Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BACH CUSTOM COATINGS

Founded 1990 • With Angi since August 2007

4.8

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

unknown

Oregon City, OR 97045

Description

ADDITIONAL EMAIL: MARK@BACHCC.COM....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/13/2017


Mark H.

very well, looks excellent

Description of Work
garage floor coated

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

08/27/2017


Gail N.

I contacted Mark Bach for an estimate. Everything from estimate to completion went smoothly and we have a beautiful garage floor. We were able to schedule the work before we moved in, which made it very easy for me. Mark was at my new house a few minutes before me. He was very pleasant and easy to work with. He gave me the estimate, told me how the work would go and how long it would take. The crew arrived on time, worked hard, they were pleasant and professional, and the process went just as described. Everything went as planned and within the time frame I was given. I wish all projects went as smoothly as this one. I have had several people notice the floor and ask about who did it and how much it cost. This was money well spent, and I am very happy with the outcome.

Description of Work
Epoxy coating on the garage floor of the home we had just purchased.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

08/27/2017


Gail N.

I contacted Mark Bach for an estimate. Everything from estimate to completion went smoothly and we have a beautiful garage floor. We were able to schedule the work before we moved in, which made it very easy for me. Mark was at my new house a few minutes before me. He was very pleasant and easy to work with. He gave me the estimate, told me how the work would go and how long it would take. The crew arrived on time, worked hard, they were pleasant and professional, and the process went just as described. Everything went as planned and within the time frame I was given. I wish all projects went as smoothly as this one. I have had several people notice the floor and ask about who did it and how much it cost. This was money well spent, and I am very happy with the outcome.

Description of Work
Epoxy coating on the garage floor of the home we had just purchased.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

07/31/2017


John R.

Jeff and his crew just finished the garage on our new house in NW Heights and I couldn't be happier. Everything was meticulously prepared and the actual application was performed as if they were detailing a Lamborghini. These guys don't mess around. They are honest, hard-working and thoughtful. This is our third garage coating and these guys are, by far, the best around. Don't even think about shopping around for other bids...hire Jeff and you will not be disappointed. John R.

Description of Work
Epoxy coating on garage floor

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

07/15/2017


Larry L.

Jeff was fantastic from start to finish. Lots of good contact prior to start date, then superb job onsite. Can't praise Bach Custom Coatings highly enough.

Description of Work
Garage floor coating

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

06/27/2017


Gary B.

I am 60 years old and have dealt with quite few home and yard contractors. The service Mark provided was just what my and I hope for when hiring someone to do work on our house. Kept in touch very well. Performed work on time and as promised. Very detailed in the completion as we had some areas of the garage where there were obstacles to work around. These areas look amazing as well as the overall floor. Mark and his team are a great choice.

Description of Work
Epoxy Garage Floor.

Category epoxy flooring

3.0

06/16/2017


Erik D.

A solid "C" for dust mitigation, my main floor and basement were covered in dust and the fact that they didn't really finish the job by rehanging the doors they removed in order to do their work.

Description of Work
Basement floor refinish.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

04/22/2017


Zachary C.

They were on time for every meeting, they communicated constantly and zealously throughout the process. They finished the job on time (even when it included a little Saturday OT!) and they charged me exactly what they said they would charge. I could go on and on about how much I appreciate the way these guys do business. Hire them! In a world of non-responsive, late, over budget contractors Bach Custom Coatings stands out as a shining beacon of the possible.

Description of Work
polish and color a 700 square foot basement floor

Category concrete repair,epoxy flooring,stamped concrete

5.0

01/05/2017


judy C.

It was really cold out here and there was no electricity in the room at the time. (This apartment is being built in an existing out building.) So in spite of the cold and power issue, they did a fabulous job. Although power was available, it required a long outdoor extension cord. The crew brought their own light sources, etc. Mark and Jeff are certainly knowledgeable and are very pleasant and personable contractors. Their crew was equally polite and professional. The work was done promptly and looks fabulous. I highly recommend Bach Custom Coatings and should hire them again.

Description of Work
Had them coat the cement floor in a small one bedroom apartment. (Approx. 450 sq. feet)

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

07/20/2016


Naomi C.

I had no idea that the old basement floor in my 1910 house could be turned into such a nice looking floor and within my budget. Even my very skeptical mom was impressed. Everyone was really pleasant to work with and communicate with too. Mark explained the grinding, epoxy, and coating process to me so I knew just what to expect along the way (and to pre-warn my at home video production sound recording neighbor on grinding day). This was a part of a multi-step basement remodel and they were the contractors that arrived when they said they would and even finished a day early. He ended up needing to remove concrete and filling in more areas than expected, but didn't change the price quoted. In the end it looked even better than the sample piece he showed me. You really can't even tell that the floor is uneven unless you carefully slide around in socks. I'm so thankful for Mark and his team. Thank you!

Description of Work
My old basement floor in my 1910 home had been painted and shellacked as a temporary finish for a living space for 6 years. As you can imagine, it was looking really rough by the end of 6 years. In some areas the concrete had even completely chipped away and the dirt below was revealed. It was very uneven and people would trip over the drain that didn't even drain water. When I decided to go ahead and fir out and insulate the basement to make it permitable living space I decided it was time to fix the floor too. I had a number of flooring contractors come out with numerous ideas of what to do. Some were very expensive (remove all concrete and pour all new concrete), some seemed like a bad idea (laminate flooring right on top of the uneven surface or carpet), and some said they just didn't want to take on this project. Mark told me right away what options I had and showed me samples of what it would look like. He said he'd patch up the very uneven areas and the areas where the concrete was thin, but to help with my kind of tight budget, would let it be a little uneven but not so much that the eye would even tell.

Category epoxy flooring

3.0

10/04/2014


Dawn F.

Attempted to contact provider via their website and telephone to schedule an estimate. After receiving an initial e-mail that stated I would be called the next day I had no more contact. I called and left a message to try and get in touch. No response (either e-mail or phone). Could not use the provider.

Description of Work
Basement flooring

Category epoxy flooring

3.0

11/30/2013


Matthew B.

I'm somewhat disappointed in these guys. The good news is that they were easy to work with, their bid seemed reasonable, they showed up on time to do the work, finished on time, and much of the floor area looks as good as I expected. They did indoor concrete grinding and their dust collection equipment seemed to work pretty well; there was only a light coating of dust left behind. The disappointment is that although they masked the baseboards with blue tape, they managed to get a fair bit of epoxy on the baseboards nonetheless. In some cases they splattered epoxy above the tape, but there are lots of places where epoxy seems to have leaked under the masking tape. The baseboards will pretty much need to be repainted entirely. There are some other areas where the finish of the floor itself isn't up to expectations, it looks like they didn't vacuum all the grinding debris, which was then epoxied in place; that issue isn't really fixable by me. Those areas are small in comparison to the total floor area, but it seems like a problem that could have been prevented with a little more care.

Description of Work
Concrete surface grinding, epoxy coating, urethane topcoat.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

09/28/2013


RITA B.

Bach was very professional, kept their commitments and completed the work on time. Very easy to work with. The result was excellent. Afterwords we needed to finish the walls, paint and trim so the rest of the garage looked as nice! I would use again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Bach prepared and coated our old two car garage and a new single car garage with an epoxy coating with colored chips.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

05/09/2013


KATHRYN M.

We contacted Jeff Bach who came out to give us a bid within a few days of our call. He showed us samples of his work and of the product in order to select the colors we wanted to use. He thoroughly explained the process involved in prepping the concrete, in sealing the cracks, and explained that there would be some odor associated with the work. Jeff measured the garage and sent us a bid the next day. We made arrangements for them to complete the work several weeks later because we had other work going on at our home at the time. The day the work began, Jeff and his crew arrived promptly on time and immediately began to clean and prep the garage floor surface. They had a three man team, who worked together very efficiently. They worked independently but they coordinated their activities. They kept the cleaning and prepping process neat, organized and it all flowed so smoothly. We were amazed at how neat and organized they were. They have systems and processes for everything! The first day involved grinding the floor and sealing the cracks, then applying the base coat and distributing the flakes. It was left to dry overnight. They cleaned up the work area at the end of the day before leaving. They returned the next day, retrieved the excess flakes and applied the clear coat over the floor. The entire process went smoothly from start to finish. Every member of the crew was professional and they were a pleasure to work with. They were meticulous in their prep work, the actual work and then the clean up. We would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They prepped the surface of our 560 sq ft garage by diamond grinding. Then they filled the joints and cracks with a curing material and ground the surface flush.They masked all the areas of the garage in preparation to apply the coating material. The epoxy coating material was applied and color flakes distributed throughout the surface of the floor. Excess color chips were removed and the surface was lightly sanded before applying a polyurethane topcoat.

Category epoxy flooring

1.0

03/18/2013


Brad K.

It is hard to complete the work when Bach does not return emails or phone calls.

Description of Work
I sent Jeff an email in late February with information about a project I was interested in having him quote and then complete the work this summer. In the email I asked if he could stop over and give me an estimate. After approximately a week, he did not return my email so I followed up with leaving him a voicemail. The phone call has not been returned so I am going to call a different company that does similar work.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

02/12/2013


JERED J.

We had two rooms, a hallway, and a small bathroom that were stained, a total of approximately 600 square feet. Some of the area had tile and vinyl on the concrete that needed to be removed. They asked us to remove the toilet and pedestal sink from the bathroom. The company removed the old flooring and ground the concrete with a diamond grinder to make it smooth and remove old stains. Then they applied a water based stain and two clear coats on top. The work took about 4 days and the end result looks great. There was very little smell during the process not even too much dust. Much less than when we had drywall done. My wife and I are very please with how the floors came out.

Description of Work
We hired Bach to apply a concrete stain in our remodeled basement (a conversion of a garage into a bedroom and some additonal rooms).

Category concrete repair

5.0

07/03/2012


Jason L.

My basement had horrible carpet. I decided to remove it to do some alternative kind of flooring (tile or pergo or something) and when I tore it all out, I realized that the concrete underneath was really uneven and covered in cracked self-leveler. I realized pretty quickly that I was going to have to level the floor, and if I was going to have to do that I figured finishing the concrete would be a neat solution. I quickly realized that the concrete was beyond my capabilities though and I called Back Custom Coatings. Mark showed up on time and came and looked at my basement. He told me up front that it was going to be difficult to get it level and that it was going to cost quite a bit to repair it because of the time and effort of repairing it all. He actually recommended that I get an estimate for having it re-poured to see what the difference was. He sent me two estimates, one assuming nothing went pear-shaped, and another assuming everything did. I got other estimates from other companies as well; however, I liked Mark's demeanor and honesty so much that the other companies didn't give me a good feeling. I called Mark back and told him I wanted to proceed.Him and his brother Jeff showed up a few weeks later (they're busy guys, also a good sign) on time and got straight to work. They had everything done in a few days and it turned out better than I had hoped and came in at the lowest quoted price. My basement looks like a new house. It actually makes the upstairs look like it needs to be updated. Everything about these guys is great. They obviously care about what they are doing and the results are incredible. These guys are artists. I can't recommend them enough.

Description of Work
They leveled approximately 750sqft of the concrete floor in a below ground basement (with a really steep staircase), prepped it for resurfacing, put on a new top layer on it and textured it, and stained it and sealed it.

Category concrete repair,epoxy flooring,stamped concrete

5.0

01/16/2012


Mark G.

Jeff does excellent work. He is personable, courteous and was willing to work with me to help keep me in my budget. He started work when he said he would and finished the same as well. The floor looks great and I'm very happy.

Description of Work
Prep and coat garage floor

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

01/04/2012


GERARD D.

Everything was good. I did not have any issues with them. They did a great job.

Description of Work
They put an epoxy floor down for me on the garage floor.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

10/19/2011


Ruth M.

Mark was a pleasure to work with the first time he came out and applied the coated surface, at the time we discussed that he had limited use of the this product and he was not sure how it would work out. Well I called him back this fall and he was here with in a couple of days and agreed fully with me, that the product did not hold up well. So at his own cost for labor (minor, minor charge for materials) he came out ground off the old surface and applied a new, durable epoxy surface. I just can't say enough about nice things about my dealings with Mark. He takes his commitment to quality and professionalism very seriously. He really wanted to make the job right and was here at his own cost doing so. Needless to say, the walkway looks great and we are ever so pleased with the total experience.

Description of Work
Mark came out and painted and sealed our outdoor concrete walkway. We had lived with our front porch and walkway that was poorly painted and chipping for nearly 5 years before we found Mark. We have had 2 dealings with Mark regarding the porch. The original product that he put down (at our request, because we could custom match the color with this product) did not last and was scratching and flaking after about a year and half, so I called Mark and he came out again and this time (at almost no charge) ground off the suface and recoated it with a tougher and more durable epoxy coating.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

10/11/2011


Joel Y.

These guys were extraordinary. The outcome is really pleasing to the eye. The technicians were very timely and well within the time frame they provided. They checked in fine peoalmost daily to provide a status report and were very willing to explain everything thoroughly in an understandable manner. They were fine people to deal with.

Description of Work
Re-did our basement flooring. First, they cleaned up the floor and leveled it. They had to patch a few holes, then they sealed it against any moisture coming up through the cement. They then added the color and epoxy.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

08/11/2011


JODIE C.

It was a pleasure to work with the Bach brothers, start to finish. My initial phone call was promptly returned and Mark, after listening to my floor problem, said my proposed fix clearly was not going to work and why. We made an appointment for him to see the project I had begun and he brought photos and finish samples of different options for my basement floor. I picked an epoxy finish as I could pick out whatever color I wanted and, because the color is part of the finish, it will not wear off. I gave a paint swatch to Mark and he had it color matched perfectly. The Bach brothers do their own work, no subs, and hard work it is. They spent all day yesterday doing the prep work, much of it on their hands and knees. By the end of the exhausting day, they were covered with dust but the basement was clean and tidy and the floor already looked nice. Today they applied the epoxy finish coat and it is gorgeous. I am thrilled with the results. I have high expectations and I am often disheartened with how things go; but this project not only met my expectations, it exceeded them. Thank you Bach Custom Coatings for your fantastic work.

Description of Work
They removed sticky, hardened substance from basement floor; ground down cement flooring to level it; patched damaged areas and did a fine, smooth second grinding; sealed concrete with a moisture barrier and primer; applied self leveling epoxy finish.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

08/03/2010


Ryan D.

It was a big job that Mark tackled with a professional and positive attitude. He had a lot of grinding and patching to do. He even prepped and covered the areas around the furnace which I was not expecting. He cleaned up after himself and even was able to work with my schedule and break the job up into two parts. I am extremely satisfied.

Description of Work
I had a nasty, uneven, stained concrete floor in my 100 year old home's basement that I wanted to cover so that the space would be more useable. I chose the epoxy flooring for the entire basement, bathroom and laundry room. I LOVE it beyond my wildest dreams. This is by far the best home improvement money I have spent... the change is that dramatic and Mark was a dream to work with!

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

04/30/2009


MICHAEL R.

The brothers Bach were punctual, professional and made it very clear what I had to move out of the garage for them to do the work. Anything up high or in fixed cabinets could stay. The process generated no dust. They showed up at 8am on the first day and swept/vac'd the floor. Then came a degreaser treatment , followed by a machine for shot blasting. Oil stained areas were treated with a diamond grinder. All cracks/seams were filled with an epoxy. Some large gaps on the side of the floor were filled with a special type of rope with caulking on top. Even with only the prep done, the floor looked great. In the afternoon, they applied the base epoxy coat and spread a thick coat of color chips. The stairs were made more textured than the floor for safety. The next day they removed the excess color chip material and laid down the clear coat. I was impressed by how they protected the floor from the elements between days. I was also impressed by the clarity of communication regarding what I needed to do (how long to wait before using the floor). I did have one problem with my refrigerator scratching the clear coat before the epoxy was 100% (cold weather) but they came back and touched it up within two days. Obviously, it's too soon to predict how well the floor will withstand abuse long term, but it looks/feels to me that it will hold up to routine use and be easy to keep clean. As for the price, I compared this approach to using tiles carried by vendors like Griots Garage, and this method is 30% less expensive, with no cracks between tiles to catch dirt. Obviously you can get goop in a can at Home Depot, but there is no way I would be able to match the amount of equipment they used to prepare the floor, nor the skill and care with which they did the work. This is a job that definitely requires practice and the right equipment.

Description of Work
Installed 10+ mil epoxy flooring with color flakes, with 10mil clear coat epoxy on 677 sq. ft. I did some painting around the perimeter footings two days after the job was done.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

08/21/2007


Joan L.

When we bought our house a few years back, there was concrete stain that was freshly applied in the garage. But 2 weeks after moving in, hot tire pick up ruined it. After many years of ugly concrete stain it was time for a change. Through a referral, we called Bach Custom Construction. They were very polite and great to work with. Mark stopped by and gave us some color samples to look at. There were so many to choose from, it was a hard decision to make. These guys are very professional. They show up on time and tell you exactly what they are doing and how long it's going to take. Now the garage isn't slippery when wet like a regular concrete floor. I'm glad I didn't attempt this project on my own with one of those kits they sell at the big box stores. I probably would of ended up with the same results as our original concrete stain. There were many steps they took that I wouldn't of thought of that made this floor look, well, professional. It was well worth the expense.

Description of Work
We had an epoxy coating applied to the garage floor. First they shot blasted the floor to get the old concrete stain off and expose the concrete. Then they filled numerous cracks with a filler. After about an hour they sanded the filler out then applied the epoxy coating. Working quickly, they broadcast the color chips and told us they would be back the next day. Day two, they vacuumed the extra chips up and applied the top clear coat. We were able to walk on it the next day but had to wait two more days to drive our cars in. It looks wonderful!! You can go to their website (Bachcc.com) and see some of the color samples that are available. He said if we had a specific color combination we had in mind, they can custom blend the color chips, too.

Category epoxy flooring

    Other local Pros in your area

    Handshake Quality Construction LLC

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    PEARL CONSTRUCTION LLC

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    G's Concrete Inc

    G's Concrete prides itself on a hard days work which includes Honesty, Professionalism, Quick Responses, and Never Being Late. Bringing over 19 years of industry experience to each job, we are confident we can make each customer happy. We have 7 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No extra charge for after hours service. Ask about Angie's List discount. License#: 191032.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL CONCRETE FLOOR COATINGS: EPOXY, ACID STAINS, POLYURETHANE, METALICS, QUARTZ. RESIDENTIAL REMODELING. Concrete floor surface preparation.

    Services Not Offered

    FLATWORK (IE POURING AND FINISHING NEW CONCRETE).

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BACH CUSTOM COATINGS

    How is BACH CUSTOM COATINGS overall rated?

    BACH CUSTOM COATINGS is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are BACH CUSTOM COATINGS open?

    BACH CUSTOM COATINGS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does BACH CUSTOM COATINGS provide

    BACH CUSTOM COATINGS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does BACH CUSTOM COATINGS offer free estimates?

    Yes, BACH CUSTOM COATINGS offers free project estimates.

    Does BACH CUSTOM COATINGS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BACH CUSTOM COATINGS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BACH CUSTOM COATINGS offer a senior discount?

    No, BACH CUSTOM COATINGS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by BACH CUSTOM COATINGS?

    No, BACH CUSTOM COATINGS does not offer warranties.

    What services does BACH CUSTOM COATINGS offer?

    BACH CUSTOM COATINGS offers the following services: COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL CONCRETE FLOOR COATINGS: EPOXY, ACID STAINS, POLYURETHANE, METALICS, QUARTZ. RESIDENTIAL REMODELING. Concrete floor surface preparation.

    Are there any services BACH CUSTOM COATINGS does not offer?

    FLATWORK (IE POURING AND FINISHING NEW CONCRETE).