Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Ken Scales Automotive

Founded 1979 • With Angi since August 2010

4.7

(39) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1101 Court Street

Medford, OR 97501

Description

At Ken Scales auto repair and diagnostics in Medford, Oregon our job goes further than completing all your auto repair needs. From the moment you walk into the door you will see our auto repair and diagnostic shop isn't just another shop. There is a reason why once a client chooses Ken Scales auto repair they become a client for life. Call us now for all your automotive service and repair needs. we look forward to adding you to our family of satisfied customers....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/07/2020


Tamara R.

The guys at Ken Scales have always been so kind and professional. They are the ONLY local mechanic that I know of that I can always count on to be fair and honest. They have worked on multiple cars of mine and have always fixed the problem the FIRST time, in a timely manner, always for a great price. They've never tried to overcharge me for things that weren't needed. They've always given me options and helped me prioritize what was needed based on my budget. They have saved me so many times!! I can't thank them enough or recommend them enough!! Its hard to find a trustworthy, reputable mechanic these days. They are all of that and more!

Description of Work
Daughters car needed safety check

Category car inspections

5.0

05/30/2018


Eric C.

Ken Scales is the best! I’ve been to so many other places in Medford with vehicle problems. It seems that they all fix things that aren’t broke and charge way more than the quote. Both Ken and Mike were very professional, courteous, and informative. They were extremely knowledgeable about my vehicle and the issues I was having with it. Not only did they stay spot-on with the quote they gave, but, Mike called me to let me know that he had to do a little more work than was discussed, however, he was sticking with the quote. The last place I took a vehicle for work to be done on it, they didn’t even check the oil after $2700 of work. And that place was a local dealership. Ken Scales not only checked my oil, they changed it.! I’ll be bringing all of my vehicle issues and service to a Ken Scales. I’ll also be recommending Ken Scales to all of my friends and family. Thanks guys! Eric Comfort

Description of Work
Extensive engine work on my ‘97 Subaru

Category auto repair,radiator service,car inspections

5.0

12/20/2017


Tina A.

They were prompt, responsive and communicated well! I really appreciate these guys and would definitely go back!

Description of Work
Fix some lights and electrical problem

Category auto repair

5.0

06/09/2017


glenn C.

I could not have been more impressed with Ken and his crew. In a matter of 3 days they did all of the above work and more for just over $3,000. After another inspection by Ken's mechanics it was determined that several things on the "dealer's list" didn't need to be done. The transmission was "saved" with several cleanings, that alone saved me over $3,000. Ken owns and operates a very professional business with a highly qualified staff and I can't rate them high enough to express my satisfaction with their work.

Description of Work
I recently went to Ken Scales with a laundry list of things that according to the local dealership said needed to be done, with an estimated cost of $8,000. This included replacing the transmission, radiator and rad. cooler, timing chain and associated guides etc.. Not only did I have this major work needing to be done, I needed it to be done quickly so that we would not miss our first camping reservation of the year.

Category auto repair,radiator service

5.0

10/06/2016


Matt D.

I use my truck for hunting and backroad driving. It gets beat up so every year I bring it in for checkup. Ken Scales has handled these checkups for me for over 8 years and there is no one else I trust more. I have had many an issue come up with my truck because I USE MY TRUCK. It gets beat up at times but Ken Scales Auto always fixes the problem..........fast ...........reliable and for a fair price. Cant say that about many other places.

Description of Work
Radiatorl, timing belt, brakes and other misc things needed to be done on my '02 Tundra. It is a truck I heavily use and has over 225k miles.

Category auto repair

1.0

08/31/2016


bill M.

When it was all said and done I took a $12,000 loan out to get that truck fixed. I gave him an open book to go ahead and check the whole truck over and make sure that he got everything taken care of because I was taking a loan out to fix it. He came back and originally it was going to be somewhere around $7,900. By the time I got finished with him no it was, like, almost $9-10,000 and then he told me I still had stuff wrong. He quoted me, on both those parts, to replace, it was $300 a shot. When I took the car over and dropped it off the last time I left the car outside, left the keys in it and left. I got home and called him to go check it and they said it wasn't there so I lost my $800 telephone and now my wife and I went in there to pay the last bill and they said we need more work. Actually the two things he told us, there was nothing at all wrong. After that we refused to use him. His professionalism su*ked; he got into an argument with my wife in front of customers.

Description of Work
I used Ken Scales Automotive for auto service. They were supposed to replace fuel injectors. I mean, we had a load stuff they did.

Category auto repair

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], It is difficult to recall circumstances that occurred 15 months ago, however at ken scales auto we always strive for perfection. I can assure you that there is no lack of integrity in my staff and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your issues, please contact myself or mike or stop by and lets discuss your concerns. with respect Ken Scales
5.0

08/15/2016


Shel S.

As always, this is the place to bring your vehicle for anything needed to be done. It is done right the first time and the staff is awesome!

Description of Work
Electrical

Category

5.0

07/05/2015


Clark B.

as usual Ken Scales was very reasonable on charges, quick to get the work done and a pleasure to deal with

Description of Work
multiple engine issues and tuneup

Category auto repair

5.0

07/16/2014


Stephen S.

Great communication and explained costs well.

Description of Work
Replaced fan assembly on maxima

Category auto repair

5.0

06/03/2014


David C.

The Ken Scales crew did a great job of fixing my wife's car. They were very prompt, easy to work with, and competitively-priced. We need some more (unrelated) work done on her car and will definitely go back to Ken Scales.

Description of Work
Electrical/battery work

Category radiator service

5.0

09/05/2013


Chris B.

Very well, although they were very busy, my vehicle was repaired and back on the road the following day.

Description of Work
repaired brakes

Category auto repair

5.0

08/17/2013


Louis Y.

Great service and responsiveness to needs. Set another appointment for followup needs. Owner and employees very service oriented and with great emphasis on customer care. Good quality faciity. Many long term satisfied employees.

Description of Work
Mechanical problems with the power steering were fixed

Category auto repair

5.0

07/23/2012


James S.

An amazing experience! I never had this much done out of good will. I did get a bit of a lecture on the limited off-road capabilities of my SUV, and how to avoid future problems. This kind of service is almost never found.

Description of Work
I was traveling to Oregon away from my home in northern Nevada and from the loud sounds coming from underneath the car, I expected days of waiting and considerable repair expense. The very efficient and pleasant mechanic removed a large tree branch from the car's undercarriage and straightened a bent bracket, yet Ken Scales didn't charge for the service. They even road tested the car.

Category auto repair

5.0

06/21/2012


Sharron M.

I was pleased with them. I was referred to them by AAA. They gave me an estimate before doing the work. They let me know what was pertinent to have fixed now.

Description of Work
They fixed the thermostat in my car.

Category auto repair,radiator service

5.0

03/04/2012


Keith E.

The service went very well. They spent a full day and were very thorough. I was pleased with how well the car performed when we picked it up.

Description of Work
They did a 100,000 mile service on my Honda Pilot, replaced the timing belt and several major components.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/02/2012


alan G.

It was great! I had no problems with their services at all. I just liked how they were straight up and honest with me. I really like how the owner got straight to the point.

Description of Work
They pumped gasoline out of my diesel truck.

Category auto repair

4.0

03/02/2012


Valerie N.

I was satisfied with the service they performed.

Description of Work
They repaired and electrical problem with my Jaguar.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/02/2012


Linda R.

It was good. We have always had really good results. I have nothing but good things to say about them.

Description of Work
We have used them for occasional vehicle repairs throughout the years.

Category auto repair

3.0

03/02/2012


L. Keith M.

I am half and half about the experience. They do have decent mechanics there. However, they overlooked some problems with my truck. Overall, I feel his ads are better than his service.

Description of Work
I had them inspect some issues with my truck.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/02/2012


Jim F.

They are not the cheapest shop in town but they have the equipment and expertise to accurately diagnose what is wrong and make the correct repairs. Less expensive in the long run to have it fixed right the first time. I recommend Ken Scales Automotive to friends and family.

Description of Work
I have used Ken Scales on a number of occasions over the years. The most recent time was when I lost my power steering and brakes on my truck very suddenly. I had my truck towed to Ken Scales shop and had repair work performed. This was last Fall.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/02/2012


Deborah F.

They are fabulous. They are honest and on time. They do everything they need and don't sell anything unnecessary. They are a really good group.

Description of Work
I used them for a dead battery and my brakes.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/01/2012


Daena T.

They are very honest. I will always get their opinion because I know they will be truly honest. It there is every something wrong they will fix it. We have had no problems with their service. They are also reasonably priced. I would recommend their services.

Description of Work
We love their service. We have been using Ken Scales Automotive for fifteen years now. They preformed a routine sixty mile maintenance service most recently. We use them for all of our automotive needs.

Category auto repair

2.0

03/01/2012


Phil S.

I was disappointed in the service because I felt all they did was rotate my tires. I was only there for fifteen minutes.

Description of Work
I had a warranty for a routine maintenance for the upkeep of my Mustang.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/01/2012


Ronald R C.

The experience has been great. They have a good crew. They are professional, efficient, and knowledgeable. I would recommend their services.

Description of Work
We have been using them 1997. They preformed a routing service on my vehicle. He has also done major work for me in the past.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/01/2012


Lenore D.

The service turned out okay. They fixed the issue. They have a nice waiting room. They are very polite.

Description of Work
They serviced the front end of my vehicle.

Category auto repair

    Auto Service
    Auto Radiators
    Auto Inspections
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Auto Repair, Auto Maintenance, Engine overhaul, engine replacement, carburetor service, fuel injection service, hybrids, i/m inspection service, computer diagnostics, transmissions ,air conditioning, diesel, brakes, tune ups, clutches & electrical.

    Services Not Offered

    n/a

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ken Scales Automotive

    How is Ken Scales Automotive overall rated?

    Ken Scales Automotive is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ken Scales Automotive open?

    Ken Scales Automotive is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Ken Scales Automotive provide

    Ken Scales Automotive accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Ken Scales Automotive offer free estimates?

    No, Ken Scales Automotive does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Ken Scales Automotive offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Ken Scales Automotive offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ken Scales Automotive offer a senior discount?

    No, Ken Scales Automotive does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Ken Scales Automotive?

    No, Ken Scales Automotive does not offer warranties.

    What services does Ken Scales Automotive offer?

    Ken Scales Automotive offers the following services: Auto Repair, Auto Maintenance, Engine overhaul, engine replacement, carburetor service, fuel injection service, hybrids, i/m inspection service, computer diagnostics, transmissions ,air conditioning, diesel, brakes, tune ups, clutches & electrical.

    Are there any services Ken Scales Automotive does not offer?

    n/a