Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1989 • With Angi since July 2005

4.8

(135) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

415 S McLoughlin Blvd

Oregon City, OR 97045

Description

Ben’s Heating and Air Conditioning is a family owned & operated business providing home comfort solutions for the Portland Oregon metro area since 1989. For over 25 years, our expert technicians have been installing, repairing and providing maintenance for electric and gas furnaces, heat pumps, and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/30/2020


Eric R.

I cannot say enough great things about my experiences with Ben's Heating and Cooling. If you have a complicated system/job, you need these guy's experience and help. They are more than helpful; they listen and are super responsive. They do what they say they will do when they say they will do it, and their prices are more than fair. My story follows: To start, we bought our house about 8 years ago and the heating unit has never performed well; I'll get to why shortly. On 2 occasions in the past, we reached out to Ben's for repair work on it, initially because of the maintenance sticker on the unit had their info. And though the unit was REALLY old, they did what they could to limp it along as best as they could (at our request). Well, after (what ended up being) 42 years of service, the furnace finally had had it. I called up Ben's because they had been so helpful in the past. Because we had a situation where we did not have any heating (and it was starting to get really cold outside), they gave us priority to come out and get things going. Keith came out and did a great job listening to my concerns and made some great recommendations. When it became clear that our house was going to be more than just a swap out of old unit to the new unit (we also wanted to add AC to the house), he brought in Brandon (Keith's manager, I believe) to come out and see if there were any other considerations that needed to be addressed to make this happen. I'm glad he did, because he found that there would need to be some drastic changes to how the unit would be installed to accommodate my requests (this due to the space constraints in the location the furnace was in and what we wanted in a new system). I really wanted that AC, so we talked about some clever ways that they could make that work. In the meantime between when we settled on the equipment I'd need and when they could install it (only a few days later), Brandon offered to have space heaters brought out to the house for us, and they did a couple hours later that day. To take a story that is already going long and summarize: what we ended up doing was moving the location of the furnace/AC stack to a place in my house with more room for it and altering the duct design to suit the new location. This allowed for much more even air flow in my late 70s 2-story house. The problem was that the house's duct design was compromised when a previous owner (probably in the late 1990s), had had the basement finished and the contractor (who obviously had no experience with duct design) just hooked up the vents the easiest way possible, with no consideration to air flow/pressure. Our downstairs media room was ALWAYS cold, as was our family room (these locations are at the extreme ends of the house). When Bruce (the lead installer for my project) came out the Friday before the work was to begin on Monday, that is when I was absolutely sure I was working with the right company. Bruce came up with some great ideas to take a simple idea I had: 'let's just add AC while we are getting a new furnace', and detail it out and turn it into a workable solution. Due to the complexity of the job, it took 2 and a half days to get the system installed and calibrated, and Bruce, Walker and Austin were fantastic to work with. Great guys and they worked hard each day, all day. Their results speak for themselves. I got a new thermostat with the system (Honeywell with remote sensors, Ben's sells them) and it is showing even temps across all measured rooms in the house (never more than a degree or two) variance. I consider that to be amazing in this house, and this is not a multi-zone system either. Here is what it is: the right system, the right design, installed and setup by the right people. That is what you can expect from the team at Ben's Heating and Cooling. Thanks for reading this and I hope you will consider Ben's for your heating and cooling needs as well (easy or complex, they do it right).

Description of Work
Replace Gas Furnace and add A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/17/2019


Alice K.

It was a great service. they were on time, they let me know when they will be there and great to work with.

Description of Work
He came out and check and make sure everything was running correctly.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/30/2019


Jeff O.

Technician checked the air conditioner components and showed me the built in diagnostic system that would enable us to determine the problem before calling a service technician so they would be better prepared to repair most problems without the need to diagnose and then return later with appropriate parts.

Description of Work
Diagnose why air conditioner would not start

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/11/2019


Mark - Lyone C.

Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning - Installed a Heat Pump for Heat/Central Air from original homeowners. Tech Zach from Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning game to my home. He serviced the Heat Pump & educated us.. Zach was very clean, very polite, very knowledgeable, he has very good skills set in customer service. Thank you for sending Zach to my home. Mr. Critser

Description of Work
Heat Pump Furnace Adjustment

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/08/2018


Kenneth D.

Excellent! Ben's replaced our propane heater and AC unit with a dual fuel propane furnace and heat pump. The sales / engineering representative measured air-flow throughout the house and made recommendations for some modifications and quoted several systems. They hit the right price point for the system we were looking for and we scheduled installation. The techs were here on time, the work went as scheduled, and everything was done to our satisfaction. Everybody we worked with from sales, installation, and the office were wonderful.

Description of Work
Replaced propane furnace and air conditioner with new propane furnace and heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/28/2018


Paul D.

From the estimate for the work to its completion, Ben's was excellent. Gordon was the lead installer and everything he did was done correctly and to code so that there would be no question about the job passing inspection, his words not mine. We have had Bryant equipment in the past and it has been excellent. I can recommend Ben's Heating and Cooling without exception.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace and central ac.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

07/19/2018


Robert M.

$357 for a $38 part!! I don't mind a 100% markup, but 10X is just plain greedy. I don't see how this company can be trusted. The technician was courteous and competent. No problems with the service, but I am disgusted with whoever sets the markup on the prices. They know that most people just want to get it fixed and are not going to check. This feels predatory.

Description of Work
Replace Capacitor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/28/2017


Paul A.

We had had another company, but they had changed hands and there were problems. After reviewing Angie's, we called Ben's, they had somebody out here going over our needs. We liked them and liked the reviews on Bryant. Scheduled the installation, they were on time and did the installation over two days without a trace of mess left behind. Then, they delivered the paperwork by appointment and helped us arrange the inspection. The price wasn't any different than anybody else's.

Description of Work
Both our furnaces gave out/wouldn't start at the beginning of the season. As they were 20 years old, not worth repairing, so we needed two new gas furnaces.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for selecting Ben's for your home comfort solutions. We enjoyed working with you on your project. If there is anything else we may be of assistance with, give us a call. Best, Tim
5.0

10/20/2017


Christopher T.

Great! I'll definitely use Ben's for all of my HVAC maintenance/repair

Description of Work
March 2017 - The furnace at our rental property stopped working suddenly on a cold day. We called Ben's - they sent someone over right away. They told us the filter was dirty & the fix was to install a new one & reset the furnace. I feel like they could have told me my furnace needed to be replaced & i wouldn't have known any better. Simple, inexpensive fix. Thanks for the honesty. October 2017 - the furnace stopped working again & we called Bens - they weren't able to come out for a few days - so they had the repair guy Nick (who came in March) call me and walk me through the process of resetting the furnace. Didn't charge me anything. Amazing group of people.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback [Member Name Removed] We love to help out our clients as best as we can.
5.0

08/23/2017


dan K.

I don't have a good basis of comparison. I think they are good but we've had a long standing relationship with them. They've done good work.

Description of Work
Preventive maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

08/08/2017


Patricia M.

I had Ben's come out to give me a quote to install central AC and at the same time, do a duct and dryer vent cleaning. Bad choice on my part to do it that way because two guys came out and I was unable to follow the progress of the duct and dryer vent cleaning while discussing the quote. And the quote turned out to be $500 higher than the bid I later accepted. Plus Ben's said that it would cool to about 75--way too warm for me! The other company installed the AC for cheaper and said it would cool to 70. I've had it now for several months and it cools like a charm. Anyway, no problem, I just didn't go with Ben's for the AC. Meanwhile, while discussing the quote, another guy from Ben's was vacuuming my ducts. Then he couldn't find the dryer vent. Eventually he found it, but had to call someone to show him how to handle it. While waiting, he told me that the guy who was supposed to show him how to do the duct and vent cleaning was sick. Ben's sent someone out to do my job who didn't know what he was doing! Since I had the feeling that he was unable to clean the dryer vent properly, I had someone else come out to check on it and, sure enough, there was lots of lint still in the vent. Also, Ben's left the flap off of the outside opening and it was wide open for rodents or insects to move in. I'm appalled that this happened and would not use Ben's for any purpose, but definitely not dryer vent cleaning. And now I'm not sure about whether the ducts were done properly or not. When I contacted them via their website, I received no response.

Description of Work
Duct cleaning and dryer vent cleaning, plus got a quote for installation of central AC.

Category air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], It is unfortunate that you had a bad experience and we take these reviews very seriously. We will make adjustments to our duct-cleaning training processes. Air conditioners are most efficient when keeping your indoor temperature at a higher temp ie: 75 degrees. Most air conditioners when sized properly can achieve 70 degrees but the operating cost increases greatly. If there is anything we can do for you please reach out to us at (503) 233-1779. Sincerely, Ben's Heating
5.0

07/26/2017


Bill B.

Very prompt, professional and informational.

Description of Work
My Carrier A/C unit didn't make cold air when Portland began it's heat cycle so I called Ben's for a service call. Even in the midst of (for us) a heat wave they were able to get to me in just two days. Sad news is my 20 yr old unit had little to no refrigerant left (R2). The downfalls and cost of trying to resurrect the old unit was thoroughly covered and the reasonable cost was paid for the service call. Now I am contemplating a replacement system ...

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/01/2017


RAJENDRA J P.

They did a service and I can't really judge on anything whether they did the right thing. Everything is working so if that is an indication -they were pretty good. They were there for about 45 minutes and it was 1 person. They left the area clean.

Description of Work
They usually do regular maintenance. They clean up everything and check to make sure everything is working.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

05/31/2017


susan C.

Arrived as scheduled, took 1 minute to diagnose problem, replaced part, charged almost $300 for $10 part. When I questioned price for a total of 15 min, he replied that was what he charged period. Will not hire again!

Description of Work
Heat pump not working/making buzzing noise

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

It is unfortunate that you had a bad experience with one of our service technicians. Ben'[Member Information Removed] Heating provides exceptional training programs so that our tech'[Member Information Removed] are the best in the industry. Because of this training process, they are able to diagnose and have your system up and running in no time. We bill on a flat-rate pricing system that allows us to stay in business and offer the best service in the Portland Metro area. Sincerely, Ben'[Member Information Removed] Heating
4.0

05/26/2017


John R.

I would most likely use them again. I liked that they were familiar with the equipment. It seems like they were trying to sell me something I didn't need. They were telling me I needed a new furnace.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/25/2017


dan K.

It was included in our maintenance agreement.

Description of Work
They came by just a few days ago to work on my air conditioning. The just did routine maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/25/2017


Glenda D.

OK. Very cold. Had to wait for parts. They fixed the problem and we have heat.

Description of Work
Worked on gas furnace. Part(s) covered by warranty. Labor was not. Apparently, this failure is common.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/13/2017


James L.

They're fine. I guess the price was okay, I didn't really do a comparison. It was set up by our property manager. I think the quality was alright.

Description of Work
They installed a new gas furnace and heat pump system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/17/2016


Jeffrey H.

Very good service for A/C and heating units. Options for new furnace installation were too expensive for my budget.

Description of Work
Checked and service A/C unit. Checked gas furnace and discovered cracked heat exchanges and recommended new furnace install.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/23/2015


Ellen S.

This year was the first time I turned off the pilot light in my upstairs fireplace. When I turned it back on, the light was on but not the whole fireplace. I called, we discussed a price of $89 to look at both fireplaces. I rent my downstairs out so that one was not my immediate issue. Also the renter was moving at the end of Oct. the technician, Alan, just turned the knob to the ON position not PILOT, fixed the problem. Could they have told me that over the phone? Then we went downstairs. It took Alan some time to figure out the problem. The renter told me the fireplace hadn't worked in 6 months. Alan had to take the whole thing apart to see that the pilot needed to be cleaned. Well I thought I got some "work" done for $89. Alan was finished and presented me a bill for &260. What!!!! What happened to $89??? That was just DIAGNOSTIC. In conversation with Jeneen on the phone to Ben's and Alan's conversation nobody said diagnostic or that as soon as they do anything the price goes up. Alan provided two discounts which brought the bill down to $160 but I was not happy because I explained that anything over the $89 at this time was going to be tough. I would have handled the downstairs at a later time. I called and complained. Then the owner, Clyde Burton, came over to talk. After a calm conversation, he ripped up my check. He said he wanted a customer not a quick profit. After all, I just spent $4000 with this company a few months ago on an air conditioning system. I think that was good business on Cyde's part. I wasn't out to get something for nothing, I just wanted to know what exactly I was paying and for what. I explained to him that I like to use local people whenever possible. So now I will use this local company again.

Description of Work
Show me how to turn on upstairs gas fireplace & cleaned downstairs gas fireplace pilot light so that would work

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you first for calling and explaining your dissatisfaction with our service. Without someone calling sometimes I don't know how to make things better for our customers. I am working on bettering our communication between the office and the client. Thanks again.
5.0

09/19/2015


Ellen S.

i have Two gas fireplaces. Neither one worked. I called Ben's and they said it would cost $89. This year I turned off the pilot in the upstairs fireplace, but when I turned it back on I didn't adjust the dial correctly. There was nothing else wrong. The downstairs fireplace was a different issue. It took Alan, the technician a while to figure it out. He had to take the whole fireplace apart. In fact it was diagnosed as a dirty pilot light. After reconnecting it he presented me a bill od $260. What happened to $89. I was furious. After the fact, I found out $89 was just diagnostic. Taking the fireplace apart adds up. Nobody mentioned that at any time. I complained loudly. The following day the owner, Clyde, called me, & came over the next day to talk it over. I told him I didn't want anything for free but if I had known the total cost I wouldn't have done this. Later maybe but not at this time. He ripped up my check and said he wanted good customer relations not necessarily a quick profit. I used Ben's in July to put central air conditioning in. That went very well. I was very glad to get a local company. I was impressed the way Clyde handled this situation. I will stay a customer. After all I try as much as possible to shop local.

Description of Work
Put 2 gas fireplaces in working order

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, gas logs

5.0

06/09/2015


Kathleen O.

Very professional. Called to say he was coming by earlier than planned, if that was OK. Explained what he was going to check, what might potentially go wrong with an A/C unit. He was friendly, professional, and did a good job checking it all out. We've used Ben's Heating & Cooling in the past for another property and they've been great throughout all encounters. I'd call them again,

Description of Work
Nick came out to check our A/C unit and make sure it's in good running shape. We like to have expensive systems like this checked out periodically to catch potential problems before they become expensive.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/24/2014


Rebecca V.

Ben's sent Jason out to service and check our furnace. When we bought the house 11 months ago the home inspector said there was something wrong with the slot the filter fits into and that we might be in for a costly fix. We were bracing ourselves for bad news but Jason said that the current configuration was completely acceptable and that home inspectors are good at their jobs but not experts in heating and tend to err on the side of bringing up concerns that aren't really problems. He serviced the furnace, changed the filter, and was on his way. We would highly recommend them. Don't be like me and forget to mention the Angie's List discount, though!

Description of Work
Serviced furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/13/2014


Stuart S.

I needed to move 2 heating ducts to make room for a basement remodel. It involved moving two ducts and cutting new registers. It was also recommended for us to up the size of the duct to 8" pipe to get more air flow (it does seem to be putting out more heat now, but the register is also in a better location so hard to determine how much is due to the pipe size.) Originally I was not happy with the quality of the work completed. I relayed this to Clyde, who was quick to get out here and fix my issues himself without any complaints or any push back (which was a refreshing experience!), until we were more than happy with everything. All round very happy with the service and the end product. Would have been an A for quality if we didn't need the return visit to get it up to an A*. However a definite A for service and professionalism. Will use Ben's again for future work done.

Description of Work
Relocated 2 heat runs in basement and upped duct sizing to 8" pipe. Cut 2 new registers in floor joist bay for relocation Shortened main trunk line.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] , Thank you for the honest review , I am glad you gave us the chance to make it right and that the system is working better. Looking forward to helping you in the future. Clyde
5.0

10/30/2014


Melody B.

I initially called to have our old furnace repaired but it had been recalled in the past and they couldn't work on it. The repairman called the office and they had someone come out that afternoon to go over info about new furnaces. I felt they were both honest, fair and helpful. When the furnace was installed they were prompt, helpful and didn't finish until everything was done well. They were always prompt and answered questions, phone calls and emails promptly. I couldn't recommend Ben's Heating more highly.

Description of Work
Installed new furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    J&M Services

    J&M Air Duct Cleaning, Ventilation & Gas Piping Services is a specialty trade based company. We’ve been in business for nearly 10 years and specialize in Natural Gas & Propane installations and Air Duct Cleaning. Whether you are looking to have gas piping installed for your new fireplace, Range, BBQ, Dryer or other gas appliances, or just get a breath of fresh air within your home, J&M Air Duct Cleaning, Ventilation & Gas Piping Services is here to serve you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by J&M Services on Angi
    Eager Beaver Duct Cleaning

    Residential and Commercial Air Duct cleaning serving the Portland Metro area since 2004. Licensed, bonded & insured. Owner Kristen Currie has a great team of knowledgeable technicians to service your ducts and improve the air quality in your home or office. Free Quotes available. Angie's List members will receive a discount. We aim for 100% customer satisfaction.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Better Air Northwest

    Better Air Northwest has been proudly serving the greater Portland and Vancouver areas since 2009. We provide air duct cleaning services for industrial, commercial and residential heating, cooling and other air duct systems. We also provide respirable dust testing, dryer vent cleaning and anti-microbial sanitation services. We are a family owned and operated business with a focus on quality service and customer satisfaction. Our professional technicians are friendly and knowledgeable. This is the finest air duct cleaning service on the planet!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodels, additions, duct cleaning, sheet metal, venting, gas lines, old gas heaters, pool heaters, furnaces, air conditioning, heat pumps, air filters install & replace.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning

    How is Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning overall rated?

    Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning open?

    Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning provide

    Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available

    Does Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning offers free project estimates.

    Does Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning offer a senior discount?

    No, Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning?

    Yes, Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning offers warranties.

    What services does Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning offer?

    Ben's Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Remodels, additions, duct cleaning, sheet metal, venting, gas lines, old gas heaters, pool heaters, furnaces, air conditioning, heat pumps, air filters install & replace.