Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES

Founded 1984 • With Angi since September 2006

5.0

(121) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13000 SW River Rd

Hillsboro, OR 97123

Description

OWNER OPERATED. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO EXTRA CHARGE FOR AFTER-HOURS SERVICE. ASK

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/09/2021


Dave S.

Excellent. Steve and Sandy maintained prompt phone and email contact as we settled on the scope of work. Steve visited the house a couple of times to estimate and plan the work, and was always considerate of our schedule and keeping punctual appointments. He was able to save us a lot of money by restoring our rusted out rail, making it work and look like new. We were impressed with his craftsmanship and eager to have him do all of our rails. Our front porch concrete had cracks from settling, but Steve figured out a way to fit the rail where it would be useful to us in spite of the cracks. If a fit or an angle didn't look just right to him, he took it back to his shop for correction. Our rails are rock solid and look great.

Description of Work
Handrail in cement steps had rusted at the base and lifted right out of the concrete. Steve bid on restoring and reinstalling that handrail, plus gave us separate bids on fabricating and installing two new handrails for our front and back porch. We asked for separate bids so that we could scale the work to our budget.

Category welding, wrought iron, metal restoration

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for all of your kind words and taking the time to write a review. It truly was a joy to get to meet the two of you and complete your project Please let us know if you have any future needs or concerns!!!
5.0

01/09/2020


Brian M.

Steve did excellent work. We've worked with him before, and he's very good. Work was performed as expected, for the expected amount, and completed on time. It looks great, and we're very pleased.

Description of Work
New railings to match existing ones

Category wrought iron, metal restoration

5.0

10/16/2019


William C.

I met with Steve and he showed me his portfolio and I was very impressed with his work from the routine to creative. We discussed design and materials and he then took accurate measurements. He had 5 jobs before our but completed it for our target date within two weeks. The craftsmanship was superb and the rail is solid as a rock. He takes great pride in his work and it shows. I would recommend him without reservation.

Description of Work
Created a handrail for new sets of concrete steps along side of our house

Category wrought iron, metal restoration

5.0

10/01/2019


Daniel A.

Perfect. Steve is an expert, and his suggestions, punctuality, and honesty made the whole experience a great one. Couldn't have asked for a better outcome, and he's a really nice guy into the bargain.

Description of Work
fabricate and install iron handrail for exterior stairs

Category wrought iron, metal restoration

5.0

09/19/2019


Karen A.

Steve and Sandy were great to work with. They were very responsive and were able to complete the project on a short timeframe. The handrails look great and are very sturdy.

Description of Work
Handrails for front steps.

Category wrought iron

5.0

12/17/2018


Donna M.

This company was very professional in every way. They met with me to go over an estimate in person, answering all of my questions and providing ample information to help make decisions. I was provided with a multitude of pictures and samples of products so that I could see how the finished product might look in a real setting. These visuals were extremely helpful. Every attempt was made to accommodate my requests in a way that maintained aligned with the agreed upon cost. The finished work was of utmost quality and artistic beauty. Immediately after completion of the job, my neighbors were commenting on the "beautiful railing" and asked if they could get a referral if and when the time came for them to do this work. I was very happy with this entire project, and would highly recommend this company to anyone who asks.

Description of Work
I needed a wrought iron railing installed on my front door steps

Category welding, wrought iron, metal restoration

5.0

08/22/2018


Jennifer T.

Steve and his wife Sandy were awesome to work with on this project. They were super responsive and communicative throughout the project! In addition to stellar communication, you can tell Steve puts his heart into his projects with a great eye for detail and a willingness to get it just right. He did a couple fittings for our railing prior to sending it in for powder coating to ensure it would fit perfectly. He went the distance with creating paint matched covers for all the screws. The final installed railing looks AMAZING!!! I could not have asked for better service and product on our railing!

Description of Work
We took out our very dated oak stair railing and had Steve design and install a beautiful metal stair railing to replace it.

Category welding, wrought iron, metal restoration

5.0

07/12/2018


Laura G.

Steve made beautiful railings for several balconies as well as hand rails for our stairways. We are very happy with the job from start to finish. The planning, creation, install and follow up was done professionally and completely. I would highly recommend Double S to anyone needing this type of work.

Description of Work
Metal interior Railings

Category wrought iron

5.0

07/11/2018


Larry J.

Steve and Sandy are great. I’m very pleased with their work. Their railings may cost a bit more than what others charge, but they are high quality, sturdy and attractive. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Steve and Sandy made and installed wrought iron railings to three outdoor entrance stairways for both safety and decorative purposes.

Category fencing, welding, wrought iron, metal restoration

5.0

06/08/2018


Linda A.

Steve was extremely knowledgeable and professional. He provided recommendations and was responsive to our questions and ideas. There were multiple fittings to ensure that the finished product was exactly what we wanted and represented high quality work.

Description of Work
Replace existing large interior metal railings with new contemporary wrought iron ones in tri-level home.

Category welding, wrought iron

5.0

10/27/2017


REBECCA B.

Steve was great to work with. He listened to my ideas and provided his expert advice and I am very pleased with my railing. I interviewed 3 providers and he was the most responsive, attentive and friendly. I would hire him again in a minute!

Description of Work
Front stair railing

Category wrought iron

5.0

10/25/2017


Sandra H.

Steve Blouin initially came out and showed us pictures of stair railings to give us ideas of styles in which we might be interested. He brought over a "rough draft" and made sure it was exactly what we wanted. We made some modifications, and when he came back the last time, it was a very nice well-made railing, exactly what we had asked for and it looks really good on the front of our house. Cost seemed a little bit high, but quality was great, so we we're ok with that. We had some great conversations, but I think Steve can get a little distracted because there were a couple of things he forgot to do and had to come back to take care of. So over all, the timeline was a little longer than we had expected, but we were very happy with the end product. Steve and his wife Sandy are definitely our kind of people. They are very nice, personable, honest, upfront and hard working people. We would definitely use them again and would recommend them, for sure! Thanks Steve and Sandy for a job well done! It was great getting to know you.

Description of Work
Had three stair railings manufactured and installed on our front porch stairs.

Category metal restoration

5.0

10/09/2017


Brian M.

Steve built an excellent railing for us that is beautiful and strong. He custom-built a curve into it to accommodate the change of direction. The large decorative scrolls we selected end in a leaf pattern, which are lovely. Steve is really a master of his craft. He shows up when he says he will, and we found him to be very easy to work with. He's not the cheapest, but given his quality of workmanship and his level of skill, he shouldn't be. We couldn't be more pleased.

Description of Work
We have a walkway to the front door that includes irregularly spaced steps that vary in height and width, with a change of direction part way along. This walkway had no railing, and was particularly challenging for older people. .

Category wrought iron

5.0

10/01/2017


Maud N.

Good work, well installed, Steve and crew friendly and helpful. Landing is 10 feet above the driveway, so install was not without challenges, which they handled without batting an eye. The new handrail uprights work just fine. The landing looks great, and is even sturdier than I had hoped for.

Description of Work
Needed a rusting landing replaced at the top of an exterior spiral staircase, and several rusting uprights on the stair handrail replaced. Steve built and had powder coated a new steel frame for the landing and helped us pick a new material for the walking surface that would support weight well, drain well, and never rust.

Category welding, metal restoration

5.0

09/23/2017


Derek C.

Great communication and response time. Considered for another project as well and again got great response and a fair quote. Wound up going another direction for the project, but was nothing against Double S

Description of Work
Needed a wrought iron gate rehung that had its weld joints separated from the post.

Category fencing, welding, wrought iron, metal restoration, driveway gates

5.0

09/16/2016


JENNY P.

Steve was very quick at coming out to give an estimate. He quoted us on moving the gate and he also had numerous pictures of his previous work for us to look at, (we were interested in a new gate, styles, etc.). We chose him to do the work we needed and he came out when he said he would and was really great about communicating on how the project was going. He has a lot of experience and does things right. He pays attention to detail and it shows in his work. We are very happy with his work and look forward to working with him again.

Description of Work
A driveway gate moved.

Category wrought iron, driveway gates

5.0

09/08/2016


Jill C.

He was a congenial man who has much experience. He had many designs and examples of work he has done. Once the HOA approved the project, he completed the railing and had it installed in less than 3 weeks.

Description of Work
Steve put in a rail along the out door entry stairs. He designed it and created a attractive rail . He attached it to the side of the steps and it is very sturdy .

Category wrought iron

5.0

05/05/2016


Julie S.

Steve was extremely professional and patient, even when I changed parts of?the design. He was very helpful with ideas to solve some of the design issues that came up as the railing was being installed. The railing is a beautiful piece of art that blends with house seamlessly.

Description of Work
Steve built a gorgeous stair railing for my front porch. I wanted a combination of Cedar and Wrought Iron. He worked with me to come up with a design that met all my needs and desires while staying in my budget. I receive compliments on the railing frequently from people that pass by the house.

Category wrought iron

5.0

05/05/2016


Julie S.

Steve was extremely professional and patient, even when I changed parts of?the design. He was very helpful with ideas to solve some of the design issues that came up as the railing was being installed. The railing is a beautiful piece of art that blends with house seamlessly.

Description of Work
Steve built a gorgeous stair railing for my front porch. I wanted a combination of Cedar and Wrought Iron. He worked with me to come up with a design that met all my needs and desires while staying in my budget. I receive compliments on the railing frequently from people that pass by the house.

Category wrought iron

5.0

05/03/2016


Julie S.

Steve was extremely professional and patient, even when I changed parts of the design. He was very helpful with ideas to solve some of the design issues that came up as the railing was being installed. The railing is a beautiful piece of art that blends with house seamlessly.

Description of Work
Steve built a gorgeous stair railing for my front porch. I wanted a combination of Cedar and Wrought Iron. He worked with me to come up with a design that met all my needs and desires while staying in my budget. I receive compliments on the railing frequently from people that pass by the house.

Category wrought iron

5.0

04/24/2016


THOMAS B.

Steve designed and installed a custom handrail and gate. We found a custom handrail we liked in the neighborhood and Steve was able to build ours very similar to it. He and Sandy had a number of suggestions that were quite helpful. We love the product. He also designed a back entry gate for our backyard. It has a metal frame and wooden mahogany vertical boards. There were some design challenges as the garage is offset from the house. We wanted a hammered metal look for the edges which turned out great. Steve was easily able to provide a design that incorporated the elements we wanted. I For both the handrail and the gate we wanted something more artistic than a plain typical product. Both have very high build quality. His attention to detail was impressive and he made several visits to make sure everything fit. He was very accessible and punctual. I would not hesitate to use him again.

Description of Work
Install custom front porch handrail and custom backyard gate.

Category fencing, metal restoration

5.0

02/11/2016


KATHY B.

Steve responded promptly to my request for a bid, and came to the house several times to recheck the measurements. He was excellent at problem solving suggestions; communicated well, was easy to work with and crafted beautiful railings.

Description of Work
Steve designed and delivered two custom built stair hand rails to match deck railing on my house. The one in back was a bit tricky as the natural stone steps were not uniform and curved somewhat irregularly.

Category wrought iron

5.0

12/29/2015


Amy L.

Double S (Steve) was a pleasure to work with. I was impressed by his obvious love of his craft and by the beauty of his custom pieces (he showed me many pictures of prior work). For this reason I chose him over other bidders, despite his price being a bit higher. I showed him a picture of something similar to what I wanted, we talked about how I wanted it to be a bit different, and he walked me through all the details to get my preferences. He also noted significant code violations of previously installed handrail and fixed those. He understood what I was asking for and fabricated it to look even better than I had hoped. He did ask to reschedule an appointment at the last minute and was running late another time, but we often run late ourselves and are quite flexible, so it was not a problem. He was responsive to emails and phone calls. He delivered the final products earlier than estimated, which was great. Overall I would recommend Steve for custom work to friends and would definitely use him again. He is a very pleasant person to work with and his love for what he does shines through!

Description of Work
Fabricated and installed 9 foot custom stair railing, refinished existing hand rail (~9 feet) and reinstalled to proper height, refinished and reinstalled entrance gate.

Category fencing, wrought iron, driveway gates

5.0

12/22/2015


Luetta J.

I enjoyed working with Steve. We needed a sturdy and functional rail for the front entry of our house. Steve provided samples and options and created a continuous rail starting at the lower step, wrapping around and up the steps to the front door. It is functional, sturdy and artfully done. One thing that was helpful, Steve fabricated the rail, but before it was finished, he brought it to our house and held it up so we could verify it was what we envisioned and make any adjustments.

Description of Work
Fabricate & install a custom hand rail (iron) for the front entry of our house.

Category welding, wrought iron

5.0

12/20/2015


Happy B.

Steve was amazing! Very friendly, knowledgeable, and he did a wonderful job. I called him for an estimate, and he came out to our home the next day and knew exactly what we needed. The design was perfect, the price was reasonable, and he finished on time. I would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Install a railing on our outdoor concrete stairs.

Category wrought iron

    Other local Pros in your area

    Metro Lock Service

    Having problems with locks or keys? Our friendly staff is always willing to go the extra mile to make sure your problems are solved! Since 1993, it has been my objective to observe the highest competitive requirements with fair pricing and complete customer satisfaction. 3 employees. No subs. Charges a service call of $75. Give us a call to make an emergency an immediate resolved issue!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Portland Locksmith and Garage Doors

    Portland Locksmith & garage doors locally owned and operated Company. We provide professional and affordable locksmith & Garage door services in Portland, OR and surrounding areas. We’re licensed, bonded and insured and we only employ professional, certified locksmiths and garage door technicians with years of experience. Whether it’s home lockouts, auto lockouts, garage door repair / instalation commercial locksmith needs or residential locksmith needs, our company is dedicated to serving you. Whatever you need, we’re here to provide it. We have the tools and staff on hand to handle any request, any time of day. Our emergency 24-hour a day, 7 day a week, 365 day a year support staff can come to any location across Portland and provide you with immediate and instant support. Portland Local Locksmith Was founded under the idea that we would provide quality locksmith services with outstanding customer support to homeowners, landlords, businesses and car owners all over the Portland Metro area. It’s easy enough for some locksmiths to take advantage of their customers, especially when emergency situations arise. But at Portland Local Locksmith & garage doors, we operate under a different philosophy. We believe in respecting our customers and earning their trust  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Chip and Dale's Iron Works

    We are a full service metal fabrication shop. We do small repairs on steel projects and large metal fabrications. We can duplicate old work, upgrade old work (bring it up to current codes), and pretty much fix anything a magnet will stick to. We offer IN HOUSE sandblasting and powder coating. We are a small shop that takes every job seriously, and each customer gets our best treatment  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    CUSTOM IRON WORK, WROUGHT IRON, SHEET METAL, FENCES, GATES, RAILING & LUMBER RACKS. WE REFER ALL INSTALLATIONS TO LICENSED CONTRACTORS.

    Services Not Offered

    n/a

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES

    How is DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES overall rated?

    DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES open?

    DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES provide

    DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offer free estimates?

    Yes, DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offers free project estimates.

    Does DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offer emergency services?

    Yes, DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES?

    Yes, DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offers warranties.

    What services does DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offer?

    DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES offers the following services: CUSTOM IRON WORK, WROUGHT IRON, SHEET METAL, FENCES, GATES, RAILING & LUMBER RACKS. WE REFER ALL INSTALLATIONS TO LICENSED CONTRACTORS.

    Are there any services DOUBLE S ENTERPRISES does not offer?

    n/a