Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

RK Electric Inc

4.8

(588) Verified Reviews

Founded 1993 • With Angi since September 2006

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
94275
Trade License Locale
Oregon
Trade License Authority
Oregon: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
10/10/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Company Contact

3075 SE Century Blvd. Suites 210 and 211

Hillsboro, OR 97123

Description

In 1993 Ron Kurtz started RK Electric, Inc. as he saw a need in the electrical industry for a company that took pride in its work with every customer experiencing what it is like to be treated fairly. RK Electric, Inc. has been offering electrical services to the Portland Metro area for over 28 years. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service experience possible, and on our attention to every painstaking detail, because we believe that quality matters. Our knowledgeable team works hard to create a safe working environment, using all the latest technological advancements to quickly perform complicated tasks. RK Electric, Inc. is the premier choice for all your electrical needs! We're happy to help. Additional e-mails - info@rkelectric.biz, rob@rkelectric.biz....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(588) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

498

4

41

3

19

2

12

1

18

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

electrician (577)lighting (108)ceiling fan installation (54)landscape lighting (9)home security systems (7)home theater installation (4)home automation (3)door installation (1)tile installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 588 reviews
5.0

11/19/2021

Fantastic. Good communication, responsive, good quality work, professional, friendly. They were great from start to finish, and the job required some coordination with masons, landscaper, etc, which they handled with ease. A pleasure to deal with.

Description of Work
Assorted electrical work including hot tub circuit, car charger and additional outlets

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2021

5.0

09/10/2021

RK did a fantastic job. They were able to provide a quick estimate of the cost, stayed in contact with me through the scheduling process and the two electrician were respectful, quiet and worked hard. I will always go to RK in the future.

Description of Work
New recessed lights and outlets

Category electrician

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2021

5.0

09/16/2020

Extremely professional from the person who answers the phone to the electrician who came out. Appropriate with Covid screening questions. Very polite, wore appropriate protective gear without being asked. Very happy with them and will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
They evaluated non working outlets, found and fixed the issue.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. It was our pleasure to help and we’re so glad the issues are resolved. We look forward to hearing from you in the future with any electrical needs. All the best, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

07/30/2020

The workers were competent and professional. The work was completed in one day. The men came on time and cleaned up after themselves. They had to work in the attic which is harder than usual.

Description of Work
Squirrels had eaten through the wiring in my attic.

Category electrician

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We're glad you are pleased and hope that you contact us again for any future electrical work. We're happy to help. All the best, Carol RK Electric
5.0

06/11/2020

RK electric is a true jewel of a company. We have worked with them for years, and decided that it was now time to swap out the old, failing lighting in our home, add a couple of circuits for specific purposes, and make sure that our electrical systems were up to current code. RK did beautiful work, helped us find safety-related trouble spots with our wiring, and made time to fix those spots even though the original estimate didn't specify it. The work itself was superb.

Description of Work
Overhaul of all lighting and power distribution in our hoe

Category electrician,home security systems

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Good morning, Thank you for the kind words. We've enjoyed working with you, too. All the best to you, Carol RK Electric, Inc.
5.0

03/05/2020

they where upfront and said they were not taking any new projects at this time.

Description of Work
electrical

Category electrician

Work Completed On 03/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing. Although we would have liked to help you, your electrical concerns should be addressed as soon as possible and we're already scheduled many months out. When things settle down a bit, we will reevaluate our schedule and open up our calendar again. But until then, we encourage you to reach out to other electrical contractors on Angie's List. And please feel free to give our office a call if you have any questions. Thank you for your understanding, - RK Electric
3.0

02/05/2020

Scheduled a date for visit and quote. (2-3 wks out - told us they couldn't complete until Spring but we said ok. About a week and a half before the date scheduled we received a call canceling because they wouldn't be able to get to us until summer! Disappointed we couldn't even get a quote.

Description of Work
Requested coach light wiring and install, outdoor outlet install, Nest thermostat install

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2020

Service Provider Response

We understand and thank you for sharing your feelings. When we booked your estimate appointment last month, we were already scheduling service work toward the end of April. We appreciate your willingness to try to wait for us, but now we’re way beyond that. Some of our clients are saying that being this busy is “a good problem to have” and although it seems good, we hate to disappoint you. I’m sorry. We recently sat down to discuss our challenging workload and determined it would be best to stop adding to it for a while. This is the most responsible option so as not to let you down later by trying to forecast too many months in advance. This was painful and awkward, but it was a necessary step. We know your time is valuable so we reached out to you immediately to give you as much notice as possible. When things settle down a bit, we will revisit our calendar and open scheduling up again. In the meantime, we encourage you to contact the contractor I believe we referred you to. If not, please call our office for their information. We have confirmed they have availability soon and they would be awaiting your call. We’re all trying to help each other get you all served as quickly as possible. Thank you for your understanding. - Carol RK Electric, Inc.
4.0

11/06/2019

Ultimately we went with another company that we had worked with before (and was a bit cheaper) but we were very impressed with the speed with which Vanessa in the office got back to me after I contacted the company here on Angie's List. And particularly impressed with the estimator, Robert. Our estimate appointment was less than a week from when we first spoke with him. He did a n excellent job of explaining what needed to be done to meet our needs, how much it would cost, when the work could be done, and what we would need to do to prep for the work.

Description of Work
Running electricity out to our 100+ year old garage for the very first time

Category electrician

Cost $2,900

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2019

Service Provider Response

We are grateful for the kind words. Although we are disappointed that we won't be working with you on this project, we are glad you are getting it taken care of. Please contact us again with anything you may need in the future. We're happy to help. Sincerely, RK Electric
4.0

10/16/2019

It went well. Everything was by the book. I found out later I could have had same service performed for approximately half the amount, but they did the work as agreed and it passed inspection. Overall can't complain and would recommend to anyone needing high quality work.

Description of Work
Upgraded service from 100amp to 200amp

Category electrician

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2019

5.0

10/16/2019

Second time we've worked with this company. Job was done quickly and for a fair cost. Results turned out great. This is our go-to company for future electrical work.

Description of Work
Lighting

Category lighting

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2019

Service Provider Response

We are pleased that we are the electrical contractor you can rely on. It is always our pleasure to work with you. Wishing you a great holiday season and we look forward to hearing from you again in the future. ~ Your RK Electric Team

Services Offered

Free Whole House Surge Protection with a Service Upgrade *Restrictions apply; please ask for more information* Residential & commercial electrical repair, panel upgrades/replacements including Federal Pacific replacements, hot tubs, pools, air conditioner & water heater wiring, general electrical, lighting controls, ceiling fans, dedicated circuits, solar, new construction & remodels.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes