HARDLINE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION INC

About

Founded 1991 • With Angi since March 2006

Quality and commitment from our family to yours… Hardline has been remodeling homes in Portland, Oregon, and Vancouver, Washington, for 26 years in home, kitchen, and bath design, construction, and remodeling. Hardline is a local family friendly business. Complimentary estimates. Veteran owned

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Kitchen RemodelTile Back-splashBackyard Patio

Verified Reviews

4.7

(79) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

64

4

3

3

2

2

1

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (34)tile installation (17)flooring (16)electrician (15)drywall (15)door installation (14)woodworking (14)countertop installation (14)plumbers (13)interior painting (12)lighting (10)siding companies (9)
Showing 1-25 of 79 reviews
5.0

05/25/2022


Carey M.

As always, this team did a great job. This time, they replaced some damaged siding, a problem they identified while renovating our garage last year. They also arranged for a faulty screen door to be serviced. They are professional, responsive and do quality work with quality materials. We are always confident that they will do a great job, and look forward to working with them again!

Description of Work
Siding replacement

Category siding, garage builders, doors

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2022

5.0

05/24/2022


Staci K.

Adam and his team were amazing! They worked quickly while doing quality professional work. I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Enclosed porch was rebuilt

Category picture framing, siding, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2022

5.0

03/09/2022


Dennis R.

We had our bathroom remodel done by Hardline Design and I could not be happier! They were all very helpful, professional and available for any and all our questions we had. We feel Adam, Chris and Tim went above and beyond the scope of their quote for the project. It was a pleasure working with them and we highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Tile in floor and shower and heating in floor

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2021

5.0

01/16/2022


Carey M.

Our project went really well. We split our garage into two spaces, one for living and one for storage. We were pleased to work with this family-run business. We felt confident that they were handling our project with care and integrity. They communicated well about the twists and turns brought on by supply chain issues and permitting requirements. They were honest about the timeline uncertainties due to the pandemic, and they organized the project to keep things moving forward even when supplies were delayed. We appreciated their thoughtfulness about smaller details, great recommendations and advice, and their help navigating various options. The quality of their work is excellent and we are very happy with the finished space! We highly recommend and would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Converting garage to living space

Category electrician, remodeling

Cost $39,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2021

5.0

09/13/2021


Sara R.

Hardline Construction did an excellent job building our new addition from beginning to end. From the start, Adam (the owner) asked more questions during the quoting process than any other contractor, wanted to look at every nook and corner to make sure nothing was missed and answered every question we had during the entire project. He kept us up to date on when work would start, had already pre-positioned supplies on-site so work could begin as soon as permits were issued, and did the work in a timely manner while respecting our privacy and keeping us informed of progress. We are very pleased with him and his crew's work and would recommend them for any construction project, and already have. Also, he and his crew love dogs.

Description of Work
Construction of an addition to original house.

Category concrete repair, drywall, electrician, excavators, picture framing, garage doors, insulation, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home builders, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/13/2021

1.0

07/30/2021


Eric D.

Would not call them ever again. Adam and another person showed up 20 minutes early. When I answered the door, I asked them to wait just a few minutes as I was wrapping up with someone else and they were early. They said “yeah sure no problem.” Before I even closed the door, they checked their watch. Within 1 minute of me asking them to wait, I could hear them say “Should we just go?” multiple times. They left 1 minute after me asking them to wait. I gave them the benefit of the doubt and waited 15 minutes after our appointment time before emailing (35 minutes after they left). Then at 25 minutes after our appointment scheduled time, I called twice, was sent to voice mail and left a message with no response. Complete disrespect for my time to show up early, not even bother to wait 1 minute, and then no show & no response. Dodged a bullet by not hiring this contractor.

Description of Work
Basement remodel and fireplace removal

Category basement remodeling

Work Completed On 07/30/2021

Service Provider Response

This is not true, we were on time. The home owner was not ready and has been very rude. We would not have chosen to work with this person and feel for anyone who does.
5.0

06/18/2021


Laura B.

The whole project went great from start to finish. Adam transformed a small kitchen into the kitchen we always wanted - same footprint but so much better. His crew and all of the subs on the project were great to work with. The project was completed in a reasonable time frame and within budget. Adam’s plans were excellent and very well executed. We are very happy with our new kitchen and recommend Hardline with no reservations. Simply great to work with.

Description of Work
Remodel kitchen

Category home remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2021

5.0

03/17/2021


Krystle W.

First off I could not say enough about Adam and his crew! He came highly recommended! Prior to Adam we had a contractor just ruin our dream to add a new bathroom in our home. Adam came out and from the start was honest, had great communication and literally saved our dream! He showed up everyday, answered all my questions (which I always have many) worked with all city inspectors and plumber to get our wreck of a bathroom fixed, all permitted and usable! He worked within our budget, even when I added a few extras! If you want a honest, trustworthy and hard working company Hardline design and construction is it!!!

Description of Work
Adam was a lifesaver!

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, glass repair, handyman service, insulation, interior designers, remodeling, siding, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $10,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2021

1.0

10/27/2020


Kim C.

I hired Adam to design, permit and build a 600’ ADU with a garage. The design work was very good. The permitting process took 9 months and there were large gaps of inactivity and project mismanagement. I canceled the job because I felt the project was not progressing as planned. It was a very expensive mistake hiring Hardline.

Description of Work
Build Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU)

Category picture framing, woodworking

Cost $155,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2021

Service Provider Response

We regret we weren't able to meet the clients expectations. This was at the beginning of Covid and the city did not have their permit portals ready. Other clients and contractors experienced this as well, some were just more patient. Things are now up and running smoothly again. *No production work was performed on this job.
5.0

04/14/2020


Chris S.

Adam and company at Hardline Design and Construction were great to work with. From beginning to end. We got quotes from several companies, and Adam was by far the easiest to communicate and work with. The subs he used for electrical, drywall and Hvac were good. The room we had them finish was just bare studs open to the attic with one outlet and one light. Adam put together a quick design to convert the space into a usable room and office. Once we agreed on the price and the work that would be done, that's exactly what we paid for. No extra or hidden costs. We plan on going back to Adam for future work we want to get done on our house.

Description of Work
Build out our bonus room above our garage.

Category remodeling

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2020

5.0

01/10/2020


Kent M.

First rate work. Adam is straightforward, and completely ethical, fundamental qualities for us. He has been in business for around 20 years and is successful enough to have more demand for his work than he can provide. So he selects his customers on the basis of how he feels about them rather than the desirability of the project itself. We had started with a contractor friend on our project, which was converting most of our 2nd floor into a high end ADU. That contractor moved to CA right after demolition, abandoning us and our torn apart home. We contacted several highly rated contractors who had one quick look at our situation and said they were not interested. Adam took on the project at least partly because we all got on well at our initial meetings. The job expanded greatly to encompass the need to remediate a good deal of previous owner sub-standard construction and our own contribution of deferred maintenance. Adam mentioned he had seen it all before, but never at the same location. New heating/cooling, roofing, windows and numerous skylights, siding, earthquake anchoring, flooring and a quality ADU with new kitchen. Paint inside and out. Major wiring update. Has a great hardwood flooring sub - All Green Hardwood Floors, LLC. Project took a long time and was expensive - over $200K. Any quality work in the Portland area is expensive. But our home is like, and looks like, a new home. Encountered many unexpected problems, which are typical in major work, but we had more than our share that were large-scale. Throughout, Adam was dealing with it with grace and, at times, humor. He and his subs will handle the work and the inevitable challenges. He is an in-demand guy and has simultaneous ongoing projects. His time can get stretched out because he and his son do the construction and tile work on all of his jobs and their quality work is obvious. We are delighted with the outcome.

Description of Work
Complete home remodel including incorporation of ADU

Category remodeling

Cost $200,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2020

5.0

10/14/2019


Patty C.

Kitchen looks fantastic, and was finished quickly considering how much was done. New cabinets, floor, countertops, sink, the works. Adam & Chris are great to work with, they even make friends with your pooch. My wife is thrilled.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2019

Images

Review for HARDLINE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION INC - 8480 SE STRAWBERRY LN, Milwaukie, OR - 38168951

+1 More

5.0

10/04/2019


JANICE S.

The service does not stop when you use Hardline Design and Construction Inc. Hardline Design and Construction remodeled our kitchen in 2013. We enjoy our kitchen as much as we did when it was first remodeled. Adam the owner did a great job. I recently contacted Adam as it was time for the grout between the countertop and wall tile to be replaced. I knew this was a small job and was planning on paying him if he would have time to fit this in. Adam came out today. The caulking was replaced and he did not want payment for the work. Thank you Adam!

Description of Work
Grout caulk replaced

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2019

5.0

08/03/2019


Tanya T.

Adam was really great to work with on these projects. He eased the stress of not having a kitchen for many months and was easy to get into contact with if I had any questions or concerns.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel & ADU Construction

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, garage doors, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, plumbing, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2019

Images

Review for HARDLINE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION INC - 8480 SE STRAWBERRY LN, Milwaukie, OR - 38023511

+3 More

5.0

01/29/2018


Joan C.

We have a classic mid-century modern ranch/rambler, and wanted to updated our kitchen, while keeping it in a mid-century feel. This meant that we needed a contractor that would "get it", and would take the time to organize a team of subcontractors that were well versed in working with the needed materials that are unique to the period and were skilled enough to get it right. Mission accomplished. Adam put together a team of subs (all of whom he made sure that I met) that were neat, efficient and uniformly excellent at what they did. He made sure that I was well informed as to what to expect going into the project, and immediately alerted me to any minor snags that came up. He has also been very responsive to a couple of (very minor) things that came up after the job was finished. We're very happy with the work, and hope that he'll be available when the time comes that we need any other large projects done.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $28,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2017

5.0

08/28/2017


Kevin S.

Highly recommend Hardline design and Construction for any/all of your remodeling needs. Adam from hardline helped guide us through the potentially stressful process of remodeling our upstairs bathroom. He put in a lot of time on the front end that helped the project run smoothly including providing us with detailed plans and an anticipated work calander. As work began there were some delays (mostly due to challenges discovered post-demolition) but Adam and his son Chris were so dedicated to the schedule that they worked on 4th of July and several weekends! Adam did a good job keeping us informed of job progress and also kept us in the loop re: any changes or decisions that needed to be made. I often deferred to Adam because I trusted his judgment and expertise. Bottom line, if you want someone who takes pride in their work, is involved throughout the entire process and turns out A+ work then Adam is your guy. Photos added are before and after

Description of Work
Remodel of bathroom

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $34,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2017

Images

Review for HARDLINE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION INC - 8480 SE STRAWBERRY LN, Milwaukie, OR - 36132196

+1 More

5.0

07/07/2017


Alexa L.

Adam was very easy to work with and had solutions for all of the little things that come up unexpectedly during this kind of project. He has a "do it right" attitude and worked very hard to ensure the outcome met my expectations. This was my first, big home project and Hardline Design and Construction was a perfect choice. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hardline to anyone and would consider it as a first (and maybe only) choice for future work.

Description of Work
Conversion of garage space into additional bedroom, bathroom, and closet. Work included new plumbing (sink, toilet, shower), gas line for new gas fireplace, and electrical.

Category remodeling

Cost $36,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2017

Images

Review for HARDLINE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION INC - 8480 SE STRAWBERRY LN, Milwaukie, OR - 35441334

+3 More

5.0

01/16/2017


JUDITH L.

When my flaky contractor in Seaside finked out on me with a garage full of kitchen cabinets, a farmhouse sink and over the stove microwave all ready to go, i turned to Angie's List for a contractor in Portland to see if anyone would be willing to drive to Seaside to do the project. Adam Lucas of Hardline Design was willing. He set out a plan of action, detailing everything and except for the unexpected delays due to winter weather, turned my old kitchen into a thing of beauty and function. He was precise and very particular that everything be done perfectly and properly.

Description of Work
I needed a kitchen remodel on a 1934 beach house.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Cost $21,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2016

5.0

12/01/2016


Chris P.

Adam was a pleasure to work with through the entire project. He was very responsive throughout. Whenever we were home while he and his crew were working, everyone felt completely safe and comfortable, and enjoyed talking and participating in the project together. We really appreciated that he was so helpful with the design process as well as construction. He always had good ideas when we asked, but wasn't pushy. We ended up taking his advice on a number of items, and are glad we did so. Our house is from 1930 with a smaller kitchen that previously felt isolated, but after the remodel it feels much more open, is much more usable and fun to cook in, and we think it looks great! As is always the case on a significant project, there were a few issues along the way, all of which originated with his subs, but Adam took care of things promptly and professionally, and maintained a very positive attitude throughout. The project opened up a wall, in which he matched the existing plaster arches in our house beautifully, removed existing flooring and refinished the original wood floor underneath, replaced and reconfigured all cabinets with a custom design, and new countertop, sink, fixtures, backsplash, lighting, ceiling, new appliances, and new painting. We love our new kitchen. During construction, Adam did the small extra things he didn't technically have to, but which made the process of temporarily living without a kitchen much more pleasant, like helping us temporarily set up our old dishwasher in the basement, so we didn't have to wash all of our dishes in the bathtub. We are definitely recommending Adam to our friends with upcoming remodel projects, and we have already hired him for our next remodel project!

Description of Work
Full kitchen remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2016

Images

Review for HARDLINE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION INC - 8480 SE STRAWBERRY LN, Milwaukie, OR - 34034967

+3 More

5.0

11/13/2016


Nancy M.

Adam, his son, and his subcontractors turned our newly acquired house into a comfortable and stylish home. They stayed on schedule as well as possible. Adam returned our emails and phone calls promptly and kept us informed throughout the project. We asked Adam to add some things that weren’t in the original contract and he was more than willing to work with us to complete these additions. We did have some issues arise with some of the work that a couple of the subcontractors performed. Adam was able to work it out to our satisfaction. After the job was completed, we had a few things that needed readdressing and Adam promptly returned to fix them. Overall we are very happy with the remodel.

Description of Work
➢ We hired Hardline Design and Construction to do an extensive remodel. The project included gutting the kitchen and bath and totally redesigning both to our needs and desires; replacing all windows and trimming them inside and out; designing and replacing hallway storage and outdated telephone station with custom designed cabinets; replacing, sanding and refinishing damaged oak flooring throughout the living areas; applying new kitchen, laundry and bathroom flooring; rewiring kitchen and bath; addressing crawl space issues – new vapor barrier and insulation; installing new water line from meter to all new fixtures under floor; cleaning interior walls and ceilings to remove nicotine stain and smell; priming and painting interior of house walls, ceiling and trim; pressure washing and painting exterior of house; and installing the appliances and light fixtures we provided.

Category custom cabinets, closet systems, countertops, drywall, electrician, egress windows, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, siding, woodworking, marble & granite, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $93,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2016

Images

Review for HARDLINE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION INC - 8480 SE STRAWBERRY LN, Milwaukie, OR - 33996385

+9 More

5.0

11/05/2016


Stan E.

We hired Hardline Design & Construction to provide the final drawings and construction for our 164 sf art studio and deck as an addition to our mid-century home. The owner, Adam Lucas and his son, Chris, were extremely professional and were great communicators throughout the duration of the project. Additionally, they kept us abreast of any potential problems/issues/up charges that could arise when adding on to an exiting structure as there are always unknowns along the way. Although the project took longer than expected, my wife and I both being designers, appreciated Hardline’s attention to detail and we're thrilled with the finished studio. We would highly recommend Hardline. Stan and Tricia

Description of Work
They added a 164 sf art studio and deck to our existing home.

Category remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2016

5.0

07/20/2016


Honor V.

Hardline Design and Construction was easy to work with throughout the project from competitive bid through completion of project and removal of all debris in a timely manner. Owner, Adam Lucas was consistently punctual, congenial, and professional; he also visited the site daily to ensure proper subcontractor progress on the project. Hardline Design and Construction built a Japanese gazebo-style cedar grape arbor supported by pressure treated 4x4s set in concrete. They built a cedar arched trellis for my established row of robust evergreen jasmine vines. Both structures were to replace rotted original trellises that Hardline Design and Construction also demolished and removed. It was a difficult space for the workmen, as my old thorny rambling rose that I insisted they save was very robust and had grown through the original grape trellis to top of adjacent garage roof. They also installed new decorative wire dog fences with metal rod supports along entire long driveway from front to back of property, since my garage is at back of my property, to keep my American Greyhound off extensive flower beds along side of back garden. They used chainsaw, pruned, and removed massively overgrown saplings and large ancient rhododendron shrubs that obstructed all of Hardline Design and Construction’s work in the back garden. They also installed a large oval raised herb and vegetable bed in back garden with 2-feet tall decorative curved concrete block surrounds, and removed the two old rotten wood raised bed frames that it replaced ($9,750).

Description of Work
Japanese gazebo-style grape arbor and arched jasmine trellis; raised herb and vegetable garden; dog fences; removal of obstructive old rhododendrons and hazel saplings.

Category contractors, concrete repair, fencing, landscaping, remodeling, woodworking

Cost $9,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2016