Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Westside Drywall & Insulation

Founded 1991 • With Angi since July 2006

3.6

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2755 Pacific Hwy

Hubbard, OR 97032

Description

Additional address - PO Box 99, Hubbard, OR. Financing available. Additional e-mails - shirine@westsidedrywall.com, kamalsalem@mac.com. Additional contact name - Shirine Kernan. Family owned & operated....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/30/2015


Thomas S.

He's excellent. They're courteous, helpful. They were fair. They were good.

Description of Work
We used Westside Drywall.

Category insulation

5.0

04/02/2015


Arlene K.

They were punctual and I like the guys that came out to do the job.

Description of Work
I used Westside Drywall & Insulation. we used the in out house and our daughter's house.

Category drywall

1.0

03/11/2014


Roxanne K.

Cory, showed up at my home at 10:30am and full 90 minutes before he was supposed to be here. I was not home. My husband told him he was ill and shouldn't be the one dealing with this and explained he didn't think they should be here until I was home, later in the day. Cory informed him he was there and wanted to just do the measurements now. My husband allowed him in and then called me. I called the office they informed me they would call Cory and tell him to leave immediately and have him return at the scheduled time, when I could be there as well. Cory did leave my home, however he never showed back up! I took time away from work to be at home for the estimate to occur and he never showed back up. I called the office again and the lady I spoke with had no idea what I was talking about. She asked me if I wanted her to call him. I told her no, they lost this job before they ever even had a chance at getting it! There was never an apology given, even when I explained the depths of my husband's illness there has not been a phone call made to me to explain why they never showed up etc. Furthermore, Cory never provided us with an estimate. I think we dodged a bullet here I am very happy they will not be doing work for us.

Description of Work
I called Westside Drywall & Insulation for an estimate on both drywall and insulation. The appointment window was scheduled for a window of noon & 1:00pm. I specifically told the scheduler I needed to be the one here for the appointment as my husband has significant health issues and can not deal with these types of issues right now. I further explained I could not be home until noon.

Category drywall

1.0

02/23/2014


Beatrice C.

They are horrible. They have no customer service. A potential client should NOT have to call four times for a company to perform their basic estimator duties only to still be ignored. How are they in business? They have no customer service.

Description of Work
Jan 27th I made an appointment to have a guy come out to give us a quote on 2/3. He never showed. No call. No nothing. I called that afternoon and told the lady on the phone that no one showed. She apologized and schedule for an estimator to come out on the 4th. He actually came. He looked at our drywall damage and said he'd get me a quote the next day. That never came. They ignored us. A week later I called and said we were still waiting for a quote. The nice receptionist transferred me to the man Cory who originally came for the quote (and didn't actually contact me again.) He never called me back.

Category drywall

5.0

02/17/2014


Angel C.

We removed a wall and therefore had a fairly complicated ceiling joining the new open-concept room, because the kitchen ceiling was flat and the living/dining room ceiling was textured (almost popcorn). They blended the two areas together making it look like it was always that way. They applied texture to the kitchen walls and even came back a second time since it ended up needing more texture after it dried (so that it perfectly matched the adjacent walls). They were on time, very professional, and very clean (they hung plastic and put down paper to protect the floors). They did an excellent job and it turned out way better than we could have ever imagined. There is a little bit of an area where you can kind of see through the tape/mud (I think that's what it is), but we never mentioned it to them because we didn't realize how noticeable it was until looking at it several nights when the shadows were on it. I have a feeling they would have come back and fixed it if we had asked, but we were on a schedule and needed to get it painted. It's not noticeable at all during the day and overall it still looks great. Would definitely recommend them and plan to use them again for our bathroom remodel.

Description of Work
We hung new drywall and West Side Drywall applied tape, mud, and texture to kitchen walls and some of the ceiling.

Category drywall

5.0

02/05/2014


Harmony B.

Our DIY bathroom remodel was taking a lot longer than anticipated. After completing the rough work on our drywall, we decided to have a professional do the finish work of the mudding, smoothing, and sanding. Although a little spendy, it was SO worth it. The Westside technician knew what he was doing, and not a speck of drywall dust exited that bathroom. All of the precautions that a homeowner would want to see taken to control drywall dust were in place and top notch. Not only that, but the work itself was smooth and perfect. Not a single blemish could be found, but they reassured us they would be happy to return if we spotted anything after it all dried and cured. It wasn't a huge job, but if I had a larger job, I wouldn't hesitate to use them.

Description of Work
Westside drywall completed the finish work on the drywall of our DIY bathroom remodel.

Category drywall

5.0

12/27/2013


Robin C.

it was the coldest day in several years. They demolished the old stuff and worked us into their schedule to replace with new so that we wouldn't get cold. We really appreciated that extra consideration.

Description of Work
demolished insulation in attic and replaced

Category insulation

1.0

11/21/2013


Barb G.

don't waste your time with Westside Drywall. If their service is anything like the quality of their drywall work you will be severely disappointed.

Description of Work
I started contacting Westside Drywall months ago during the initial framing of a new house. I spoke with Moe. Over the course of three months I have never been able to get him to actually come out to the house to do a bid although I did have the opportunity to exchange a few texts and voice messages with him. After becoming increasingly frustrated with the lack of responsiveness I called the company and was transferred to Stefan who said he would be out within the next week. Nothing happened and no response. I left a voicemail message for Stefan but again no response. I then called Oswego Drywall and within two days Ron came out and answered his emails. I had continuous follow-up so they now will get the job. Strangest experience with a contractor ever... dont waste your time unless you want to put a lot of effort into a company that isnt going to put the least bit of effort into you or your project.

Category drywall

4.0

07/01/2013


Renee R.

The person I dealt with was Kyle, he did and inspection and bid. The crew came out on time and ready to work. They worked hard as anyone would have to being under the crawlspace of an existing home. They did an excellent job. One thing I noticed though as I had the furnace running during the job that small fibreglass particles began coming inside the house. I told Kyle about this after the job and he went under the house to inspect. He found one vent that was not connected properly, so he had to come back a few days later with the straps to repair that. Evidently they had to take each heat vent apart to install the insulation around them, then re-attach them. So, during that time I had the furnace running, thus getting fine particles inside my house.

Description of Work
Insulalted the floor, installed vapor barrier and string to hold insulation up, and installed a floor vapor barrier.

Category drywall

2.0

06/28/2013


Rick M.

Crew did not show up and I finally got a returned call that there was a mix up and misplaced cell phone. We rescheduled and they were to show up in the am the following week. At noon I called and left a message of the no show. Two guys showed up at 1:30 on a Friday afternoon to start demo so I cancelled as I was unsure they could finish. We rescheduled for another day and they never showed or called to say why.

Description of Work
Estimator was punctual and followed up within a reasonable time with bid. He was polite, professional and knew his business well.

Category drywall

4.0

03/07/2013


Theresa R.

Drywall is a long and messy process This work is done in stages by different crews ie, drywall hangers,tapers and mud application and sanders,wall finishers 1.Westside provided a good crew for all stages of work. 2.The guys were worked hard and got the job done in a timely fashion. 3.Westside was very good at cleaning up job site dust & plastic My only observation was regarding my electrical outlets and outside hose nozzle . The outlets were not covered and had mud blown inside some of the boxes. The nozzle to my garden hose had a lot of white mud on it after use.

Description of Work
Resurfaced ceilings in kitchen and living room Drywall, tape & sand with Brocaded finish Taped and repaired walls in kitchen Hung drywall Soundproofed 2 walls Orange Peel finish

Category drywall

5.0

01/30/2013


Pete S.

Excellent written communication, install went very well and work was top note in. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Blown - in insulation in attic. Duct sealing in crawl space. Bolts installed in crawl space.

Category drywall,insulation

3.0

01/22/2013


Travis B.

I got a quote from Westside Drywall in the summer for drywall, insulation and soundproofing in my basement. The person performing the quote was professional and prompt. I ended up scheduling just the drwall work several months later. It took a few tries to get the work scheduled. My biggest issue with the experience was that they sent out different people every day to do the different parts of the job. The workers were inconsistent in terms of quality and communication. None of them really spoke English, which created some serious communication problems. I had to call daily to the employee who originally gave me the quote and was coordinating the work just to figure out when the workers would show up at my house. They made a pretty big mess, and the clean-up crew didn't do much to clean up at the end. The finished product was pretty good but not excellent. There was one section of wall where the seems were "ghosting" through, but at that point I really didn't want to deal with getting it fixed. I got the feeling that the company maybe does more "new-construction" work rather than remodels in peoples homes. Unfortunately, I didn't have Angie's List when I went with this company, otherwise I would have gone with someone else.

Description of Work
Drywall in basement. Hanged, taped, mudded, finished, and primed drywall in basement.

Category drywall

1.0

01/05/2013


Michael K.

Price quoted by salesman was not the same as the technician who did the work About $100 difference. Numerous calls to get the issue resolved, responses were slow to non existant. When we did finally get the Manager to come and see what was done they retested and determined that there were undiscovered problems in the first testing. They did credit the overcharge for the initial overcharge finally but when we called them back to complete the post test after the repairs were made we could never get them to return after multiple calls. We finally hired a competitive company to come and do the work. Their failure to return to perform the post leak test resulted in us being unable to receive our energy credits. We didn't discover how many bad reports this company had until after they had performed the initial pre leak test services and when we had problems is when we joined Angies List and discovered that several other customers on Angies list had similiar problems with a lack of prompt response or no response at all.

Description of Work
Home energy leak testing

Category insulation

4.0

09/19/2012


Anthony T.

They were terrific! Kyle was awesome. He did everything efficiently. The insulation team could have cleaned up a bit better.

Description of Work
Westside Drywall & Insulation increased insulation in the attic, insulated the crawl space, and caulked any air leaks.

Category insulation

5.0

07/23/2012


Robert D.

An estimator came by, assesed the situation and quickly came up with a quote. It seemed a little high and with a little negotiation, a more reasonable price was arrived at. The estimator was helpful in suggesting alternative approaches to the work I expected would be necessary. He scheduled a time for a crew to come out and provided the name of the man who would be doing the work. On the appointed day, the crew (2 people) showed up and finished the job in about 2 hours. They had all the necessary tools and materials and so could work uninterrupted. The were responsive to a number of homeowner questions about procedures. They masked off all surrounding areas during tear-out and texturing. They left the place as clean as when they arrived. All in all, it was very professional work.

Description of Work
Three separate sections of water damaged sheet rock were removed, replaced, and textured.

Category drywall

4.0

05/07/2012


SUSAN T.

Showed up on time to walk through house and assess damage. His approach is pretty much the dame approach that was taken to complete the job. However, he was sent by the contractor that caused the damaged and declined to give an estimate. Reason unknown, but think he felt that it was insult to be called to repair damage by an insulation contractor when he himself also does insulation. Don't know...

Description of Work
Estimate for drywall damage repairs.

Category drywall,interior painters

5.0

10/11/2011


Susan A.

I am so impressed with the team Westside Drywall sent out. First they sent a fellow to remove the cedar from the area to be insulated. He laid down plastic to catch all the debris first. He removed the cedar, cut it and stacked it for me to use in my fireplace. He cleaned up every scrap and was done in about 2 hours. Within a week, another team was here to remove the old insulation and install the new. The team arrived on schedule and went right to work after brief introductions. I've never seen people work so efficiently. One guy went to work laying out plastic so there would be no mess or damage while the other prepared the machine for installation and the area for spraying. Before I knew it, they had all the old insulation out, wrapped up and ready to haul away. They used plastic to protect everything from damage or overspray. They worked in the rain. They had to lay on their backs in the damp weather, wear masks and special gear and they did it all with a smile and a great attitude. They arrived at 9:00AM and had the job completed, everything cleaned up and were out of here by lunch-time. There was not one iota of left over mess, nothing damaged, everything put back in it's place and all debris hauled away. They were also kind enough to move a heavy item inside and out of the rain for me while they were here. (Totally unrelated to their job.) I am most pleased by the fact that I can't even tell they were here! Oh except for one thing, my house won't be drafty this winter! :-) Thank you so very much Westside Drywall and Insulation! I wish all contractors had teams that were dependable, prompt, efficient, clean, polite and respectful like yours. Actually, I wish I could hire your company to do everything needed at my house. Susan Anderson

Description of Work
Remove inadequate insulation from older home and replace withnew.

Category insulation,siding

1.0

06/24/2011


PATRICIA M.

Contacted company via website and followed up with phone message in the morning. Company promises to provide an estimate the next day, which I needed because of travel plans. I called back later that afternoon and the receptionist said she'd passed on the request to the estimator and that he would contact me to set up an appointment. I did not hear back that day or the following day.

Description of Work
Requested quote for converting bedroom to a music practice studio. Work scope included drywall removal, insulation, isolation, drywall installation, and sound door installation.

Category drywall,insulation

1.0

04/18/2011


Fergus O.

I took a couple of hours of work on Monday morning to meet Chip at my home. The appoint ment time passed and Chip did not show up. About 40 minutes after the appointment time, I got a call from Chip who casually said that he was stiil at the office, had just got out of a sales meeting and wanted to know if he was to make the dirve now (about 45 mins) or set up another appointment for another day. I could not believe that they did not have the common courtesy to call to let me know he could not make it or the fact that an internal meeting was more important than a confirmed customer appointment. I told him not to bother as I would not do business with a company that prioritizes customers in that way.

Description of Work
I was looking to have insulation blown into the exterior walls of my 1908 home. I called Westside Drywall and made an appointment for 8am Monday.

Category insulation

2.0

03/15/2011


Jason M.

There bid was the lowest. I like their communication. They put on the primer paint but they never came back to do a touch up that they said they would do. Their work quality was also not very good. I wish I would of gone with the more expensive bid because the quality was not very good.

Description of Work
They did some drywall for me.

Category drywall

1.0

12/15/2010


Gene N.

We had a very bad experience with them. Their bid was the lowest and that was why we went with them. That was a mistake on our part to have gone for the lowest bid due to hindsight. But their price was good. Our contractor used them. The contractor seemed to have heard about them but as individuals we had not and also because this was a one time job. Their work was good but the communication was horrible as nobody spoke English except for the people that we spoke to over the phone and the managers. One of their guys that worked in our house supposedly spoke English but he did not. They did not even understand a nod of the head. It has been a couple of years and we have tried to forget it as it was horrible. They sent their clean-up crew before they sprayed and they ended up spraying our floor. We tried to talk to them to make some kind of adjustments but their owner hung up on my husband and would not even talk to us. That made us angrier than anything. They were not reasonable. They would not listen to us and would not believe us. They said that they would not do something like that. When we had called them to enquire as to when they were coming, they said that they would come that day but did not show up until 17:00 and then broke into the house through the window when we had locked the house. We had locked the house and left after 17:00 as it would be dark. Each of their crew did their own little thing. They had a crew that would come out to mark where all the outlets were, they had a crew that would come out to paper and they had a crew that would come out to clean up. They also had a crew that would come out to tape. I don't remember as to how much we had paid for the services. They would respond when it was for their benefit but when it was us seeking information, they would not call us back. They were a big company and did service in many areas. Hence, they would not care for a bad feedback.

Description of Work
We have used the services of Westside Drywall and Insulation in February of 2009 for drywall. We started building the house in the year 2008.

Category drywall

1.0

11/16/2010


William S.

Chuck told me that he would email me an estimate for the work on Monday 11/8. Not only did I never receive the estimate, he would not return my call. I submitted a request for a second estimate but the company never responded to that request either. If these guys don't care about costumer service before the work is even started how can I ever expect that the actual work would be done in a professional manner. Thanks for nothing Westside Drywall! I hope 620KPOJ dumps your commercials at some point soon.

Description of Work
Chuck visited my home on Friday 11/5 to complete an estimate. He was prompt and completed measurements for an attic room remodel where I needed both drywall and insulation services.

Category drywall,insulation

5.0

08/30/2010


Jonathan H.

Was initially hesitant about using them, due to some spotty reports on Craigslist. Got their information from the Energy Trust list originally, and cross-referenced here. So - I decided to call directly to the office and ask them about all the spotty reports. I wanted to make sure I had someone in management who could back me up and make sure I wasn't going to get screwed. Because Westside's initial bid was so much lower than other bids that I was both excited and nervous. After talking with Josh, he helped me get over to a review page on ServiceMagic that had about 50 satisfied customer reports - all with great reviews. This is a third party site, controlled by ServiceMagic, so he had nothing to do with this. He admitted that, in the transition from commercial to residential, that there have been a couple of "bumps" with customer service. My experience was great. Although the initial bidding, pricing, etc. was pretty rough - possibly because I was pushing the boundaries to find out the best (and most economical) way to insulate our home. Also, one of the guys bidding the job (Apollos) was new, and he was often making mistakes in the quote. Took many back and forth conversations to finally get the right price locked down and a date. But after that, things went really smooth. Team that came out was exceptionally courteous and easy to work with. They were respectful of the property and went out of their way to make sure everything was done right. I would definitely use them again, but would be carefully about utilizing their mass scale to my favor. They have about 150 employees, so they are a well-honed machine. Their prices are VERY competitive if you are bidding out a big job. If the jobs small in scope, then you're better off going with a one-man shop. But if you're going to work on a big project, you can't beat them in terms of efficiency, quality and cost.

Description of Work
Blew insulation in all exterior walls - including a short "pony wall" in the basement (a distance of 3.5 feet between where the foundation ends and the floor joists start). Our home was built in 1908 - so it had nothing in there. Initially gave us several bids, based upon Home Energy Performance Test suggestions - but these suggestions had us doing a number of different types of work (i.e. batting insulation, blow in, spray foam, etc). However, the way that Westside drywall has different crews specializing in different types of work meant that it was rather expensive. So I managed to learn that we could blow insulation into all the ways, including open bays (they put up a screen and then blow in). By keeping one crew on the project, this save me a BUNCH of money.

Category insulation

2.0

04/14/2010


Deb M.

They were completely unprofessional when we were trying to schedule the insulation. I think they are trying to get into remodeling, but are only used to dealing with new construction where there are not homeowners to deal with. I had to call the owner before I could get their attention. They did provide a discount on the insulation bid as a way to apologize for the inconveniences, but at the time my frustrations were much more. I think they did a pretty good job with the insulation blown into the walls, but the batting in the garage ceiling appeared forced. The drywall installation went better, but they still did not communicate very well and I am not pleased with the garage taping and edges. Some pretty sloppy work.

Description of Work
They hung drywall, taped and textured an addition to our home and hung drywall and taped in the garage. They also insulated the same spaces as well as added insulation to our existing house, which was to partially correct a previous remodel fraud by another contractor. At least I hope I have insulation over my kitchen now!

Category drywall,insulation

    Other local Pros in your area

    Ric's CV Painting & Repair LLC

    Our professional team is committed to client satisfaction and quality workmanship. Our excellent reputation and long list of satisfied clients attest to our superior craftsmanship, attention to detail, clear communication, honesty and integrity. we work with our clients to achieve the best results for their homes. From an initial inspection, to color selection, to protecting your investment our team is here for you. Let's discuss your ideas! Your free consultation and estimate is just a phone call away."  

    Apex Professional Painting

    Residential and commercial painting Exterior/Interior Specialize in Fine finishes on cabinetry/crown molding Free Estimates call now! 503-915-3881  

    Oregon Premium Painting LLC

    www.oregonpremiumpainting.com A FAMILY OWNED COMPANY WITH OVER 40 YEARS OF COMBINED EXPERIENCE WITHIN THE PAINT INDUSTRY. LEADING EXPERTS IN RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL COATINGS & APPLICATION TECHNIQUES. LICENSED, BONDED AND INSURED TO DO ALL PHASES OF INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR COATINGS. When it comes to preparing your home for a long lasting and beautiful transformation, you can be rest assured that our experts will keep your properties best interest in mind. Does the concrete around your home need cleaned? We also clean and beautify driveways, walkways, porches and patios to give your home that final touch that you deserve.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Oregon Premium Painting LLC on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Installing drywall & insulation including soundproofing, mold prevention, spray foam, duct sealing & air leak sealing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Westside Drywall & Insulation

    How is Westside Drywall & Insulation overall rated?

    Westside Drywall & Insulation is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Westside Drywall & Insulation open?

    Westside Drywall & Insulation is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Westside Drywall & Insulation provide

    Westside Drywall & Insulation accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check, Financing Available

    Does Westside Drywall & Insulation offer free estimates?

    Yes, Westside Drywall & Insulation offers free project estimates.

    Does Westside Drywall & Insulation offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Westside Drywall & Insulation does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Westside Drywall & Insulation offer a senior discount?

    No, Westside Drywall & Insulation does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Westside Drywall & Insulation?

    Yes, Westside Drywall & Insulation offers warranties.

    What services does Westside Drywall & Insulation offer?

    Westside Drywall & Insulation offers the following services: Installing drywall & insulation including soundproofing, mold prevention, spray foam, duct sealing & air leak sealing.