RK Electric Inc

About

Founded 1993 • With Angi since September 2006

In 1993 Ron Kurtz started RK Electric, Inc. as he saw a need in the electrical industry for a company that took pride in its work with every customer experiencing what it is like to be treated fairly. RK Electric, Inc. has been offering electrical services to the Portland Metro area for over 28

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Electrical PanelsPuck LightsCustom 800amp service

Verified Reviews

4.8

(595) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

505

4

41

3

19

2

12

1

18

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

electrician (582)lighting (108)ceiling fan installation (54)landscape lighting (9)home security systems (7)home theater installation (4)home automation (3)tile installation (3)door installation (1)
Showing 1-25 of 595 reviews
5.0

11/17/2022


Christopher R.

Will use company again for any future electrical needs

Description of Work
great to work with

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2022

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your note. Please let us know when you need our services again. We are always happy to help. All the best, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

09/22/2022


F H.

I have nothing but praiseworthy things to say about RK Electric, they initially did a full re-wire for me in 2018 and they did an fabulous job. Nothing has changed in 4 years, had a faulty GFI, Carol tried to talk me through it but it needed hands on. The gentlemen came at 9:00 am on the spot, explained what needed to be done, changed GFI to a dedicated plug for new freezer, they were courteous and professional. Thank you RK for being upright and honest company, Carol you are a Gem!!!

Description of Work
Replace defective GFI plug

Category ceramic tile

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. It is always our pleasure to help. We look forward to hearing from you again with any electrical needs you may have in the future. All the best, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

08/31/2022


Mac B.

After another electrical company cancelled the appointment I started calling various folks on Angies list. I came across RK Electric. Left a VM. Carol called few minutes later and asked for pictures. She immediately recommended that I reset a few CFGI plugs in various bathrooms and then guide me to reset my breakers in garage and try again. Wow, all power was restored and I actually learned how to troubleshoot electrical problems. Carol was heaven sent. I am forever grateful. Well Done.

Description of Work
Replace 3 electrical breakers as power was cut off from 3 bedrooms/bathrooms for almost 1 week

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2022

Images

Review for RK Electric Inc - 3075 SE Century Blvd., Hillsboro, OR - 39856944

Service Provider Response

I’m happy to hear it’s fixed now. We're always happy to help if we can. Please realize, they tripped for some reason. If it happens again, be sure to get an electrician over there. Your system may be trying to tell you something to keep you safe. All the best, RK Electric
5.0

04/14/2022


william L.

Excellent. A team of two guys always. They do beautiful work and are very professional. Bill L.

Description of Work
lot of rewiring, new wall plugs, some new wiring, new stove plug

Category ceramic tile

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2022

Service Provider Response

We're glad you're happy with our work. It's been a pleasure working with you. We look forward to helping you with the next project you have in store for us. All the best, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

03/31/2022


Tami B.

They did a great job. They were efficient, knowledgeable, friendly, and explained and showed me what was needed.

Description of Work
Electrical wiring issue

Category electrician

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2022

Service Provider Response

We are happy the electricians on site were able to isolate the issue so quickly and take care of it right on the spot for you. Please contact us again with any electrical needs that you may have in the future. We're happy to help. Thanks, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

11/19/2021


DOUG L.

Fantastic. Good communication, responsive, good quality work, professional, friendly. They were great from start to finish, and the job required some coordination with masons, landscaper, etc, which they handled with ease. A pleasure to deal with.

Description of Work
Assorted electrical work including hot tub circuit, car charger and additional outlets

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2021

Service Provider Response

This was quite a project, and we were happy to work with you on it. We look forward to the chance to help you with any future needs that may come up. Thank you, RK Electric
5.0

09/10/2021


Matt C.

RK did a fantastic job. They were able to provide a quick estimate of the cost, stayed in contact with me through the scheduling process and the two electrician were respectful, quiet and worked hard. I will always go to RK in the future.

Description of Work
New recessed lights and outlets

Category electrician

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2021

Service Provider Response

You're so kind. Thank you for sharing your experience. You've been so great to work with, too. Warm Regards, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

09/16/2020


Ronda K.

Extremely professional from the person who answers the phone to the electrician who came out. Appropriate with Covid screening questions. Very polite, wore appropriate protective gear without being asked. Very happy with them and will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
They evaluated non working outlets, found and fixed the issue.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. It was our pleasure to help and we’re so glad the issues are resolved. We look forward to hearing from you in the future with any electrical needs. All the best, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

07/30/2020


Jacqueline H.

The workers were competent and professional. The work was completed in one day. The men came on time and cleaned up after themselves. They had to work in the attic which is harder than usual.

Description of Work
Squirrels had eaten through the wiring in my attic.

Category electrician

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We're glad you are pleased and hope that you contact us again for any future electrical work. We're happy to help. All the best, Carol RK Electric
5.0

06/11/2020


Steven W.

RK electric is a true jewel of a company. We have worked with them for years, and decided that it was now time to swap out the old, failing lighting in our home, add a couple of circuits for specific purposes, and make sure that our electrical systems were up to current code. RK did beautiful work, helped us find safety-related trouble spots with our wiring, and made time to fix those spots even though the original estimate didn't specify it. The work itself was superb.

Description of Work
Overhaul of all lighting and power distribution in our hoe

Category electrician, home security systems

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Good morning, Thank you for the kind words. We've enjoyed working with you, too. All the best to you, Carol RK Electric, Inc.
5.0

03/05/2020


karen K.

they where upfront and said they were not taking any new projects at this time.

Description of Work
electrical

Category electrician

Work Completed On 03/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing. Although we would have liked to help you, your electrical concerns should be addressed as soon as possible and we're already scheduled many months out. When things settle down a bit, we will reevaluate our schedule and open up our calendar again. But until then, we encourage you to reach out to other electrical contractors on Angie's List. And please feel free to give our office a call if you have any questions. Thank you for your understanding, - RK Electric
3.0

02/05/2020


Steven B.

Scheduled a date for visit and quote. (2-3 wks out - told us they couldn't complete until Spring but we said ok. About a week and a half before the date scheduled we received a call canceling because they wouldn't be able to get to us until summer! Disappointed we couldn't even get a quote.

Description of Work
Requested coach light wiring and install, outdoor outlet install, Nest thermostat install

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2020

Service Provider Response

We understand and thank you for sharing your feelings. When we booked your estimate appointment last month, we were already scheduling service work toward the end of April. We appreciate your willingness to try to wait for us, but now we’re way beyond that. Some of our clients are saying that being this busy is “a good problem to have” and although it seems good, we hate to disappoint you. I’m sorry. We recently sat down to discuss our challenging workload and determined it would be best to stop adding to it for a while. This is the most responsible option so as not to let you down later by trying to forecast too many months in advance. This was painful and awkward, but it was a necessary step. We know your time is valuable so we reached out to you immediately to give you as much notice as possible. When things settle down a bit, we will revisit our calendar and open scheduling up again. In the meantime, we encourage you to contact the contractor I believe we referred you to. If not, please call our office for their information. We have confirmed they have availability soon and they would be awaiting your call. We’re all trying to help each other get you all served as quickly as possible. Thank you for your understanding. - Carol RK Electric, Inc.
4.0

11/06/2019


Colin C.

Ultimately we went with another company that we had worked with before (and was a bit cheaper) but we were very impressed with the speed with which Vanessa in the office got back to me after I contacted the company here on Angie's List. And particularly impressed with the estimator, Robert. Our estimate appointment was less than a week from when we first spoke with him. He did a n excellent job of explaining what needed to be done to meet our needs, how much it would cost, when the work could be done, and what we would need to do to prep for the work.

Description of Work
Running electricity out to our 100+ year old garage for the very first time

Category electrician

Cost $2,900

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2019

Service Provider Response

We are grateful for the kind words. Although we are disappointed that we won't be working with you on this project, we are glad you are getting it taken care of. Please contact us again with anything you may need in the future. We're happy to help. Sincerely, RK Electric
4.0

10/16/2019


Daniel B.

It went well. Everything was by the book. I found out later I could have had same service performed for approximately half the amount, but they did the work as agreed and it passed inspection. Overall can't complain and would recommend to anyone needing high quality work.

Description of Work
Upgraded service from 100amp to 200amp

Category electrician

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2019

Service Provider Response

We were happy to help with your service upgrade. PGE, the inspectors, you, and we all worked together in a collaborative effort. Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to hearing from you again sometime. All the best, RK Electric
5.0

10/16/2019


DANIEL R.

Responsive, work done well as promised with planning for future needs.

Description of Work
Electrical

Category electrician

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to working with you again on your future projects. All the best, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

10/16/2019


Josh W.

Second time we've worked with this company. Job was done quickly and for a fair cost. Results turned out great. This is our go-to company for future electrical work.

Description of Work
Lighting

Category lighting

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2019

Service Provider Response

We are pleased that we are the electrical contractor you can rely on. It is always our pleasure to work with you. Wishing you a great holiday season and we look forward to hearing from you again in the future. ~ Your RK Electric Team
5.0

10/16/2019


Gage S.

From beginning to end, my experience with RK was fantastic. They weren’t the cheapest nor the most expensive, they were comfortably in the middle & worth it!! Their patience, excellent work and professionalism is unsurpassed. The wonderful Carol was so great to work with. More companies should have their very own Carol! I will be calling RK when I need my subpanel added. I recommend them without hesitation, they were worth waiting a few weeks for!!

Description of Work
New circuits, outlets, lighting & upgrades

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2019

Service Provider Response

Although your life is so chaotic, you still took the time to send Angie’s a review. This just shows how terrific you are. We look forward to hearing from you again when you’re ready. It’s our honor to help. All of us at RK have you and your family in our hearts and we hope all goes well in the future. Warm Regards, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

10/11/2019


susan C.

More service than I had asked for. Not only did they do the evaluation but helped me understand the next steps and help me by doing some of the removal. Plus a personable and respectful person. thanks

Description of Work
evaluate an old electric service.

Category electrician

Cost $185

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2019

Service Provider Response

We are glad you had us check it out, to be safe. You're all set to move forward. Please contact us again with any future electrical needs. We're happy to help. Thank you, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

10/04/2019


Francine F.

Great! Carol talked me through what might work. There were chirps from the detachable disk and also from (what I thought) was the component in the wall. Even with a brand new battery. She mentioned that older, unused components are still part of the system. And sure enough, I had forgotten I had 2 older detachable disks in a nearby drawer. I hadn’t used them in several years. So after drained all the energy from all of the disks by holding down the red button next to the battery lid, all the chirping ceased. And all on the phone, with no service call necessary. 110%.

Description of Work
When I changed the battery on my smoke detector, there were still chirps.

Category electrician, home security systems

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2019

Service Provider Response

We are so glad we were able to help you. It was our pleasure. All the best, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

09/20/2019


Judy U.

They found a way to get the work done fast as I needed the outlets right away! The workers were very knowledgeable and pleasant. They put in the outlets without making any marks on the walls. I highly recommend this company. Thank you so much.

Description of Work
Needed two outlets for two stair lifts

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2019

Service Provider Response

It was an honor being able to help you at a time you needed all the help you could get. All the best to you, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

07/16/2019


Mark D.

Great. Did everything exactly how we wanted it.

Description of Work
New lights, switches

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was great working with you, too. Please contact us again with any future electrical needs. We're happy to help.
5.0

06/24/2019


Kevin B.

Techs on Site: Uriel and Dan These guys were freakin awesome! I thought the price for work was fair comparative to the market. However, the Techs made it worth every penny. They were on time, work was done quickly, they made sure to clean up the site, and they were extremely friendly. They spoke with us to make sure the fans were being placed to our specifications before installing. They made sure to walk us through the remotes for the fans and made sure to show us that there were no balancing issues with the fans. For the troubleshooting/fix, we a few dead outlets, that we could not figure out the cause, Uriel found this issue was a GFI outlet (that seemed to work) that their meter found. If I ever need to hire a licensed electrician I will most definitely hire RK Electric and ask for the same techs, even if I had to wait longer for the work to be completed.

Description of Work
Electrical ran, support added, and installation for 3 ceiling fans; Troubleshooting/Fix bad GFI

Category electrician, ceiling fans

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2019

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback. It was a pleasure working with you, too. Please contact us again with any future electrical needs. We're happy to help. Thank you, Your RK Electric Team
5.0

05/08/2019


Kristin M.

They were courteous and prompt. They followed-through as they stated they would, from the Carol and Linda in the office who scheduled everything, to both the estimator and electrician (and his apprentice) who performed the work. Absolute pleasure to work with and their pricing was competitive and reasonble. I would hire them again and recommend them to anyone needing electric work done at the