Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Peter Barten Home Inspections

Founded 1999 • With Angi since September 2009

4.9

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 624

Gleneden Beach, OR 97388

Description

Peter barten home inspections has been providing inspections and reports to thousands of clients on the central oregon coast since 1999. He is the sole proprietor focused on careful inspections and objective reporting. Fees are based upon square footage and the age of the property; for example, a 1,400 square foot single family home built after 1990 is $420. Please call for a quote. Travel fees apply for distances greater than 50 miles. Reports are written using 3-d inspection software and typically delivered the next day via email or fax. Photos and site diagrams are included for clarification of findings. Tillamook and lincoln counties are the primary service areas, and peter occasionally inspects in other areas as well. Past vice-president of american institute of inspectors (2002), an inspection association promoting inspector education and ethical practices. Peter barten has twelve years' experience in the building trades prior to becoming an inspector. He worked on residential and commercial projects of both new construction and remodels....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/26/2015


Cynthia S.

Description of Work
Excellent, well informed and very thorough inspection. Well written report - will use again - best money I spent to find out situation

Category home inspection

5.0

01/28/2015


Rod G.

Category home inspection

4.0

10/07/2014


Sandra S.

Description of Work
Home inspection. Went well.

Category home inspection

5.0

07/08/2014


THOR B.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/23/2014


Philip L.

Peter was very prompt and professional. We were told some realtors call him and quot;the deal killerand quot; because he is so thorough during his inspections. We appreciated his thoroughness. The main item he found on the 1999-built house was dry rot under a raised garage concrete slab (and took a picture of a mushroom growing on it). His discovery caused the seller to make repairs of I'm guessing $5,000 to fix the dry rot before we purchased the house. I appreciate that he uses software to contact us before and after the inspection. He said he was available to answer any questions we had. He was very discreet, letting only us, the prospective buyers, know the results of the inspection, and not the sellers or the seller's realtor (who asked him for his report). We feel we received a lot of value for our money.

Description of Work
Peter did a professional home inspection of a house we were interested in purchasing.

Category home inspection

5.0

11/30/2013


Ardys S.

Inspection was thorough and communication terrific.

Description of Work
I used Peter Barten Home Inspections

Category home inspection

5.0

04/30/2013


Michael T.

Peter provided an in depth report of all his findings. The printed report included photos of all trouble spots and had recommendations to correct problems. We are extremely pleased with his professional services.

Description of Work
Peter did full inspection of home we were looking to purchase. He provided detailed explanations and photos of his findings. Very professional. This was the second time we used his services. Peter's was not the cheapest inspection service available but he was highly recommended by a friend and the local real estate agent.

Category home inspection

5.0

08/01/2012


alisa G.

Since we live out of town we were not present for the inspection. Overall, we were very satisfied with the information that was provided. Of course we won't know if he missed anything important until we actually move in!

Description of Work
Peter inspected the house we are considering buying, and we are very glad that he did. His inspection was prompt, careful and thorough, flagging several areas of concern that warranted follow-up inspections by other parties, e.g. a pest inspection and electrical work. Both of the follow-ups performed by other companies were incomplete and required additional visits to finish their jobs. Luckily we had Peter's report to confirm that more needed to be done! He's also been readily available to talk with our realtor and explain his findings. The service is not inexpensive (a little higher than we have paid for home inspections in other states) and there are certain things he does not look at, which I believe are standard OR exclusions, but we felt it was well worth what we spent to become better informed about the house. (Note that since we didn't comparison shop, it's probably unfair of us to grade him on price.) If you are new to the area, as we are, be aware that the inspection report will not include some items you might expect, such as checking if a jetted tub works, if tiles are chipped or if the blinds all work. So from that aspect the inspection is less detailed than I'm used to and I'd advise making sure you have enough time to go through a home on your own to look at all these "little" things that can add up later.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/24/2012


Michael T.

Peter did an excellent, through job. I was present at inspection and he left no stone unturned. The report he emailed to me the next day covered every part of the home and has given me a basis for further discussions with the seller. Excellent service.

Description of Work
Home Inspection for planned home purchase

Category home inspection

5.0

09/28/2009


Nancy F.

Our contractors had put down a commercial type of rubber material. They did not perform this correctly from the start. Since it did not look corrrectly, the offered to put down tile over this. They did not put the grout down correctly either. It was a mess. He came and helped us assess the situation and correct the mistakes. His fee is $225 per hour.

Description of Work
He inspected the deck for us.

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate learning how we helped your situation. Peter Barten Home Inspections came to inspect the deck (System Inspection minimum fee $175 plus travel fee = $225). Peter Barten Home Inspections provided a report which detailed the issues and recommended course of action for repair. Peter Barten Home Inspections does not perform repairs and performed no repairs at this property.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Peace of Mind Home & Commercial Inspections

    Whether you are a buyer wanting to make sure your dream home doesn't come with any unknown costly surprises, or a seller wanting to make sure the sale goes smoothly by taking care of any issues that may hold up the process, we are here to provide you the peace of mind that you are making an informed decision. We are licensed, bonded and insured in the state of Oregon and adhere to the Oregon Home Inspector Standards of Practice and Standards of Behavior so you know that you will be getting the most professional, honest, friendly, and thorough inspection possible.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Home inspections.

    Services Not Offered

    Inspections comply with the oregon certified home inspector standards of practice. It is a visual inspection of accessible systems. The following are excluded - repairs, or quotes for repairs, septic, water quality, spa, sauna, pools, asbestos, lead, mold, storm doors & windows, geological conditions, tennis courts & playgrounds, detached buildings unless contracted to inspect, fire and lawn sprinklers, solar equipment, interior flues & code compliance.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Peter Barten Home Inspections

    How is Peter Barten Home Inspections overall rated?

    Peter Barten Home Inspections is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Peter Barten Home Inspections open?

    Peter Barten Home Inspections is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Peter Barten Home Inspections provide

    Peter Barten Home Inspections accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Peter Barten Home Inspections offer free estimates?

    Yes, Peter Barten Home Inspections offers free project estimates.

    Does Peter Barten Home Inspections offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Peter Barten Home Inspections does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Peter Barten Home Inspections offer a senior discount?

    No, Peter Barten Home Inspections does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Peter Barten Home Inspections?

    No, Peter Barten Home Inspections does not offer warranties.

    What services does Peter Barten Home Inspections offer?

    Peter Barten Home Inspections offers the following services: Home inspections.

    Are there any services Peter Barten Home Inspections does not offer?

    Inspections comply with the oregon certified home inspector standards of practice. It is a visual inspection of accessible systems. The following are excluded - repairs, or quotes for repairs, septic, water quality, spa, sauna, pools, asbestos, lead, mold, storm doors & windows, geological conditions, tennis courts & playgrounds, detached buildings unless contracted to inspect, fire and lawn sprinklers, solar equipment, interior flues & code compliance.