Contractor’s Board....

Other local Pros in your area

Western Paver Design LLC

Call us directly at 503-534-3517. Western paver design & construction (WPD) is Premier General Contractor in the NW. WPD Installs paver patio's, decks, cedar, and Trex/composite, retaining walls, fire pits, pergola's, fences, paver pathways, outdoor lighting, concrete work , paver driveways, demo work and much more. Enlarge your current patio with beautiful pavers. Many colors, patterns and size options available! Contact us to schedule a free estimate and have one of our design Professionals help you design an amazing outdoor living space! 20 years experience. WPD’s mission is to create amazing outdoor living spaces for our clients. WPD strives for highest quality work and we stand behind each and every project! We have many options to show our clients how to make any project really stand out! WPD can completely demo any project & re-build an enjoyable outdoor space. Full catalog available. Please contact us for a free site inspection and estimate. You can also email us at info@westernpaverdesign.com  

Offers by Western Paver Design LLC on Angi
Oregon Premium Painting LLC

www.oregonpremiumpainting.com A FAMILY OWNED COMPANY WITH OVER 40 YEARS OF COMBINED EXPERIENCE WITHIN THE PAINT INDUSTRY. LEADING EXPERTS IN RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL COATINGS & APPLICATION TECHNIQUES. LICENSED, BONDED AND INSURED TO DO ALL PHASES OF INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR COATINGS. When it comes to preparing your home for a long lasting and beautiful transformation, you can be rest assured that our experts will keep your properties best interest in mind. Does the concrete around your home need cleaned? We also clean and beautify driveways, walkways, porches and patios to give your home that final touch that you deserve.  

Offers by Oregon Premium Painting LLC on Angi
IM Painting

IM Construction is a family business dedicated to interior and exterior painting proudly serving the Portland Metropolitan area. We are dedicated to consistently providing high customer satisfaction by rendering excellent service and quality job performance at a reasonable price. We offer the following commercial and residential painting services: Interior and Exterior Painting, Color Consultation, Drywall Repairs, Power/Pressure Washing and Re-Paint, Refinishing & Remodeling Cabinets, Wallpaper Removal and Deck Staining. Contact us today to start beautifying your home!  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/22/2021

Excellent, on time good price and good work

Description of Work
replaced residential roof

Category decks

5.0

12/09/2020

Jim Schatter responded promptly for the estimate, gave time frame to start and complete the work and was very professional. Once we agreed on the work to be completed they came out on the date and time specified and when I made a couple changes to the job Ollie came back the next day and completed the job explained in detail the work done and took pictures to document. Very satisfied with the repa...

Description of Work
Roof leak repair

Category decks,roofing

5.0

09/12/2018

SUPER professional to work with & finished job looks impressive. Jim & his team were very proactive with solutions. A breeze to work with!

Description of Work
All gutters & spouts replaced

Category gutter repair

5.0

05/30/2018

Guys did a great job, super respectful and considerate, cleaned up every trace of roofing debris. The owner Jim shared various option with us and pricing. Over all great experience.

Description of Work
Roofing work

Category roofing

5.0

12/20/2017

Went very well. I knew I needed lots of wood rot repair, so project took over a week. They were very conscientious and hard working. Cleaned up well every day.

Description of Work
Re-roof, tore off 3 layers

Category roofing

5.0

05/20/2015

So great to find A Roof Above from a word of mouth referral. Jim and his crew were fantastic -- something often tough to find in this business -- they were very professional and kept me informed along the way with progress. Kept a clean work site and were on time. price was very fair too. They are the complete package and I'm using them again as my work involves managing property.

Description of Work
Big roofing job including complete tear out of plywood due to mold. installation of smart vent system to avoid mold issue going forward

Category roofer

5.0

05/04/2015

Honesty, integrity and care for his customers are evident with A roof Above. Jim's Schlatter's crew did an outstanding job. They cleaned up after themselves and we were very happy with the job and the price. this is the second job we have had done by A Roof Above and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Removed old roofing on both house and garage and installed new architectural shingles. They added appropriate attic vents and all needed flashing.

Category roofer

5.0

11/27/2014

This job turned out to be much more than what could be seen with the eye. Ten plywood sheets had to be replaced, there was dry rot in another area and a gutter needed to be replaced. Around the chimney, the roof was uneven and needed to be built up, so the water would not collect there. All that was done was done excellently and at the most reasonable cost. I am truly thankful to have such a beautiful new roof and a dry house...what a relief...completion! The roofing team was delightful to have on my property, harmonious and cheerful, even in very cold weather. They were professional, yet personable, taking care of detail. Not a bit of debris was left behind and even a loose piece of siding on the corner of my house was nailed back into place! Thank you, smile! It was always getting knocked off, whenever something needed to be pulled by... I would unreservedly recommend A Roof Above with full confidence that any job they do will be top notch, or higher!

Description of Work
A Roof Above had put a new roof on my garage during the summer, a terrific job. At that time I scheduled the entire roof of my house. A partial would have stopped leaking, which has been ongoing in the laundry room, but it cost less in the long-run, to take care of it all at the same time, since there were some problems coming up in other areas.

Category gutter repair contractor","roofer","siding contractor

5.0

08/11/2014

Even though I did choose another contractor for the job, the estimates and service recommendations were about the same. As I noted above the choice was pretty much a coin toss.

Description of Work
Estimated gutter repair and roof evaluation for two houses.

Category gutter repair contractor","roofer

5.0

09/25/2012

Jim showed up on time, inspected the roofs and quoted the job at that time. He discuss the scope of the work and offered some lower cost value options so that I did not have to spend money unnecessarily. He started the job on the day he promised and finished the job in the number of days stated. Should be noted the days the work was done were the hottest of the summer. When they found loose plywood sheeting they renailed the sheets. The price charged for the repair of damaged sheeting found once the old roof was removed was very fair.

Description of Work
Old composition shingle roofs were removed on two duplexes and two detached two car garages. Repairs were made to any damaged found to the sheeting beneath the old roofing materials. New underlayment, flashings, roof jacks and vents were installed along with a new Certainteed Landmark composition roof. New Leaf releaf gutter toppers were installed.

Category gutter repair contractor","roofer

    Services Offered

    COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL ROOFING INSTALLATION, GUTTERS, REPAIRS INCLUDING CONSTRUCTION & HOME INSPECTION REPAIRS, DECKS, WINDOWS, SIDING, SKYLIGHTS, SOLAR TUBES, PAINTING & MAINTENANCE, HAULING AND CLEAN OUT.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes