Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING

Founded 1995 • With Angi since September 2006

4.9

(344) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3631 NE John Olsen Ave

Hillsboro, OR 97124

Description

Family owned & operated since 1995. Our goal is to provide the highest quality painting services and the very best customer service possible. We have a full time designer on staff to assist with color choices. Angie's List members always receive a special discounted rate. Consistent Super Service

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/18/2021


THOMAS J.

Chris (exterior siding/repair), Mike (Exterior Pressure washing/painting) and their team, did an excellent job on our home. They provided exceptional attention to detail and first-class work. I would definitely recommend Absolute Painting and Power Washing for your next project. Chris installed Hardie-plank siding, two exterior doors and repaired trim boards. Mike's team matched our exact color requests and did the work quickly. Mike and Chris also coordinated with the gutter contractor to install/paint as needed. Office staff was excellent to work with when finalizing payment or planning the work. The initial cost quote matched the final cost exactly. Thanks!

Description of Work
Exterior Siding, exterior repair, door installation, exterior painting.

Category siding, pressure washing, house painters, doors

5.0

07/11/2020


Steven M.

The accent shingles on my house were very dirty and the paint on my front door was blistering and chipping away. I wanted the two to be a single color complementing the color of the house. I got bids from several contractors; all were pretty much in line with each other in terms of prices. There were two factors in my choice to go with Absolute Painting an Power Washing. First, the reviews I read from various sources shows their quality is stellar; second, their color consultant spent the time necessary with me to choose the right color ( not included in the bid ). They spent two full days stripping the door of its old paint, and then prepping and applying primer and paint to the shingles and door. When all was done, I was amazed at how it turned out. The new accent colors added character to the house. Their workmanship is second to none with no flaws in the areas they painted. They even went as far as providing touch up to the trim where paint had chipped off over the years. When I'm ready for the house to be fully repainted, I now know who to turn to.

Description of Work
Exterior painting of front door, sidelights and accent shingles

Category woodworking, house painters

5.0

07/24/2019


Louise J.

Ishmael and Diego were very punctual, professional and their work was beautiful. We will definitely hire this company again. I totally recommend Absolute Painting Company.

Description of Work
A front double door was painted.

Category house painters

1.0

05/07/2019


terri R.

Had the exterior of my home painted last summer and not even a year later the paint is failing. The owner blamed the paint and the paint company blamed the company. The painter, Antonio, told my boyfriend several times that he told the owner that they needed to prep better but the owner said not to spend the time doing it. So, I spent almost 10,000 on a paint job and my paint is peeling and blistering. I would use someone else since this company won’t fix the issue

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

We appreciate customers that take the time to leave us reviews and wish they were all positive as we try very hard to make our customers happy. This customer had some paint blisters or bubbles show up within a few months of us painting their home. When the customer told us about the issue we immediately went out to investigate it with our paint Rep from Sherwin Williams. Although this is unfortunate, it is a common issue with cedar siding that has been painted with many coats of paint. We typically see this issue in older cedar siding that takes a lot of weather abuse. I always do my best to warn customers of this issue if I see signs of it happening previously so they know what to expect in the future but when I gave this estimate I did not see any previous signs. If the siding had paint bubbles previously we can almost guarantee that it will happen again. In most cases is it happens when the original layer of paint that was applied starts to lose adhesion due to the stress of adding more coats of paint. Sometimes it happens when the siding is starting to have problems or when the original layer of paint was not done correctly. We always scrape all existing paint blisters and apply a primer to the affected areas which usually fixes that area. The problem is the next paint blisters will appear in new areas that had no signs of issues previously. The paint we applied to the home stuck to the previous layer of paint but the original layer started to fail and caused all previous layers to come off with it. Absolute Painting can't warranty against this issue as it was not caused by us or the paint itself. We let customers know in every bid we give that this is something that can happen and is out of our control and not under warranty. I will typically fix this type of issue one time if it happens within one year at no cost to the customer which we feel is very fair. Although we don't warranty against it I told the customer we would come out and fix the problem at no cost to them as soon as the weather allowed which we went out to do early this Spring. We scraped the affected areas and were ready to prime and paint them when the customer decided they did not want us to fix it at that time and posted the photos and reviews online which show the areas we had started to scrape. We have had a lot of contact with the customer explaining what happened, what causes the issue and have done our best to resolve the issue. Anyone that does business with Absolute Painting knows we go above and beyond to make customers happy which is what we have tried to do all along in this situation. We have been in business for 24 years and have always strived to do the best we can with our customers best interest in mind. Sincerely Mike Hughes Owner Absolute Painting & Power Washing
5.0

03/04/2019


William D.

We had Absolute paint the interior woodwork and walls of much of our house and we’re very happy with the results. The crews were efficient and showed a lot of attention to detail to get everything just right. They also made sure that all the floors, furniture, etc. were well-protected. Overall, great job and we thought the price was quite reasonable.

Description of Work
Interior Painting

Category interior painters

5.0

10/26/2018


Darcey E.

Mike, Beth and all of the staff at Absolute Painting and Power Washing were so incredible to work with. I just moved into a new office space that was all white. Beth came in and helped choose colors, decorate and scheduled the job around thier already busy schedule to accommodate an event I was having. Everyone on the team was professional, extremely polite and really went out thier way to help. I would highly recommend Absolute Paint and Power Washing for any painting, design and consulting needs you have. Additionally Absolute Paint and Power Washing have been an integral part of the Hillsboro business community, I appreciate that thier staff have been with them for many years which is testmate to having a great owner and management.

Description of Work
Office Make-over

Category handyman service, interior designers, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind review and so happy you like the way it all turned out! Mike Owner
5.0

09/10/2018


Chris M.

Great communication and quality work.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category pressure washing, house painters

5.0

09/08/2018


Larry M.

Went great. Diego and his team were professional and did a great job.

Description of Work
Complete exterior paint on 2 story house.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind review of our work! Mike Hughes Owner
4.0

09/03/2018


William D.

They did a quality job but their communication skills need a little work. They didn't tell me they were going to start the job until the day before they were going to start the job, which was a hassle because I had some bush trimming to do before they started. Also, they apply a little paint so you can decide whether you like it or not (which I liked), but was given very little time to view and decide. I don't know, it seemed kind of chaotic compared to experiences I've had with other contractors.

Description of Work
Exterior home painting

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to review our work and letting us know how we did. We are always striving to improve our customer service experience and appreciate any feedback as to how we are doing. I apologize if we did not do so well at commuicating with you on this project but will do our best in the future. Thank you again for your business. Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

04/15/2018


Lisa D.

Michael and his team are fantastic! Beth handles the preliminary color consult and helped me picked the right tones for the rooms I wanted painted. The results were exactly what I wanted. The crew is very professional and even though there was some unplanned work done they handled it in stride and with a smile. I was so happy to hired this team rather than tackle it myself.

Description of Work
Painting bath and laundry room

Category interior designers, interior painters

5.0

10/24/2017


Jamie H.

They did a wonderful job and were very professional. Beth, was very responsive to emails and phone calls. I would definitely hire again!

Description of Work
We removed wallpaper in our kitchen and breakfast nook, absolute painting primed and painted the walls.

Category interior painters

5.0

09/20/2017


John E.

Awesome job! We love the detail that went into prepping the house and the application process went smoothly. Considering all the landscaping around the house they were very careful to not damage plants.

Description of Work
Exterior house painting.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review and really glad you like the work we did! Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

09/13/2017


Roy L.

After trying to match the stain myself, I decided to enlist the services of a professional. Several painters on Angie's List didn't bother to return our request for a bid on such a small job. However, Absolute Painting responded within 24 hours and I couldn't be happier that they did. I put the web request in on Sunday afternoon and after a phone call and an email exchange with Carmen, Danny was at our house to scope out the job on Monday afternoon. He let me know that if I was willing to do some of the prep work (sanding and masking), it could reduce the cost of the job which I really appreciated. He left with a color sample we cut out of the old window sash to get it matched and returned the next day with a very close match that would have worked just fine had I not stumbled upon a can of the original custom stain, left by the previous owners, that evening. After testing both stains, we decided that we might as well go with the custom stain and was fine with ending his involvement at that point if that's what I wanted. Instead, I decided to let Danny do the job while I learned a little about staining technique. The staining turned out great! (And I learned a few things in the process.) Danny gave me the option of doing the lacquering work myself which I decided to do to save some money. The bottom line is Absolute Painting, and their crew, were interested in seeing that my needs were met and not squeezing every dollar they could from such a small job. You can be sure that when I do have a big job, they will be the first company I'll contact.

Description of Work
I had to replace a picture window where the interior side had a stained finish. The window installer did not provide a finishing service so it was up to me to get the window stained to match the surrounding woodwork before it was installed.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to give us this nice review! Glad we were able to help out. Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

09/08/2017


Kim G.

The owner, Michael Hughes, came out himself to give me an estimate. He was extremely thorough and the estimate and proposal covered all the bases. The price quoted was on the high side but, in retrospect, we feel it was more than fair for the work provided. The job took a little longer than was expected but this did not impact the cost of the work in our case. The crew who worked on our house were extremely professional and hard-working. They were very communicative at every stage of the work. They showed up on time every day and cleaned up at the end of every day. At completion, our property was left in pristine condition. I especially want to mention one of the crew, Antonio, was kind enough to pick up an order from a Home Depot that I had purchased but did not have the means to bring it home myself (it was an order that was related to the work they performed). He said he didn't mind as he was picking up another order there anyway. Additionally, even though we chose to have our house painted in the same color it had been previously, their color expert Beth came out to not only ensure a proper match but also to assist in choosing a more appropriate color for our painted deck and front porch. In the end, we feel they did an exceptional job on our house. They were extremely thorough in the prep work they did (caulking, sanding, etc) and they applied 2 coats of paint. We are really happy with the end result and would not hesitate to recommend the company to others looking for similar work.

Description of Work
We had the exterior of our house painted, including all trim, doors, porch and deck. Our house is 2 stories, approximately 2300 sq. ft. and is on a sloped lot which means the front and sides of our house have more surface area than a similar sized house on a flat lot would have.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind review and letting us know how we did. Greatly appreciated! Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

08/08/2017


Terry H.

They were very efficient in completing this job.

Description of Work
Removal of wallpaper, prep, and paint walls.

Category wallpaper removal, interior painters

5.0

08/02/2017


david C.

I chose this company because of their professionalism and they had good references. I had faith they could get the job done. They quoted it, they stuck with it, and in the end, I guess it had the value. But on the other hand, it was a more expensive option. The quote was very accurate.

Description of Work
Quote for exterior painting and power washing.

Category pressure washing, house painters

5.0

08/02/2017


david C.

They were great. Quality of workmanship was high. The team that they had do it was really efficient and they did a great job. I think it was worth the money. It was a little higher priced. We had a higher price estimate and a higher price overall than other people, but I think in the end, they did deliver the quality. They gave me an estimate. It was on the higher end. I’d say their business presentation, professionalism, then sold the higher end of it also. There were other prices that were lower, more competitive. But, in the end, I think they delivered. After the initial “that’s $500 more” than some other people were quoting me, I guess they delivered that $500 in quality. They were right on time. Their business office was very well managed. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Home improvement/exterior painting and pressure washing.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to review our work! Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

07/24/2017


RICHARD C.

They did an excellent job. They adhered to my instructions and wishes, right down to the details I'd asked them to do. There were no spills on my carpet or linoleum (there was no furniture in the house at the time), nor on my outside staircase or in the yard. My garbage disposal and sink were not gummed up with dumped paint (as other contractors have done in the past, out of laziness). They were extremely meticulous in masking off everything. In fact, for a 2000sf townhouse, the only spot of overspray was a tiny 1"x2" area on one window (easily scraped off with a razor blade), a phenomenal feat considering all the work they'd done. I will definitely use Absolute Painting again in the future, for my rentals and my own personal residence.

Description of Work
Painted nearly everything in a 2000sf rental townhouse I own: baseboards & window sills were painted to remove the browns of 1980 & replace with a satin-finish white to match the walls; ceilings were treated with stain blocker to hide years of yellowing and small leaks; 2 of the 3 bedrooms were completely redone; most closets; two bathrooms; included wallpaper removal and years of gummy residue from that wallpaper.

Category wallpaper removal, replacement windows, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great feedback on your project! We look forward to working with you in the future. Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

07/13/2017


Chris C.

Everyone I dealt with was great, from Kurt (sp?) who set everything up to Sam who did the painting. The work was top notch - Sam was awesome and made our house look amazing. The next time I need painting done, I will definitely be calling them.

Description of Work
Touch ups from another company that did a poor job and touch ups from wall repairs (handrails taken off the wall, holes repaired, etc).

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the business and taking the time to let us know how we are doing! Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

07/08/2017


EILEEN K.

Mike recommended replacing my most deteriorated siding before painting, which I did last summer ($11,000). Danny & 2 helpers came this week and painted the whole exterior. It looks beautiful--all the siding now looks like new! Their work exceeded my expectations. The bid was higher than others but the professionalism and result were worth it.

Description of Work
Painting exterior of my home.

Category siding, pressure washing, house painters

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate you taking time to write a review for us! So happy you like the end results of the siding and paint job. It was so great to meet and work with you on this:) Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

06/26/2017


Robert H.

Mike Hughes and team did a great job.

Description of Work
Bedroom ceiling painted. They did a great job.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our work! Glad you liked everything:) Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

06/21/2017


BRIAN B.

Good job, quality results, responsive supervision / management.

Description of Work
It has been a few years since we have had a project with these folks. They are a quality oriented operation and their price point reflects it. Many of our projects are smaller and we handle the painting with our own team. But when we have a larger "whole house interior" engagement we would discuss with Absolute Painting.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving a nice review for us and hope we can work with you again in the future! Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

04/21/2017


NICK K.

It went very well. Absolute's estimate was a little lower than a competing bid. We decided to hire them based partly on price but also because we needed help choosing colors. Beth provided a color consultation and offered us good choices for both bedrooms. All went as planned. Beth arrived on the first day to walk-thru the job with us, suggested a finishing touch to line the top of the walls (charged at time & materials). We liked this effect a lot and are very glad Beth offered it. Beth recommended a special paint for the shower ceiling and the charge for re-finishing it was very reasonable, including cleaning the mildew. Their crew of three led by Diego showed up right on time both days, were very pleasant and courteous. They borrowed our vacuum cleaner at the end, leaving no sign they'd been here - other than the first-rate paint job! After the job Beth checked-in to see how the job went, and we noticed a small problem that Beth handled impressively. When the crew re-hung the bedroom doors, one door seemed harder to close than before (it was already tight). Beth sent someone out right away and he adjusted the door so it's easier to close. We're very glad we hired Absolute Painting and wouldn't hesitate to do so again. Their work is truly excellent, they clearly take pride in it.

Description of Work
Interior paint - two bedrooms, a closet and a shower ceiling. The shower ceiling was an add-on, it had a little mildew.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Really appreciate the kind review of our work. Always great to get feedback! Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

04/11/2017


Salman A.

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND VERY PROFESSIONAL. ANTONIO WORKS REALLY HARD AND HE IS VERY EASY TO WORK WITH. THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR HOUSE LOOK PRETTY!

Description of Work
PAINTING THE INTERIOR OF HOUSE AND GARAGE DOORS

Category garage doors, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the nice review! We look forward to working with you on your next project soon! Mike Hughes Owner
5.0

03/21/2017


Kylee B.

it went GREAT!! they were the best painting company I've ever used. They were so punctual, professional, and did excellent work. Beth was so great to work with, and it was actually fun to hang out with her as we worked through our plan. They could not have been more flexible and accommodating with what I needed. Their price was SUPER fair too, as I also needed them to buy paint. I have already recommended them to family and friends. They were the BEST!!!

Description of Work
I am selling my condo and needed almost every wall painted. I also needed some caulking around doors and baseboard work completed. I have several different color walls, which made the task a bit more challenging.

Category interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Sunshine Painting Crew

    Painting Exterior with a combine of 20 years experience, first license ccb#125126 .We do Interior and Exterior painting, Deck,, Fence, Patio, Porch, cleaning, sealing, and staining. Exterior surface, power washing  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    SEAS Painting LLC

    Hello, my name is Erick Jimenez. I am excited to bring our knowledge and our experience to you. My family and I have been in the industry for over 4 years. We simply have been working for other companies and now it's time to launch ourselves. We have the confidence in our work due to the many projects we have finished in the past, we are the crew you call to fix previous jobs. We don't sub out our work as other companies our work speaks for it's self. We are excited to be able to be of service to you with your project. We like to communicate with our clients to make sure we are following the agreement. We treat you as if you were part of our family. We do drywall repairs, siding repairs, painting interior, exterior, and wallpaper removal.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Mark Powers Painting Inc.

    Mark Powers has been in business for over 35 years and has been serving the Beaverton, Tigard and Portland Metro area since 2003. In that time we’ve gained the business of countless loyal customers and have continued to receive business through customer referrals, our positive online reviews, and simple word of mouth. We provide experience, quality, and award winning service. Our goal is to provide you with the best possible experience from consultation to design to finished product. We are licensed in Oregon and Washington, bonded, insured, and all of our employees are covered under workman’s compensation insurance. All of our employees have been screened through a national criminal background check. All our work is guaranteed and comes with warranties and we vow to provide the best possible preparation, products, and service to make sure your home, business, or non-profit look their very best at the best possible price. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you. Make sure to give us a call or click for a free consultation today. Service you can count on, experience you can trust, quality that lasts. __Thanks, Mark Powers __Check out this short video that gives a quick explanation of our services and includes photos of some of our projects! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RjHLeTciAKw __Services Provided__Cabinet Painting, Cabinet Refinishing, Ceiling Painting, Color Consulting, Deck Staining, Decorative Painting, Door Painting, Drywall Repair, Drywall Texturing, Epoxy Flooring, Exterior Painting, Faux Painting, Garage Floor Coating, Interior Painting, Plaster Repair, Texture Painting, Wallpaper Removal  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Mark Powers Painting Inc. on Angi
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    109416
    Trade License Locale
    Oregon
    Trade License Authority
    Oregon Construction Contractors Board
    Trade License Expiration
    11/02/2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential painting, commercial painting, interior painting, exterior painting, power washing, deck refinishing, staining, woodwork painting, deck design and construction, fence design and construction, remodels and additions, siding repairs and replacement, home repair, drywall repairs and replacement, interior design & color consultations.

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing, Wallpaper Hanging

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING

    How is ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING overall rated?

    ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING open?

    ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING provide

    ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING offer free estimates?

    Yes, ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING offers free project estimates.

    Does ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING?

    Yes, ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING offers warranties.

    What services does ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING offer?

    ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING offers the following services: Residential painting, commercial painting, interior painting, exterior painting, power washing, deck refinishing, staining, woodwork painting, deck design and construction, fence design and construction, remodels and additions, siding repairs and replacement, home repair, drywall repairs and replacement, interior design & color consultations.

    Are there any services ABSOLUTE PAINTING & POWER WASHING does not offer?

    Roofing, Wallpaper Hanging