Clearwater Pump Service

About

Founded 2012 • With Angi since January 2012

We are the clear choice for your water system solutions. We are prompt, clean cut, professional, and most importantly feel that communication is key to our success and our customers satisfaction. We offer free estimates, free water testing, and 24 hour emergency service. We have some of the

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Water Softener Installation

water softeners

202097007
This was a new water filtration system installed for a home that had problems with water hardness. Hardness is a measurement of calcium and will cause white water spots on glass, tile, and tubs. Hardness also leaves laundry looking dull and no longer white. These systems are usually an easy and simple fix so that your home's water stays clean and trouble free.
View project

Verified Reviews

4.7

(22) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

19

4

1

3

1

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

well & water pump repair (21)water softeners (4)
Showing 1-22 of 22 reviews
5.0

08/12/2019


JoAnn R.

No clue as to why they were notified about my project as they do not provide services in my location. I did appreciate their call and referral to a local company that could do the work. Angie's List gets an F for this one.

Description of Work
Pump Repair

Category wells

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2019

3.0

11/21/2017


JAMES S.

Joe and another worker showed up on time. They initially estimated the job would take an hour to hour and a half, but ran into some problems in widen the wiring hole in the control box and in draining the water out of the pressure tank. The job ended up taking two and half hours. I was OK with the extra time since stuff happens. Joe is very knowledgeable and the other guy was personable. I was happy with the end result. But, I was not happy with the price. Clearwater charges $160/hr for a two-man team sent to the job site. I have no issue with paying $80 an hour for someone with Joe's expertise, but with no disrespect to his assistant, the second man did nothing more than help Joe with some carrying some tools. On top of that, they charged $320 for the two hour travel time between Forest Grove and Tualatin, which I find utterly unreasonable. Their website which is linked to Angie's List states that their service area includes Tualatin. There is no mention on the website that they charge $160/hr for travel time. Nor, was there anything in the written estimate that I received from them that said that I would be paying $320 for their travel to the job site. I put a call into the owner, Dave, to register my complaint. While Dave did not respond to my concerns, I did receive a call back from Brad who offered to reduce the hourly rate from $160/hr to $115 since the two guys on the job were not at the same level. However, he did not waive the 2 hour travel time, which for me is the primary issue. I understand the concept of 'overhead' and realize that I pay a markup for the pressure pump and control box, along with the hourly rate. But, when you represent that your service area includes most of Washington and Clackamas and then charge $160 hr for travel time, that goes too far, IMO. In summary, if you live in Forest Grove then Clearwater is an excellent choice. However, if you live anywhere more than 10 minutes from their office, be aware that you'll be paying $160 an hour for two guys riding in a truck.

Description of Work
If you live in Forest Grove then Clearwater Pump is a great choice. However, if you live anywhere else, beware that Clearwater will charge you $160 per hour for 'travel time'. In my case, that added up to paying $320 for two guys to drive to my home in Tualatin. I contacted Clearwater to get a bid for replacing a deep well pump, control box, and pressure tank. Joe came out and inspected my system which was followed by a bid. After talking with the owner, Dave, I decided to first replace the pressure tank, which was failing and the control box and do the pump later.. Dave and Joe both advised that the well pump (the most expensive part) could fail the next or go for another five years so I decided to wait on replacing the well pump.

Category wells

Cost $1,273

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2017

5.0

09/11/2017


Jeannette V.

Went better than expected with a couple of different options available

Description of Work
Tested my well to find out why it wasn't filling up the tank very fast so it appeared we were running out of water!

Category wells

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2017

5.0

07/19/2017


Chad H.

Wonderful!

Description of Work
Septic pumped

Category wells

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

05/16/2017


Michael T.

Company sent tech, Trevor, same day. Diagnosed failed water tank. Owner, Dave, called next morning with description of problem, cost to replace the tank, and scheduled this 5 days hence. Trevor arrived a little earlier than scheduled, after calling first. He efficiently removed the failed tank and installed the new tank by himself in 1 hour. Again answered all questions and left instructions on future management. Both Trevor and owner, Dave, were responsive and intelligent, and left a clear feeling of integrity and trustworthiness. I have used them before and would do so in future.

Description of Work
well pump repeatedly powering off requiring reset.

Category wells

Cost $865

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2017

4.0

05/13/2017


Mark K.

.

Description of Work
.

Category wells

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2015

5.0

09/04/2016


Amy B.

My experience with David Parsons from Clearwater was very positive. We needed troubleshooting for a low flow well pump. The job turned out to be more complex than originally predicted taking several days instead of one. David's staff stayed late each night and worked on the weekend to get the water restored. We were given adequate feedback at each stage of the repair. Ultimately the job required difficult extraction of the well pipe and replacement of the well pump, pipe and wires. David was very professional and honest in fixing my well and charging me appropriately. I give Clearwater pump service my highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Well pump troubleshooting and replacement

Category wells

Cost $6,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2016

5.0

07/30/2016


Brandy C.

The Clearwater scheduler offered a visit the same day. The technician arrived on time, assessed the well/pump, installed the new parts and checked the system. I am totally satisfied with the service provided.

Description of Work
I woke up to a non-functioning well. Since I have 60 head of livestock to keep watered, I was anxious to get my pump back in action.

Category wells

Cost $339

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2016

5.0

02/03/2016


Alisa C.

Description of Work
Water from pump was shutting off and on. we had a bad switch which they replaces.

Category wells

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2015

5.0

01/22/2016


Terry B.

Description of Work
Came out the same day, located broken pipe, turned the water off to that area restoring our water pressure until pipe could be replaced.

Category wells

Cost $110

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2016

5.0

12/10/2015


Jon M.

I like to do some of the work myself when possible, so I took the pond pump into Clearwater to have them install a gate valve on the discharge side. It was done quickly and professionally. I have to admit that I was skeptical that this would resolve the problem, but it did! The pump has now been working for nearly 18 months without problems. I will be a return customer.

Description of Work
I called Dave to discuss a problem I was having with my pond pump. It was cycling on and off on its own for no apparent reason, and this was causing problems with keeping a consistent level of water in the pond. Dave was generous with his time, and offered some ideas. He said that the most likely cause was that because my pump didn't have a valve on the discharge circuit, it was likely overheating due to a lack of back-pressure. He said that adding a valve would bring the pump back into it's normal performance curve.

Category wells

Cost $224.14

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2014

Images

Review for Clearwater Pump Service - 2133 Douglas St, Forest Grove, OR - 28949583
5.0

04/12/2015


Michael H.

Clearwater came out initially to test our water to see how the current water softener was functioning. Turns out the thing was completely busted. They recommended a new water softener along with a carbon filter to help with the taste and smell of the water. Scheduling of the install was very easy, the showed up on time, finished early and cleaned up their mess. Our water tastes delicious now and they did it for a great price. Looks like we've found out new go-to servicer for any well issues.

Description of Work
Replaced a water softener for our well and added a carbon filter.

Category water softeners, wells

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2015

5.0

03/26/2015


Rodney S.

Category wells

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2015

5.0

03/29/2014


Verna O.

.

Description of Work
Installed a water softener, and follow up appointments.

Category water softeners

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/07/2014

5.0

02/12/2014


Teresa B.

Clearwater Pump Is very highly recomended for ANY water units. They take high pride in there hard work and the quality of work they provide. I will continue to recommend them.

Description of Work
Installed pump, maintained our water softener unit.

Category water softeners, wells

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2014

5.0

02/03/2014


Susan K.

The well suddenly stopped working, we had used a pump service in the past but were not happy with their attitude. We needed fast service as not only were we out of water, but we live on a farm and all of the animals are serviced by automatic waterers. We contacted the office and left a message and were called back within 10 minutes. Service men were at our house within an hour. Some other deficient parts were called to our attention, and estimates were given, but they weren't required at that moment. We felt that the cost was a bit high, but they responded so quickly that we didn't feel a complaint was in order.

Description of Work
They replaced some electrical parts and checked out the entire system.

Category wells

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2014

1.0

01/03/2014


Chelena R.

They came out and "fixed" the issue by resetting the pump switch. Which was less than a five minute job. They charged us a $165 service fee which included an hour of labor. This did not fix the underlying issue. They didn't troubleshoot the problem. We had to continuously go out to the pump house and "reset" the switch (which they taught us to do for $165.00). We called them back and told them that the issue wasn't fixed and asked if they would come back out and not charge us another service call. They promptly came out, ran the water from a hose and then told us that our well was dry! They seemed very sincere and said that we should call and talk to the owner about options (either drilling a new well that costs $20k - $30k or have a storage tank installed for a temporary cheaper solution). You can imagine the devistation of being told that your well has dried up. Decided to get a second opinion from another company, they fixed the problem which was the pump and not the well, we now have running water and don't have to pay $30,000 dollars to fix a problem that we never had.

Description of Work
They reset the pump switch and ran water from a hose.

Category wells

Cost $165

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/24/2013

Service Provider Response

(member name removed), my name is Dave Parson and I am the owner of Clearwater Pump. First, I want to apologize that you had an unpleasant experience with our company. I was only able to speak with you when you first called and explained you were still having problems. We did send a tech out that morning and I did explain to you that if the problem was at all related to our first trip it would absolutely be under warranty. What had been explained to me was that on our first trip out your low pressure cut-out had tripped due to frozen pipes in the pump house. After we applied heat to the pump house the pump then was able to turn back on and build up to pressure. We charged you a total of $165 which was for a service call and one hour of labor. Our labor does include drive time to and from the job-site. When we were called back our tech. called me and discussed that he was finding that the pump was pumping erratically and drawing low amperage. At the time he did tell you he thought the well was running dry. Upon my discussion with him that morning I expressed concern that it was an odd time of year for a well to be running dry and that we needed to take what is called a sounder out. A sounder allows us to send a small probe into the well and see what the water level in the well is. I asked him if I could speak with you and I was told you had already left to go back to work. I had no intentions of charging you for any of this work. I was told you would be calling into the shop that morning and I also called your phone that morning to arrange a time for us to come back out with the sounder. As to date this is the first correspondence we have had. Again, I apologize for any frustration on your part. I have a strict belief that we always strive to offer the best service to our customers. If you would be willing to give me a call on my cell number (971)-207-5895 I will be more then happy to mail you a refund for the $165.
5.0

11/28/2013


Jim E.

Replacement of pressure vessel on well system

Description of Work
Replacement of pressure vessel on well system

Category wells

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed member name]. It was a pleasure and if you ever need anything in the future please call anytime.
5.0

09/23/2013


Colleen C.

These guys are honest and professional. It's a family business a it shows in how they treat you. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Fixed pump issue

Category wells

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/03/2013

5.0

08/05/2013


HEIDI G.

Bob did the inspection. Was running late due to being on a job that had a no water issue. He called well in advance to notify me when he anticipated the new arrival time. Called to confirm and showed up on time. He determined a 4 hr. test was not necessary and Dave, the owner, sent a refund check for the difference in time testing immediately. The lab determined there was a problem with bacteria. Dave called me to explain the level of seriousness, remedies including an inexpensive remedy that could be done and if the results in re-testing still had the issue, what was needed to rectify the problem. He was detailed in his explanation and showed a willingness to speak with the sellers agent. I am impressed by Dave's responsiveness of both himself and his employees.

Description of Work
Contacted for an inspection of seller's well. Did a 4 hr,. well test and sent water samples to lab to test for potability.

Category wells

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2013

5.0

06/03/2013


Judy W.

They came initially and tested our water and gave us an estimate to do all work in question. We felt they were infinitely more knowledgeable than the other people who gave us an estimate and were only interested in selling us a water softening system. So we hired Clearwater. On the morning they were to show up, they called to reschedule us since they had two customers with no water and they had to come first, which we totally understood. When we're the ones with no water, we know they'll bump us to the top of the line. Two workmen came promptly on the rescheduled day and were so patient and professional with us while we changed our minds about the water softening system. After some additional research, we decided not to do that part of the service and instead of forcing the issue or charging a restocking fee, they simply discussed the pros and cons with us and agreed to prepare the system for a softener, should we change our minds back and want to add it in the future. We were so impressed. As they were here working, we began to discuss with them the actual well, pump and wiring which we discovered were 35 yrs old; I'd say we're living on borrowed time here. So we talked about what we would need to do if it failed and asked for an estimate. They educated us on what a replacement would require and we asked for an estimate for that work. I received it the next day. This is another thing that really impressed us: instead of trying to sell us on doing the update now, Dave (the owner) said we could choose to wait until it failed, since it's working fine now. They will be able to replace the entire system in one day, and we'll be the ones getting instant service on that day. You can be sure I'll be calling Clearwater.

Description of Work
We have a well and had an old, leaky galvanized tank that had to be replaced and we wanted an updated filtration system. We also thought about a water softening system. They were here one full day doing all that work as they had to cut the old tank in two to get it out of the pumphouse.

Category water softeners, wells

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2013

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], it was a pleasure and when your pump does give up the ghost we will come running.
5.0

04/11/2013


Bruce H.

Our pump suddenly died, so we needed a new one as soon as possible. Our estimator was here quickly with a reasonable estimate, which we accepted. (Our first estimate from 3 Mountains Plumbing was much higher.) Clearwater ordered needed parts which took a couple days, then a very knowledgeable and experienced installer put our pump in, which has been working perfectly. He said his aim was to do it right so we shouldn't have to call the company again for about 20 years. This company seems very honest and when we need any of their services, they would be our choice. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Replaced old sump pump, including new mount into concrete.

Category wells

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2013

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    2133 Douglas St

    Forest Grove, OR 97116

    Friday
    Open All Day

    Website

    www.clearwaterpumpservices.com

    Services Offered