Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

APPLEGATE DOOR CO

Founded 1978 • With Angi since August 2010

4.5

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

720 APPLEGATE ST

Philomath, OR 97370

Description

We began Applegate Door in 1978 doing sales, service and installs primarily of wooden garage doors. The company has since grown and expanded it's services and product line. We do everything from pet doors to airplane hangers. In 1999, Applegate Door Company became the FIRST Accredited Door Dealer in Oregon. Our customer satisfaction is the utmost importance to us. We strive to continue our excellent reputation with fast friendly service. Stop by our "state of the art" showroom and get to know us. Let our years of experience work for you....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

02/01/2021


Rachel B.

We live in Philomath and strive to support our local businesses. I DO NOT recommend Applegate Door Company. They installed a garage door opener for us about a month ago. It worked great until our springs broke, not their fault. My husband tried to replace the springs himself to no avail. We needed to call the professionals. Applegate Door Company was booked out a month, so we contacted another company. The other company informed us that the wrong door opener was installed and that our $500 was wasted. We called Applegate to give them a chance to rite their wrong. We were jerked around and told it would be more than a month for them to look at it for eligibility of a refund or replacement. I feel like this is HORRIBLE customer service!!! We are very disappointed and will never recommend them.

Description of Work
Garage Door Opener

Category garage doors

1.0

08/01/2019


Bill Y.

I called Applegate, who had done the original installation and a subsequent spring replacement. They said their earliest appointment was 3 weeks in the future. Clearly, they don't want to participate in the repair market.

Description of Work
I had a broken garage door opener.

Category garage doors

5.0

09/17/2017


Joan W.

They are real good and they don't charge a whole lot. I think they are great. I did not get another price. He was recommended to me, I called him and he came out and did the work for me.

Description of Work
They installed two garage doors.

Category garage doors

5.0

09/04/2017


Danny B.

Applegate was beyond helpful in this project. We had a time crunch and needed to get the panels replaced right away. They were able to locate the panels (that were almost out of stock). They replaced them just in time before we got our house painted. The office staff was very professional and answered all my questions. They helped us get this done in a very short time frame. The installer was on time, efficient and our entire door is now running more efficiently than before. The price estimate was clear and right on for the work done. Overall we couldn't be more happy with the service we were provided. We would hire them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Needed lower two panels of garage door to be replaced due to a dent.

Category garage doors

5.0

09/20/2016


Russell A.

Great. Replaced the spring with a better one, greased the rollers, and did so quickly and on the low end of the estimate.

Description of Work
Broken Spring.

Category garage doors

5.0

12/03/2015


Bob D.

Description of Work
They installed the doors, removed the old doors. When I called them after installation (because I thought the handle was too weak to sustain repeated use) they came out and installed a second handle for us (at a better height).

Category garage doors

1.0

10/29/2015


Gary C.

First note that i write this review reluctantly as Applegate has previously provided me satisfactory service. Note also that as this is an RV garage the door is opened infrequently. While all seemed ok initially we soon began experiencing problems as the top panel repeatedly came off the track - a major problem on a 13' tall door that barely clears the RV. I also began replacing rollers on lower panels as they were bending. It finally became so much of a problem that I stopped by their office and talked with Lawrie who told me I was then beyond their warranty period but he'd take a look and make it right. He and a technician subsequently made several adjustments including relocating the opener arm - all without charge. However, things quickly went from bad to worse as the top panel - while no longer coming off the track - bent in the middle where the opener is attached. I again stopped by and talked with Lawrie who assured me he would take a look. Since then many weeks have passed and repeated calls to the Applegate office have gone nowhere - they (both Lawrie's son and the lady who sometimes answers) take a message and I very simply never get so much as a return call. I've never expressed anger and all of our exchanges have been pleasant - I simply receive no response and am left with a very large door that is both damaged and inoperable - evidently as a result of poor installation.

Description of Work
Applegate door expanded our 12' (h) x 18' (w) RV garage door to 13' high after we had another contractor relocate the header to the 13' height. It was explained to me that as we have only a 14' ceiling installation would be a challenge. However, all seemed to go well and i was pleased with the service (Note also that Applegate previously relpaced both of our other garage doors satisfactorily).

Category garage doors

5.0

09/09/2015


Eileen M.

Description of Work
Had 2 new single car garage doors installed. The old doors were removed and disposed of and an entire new door assembly now working well.

Category garage doors, doors

5.0

08/28/2015


Anna J F.

Description of Work
One of the springs in the door was broken. The garage door is more than 50 years old. They replaced both of the springs and maintenanced and oiled the mechanism within two hours. We would highly recommend them to our friends and associates.

Category garage doors

5.0

11/26/2014


Harry J.

We decided to rehabilitate a falling down garage workshop building. During the process we contact Laurie to see what the requirements would be for clearances and installation. He gladly came out and advised us as to his needs. A couple months later I phoned to schedule an appointment to make sure the the criteria was met for easy installation. He came out again and okayed the construction. I later went to their office where I met with Merlin and Mellisa. A couple weeks later, Dan, the installer arrived and put in the door. We were most pleased with the service they offered and their very pleasant and helpful ideas. This is a local family outfit that is nothing short of wonderful to do business with.

Description of Work
Installed new insulated roll up door in a garage that had been totally rebuilt from foundation to roof.

Category garage doors, doors

5.0

10/11/2014


Allen T.

The manufacturer of the door messed up and didn't ship the door to Applegate in time for the original installation date. Applegate did everything they could to expedite receipt of the door. When they knew it was going to arrive they scheduled to have it installed the next day. The installer arrived on time and was courteous, knowledgeable and did a job that can only be characterized as outstanding. The door was installed in a garage door house frame that the framer had put in an inch out of square (big deal to a perfectionist!). The installer put the door in so that it functions smoothly and one can't even tell that the frame is not square. He did a phenomenal job and I couldn't be more pleased. I would use Applegate any time I needed garage door work.

Description of Work
Installed a garage door on my home under construction.

Category garage doors, doors

5.0

07/10/2014


Karen H.

They serviced an existing garage door and opener and reaffixed some wires which had come loose.

Description of Work
It's been a year or two since I used Applegate so I don't remember the exact dates or the cost. I do remember I was very pleased with their service, price and professionalism!

Category garage doors

5.0

05/14/2014


Angela D.

Turned up as arranged, sorted problem quickly, would happilly use again.

Description of Work
Fixed garage door

Category garage doors

1.0

04/18/2014


dale O.

The estimator came out, looked, made suggestions, was very amiable. Said he would e-mail us the estimate later that day (Friday) or the next (Saturday). No e-mail all weekend. We called Monday AM. Were told the estimator was not in right then, but we would hear from the company by 10:00AM. No response. We had given them the e-mail address again and the phone number in case that had been the problem. We still (a week later) have not heard from Applegate. Fortunately we had an estimate from Valley and now have a brand new garage door (much better than our original.)

Description of Work
made estimate on replacing a garage door

Category garage doors

5.0

01/20/2014


William S.

.

Description of Work
.

Category garage doors

5.0

10/13/2013


Dan H.

The guy was fast, efficient, professional and friendly. He knew he was going to arrive slightly late but called in advance to let me know.

Description of Work
Replaced a broken torsion spring on a garage door, replaced two rollers, oiled and checked the door.

Category garage doors

5.0

07/29/2013


Sally M.

The cost is a guess, since it's been a while. Our garage door opener was having problems. Someone can out for a preliminary visit to see what was wrong. We were told that while a temporary measure could be taken, it would be better to replace the unit. (It was very old.) Since the unit had to be replaced, the look-see visit was free. We were quoted a price up front, which at the time struck me as being more than reasonable. The unit was installed efficiently and we haven't had a problem with the equipment since that time.

Description of Work
Our old garage door opener was replaced.

Category garage doors

5.0

06/24/2013


Todd M.

We called on a Thursday I think. They were busy and weren't going to be able to get to us until Monday or Tuesday. Their schedule opened up and they were able to come out Friday afternoon at the end of the day which was so awesome. The worker was extremely friendly. He had to run back to the shop because he didn't have the part on his truck. All in all I think it took him around an hour and we were left with a working garage door! This was the second time we used them and wouldn't hesitate to call them again.

Description of Work
One of our garage springs broke on our garage door.

Category garage doors

5.0

03/07/2012


Mary J.

They were excellent and absolutely terrific. Everything they did was excellent. They were here on time and they fixed it quickly. They even fixed some things that didn't really need to be fixed but just needed some adjustments. They were really good.

Description of Work
I used the services of Applegate Door Co as we had a broken spring in my door end of November.

Category garage doors

5.0

08/04/2011


Sheila C.

I recently bought this home, had no information on maintenance previous owner might or might not have performed, so called for an inspection. Firm arranged their schedule to be able to come out the same week, arrived on time, performed all work very well. As it turned out, the door was loose, needed adjustment and over-all lubrication. I was very pleased with the professionalism of the technician. I requested to be placed on an annual inspection.

Description of Work
Lube and adjust door and opener; annual maintenance and inspection; change keyless code.

Category garage doors, doors

5.0

10/26/2010


John V.

Lory came out , identified the problem, made some adjustments and the garage door was back up and working. For less than $100, I could now get the car out without the door falling on me. I will contact this company when it comes time to replace this old garage door based on their professionalism and quality of work. Thanks Applegate Door company.

Description of Work
Garage door would not open. Old door and old spring.

Category garage doors, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    TNT Construction LLC

     

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Everything from pet doors to airplane hangers.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about APPLEGATE DOOR CO

    How is APPLEGATE DOOR CO overall rated?

    APPLEGATE DOOR CO is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are APPLEGATE DOOR CO open?

    APPLEGATE DOOR CO is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does APPLEGATE DOOR CO provide

    APPLEGATE DOOR CO accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does APPLEGATE DOOR CO offer free estimates?

    Ask APPLEGATE DOOR CO for details on free project estimates.

    Does APPLEGATE DOOR CO offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, APPLEGATE DOOR CO offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does APPLEGATE DOOR CO offer a senior discount?

    No, APPLEGATE DOOR CO does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by APPLEGATE DOOR CO?

    Yes, APPLEGATE DOOR CO offers warranties.

    What services does APPLEGATE DOOR CO offer?

    APPLEGATE DOOR CO offers the following services: Everything from pet doors to airplane hangers.