Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Lamont Bros.

Founded 2008 • With Angi since February 2009

4.5

(328) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

402 South Beavercreek Road #102

Oregon City, OR 97045

Description

Lamont Bros. is a company committed to serving the Portland area with the highest quality of remodeling work. From design to completion you will find our dedicated team working with enthusiasm and creatively to create beautiful living spaces.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/05/2020


Kassandra K.

The crew did the job in two days! David and Zack were professional and skilled, and the job site was neat and clean when they finished. Matt was personable and easy to work with. In fact, we're looking around for other jobs these guys could do! Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Shop stairs needed to be rebuilt

Category air duct cleaning, woodworking

5.0

07/01/2018


Marie G.

Recently, I had the pleasure of meeting with Joseph and Jamie from Lamont Brothers, whom I had scheduled from Angie's List. I found them to be exceptional in their desire to help me achieve my goal of turning my ideas into reality. I certainly recommend them to anyone who wants to turn their dream into their home.

Description of Work
bathroom remodel

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/04/2018


Molly L.

We’re super happy with how our shower turned out. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Description of Work
Tub to shower remodel

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

4.0

03/29/2018


Don K.

Bottom line was the process and experience was good; bid price was horrible. Lamont Bros, who I've worked with before a couple years ago, were again prompt and professional. I know they do impeccable work which is why I contacted them. Both Daniel and Joseph were personable, professional and informative. They spent appropriate time surveying the chimney and attic, taking measurements, and explaining options and process. It was enjoyable. They asked what I wanted to budget [as low as possible! :)] and I said $20-25k knowing it was very low but with a budget in my head of about $35K to $40k. They said 20-25k wasn't really reasonable and said just a bathroom generally runs about 20K (which I've also heard from numerous contractors and friends who have had the work done) and that what we were talking about would probably be around 40K, depending on finishes. So I was expecting something in that ballpark. Instead, the bid was $90k to $115k. More than twice what was discussed and what I had budgeted in my head. I am friends with architects and engineers. my family knows contractors. I work for the City of Portland and discuss remodels, new houses, and other construction projects all day long. Some of our good friends just had a top tier contractor do a large remodel that included removing the wall between dining room and kitchen in a classic foursquare house, installing new support beams, putting in new high end hardwood floors on first floor (1000sf), remodeling and reconfiguring first floor bathroom in order to install a new exterior door from kitchen to back of house and building a second story deck that door opened out onto that deck - all for approximately $50k. All this to say the bid was extremely high. I get that our housing market is crazy and the cost of construction is expensive and increasing. Contractors have their choice of jobs and as such can price accordingly. And sure, there is an opportunity cost to taking on a specific job over others. But a bid of $90k-$115K seems like price gouging and taking extreme advantage of the current construction climate. I can only take it as a way of saying they'd rather do other, larger jobs for wealthy clients who don't have concerns about costs.

Description of Work
remove fireplace and stack, install new support beams, replace hardwood flooring where chimney was, install full bathroom in existing finished attic.

Category flooring contractor, masonry, architect, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for your honest and helpful feedback! It helps us as we work to improve our services and communication for each and every customer. First, I think we could have communicated better. We originally discussed the budget on site of $40k for the bathroom with the exclusion of any structural work--we then went downstairs and reviewed some previous work that was obviously un-permitted and would be a significant addition to the cost of the project. That's where the additional $40-$60k came in. I was significantly concerned about the previous un-permitted work and it would be expensive to fix that as well as do the additional structural work that you wanted to do. The little snippet that you included in an image mentions that--but I should have worded it much clearer. Thanks for your review, and we will continue to work to make our communication clearer. Second, the data for pricing for remodeling and building projects is often very misleading. The permit process and stated price on a project is not a reliable source. Each builder is taxed through their permit fees on that stated value, and it's in the interest of the builder to make that self-reported value as low as possible. There are contractors I know who make it a practice to report a vastly lower price than the actual cost. I've even been encouraged by city employees to give them lower pricing data than I report so the permit fees are less. AngiesList's pricing guide is also unhelpful and inaccurate. At the time of this review the pricing guide says that it's possible to build a house in Portland for $120,000. Thanks again! I appreciate the honest review, and would look forward to talking again if--after talking to other people--you change your mind about the pricing. - The Lamont Bros Team
5.0

02/27/2018


Ronald F.

The experience exceeded our expectations from our first call to Designer Daniel Birch, who immediately visited our home and soon offered us an very complete written bid, to the completion of the remodel. We were given an exact schedule of work to be done each day and, prior to beginning, Daniel introduced us to the Remodeling Superintendent for our job, Joseph Tauscher, a mont employee with experience in tiling and such remodels. He explained that the firm selects employees to oversee jobs in which they have the most experience. He personally, with the help of assistants, performed all the tile work. Each day he informed us of work to be done the next day. He visited the job when sub contractors, a plumber and a glass installer, and informed them of work to be done and later inspected to make sure it was done to our satisfaction. He worked closely with us throughout and was always available to us by phone, if we had questions. He spent a lot of extra time bringing us various shower heads to try as the one we first selected was unsuitable. We are extremely pleased with the wonderful work that was done, which included removing a bath tub, tiled walls surrounding 2 sides of it, down too studs, and building walk in shower with walls tiled to the ceiling. plumbing was changed to accept a hand held, adjustable height, shower and a built in tiled seat and safety bars were installed. We highly recommend Lamont Brothers.

Description of Work
remove bath tub and construct tiled walk in shower

Category handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

10/27/2017


Mary F.

Excellent !. Daniel Birch, Lamont Brothers designer, worked with us to start with to draw up plans of what we wanted to do, get permitting, select cabinets, sinks, toilet, lighting and all cabinet hardware and get it ordered Then, when the time came for our project to done, he handed us over to Aaron Davenport, our construction superintendent, who guided us through the actual work to be done. All work was done very well, on time, and the leak issue was corrected to our satisfaction. The whole job took just a little over 3 weeks to complete. We are VERY pleased with the work and the overall project. !!!

Description of Work
Remodel of guest bathroom and laundry room. Correct leak under the cabinet in the laundry room New cabinets, new sinks, new toilet painting, finishing, etc. We wanted to keep our floor intact (ceramic tile) as it was in good condition

Category contractors, countertops, drywall, glass repair, handyman service, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

09/27/2017


Alan R.

Lamont Brothers did a major 2 story addition/remodel job for us last summer, and we could not be happier with the work that they did. We had a second floor room added, one other second floor room expanded and a closet added, a roughed in bathroom added, a main floor bedroom expanded and the main floor layout completely changed, including a full bathroom remodel. Opening up an older house is always difficult, and complicating the work was the fact that we lived in the house for most of the construction (only around 400 sq ft of the house was not being touched by the project)- which meant that most of the construction was happening with my wife and 6 young children around the construction site. Not only did the workers keep my family safe, the guys actually took time to explain the work to my incredibly curious kids and on a few occasions let them take part in some of the activities (all safe, age appropriate, and with our consent, of course). By the end of the project, the workers felt like family members. Major remodels are always full of issues and we encountered our fair share of them, but the company always worked hard to provide a resolution that we felt was fair, or more often than not actually in our favor. We look forward to having them back to complete additional projects (kitchen and bathroom remodels) in the future. We've got nothing but good words about these guys.

Description of Work
Two Story addition to the back of our house, a bathroom remodel, floorplan/layout changes of some existing space to tie into the additional space.

Category ceramic tile, handyman service, interior designers, remodeling, replacement windows, architect, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

05/29/2017


Wilda S.

We are thrilled! The work is above our expectations! We are extremely happy with both the quality of work as well as the processes Lamont had in place to accomplish our goals. All employees and workers were friendly and polite, communicated effectively, were here on time, and conveyed the status of the job at all times. The project supervisor and his crew had the materials & supplies delivered on time, followed the design to the detail, and scheduled plumbing and electrical without delay, making the whole project run very smoothly. Any questions or concerns we had were addressed immediately, and this responsiveness added to an already positive experience. One additional comment: two items were complicated--having the ceiling patch match the rest of the ceiling, and building an aesthetically pleasing access door through the tile to the tub drain. Both were completed, without a doubt, thoughtfully and artistically. We couldn't be happier, and if we ever have another remodel or construction project, we will call Lamont Bros. Pictures are available at: [*** Link removed ***]

Description of Work
Originally, we wanted our master bath which included a tub and shower, completely remodeled, but we added a few other small projects, after working with Lamont's skilled designer. 1) Master Bath: full remodel down to the studs, with the goal of keeping the vanity and a built-in cupboard so it still matched the age and look of the rest of the house. 2) 2nd bathroom: tile the floor and install a new toilet 3) 3rd and 4th bathrooms: install new toilets 4) Patch and re-brocade ceiling located below master bath shower. Brocade to match the unusual pattern found throughout the house. ( Water damage had occurred in the past.)

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, glass repair, interior designers, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

4.0

05/01/2017


Susan M.

I called them back to improve the area around the old light fixture. Looks much better. I am happy with the finished project.

Description of Work
I wanted to have skylights put in my dark kitchen. They put in two in an offset configuration, which works well. I asked them to come back out and improve the edges of the skylight and around the site where the original light fixture was. They did that and I am very happy with the results. Also, added a solar tube in the hallway.

Category handyman service, home remodeling

3.0

12/23/2016


Mary K.

It was okay. I felt that the renderings were not what I could do on my own computer. Price was good. They were very creative. I had some other people in who were much more creative.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for Lamont Bros. They did a consultation on my kitchen.

Category interior designers

4.0

12/21/2016


Martha S.

They came in and did that and that was okay. Responsiveness wasn?t very good. They missed their appointment. He came the next week after he missed the appointment. He did give us some bonuses since he missed the appointment. I think if someone was looking for a kitchen, I might refer them, I?d have to deal directly with them and buying a package was really a very good deal with them. Making the appointment would have been best. I think they are a good company, they have been around a long time. The young man that was doing this was new and trying to learn, and sometimes that?s an issue.

Description of Work
$49 For kitchen or bathroom design consultation.

Category interior designers

5.0

11/15/2016


Pamela E.

The opportunity to meet twice with professional kitchen designers was a great deal for $49. I was able to ask questions and receive advice and suggestions, including information about some of the latest developments in materials for kitchens. They were on-time for both appointments and very personable. After I develop specifications for the remodel I will give Lamont Bros. an opportunity to bid on the project.

Description of Work
I purchased the Angie's List special deal from Lamont Bros. for a consultation on remodeling my kitchen.

Category home remodeling

3.0

10/27/2016


Michael W.

Had to wait several weeks and then result was not at all exciting. Only one option given. Did not seem to listen to input.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel design.

Category interior designers, architect

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! We appreciate the feedback. We were clear with our timelines up front that it's typically a two week turnaround for initial meetings, and then to get the renderings. It's unfortunate that you felt we didn't listen or provide additional options. I don't want that to be the experience. If you will email me, I'd be happy to provide a complementary consultation at our office where you can discuss the design with our principle designer and we'll create up to two additional designs for you. The deal you purchased is for a single design, but it's our culture to go above and beyond to help our customers have the best remodeling experience they can. We want that to be yours as well. Please email our principle designer at joseph[at]lamontbros.com. Thanks!
5.0

10/17/2016


SUSAN M.

They created a rendering and it looked good. Because, of the bay window in the dining room, it might be difficult to install a skylight there. They need to come again and take another look/closer look into the attic to see if one could be installed between the stresses. I might possibly request a skylight in the hallway, because it is dark also.

Description of Work
I wanted to know if skylights would work in my kitchen and dining room.

Category skylights, home remodeling

1.0

05/05/2016


Xin X.

The design part with Joseph went smoothly (gave him A's across the board in separate review). We were impressed with Joseph and decided to use his company for the work despite the high bid. The bid and actual remodel process was a nightmare. The original quote somehow failed to include a whole wall of sapele cabinets. When it came time to do the work, we had to go with generic white ones to keep the price the same as the original quote. Then they ordered the wrong sized cabinets and tried to charge us thousands of dollars for their error. When I asked to see the invoice from the supplier to show the cost for the correct sized cabinets, interestingly, they were not able to produce such documentation. The crew who performed the work were nice but VERY young and inexperienced (wish we had met them before I hired Lamont Bros). There was no supervision of the young crew and the work product showed, e.g, terrible drywall and paint job, not reinstalling deck the same way, using waterlogged siding boards they left out in the rain and mud for several months (and would have certainly caused mold/mildew if we didn't catch it and made them use new boards). The general contractor, David (Joseph's brother), did not have the same eye for detail or communication skills, and we only saw him onsite occasionally after we complain about the work product. What was supposed to be a 4-6 project turned out to be five months (and going). If they simply did things the right way to begin with (and with some supervision onsite), the job would have completed months ago without so much headache for us. There were so many corner cutting and shoddy work, and getting David to correct the errors is like pulling teeth, most of which are still not corrected. The company might be ok for very small projects, tile work, or design work, but I absolutely cannot recommend them if your project takes anything longer than a day. They are simply too young and inexperienced. Make sure you interview David and the crew if you decide to use them for an actual remodeling project.

Description of Work
Built mudroom

Category ceramic tile, decks, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review. I really appreciate each customer's feedback and communication and each opportunity for feedback--good or bad--gives us an opportunity to improve. I'm very sorry for the issues that were experienced during your project. As we discussed privately, we would have preferred to come in and fix the painting and any other issues and would still like to but to compensate for your inconvenience we reduced the final bill significantly. The issues with the paint and any other detail issues are definitely not the norm. We take pride in creating amazing living spaces and having the final details and fit and finish of the remodel be superb. Your project was an anomaly and we take responsibility for the issues--including who was there and supervision--that contributed to that. We have put changes in place to insure that we won't have a project with paint quality or issues like that in the future. Keep in mind the warranty for your project still stands and you shouldn't hesitate to reach out to us if needed for any reason. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and would look forward to when you might give us an opportunity to change your mind and your rating.
4.0

03/09/2016


Karen N.

It was good. Its way out of our ballpark for finances. Joseph was very nice and very professional. He was able to communicate well to us.

Description of Work
They did a 3d diagram of a potential basement remodel.

Category remodeling

4.0

03/03/2016


Austin & Corky F.

It was okay. We were hoping for something with more imagination. Price was good, it was an A.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for $49 for a Kitchen, Bathroom, Attic or Basement Design Consultation with 3-D Renderings.

Category architect

4.0

01/31/2016


Bonnie F.

Did a great job repairing the holes in the ceiling and matching the texture to the existing ceiling. For 2 of the 3 holes, you can't even tell there was a repair made; the 3rd has some discoloration that needs to be painted over. The 2 workers were fast and efficient and did a great job. I would use this company again for drywall repairs or other construction services. My only concern about this job was that it took 2 months to get it completed. I think I was rescheduled 4 times. However, they were really nice about it and I wasn't in a big hurry so it wasn't a big issue for me. It did leave me wondering how long it might take to get work done if I was in a hurry though.

Description of Work
Filled in 3 circular holes in ceiling made by an electrician who was running new wire to our kitchen.

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

01/11/2016


liz T.

Provider came to my house, looked at my attic. He did a full drawing and sent that to me. I was pleased with this service. He was very prompt and professional.

Description of Work
Attic or Basement Design Consultation with 3-D Renderings

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/14/2015


brian M.

It went smoothly. Nice workmanship - finished in timely manner and cleaned up afterward.

Description of Work
drywall repair in basement

Category drywall, handyman service, remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

12/07/2015


Melanie H.

Overall we were very happy with Lamont Bros. work. Joseph came up with a great design for our kitchen and reorienting our scary, steep staircase. At the beginning of the design process, we spent a lot of time negotiating the price of the project. With all of the things we wanted, the price was quite a bit higher than our budget. However, Joseph and David suggested other options to keep our project within our budget. Once the project started, we were very pleased with the level of professionalism all of the workers demonstrated. Everyone was polite, respectful and skilled in their work. When issues arose during the process, Lamont Bros. were attentive and rectified them to our satisfaction. We love our beautiful new kitchen and staircase!

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel and moved a stairway to the basement in a 1923 craftsman style home.

Category handyman service, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

10/17/2015


Erika W.

Not well. It was difficult to schedule the appointment (and the follow up was even slower). The measurements were wrong, the plans produced would not physically fit the space, and our ideas were ignored. The second set of plans were even worse. A re-do was offered, but we are already 8 weeks over schedule and needed a more reliable kitchen planner.

Description of Work
Took measurements for a kitchen plan.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review[Member Name Removed]! I appreciate you taking time to give us the feedback. When we met with you we were training some new people and didn't have complete checks in place to insure that everything that was sent out was up to spec. We have now changed our process to insure that doesn't happen again. I appreciated meeting you and would look forward to any future projects.
2.0

09/28/2015


Barbara E.

I never did it but I had them come out and give me a quote. I didn't find his service too fabulous.

Description of Work
They didn't do any work. They did give me a quote for drywall repair. I needed some smoothing out of the texture in my kitchen.

Category drywall

3.0

09/10/2015


Tony D.

I found this company because there was a Living Social deal for a room design. Joseph came over and talked about our remodel project so he could come up with a design. A week or 2 later, he came over once more to show me an extremely basic mock-up of what we wanted done. He told me that if I wanted more details, I would need to sign a design contract for more than $2000. I was never shown that I got a discount for having purchased the Living Social deal, but I didn't pay much attention to that because I didn't want to seem stingy from the get-go. I had never hired a contractor before so I don't really know how the process goes. It wasn't until later when my deadlines were not being met and emails were taking too many weeks to be responded to that I began to wonder how the design cost was broken down and whether I was getting a good value for my money. I was given a pretty exorbitant bid to do the construction work, so I ended up looking for a bid from another company. The other company's bid came in lower and I had a better rapport with the new contractor, so I decided not to hire Lamont Brothers to do the construction. My new contractor had to make several trips to the City to pull permits for my kitchen project because the design needed further engineering, but Joseph was responsive in getting the updates.

Description of Work
I hired this company to do the design for my kitchen remodel with the hopes that they would also do the construction work.

Category handyman service, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! I appreciate all of the feedback we get. Honest negative reviews help us improve our systems. We were not as responsive as we needed to be and I feel like we dropped the ball on the initial part of the design. However, when another contractor was applying for permits and the City of Portland began requiring additional information (some of which was characteristically unreasonable) we put in extra effort to make sure that the permits were passed as quickly as possible even though we were no longer doing any of the build work. I apologize that our responsiveness wasn't near what it needed to be in the beginning but know that the immediate response and additional effort at the end made a difference in the project.
2.0

09/02/2015


Laura L.

I was not very happy. I paid $49 for him to show me a picture. He didn't even give me written measurements. He never got back to me with a screen grab as he said he would .

Description of Work
I want to remodel my kitchen. I gave him my budget. He bid it 11K over. He forgot the second appointment. He measured the first appt. He returned with renderings the second. I was told I didn't read the fine print as to getting physical renderings. He only showed me his design on his computer.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review Member! I appreciate all the feedback we get, and I'm sorry you were disappointed and I completely understand why. As I mentioned to you we were in the middle of a software switch and your appointment got lost. We take our customer's time very seriously and I apologize for that. I emailed over a screen shot and copy of the estimate to the address I have on file. Please let me know if you didn't get them. Thanks so much!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Spruce Up Northwest

     

    Angi Certified

    Crux Roof & Gutter Cleaning

    Crux Roof & Gutter Cleaning is a local company specializing in roof moss and gutter cleaning services. Crux is dedicated to providing quality and professional cleaning services.  

    Angi Certified

    Paul Kyllo Painting

    Owner operated with over 25 years of experience. High quality upscale work. Honest and dependable. Residential and light commercial work. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Two locations in Oregon City and McMinville. CCB# 207112  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Design build remodel services for kitchens, bathrooms, basements and additions. We will exceed your expectations whether you want to remodel a small bathroom or build a large addition.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Lamont Bros.

    How is Lamont Bros. overall rated?

    Lamont Bros. is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Lamont Bros. open?

    Lamont Bros. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Lamont Bros. provide

    Lamont Bros. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Lamont Bros. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Lamont Bros. offers free project estimates.

    Does Lamont Bros. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Lamont Bros. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Lamont Bros.?

    Yes, Lamont Bros. offers warranties.

    What services does Lamont Bros. offer?

    Lamont Bros. offers the following services: Design build remodel services for kitchens, bathrooms, basements and additions. We will exceed your expectations whether you want to remodel a small bathroom or build a large addition.