Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tellurian Construction

Founded 2009 • With Angi since June 2011

4.8

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 1976

PHOENIX, OR 97535

Description

Tellurian Construction specializes in the building of decks, outdoor structures, outdoor kitchens and fences. We have worked with all materials and can design just about anything to meet your needs! If outdoor living is what you are looking for, give us a call. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/07/2019


Joseph B.

It went very well. Scott is easy to work with and very responsive. He designed our new covered back patio and the associated landscaping. This was a very iterative process and we customized it to our needs. We had some old stone that Scott incorporated into our project (per our request), even though this was more labor intensive. The project went according to plan. It took slightly longer than anticipated but I think this is always the way. We are very pleased with the finished result and have been spending more time than ever outside! The landscaping is also beautiful.

Description of Work
Rebuilding patio and creating covered space over it with landscaping and an outdoor kitchen

Category landscaping, outdoor kitchens

5.0

12/04/2018


William C.

All work was done promptly by people who were friendly and work hard. The owners came and did some of the work themselves when a few minor problems arose at the end of construction. They seemed very invested in making sure we were fully satisfied with the job and in fact, we are fully satisfied. I would recommend Tellurian Gardens highly!

Description of Work
Needed to replace a large deck.

Category decks

5.0

05/01/2018


Fred K.

We called on Tellurian Gardens to replace our old, cracked patio with water-permeable pavers, and to add a small flagstone seating area elsewhere in our back yard. The patio had long been a problem during heavy rains when water would collect, occasionally in sufficient quantity to cause minor flooding of our basement. Tellurian Gardens worked with us to craft a plan manage the water, and they installed a beautiful patio based on that plan. Concurrently, they added a charming seating area at the back of the yard. In the end, we have two gorgeous areas in our back yard , and our flooding problems have disappeared (the definitive test came last week when torrential storms didn’t create so much as a puddle). Tellurian Garden’s workers were accommodating, efficient and friendly, and the project’s pricing was reasonable, especially in light of the quality we received. There is nothing about the project that we aren’t pleased with, and we readily recommend Tellurian Gardens to anyone considering outdoor improvements for their home.

Description of Work
Replacement of small, cracked concrete patio and addition of a second, smaller back yard seating area

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

5.0

04/30/2018


Amy K.

"I refinanced my mortgage for the cash to make a major investment in the landscaping around my property. I had a creek that was completely hidden by invasive weeds deeper than I am tall, a lumpy unattractive lawn that was more dandelion than grass, bad drainage that led to ankle-deep standing water in my back yard all winter, and poorly placed trees whose roots were cracking the foundation of my house, or whose pine needles left huge swathes of bare dead earth around my property. It all had to go, rip-and-replace. To make sure I was spending my money wisely, I invested in a professional landscape architect to draft a full plan for developing a sustainable, native creekside ecosystem that would thrive in this climate and terrain with minimal human intervention. After 9 mos and multiple false starts, my "designer" provided a plan that was impossible for me to build within my budget, and included some M. C. Escher elements that literally weren't buildable in reality. I stopped working with her and handed the "plan" to Scott Schulze of Tellurian Gardens. Within a few weeks, he converted her $60,000 fever dream to a workable plan that came in exactly at my budget of $25,000, representing significant design rework that he didn't charge for, simply included it in the overhead of preparing the detailed bid. The project included French drains to manage the stormwater under permeable walkways, a full network of soaking hoses and sprinklers connected to a programmable system and rain sensor, scraping and hauling away the weed-infested topsoil, then grading and replacing it with gardening soil, grinding out the trunks and root systems of 9 removed trees, and planting hundreds of native berries, wildflower groundcover, forest understory, and flowering trees. Watching the plantings bloom and burst to life this spring has been a joy, and everything I'd hoped for at the start of this project. I can highly recommend Scott, Erin, and their crew."

Description of Work
Landscape entire property: hardscaping, irrigation, soil remediation, and plantings

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] We were more then glad to help you with the project and to help narrow down the scope. We work with all shapes and sizes of projects and there is always a way to work with the design to get to the target budget. It just takes a little back and forth. The guys enjoyed your project and they enjoyed the transformation. Thanks
5.0

04/11/2018


SUSAN G.

I had a wonderful experience with Tellurian Gardens. I wanted a small from porch built- only about 6x8, I called many companies, and they practically laughed at me when I told them the size of my project. My cousin, who is a landscape designer told me about Tellurian Gardens, and I gave them a call. Scott came over to look at the space, and a number of other projects I had in mind and got me quotes in good time. He and his crew were great to work with. We went back and forth about the design of the porch a number of time, and he had great ideas, but was not put out if I decided not to go that way. The porch was done in about 3 days, and is gorgeous. The space was clean and tidy at the end of every day. I then had them remove a crumbling fence in the back yard and and put in a beautiful 6 foot fence, That was done in even less time, and again, the same great craftsmanship. I have a couple of more projects to complete and I'll be calling Scott and the gang again, with no hesitation. I'm lucky to have found this great company!

Description of Work
small front porch, back yard fence

Category decks, fencing

Service Provider Response

Susan Glad we could help with the porch and the fence. As for the design process, it is important to get it right the first time. Thanks!
5.0

01/24/2018


gerry B.

Outstanding. Great to work with. Produced a creative solution, adapted to new additions to the project, creatively solved problems of working in the small spaces typical of this neighborhood. the entire team is great to work with, responsive and responsible. They went the extra mile to make sure everything turned out perfectly. I would definitely recommed them without reservation.

Description of Work
Design and building of new patio, walkway and pergola in small space.

Category landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thanks for the positive review! You and Mimi were a pleasure to work with and we all enjoyed working with the porcelain pavers. The small space was a challenge, but nothing a little perseverance couldn't take care of.
5.0

11/21/2017


Carol M R.

very well. We got a sensible plan on the spot, along with a cost estimate if we use Tellurian Gardens for the work.

Description of Work
plan for water management and plantings in side yard

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

We are so glad you liked your plan, [Member Name Removed]! Look forward to working with you again in the future. :)
5.0

10/12/2017


Steve G.

Just fine. They arrived when they promised, wrote up and explained the plan, and responded effectively to some questions I had a while later.

Description of Work
They provided a landscape plan for my property

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the review! We hope the evaluation of your yard was helpful. Please let us know if you have any further questions.
5.0

10/12/2017


Trudy C.

Fine. My projects are not of the scale that they design and build.

Description of Work
Design ideas

Category landscaping

5.0

06/21/2017


Tom H.

I didn't use their service, but, I would in the future.

Description of Work
Deck design and estimate for build.

Category landscaping

4.0

06/07/2017


Anne C.

Okay. Thought that there would be more weeding.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category hardscaping

5.0

04/13/2017


Edward H.

Tellurian was transparent throughout the process and did the job as designed on time and on budget. If we had a problem they were easy to deal with and proactive in trying to find a solution. I found them to be honest people who do good work. We were happy.

Description of Work
Remodel Front and back yard. Install patio, deck, irrigation, and plants.

Category decks, fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

03/27/2017


Robert R.

The Tellurian Gardens crew did a terrific job for us, from initial design to completion. The design process was fun and highly collaborative. Scott was good at listening to our input and incorporating it into his designs. At the same time, he wasn't shy about suggesting a better way and using his considerable expertise to steer us to a better solution. I can't say enough about the skill and reliability of their installation crews. They showed up when they said they'd show up, and worked quickly and efficiently. Any problems or questions that arose were quickly addressed. We are absolutely thrilled with the finished product and wish we'd done it years earlier. All in all, an extremely positive experience. We recommend them highly.

Description of Work
A complete overhaul of our backyard, including a new multi-level deck, paver patio and the installation of over 100 new plants, shrubs and trees.

Category decks, landscaping, hardscaping, patios

5.0

02/23/2017


Terry F.

Scott and company were a pleasure to deal with from start to finish. The development of the design was fluid and thorough with a lot of back and forth. The execution of the final work was professional. We are more than pleased with the results and look forward to continued work with Tellurian Gardens in the future.

Description of Work
We had a challenging and comprehensive job for Tellurian Gardens, which included a stacked natural stone wall, permeable-paver patio/drive, custom cedar bench, and complete overhaul of our landscaping.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review! Your project was challenging, but also a lot of fun. We had never done a wall quite like that before. It is still one of our favorite projects to date. Thank you for being so great to work with!
5.0

02/13/2017


Mary B.

I did talk to him. In fact we reached an agreement, then he came back and said "Oh I forgot to include the railing, that would be $10,000 more. That was a lot of money. It was doubled the price. I told him let me think about it. I don't know. He was really nice. His quote I thought was reasonable. I said lets go with it, but he came back with $10,000 more. The original price was $9,000-10,000, it just doubled. It kind of went over my budget of what I wanted to spend on it. I have three sections of decks, two in the back and one in the front. I was really up in the air about the back, not knowing what to do. It seems kind of silly to do the whole thing. It goes the whole length of the house and we never used that section back there. It just kind of sat there and we have to go out and clean it and take care of it. It is the section in front of the living room I wanted done. It was going to 1,403 plus 12250 for the demo and disposal of the whole deck, and permit. He came up with some other ideas on trying to get the price down. I'm still undecided. It was a good quote, I was happy with it and then they added $10,000. I guess that's what the rail cost. I have no idea. I would definitely consider him again. I think he would do a good job. I like him, he was fine. I think the price just went up so drastically.

Description of Work
He came out and did a quote.

Category decks

5.0

11/15/2016


DIANA J.

They did a good job on all aspects. Scott offered suggestions for design and execution to accomplish my goals. Scott and Kyle took into consideration my preferences and requests throughout the project. They communicated about their schedule and let me know if there was a delay. When an employee was injured, Scott and Erin came to do the work themselves to keep the project moving forward. My deck is beautiful and I look forward to filling the planting beds next spring. It's also very nice to have stepping stones to access every place in the yard.

Description of Work
Replace aged cedar deck with new, larger composite deck, and added a small wall of decking material. Replace several small rotten wood retaining walls with stacked stone rock to enlarge and create planting areas. Replace grass paths with gravel and flagstone paths, including metal edging. Install flagstone steps up small slope and across lawn.

Category decks, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We hope you are enjoying your new deck, stone walls, and improved pathways. Your backyard was so nice to work in. Especially with all of the hummingbirds. We hope to work with you again in the future!
5.0

08/24/2016


Thom W.

.

Description of Work
Some of the plants they had put in previously were not available in the Fall so we had to wait until the spring so they came back and installed those. They also did some additional irrigation to some new plants.

Category lawn service, irrigation systems

5.0

08/08/2016


Anne C.

The process was slower than we had hoped, but the end result was beautiful! Scott really listened to our concerns and responded with great ideas. We are selling our house in a few years and did not want to go overboard. We were very happy with the workmanship.

Description of Work
Replaced large cedar deck with Timber Tech.

Category decks, landscaping

5.0

03/13/2016


Thom W.

We hired Tellurian Gardens to do a total makeover of our yard, and what a transformation we got! They removed our overgrown hodgepodge of shrubs and replaced them with new and interesting native plants and trees that fit the scale of our garden. Scott and Pat really know their plants, and they worked with us to pick just the right plants for our yard and lifestyle. Our property is narrow and deep, but Scott and team made great use of the space and created a flow to draw you into different areas of interest. They put a raised bed and a covered bench in the back corner and built us a new paver patio and walkways. We loved the stonework so much that we had them dig up our poured concrete front walk and replace it with pavers so everything is unified. They added irrigation to keep things green in the summer months. Some path and accent lighting mean we can enjoy the landscape well into the evening. They replaced our weathered and deteriorating fence with a sharp new cedar fence and beautiful, hand-crafted gate. Kyle's craftsmanship is impeccable. No project is without problems, but there were very few issues to contend with. I only mention them here to emphasize that Scott and his team were very responsive to any concerns we had. If any correction was needed, they acted quickly and thoroughly to make things right. That is a true sign of professionalism and a commitment to customer satisfaction. We couldn't be happier with our new yard and with the team from Tellurian Gardens. It was a pleasure working with everyone on the team. We would definitely hire them again, and we highly recommend them to our friends and neighbors. Thank you, Scott!

Description of Work
Landscape design Removal of overgrown plants. Soil and rock removal Regrading of back yard Added new topsoil, compost, and mulch Installed new paver patio and walkways Installed lighting Installed irrigation and drainage Installed new plants and trees Placed boulders Built new fence Designed and built wooden gate with keyless entry lock Designed and built covered bench Designed and built bike/tool shed

Category fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

5.0

06/29/2015


YONE M.

we had a ten year trex deck that needed replacing. we hired Scott and his crew. we really liked them. the work they did was excellent. they were here when they said they would be except during the worst weather. they were prompt and didn't drag the project out. they even worked a couple of Saturdays to make sure the work was done when they said it would be. I am looking forward to hiring them again for another garden project.

Description of Work
repaired existing trex deck and extended deck around side of house

Category decks, landscaping

5.0

10/10/2014


Catherine B.

It went extremely well. Excellent crew and management. Highly responsive to add on work and minor adjustments. Site was kept clean and my driveway and garage was always accessible to me though work going on on both sides most of the days. There was a LOT going on with this remodel - and all was handled very, very well. We now have a beautiful yard. It wasn't cheap - but I feel I got my money's worth and LOVE my yard now and am so looking forward to adding to it in the years to come - now that I have good soil and drainage to work with!

Description of Work
Comprehensive remodel of front and side yards; including but not limited to removal of designated plants, grading of soil level, soil amendment, installation of french drains, installation of new irrigation zones and modification of existing zones, installation and placement of large landscaping boulders/wall, edging stone placement along driveway and basement windows, construction of berry trellises, flagstone pathways, installation of landscape lighting, procurement and planting of trees, shrubs, perennials and ground cover, and old concrete step removal

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] Thank you so much for the review and the compliments. The guys worked hard and they were very happy with the results. As for your project, we were all happy with the outcome. There were a few challenges, but nothing some communication and experience couldn't take care of. Me personally, I thought both the wall and flagstone turned out great. The drainage catch basins were a new one for us and the guys enjoyed learning how to install them. Overall, your yard looks amazing and is ready for you to make it your own! Thanks Scott
5.0

08/03/2014


TINA S.

First met with Scott in May about removing our lawn on steep slope, landscaping the yard and replacing our backyard cedar fence. He asked me a lot of questions to get an idea of what kind of plants & look I liked. He was pretty patient with me as it took about 2 months of emails back & forth to come up with a plan & price that would work. The plan included some boulder planting areas & 2 trees on the slopes with groundcover, a flagstone pathway around the house, pavers & 2 trees in the front parking strip, a tree, some plants & river rock on side parking strip, a new back fence with trellis, and a drip irrigation system on a timer. Began the job in late June & took about 3 weeks to complete. The crew, Pat & Craig were friendly & extremely hard working guys. They answered all our questions & Pat gave me a lot of plant info. It was pretty interesting to watch them set the boulders & when the plants & trees got in I was excited, it all looked so colorful. There was one plant type I wasn't happy with & they returned them for another type I liked. The watering system makes life so much easier. The entire job turned out beautiful & have received lots of positive comments from neighbors & strangers. Scott was great to work with and has some creative ideas. We will hire Scott & his crew again for any future projects. Update one year later: The plants have grown larger & I love my yard. Before we had grass on a steep sloping yard that turned yellow in the summer because the water just rolled off. Now in the middle of a heat wave all the neighbors have yellow grass & our yard looks so green. The plants are established & have them on a 3 day a week water schedule. In the past year Scott & the crew repaired the gates that were installed a bit tight & Pat stopped by in the spring to make sure out irrigation system was working OK. Have added pictures.

Description of Work
Landscaped front & side yard on corner lot, planted 5 trees, installed sprinkler system, built new fence & installed pavers & flagstones.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/04/2014


Carol R.

We were happy with our experience with Scott and his crew, from design of the new patio and fence to completion of the project. Besides the esthetics of the project, we were concerned about drainage because the new patio would be next to the back of our house, causing concern about the potential of basement flooding if the plan did not include proper drainage. We ran into a few snags as the project progressed - Scott and crew were very responsive and solutions were quickly agreed on. The end product is a beautiful outside space which not only looks good but works well. The new drainage system has passed the test of a spring deluge during which the rainwater drained properly and left our basement completely dry. We are very satisfied customers.

Description of Work
Installed paver patio and cedar fence which included a gate.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Thanks for the positive review, much appreciated. Your project was the kick off project for our year and I could not have asked for a better project to start the year with. The drainage was by far the portion of the project that we were most concerned with. Installing almost 500 SF of non permeable surface into a small backyard made was a bit intimidating with the current drainage problems. With a little bit of forethought and some precise grading, we managed to get all the water into the system and out of the backyard. The other challenge was getting all the materials into the backyard. With not much access and a 5' retaining wall in the way, I was very happy that somebody invented conveyor belt trucks. With out that, everything would have had to come up in 5 gallon buckets. Well glad everything is looking good and you are enjoying it. Please let me know when you get the patio furniture installed, I need to stop by and get some pictures still. Scott
5.0

11/10/2013


Jan D.

Scott and his team were a delight from start to finish. Scott took our ideas, as rudimentary as they were, and added his own expertise and experience to create a yard that delights us every day. Since the completion of both projects, Scott has been very responsive to our follow up questions, and promptly replaced a couple of plants that failed to thrive, and adding more grass seed to the lawn. I had hired someone to do a fast and cheap landscape job on the back yard a year earlier, and of course, hated it! Instead of taking it all out and starting from scratch (and charging us more) Scott took a thoughtful approach to evaluating what was there that could work, and bringing the whole thing together in the way it should have been in the first place.

Description of Work
Scott worked closely with us to design a landscape plan for both the front and back yard of our Sellwood bungalow. We wanted to replace the existing (and ugly) retaining wall with something different, and have been delighted with (and received a lot of compliments for) the natural and unique approach he took, using boulders interspersed with a variety of native plants. In the back, he designed a beautiful flagstone patio that he and his team installed to perfection. Since the completion of both projects, Scott has been very responsive to our follow up questions.

Category landscaping

5.0

10/13/2013


Susan R.

It was complicated in that he had to perform a bamboo abatement, with trenching and placement of barrier. This is our second home and I live out of town, so communication was key. The process was seamless and communication was excellent. The result is a fence that is unique and well-built. Pricing was fair and consistent with other bids. Bid was complete with materials and final invoice delineated change orders and difference. I will likely have other projects there and will definitely invite Scott to be involved.

Description of Work
Scott built a cedar wood fence at the edge of my driveway. I hired him to build a gate on the other side of our property, as well

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Perfect Lawn Care

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in lawn and yard services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service!  

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape Design Decks Pergolas and Structures Fences Screenings Hardscapes Paver Patios Paver Pathways Flagstone Patios Flagstone Pathways Driveways Retaining Walls Gardens Plantings Irrigation Drainage Outdoor Lighting Water Features Sod Replacement Hardwood Decks Deck Replacements Metal Structures Outdoor Structures Outdoor Kitchens

    Services Not Offered

    Maintenance

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tellurian Construction

    How is Tellurian Construction overall rated?

    Tellurian Construction is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tellurian Construction open?

    Tellurian Construction is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Tellurian Construction provide

    Tellurian Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa

    Does Tellurian Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tellurian Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Tellurian Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Tellurian Construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Tellurian Construction?

    Yes, Tellurian Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Tellurian Construction offer?

    Tellurian Construction offers the following services: Landscape Design Decks Pergolas and Structures Fences Screenings Hardscapes Paver Patios Paver Pathways Flagstone Patios Flagstone Pathways Driveways Retaining Walls Gardens Plantings Irrigation Drainage Outdoor Lighting Water Features Sod Replacement Hardwood Decks Deck Replacements Metal Structures Outdoor Structures Outdoor Kitchens

    Are there any services Tellurian Construction does not offer?

    Maintenance