Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

A1 Paint Removal Painting and Restoration

About

Founded 1998 • With Angi since October 2005

Specializing in interior and exterior painting, paint removal services from many different materials/ surfaces, lead testing, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Paint removal from concrete, metal doors, chimney, window restoration, and MORE! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today! ...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.6

(27) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

21

4

4

3

1

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

house painting (22)interior painting (6)pressure washing (3)lead paint removal (1)
Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
5.0

05/14/2022


Michele W.

We own a 1910 "Old Portland" style foursquare home in Uptown Vancouver and hired A-1 Paint Removal Painting and Restoration to strip layers and layers of paint from it so that new paint would once again adhere. A three year-old paint job was failing already and we wanted to create a clean canvas for the new paint that would last a long time. Richie and his crew did an amazing job of stripping the paint using heat guns and scrapers. Each area worked on was tarped and contained as is best practices when working with old lead-based paint. The crew arrived on time every morning and worked diligently to complete the job in 6 days. If you own a historic home, skilled paint preparation like this is important to maintain its beauty and value. We recommend A-1 Paint Removal without reservation and would definitely hire them again!

Description of Work
Exterior Paint Removal from Historic Home

Category pressure washing, lead paint removal

Cost $21,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2022

5.0

01/28/2019


judith B.

My 1920s home was in need of repainting. We opted to have all old paint removed and carpentry repair as needed to restore and make intact the exteriors both of the house and the detached garage. A-1 absolutely fulfilled its commitment to quality throughout the process. Predictably, the paint removal part of the process was elaborate and one which required us to be absent from the home during the hours of their work. This was well explained beforehand. Carpentry, priming and final repaint was performed with meticulous care to detail. Members of the A-1 team were always smiling, friends and approachable. The outcome of this large project truly exceeded our expectations.

Description of Work
complete paint removal, carpentry repairs and repaint of home exterior

Category house painters

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2018

5.0

05/30/2017


Ross M.

I recently hired A-1 to strip a portion of my house. This was a difficult job due to the height of the house and close quarters with neighbors. I also have mature landscaping, and I requested that A-1 make every effort to work around the shrubs and trees with minimal damage. The job was done well, the impact on the landscaping was minimal and the site was kept very clean. A-1’s crew worked hard under difficult conditions. The final product was as promised. Strong recommendation.

Description of Work
Exterior house paint stripping

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2017

5.0

05/08/2017


Lisa H.

All jobs and or services whether to remove paint or to paint the inside or the outside were all done extremely well, see previous comments for further detailed information above. They have completed Exterior Painting and removal interior painting as well as pressure washing at both of our homes on more than one occasion since 2011. See posting of picture of Paint removal its amazing

Description of Work
We have worked with A1 Paint removal Painting and Restoration on multiple occasions, seeing several aspects of there business capabilities. We had full paint removal from our historic home several years ago and were amazed at how the job was completed. the crew never complained regardless of the heat, or the long hours they kept singing early in the morning and laughing throughout the day. We were so pleased with the quality of work and the disposition of the crew we later hired them to complete interior painting on our basement, and then later on our beach house. We would recommend them to anyone they are not only awesome at the task at hand they also have good disposition and have no problem completing the task as many times as it is necessary to get the lines as the customer wants them even if they truly were straight the first time lol.. Use them inside use them outside, whether to put paint on or to take paint off you will never find a better crew to get the job done to the customers satisfaction

Category house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2017

Images

Review for A1 Paint Removal Painting and Restoration - 2505 Portland Rd, Newberg, OR - 35000699

+2 More

4.0

09/12/2016


April D.

Richard and his team removed the paint on the exterior of our home, and then repainted. The new paint job was beautiful, but took two weeks longer than expected (and did not start on time as it was pushed out to due to continued work on another job). Shortly after painting, one side of our home began to bubble. A1 guarantees their work, and we were assured they would come fix the issue (strip and repaint). They asked us to wait a few weeks so that they could be certain the paint would not bubble further. There were significant communication issues, and months passed before A1 scheduled a date to return and correct the issue. A1 asserts the issue was with our contractor's poor communication. Our contractor asserts it was A1's unwillingness to make our "correction" a priority. I, personally, also struggled to communicate with A1, and I find them to often "pass the buck" when it comes to taking responsibility in conflict, so I struggle to determine where fault lies. In the end, after posting this review, the company did return at the end of September to restrip and paint the areas that were bubbling, and the paint job looks fantastic. I do think that Richard, the owner, has a fantastic eye for detail and design, and was able to provide great ideas and insight, and we very much liked the "lead" on our project, Arturo. Again, the work is nearly flawless, and I don't think the bubbling that occurred was a result of A1's work. I'm grateful that it looks as beautiful as it does, and A1's attention to detail can't be beat. The work on our home is nearly flawless.

Description of Work
Stripping many layers of lead paint from a 1913 craftsman bungalow; repaint.

Category house painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/18/2016

3.0

06/05/2016


Christina G.

They did an excellent job of removing the paint, but did an inordinate amount of damage to plants in the beds near the garage. As instructed, I cleared a 2' corridor on all 4 sides of the garage, including transplanting several plants and pruning back a barberry hedge and a couple of juniper trees. I expressed concern about my plants & was assured they would get "tender, loving care". Because of a recent electrical fire at the house, I was staying in a hotel. When I got to the house that morning, I found workers had put jackets, etc, into a bed on top of several small perennial plants, and I asked them to please remove. No one stepped forward to introduce himself as supervisor and the worker did not appear to speak English, though he did remove the items. I had to be away most of the day, and when I returned, they were gone. I found various items on a different bed, one trunk of a double-trunk juniper broken and lying horizontal atop my barberry hedge, & several plants crushed. There were damaged plants and even a broken solar light well away from the work area. I sent photos to the company but did not get any useful response.

Description of Work
Removed lead paint from free-standing garage, as subcontractor for exterior painting by another company.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2016

Images

Review for A1 Paint Removal Painting and Restoration - 2505 Portland Rd, Newberg, OR - 31944333

+3 More

Service Provider Response

As a family owned business, we pride ourselves in the work we do and always strive to offer customer satisfaction. In this project, as we do with all of our projects we performed a walkthrough and discussed all things that may prevent us from delivering a flawless finish such as plants, trees, pots, etc. that may be in the way of the area the customer is needing the work to be done. Although all of our proposals clearly indicate that we are not responsible for any damages caused to trees, plants, etc. in this case I can say with clear conscious that the damages were not caused by our workers. As mentioned by the customer on the review, there was an electric fire in the home a few days prior to completion of cleanup after paint removal and the indicated areas in the photos were passages cleared by the fire department to get to the fire. What happened in this case was very unfortunate, however there was no wrong doing on A1.
5.0

06/03/2016


Robert W.

Hands down - a great company to work with - you cannot go wrong. They are meticulous, hard working, and will not stop until your house looks amazing. I originally contacted Richard at A-1 to provide paint removal services on a project that involved vinyl siding removal, paint removal, carpentry, and new paint on a 1920's era home in Portland. In my meeting with Richard he expressed his interest in restoring old homes and asked me to consider A-1 to for the entire project. His bid was not the lowest, but I got a feeling through our discussion that he cared about his work and had a good sense of aesthetics. I called three references who had their houses stripped and re-painted by A-1, and they all had nothing but great things to say. This was a huge, nasty project, but the outcome is amazing. Our house looks like a historic home again. Yes, there were times when I'd wished that the communication was a little better, but I also understand the demands that they were under since spring and summer is a busy time for exterior work in Portland. The house was painted in the fall, the rain was coming soon, so Richard said that he would contact us in the spring because he wanted to touch up some areas that he wasn't happy with. Everything looked fine to me and I didn't expect him to call, but he did and the touch ups are being made now. Nice people who care about their work and will do a great job.

Description of Work
Vinyl siding removal paint removal exterior painting

Category house painters

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2015

4.0

05/14/2016


Jessica I.

We were very happy with the quality and price of A1's work, but we rated A1 with a "C" for Responsiveness and Professionalism, as these were the closest category to what we would describe as "follow through." In particular, the following are things that were promised by A1: 1. A portable toilet on site for the workers - they were working 8+ hour shifts for 6 days and facilities were not provided. 2. A machine to provide positive displacement of air, forcing clean air from the inside to outside of the house - this was never provided. 3. When we were getting the quote and discussing their EPA certified practices, Richard said A1 owned a high-end HEPA vacuum; however, the crew only used a standard shop-vac with a HEPA filter, which is a fundamentally a different thing. When the above issues occurred, we communicated our concerns directly with Richard. He answered the phone and spoke with us about it, but A1 still did not take care of the above details. Finally, we were grateful that the crew had done a great job of covering the interior windows with plastic to prevent the exterior paint removal dust from coming inside. However, we discovered that we had been without a functional fire alarm for a week after the project was completed. The alarms had been covered with plastic during the project. A week later, we decided to do an annual check on the alarms, only to find out the crew had removed the batteries and we were not notified by A1 that we had been without our bedroom fire alarm the entire time. Had we not happened to check our batteries, we could have had months going by without a fire alarm the bedroom where we sleep, a very unnecessary and frustrating risk. We have provided this feedback directly to A1, as we hope this helps them improve the situation for their workers and future customers. We would hire A1 again because of the quality of the work and competitive price; however, to achieve our level of comfort with lead based paint removal, we would have to keep a close connection with the work.

Description of Work
A1 removed the exterior paint on our home, including: Est Side: Upper Dormer complete, 5 Windows complete, Lower Soffit and Rafters, Siding, Bay Window Soffit, 1 Column, Porch Ceiling, 1 Door and Frame. South Side: Upper Soffit and Rafters, Siding, 5 Windows complete. West Side: Upper Soffit, Lap Siding. North Side: Upper Soffit, 4 Windows complete, Siding.

Category house painters

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2016

Service Provider Response

In the matter of having a portable toilet, we did address this issue by communicating with the sanitary company several times until they eventually got one on site. Unfortunately, some things we have no control of. We always make sure to follow all necessary guidelines to ensure all debris are capsulated and clear all while keeping clean circulating air. On this project we followed all required procedures. Every project is a new experience. Our goal is to make sure our customers are completely satisfied with our work. We do appreciate feedback from our customers and take in consideration each opinion and respect there input.
5.0

05/15/2015


Jason M.

Richard is dedicated to customer service. He stopped by daily to check in on the crew and discuss things with us. If anything went wrong he immediately jumped on and attacked the problem aggressively to our satisfaction. The price for paint stripping a house is high, so you want to get what you paid for and be treated as an important customer. They did great on both. We have tons of people stopping and talking to us about how we got the house stripped so well. Many have even suggested clear coating it instead of painting it because it looks so good. Would definitely recommend for those who have the budget and a horrible looking house from all the previous sanding, power washing, and many layers of paint etc.

Description of Work
Paint Removal on entire house. All of the house is wood. Two story (~1700 sq ft) house. There were many layers to remove from 90 years of painting.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Cost $12,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2015

5.0

04/09/2015


Amy R.

Awesome job! From scheduling, to workers' arrival, to the lead mitigation prep, the quality of work done, clean up, and communication--there's nothing we can find fault with. The owner (Richard) took a lot of time to explain the process and kept in close touch with frequent updates. The workers were skilled, speedy, and professional. Our 87-year-old home is down to bare wood and ready to get a fresh coat! A1 was recommended by our painting company and they coordinated their schedules to provide a seamless transition to painting. We couldn't be happier with the job they did to prepare our home for repairs and repainting!

Description of Work
Exterior paint removal from 1928 home

Category house painters, interior painters

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2015

4.0

11/05/2014


Tiffanie S.

Richard was really cool and provided a fair price. Clean-up was subpar. It was a bit of hassle to be able to get into the house as they had set up a pad-locked chain fence around the house due to the lead paint. Richard was responsive to this.

Description of Work
They stripped the paint off our house. This included lead paint removal. They met the bid of a previous provider who could no longer do the job. The work took a team about two weeks to complete.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2014

5.0

10/26/2013


Vivienne P.

Excellent job, very professional and hard working crew. Very trustworthy.

Description of Work
Remove exterior paint down to the wood, lead paint abatement, prime and repaint exterior.

Category house painters

Cost $27,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2013

5.0

03/29/2013


CYNTHIA M.

Excellent customer service from beginning to end. The company responded to all my inquiries in a timely manner and was very punctual with appointments and proposals. I was impressed with the long days the workers put in, the great care to follow abatement procedures and the excellent clean up at the end of each day. Most importantly, besides the excellent job of thorough paint removal, the company protected all of my plants and flowers! Not one plant, leaf or flower suffered. I also liked how cheerful the crew was despite the awful work they had to do to remove the paint. I would highly recommend A1 Custom Paint Removal INC!

Description of Work
Custom paint removal from 2 sides of our 1926 bungalow due to repeated paint blistering problems. The company took great care to tent our house to contain and dispose of the lead paint and particles in a proper manner.

Category house painters

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2013

4.0

09/17/2010


John A.

Overall the experience was good. They removed all the old paint, kept the yard clean and showed up when they said. The painter did complain a little about the roughness of some of the surfaces and said they should have left them smoother but he did not charge us more to do the extra sanding that was required. A1 recomended the painter who did a good job.

Description of Work
Removed paint from the exterion of our house.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2008

5.0

01/22/2008


cynthia P.

Quick and easy. Really great to work with, everything was done quickly and professionally and no mess was left.

Description of Work
Stripped all windows upstairs and downstairs.

Category interior painters

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

1.0

11/01/2007


KIRSTEN S.

A1 told us they follow OSHA guidelines, have frequent OSHA oversight, and did not use open flames, torches or heat the paint over 400 degrees. It turns out that their comments were untrue.

Description of Work
Strip 90 year old 2 story house of it's many layers of exterior paint, down to the wood. A1 was informed prior to the job of known lead content in exterior paint and concerns about the health of our 2 yr. old and baby.

Category house painters

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Service Provider Response

THIS PERSON HAS FALSELY ACCUSED MY COMPANY OF ALLEGATIONS THAT ARE NOT TRUE. THIS MATTER HAS ALREADY BEEN SETTLED BY LAWYERS. SHE HAS SIGNED AN AGREEMENT THAT SHE IS NOT TO DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY DISPARAGE AS WELL AS PUBLISH REPORTS OR GIVE NOTICE TO ANY THIRD PARTY OR DISCUSS ANY INFORMATION ABOUT THIS MATTER. JESSICA V
5.0

06/22/2007


Steven S.

The work went great from start to finish Richard arrived promptly and gave us an estimate. He told us when he could start the job. We needed a little extra time and he was very accommodating. Richard's crew started on agreed date. Crew was very professional in how they set up their operation, worked in teams and were immaculate in their clean-up after each day's work. The crew was great to work with and did a great job of stripping our house. We are very happy with the job that they did.

Description of Work
A1 removed/stripped all of the paint from our house. The work included both the wood fir siding and all the trim.

Category house painters

Cost $6,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

05/22/2007


JERROL L.

It went good. The guys were very friendly and professional. Everything was taped and cleaned up. They took care in our home, putting down mats so they didn't track in mud.

Description of Work
We had some paint removed from the ceiling.

Category interior painters

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

04/19/2007


ESTHER E.

I rarely enthuse over a company as I do over A-1 Custom Paint Removal. The 6 operatives work together in almost aerial demonstration coordination. Every thought is given to health and safety, including full Haz-Mat suits, air masks and safety lines tied off from the roof at all times. They cover the entire work area, clean up after every day's work, replace downspouts, phone-lines, TV cables and plantings. On the final day they leave the place as if they were never there-apart from superb original wood. All of their equipment, ladders, scaffolding attachments, gas lines etc are first rate quality. Our job took 2 more days than expected, because of a particularly hardened paint. Not once did they skimp the work and not once did the owner Richard Ostolaza even hint at a renegotiation of quoted price.

Description of Work
PAINT STRIP & SANDING PREPARATION. 1907 Irvington 3-level Craftsman-style house NE Portland. Completely stripping paint from the eaves to the basement windows. Sand prep for painting.

Category house painters

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

02/28/2007


MARILYN M.

They came on the date they gave me. Were on time everyday. They did a terrific job. I am VERY happy and satisfied with their work. The clean up was impeccable. They are a very cheerful and hardworking group and it was a pleasure to deal with them. the price was great for the most excellent result!

Description of Work
Scraped, sanded and removed all the accumulated paint down to the original cedar siding, including doors and windows, from my two-story 1936 house.

Category house painters

Cost $7,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

07/04/2006


STEVE T.

We have used A1 Custom Paint Removal three times. First time was to strip all paint off all woodwork in living room, dining room, front hall, stairwell, back hall. Huge job. Excellent work. Super attention to detail. Cleans up after every day's work. Second time, stripped front porch floor. Third time, bedroom. When we have other rooms stripped, he will get the contract, no question.

Description of Work
Removed paint on all woodwork in bedroom and dressing room.

Category interior painters

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

06/13/2006


TIM A.

A-1 removed all of the paint from the smooth trim (soffits, barge boards, and windows) on my house. They arrived ahead of schedule and 4 workers completed the work in 4 days, cleaning up completely at the end of each day. They were polite, professional, and took care not to damage plants around the house. I would highly recommend them for paint removal.

Description of Work
Paint removal from all of the trim on my 1913 bungalow.

Category house painters

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes