O'Malley Brothers Corporation

Founded 2007 • With Angi since December 2012

We are a locally owned small business specializing in the Forestry, Transportation, Demolition, and Excavation sectors. We employ on average 10 full time employee's with seasonally adjusted employment at 20 or more.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
7%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(24) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-24 of 24 reviews
Patty W.
5.0
11/22/2019
Scott at O'Malley Brothers gave me a quote via email within 24 hours. Then called me and verified the full cord of wood was seasoned and mixed. He said they could deliver it the same day. Within 3 hours the wood was delivered to my house. It was exactly as expected. Very nice to work with and would do business again with them. Very satisfied with product as well.
Description of Work
Seasoned Firewood
Category
firewood
Cheryl C.
5.0
02/27/2017
Great! We will hire them again!
Description of Work
Delivered and stacked firewood.
Category
firewood
Debra G.
4.0
11/29/2016
The quality of the firewood we received was as expected. This company needs to work on communication with their customers. I did not receive a call when they were several hours late on a Saturday and we spent a day waiting for them to deliver. They were only able to deliver half the load and promised to deliver the balance during the following week. They did not call or show-up, which meant we had to call them again. Finally received the balance of our order the following Saturday. I recommend that they seriously work on maintaining promised delivery schedules and keep their customers updated when they can't deliver on time.
Description of Work
Purchased fire wood and asked for delivery
Category
firewood
Emma L.
5.0
10/12/2016
This is the second time I've done business with these people - they are First Class all the way! When I stopped there around noon today, I really did not expect that they would be able to supply a cord of kiln dried Douglas Fir firewood, stacked and delivered on such short notice - as in ... same day delivery! I was ecstatic when the order was placed, the wood was neatly stacked in their truck, delivered from Estacada to Sandy, and neatly stacked in my barn - all within the total time span of two and one-half hours! You just can't ask for better service! They are wonderfully "service oriented" and I guarantee they will receive my next order for good, dry wood! They have a nice variety of wood, too - not just Douglas Fir. Delivering the wood and getting the wood stacked did cost extra, but was worth it.
Description of Work
Needed a cord of kiln dried Douglas Fir firewood, delivered and stacked, preferably within a day or two.
Category
auto repair, firewood
Hayden H.
1.0
12/30/2015
If you need dry wood, look somewhere else. I was supposed to get a cord of seasoned, dry firewood. It not only said fully seasoned and dry on the website and the invoice, but I asked twice to make sure before I placed the order. What I got was a cord of wood that wouldn't burn even after being in the house for a week. Even chopping it into tiny pieces of kindling it would only light with a lot of paper and cardboard, and then you could hear the water in it sizzling as it burned. My guess is it had been cut in the last few weeks. I bought a moisture meter to verify it was wet wood and sure enough, most pieces maxed out the moisture meter at 40%. The rest were 33-39% (you need wood below 20% moisture content for a decent fire, and ideally in the low teens or single digits). I got in touch with them and they told me they would give me a cord of kiln dried wood at no cost as soon as it was ready, unfortunately after the holidays. I really only have room for half a cord so 2 cords was not ideal, but I needed some dry wood for this winter. The second cord arrived on time, but again wouldn't burn. I split about 10 pieces in various places in the pile to take moisture readings from the inside. Again, the vast majority were 38-40%, and only one piece was below 30%, but none were below 20%, so certainly not seasoned or kiln dried. I had to find a place for 2 cords of wood, which most likely I won't be able to burn for at least a year. When I let them know the second cord was not dried or seasoned either they said there was nothing more they could do for me. They suggested I find a dry place to store it and wait until it was seasoned. If you don't mind wet wood, the positive side of the O'Malley Brothers is they respond promptly and deliver on time, but you certainly shouldn't pay the premium for dried or seasoned wood. If you are going to order from them I would buy a moisture meter ahead of time and ask to test a couple of pieces before they dump it out of the truck.
Description of Work
They were supposed to provide a cord of seasoned, dry firewood and then another of kiln dried firewood
Category
firewood
Lloyd O.
5.0
10/06/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They sold firewood.
Category
firewood

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the "A" rating!!! We look forward to doing business with you again!!!
PAUL A.
5.0
06/25/2015
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
firewood
carl P.
4.0
12/18/2014
Delivery was originally scheduled for between 9 - 11AM. After one call saying they were running late - maybe Noon, and another call saying they'd had a breakdown, the delivery finally occurred about 3PM. Not a big deal for me on that particular Saturday, but for someone else or another day, might be an issue. Quality of the firewood was excellent - as described and better - but the load was not a full cord. After stacking the wood (the only way to be sure about these things) I found myself about 15% short. Called O'Malley Bros. on Monday, the 15th and left a message. The guy who returned my call was the same guy who delivered the wood. I emailed pictures of the stacked wood to him that same day and asked him to let me know how this would be resolved right away. I did not hear back from anyone 'til I joined Angie's List and complained via your website on Tuesday. O'Malley's offered to reimburse me for the missing wood but I told them I'd prefer the wood next time they were in the area. They agreed and I emailed them the address again. OK so far, but we'll see what we see when (if) we see it. The experience could have been better, but also could have been a lot worse. The jury is still out.....
Description of Work
Delivered a cord of firewood.
Category
firewood
Deborah D.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Category
firewood
Sherrie L.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Category
firewood
Carol M.
5.0
12/08/2014
Delivered wood on the date promised. Stacked it too for a small fee @ each house (included in total of $420). Nice to have it split between the houses by the driver, plus stacked, so we did not have to get a truck to haul from one house to the other.
Description of Work
delivered a cord of firewood; split between 2 houses.
Category
firewood
Maureen D.
5.0
10/10/2014
This company was excellent to work with. I called in just to get information and prices . Mike was very helpful. I thanked him and that was that. The next day I decided to order wood and I called in the morning, they had wood delivered that same day, and a very nice young man that worked for the company did a great job of stacking the wood. I think his name was CL , I am terrible with names but a very pleasant person. He stacked everything just where I requested and boy was he a worker. I received the 7% senior discount and everything went perfect. I will definitely call them again. Usually my husband takes care of all this but he was fishing and I decided to get this done while the weather was good. This couldn't have been any easier. The wood looks great and I am really please with the quality.
Description of Work
Ordered, delivered and stacked 1 chord of mix seasoned wood.
Category
firewood
KENN B.
5.0
09/29/2014
had two mixed cords of wood delivered and was very happy with the quality and cost this is the second year in a row we have bought from O'Malley Brothers and we will continue to buy from them. Very nice, split down well and seasonsed and ready to burn. We have been so happy we are having them do other work for us too
Description of Work
provided 2 cords of wood
Category
firewood
Thomas and Shelly V.
5.0
09/17/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Ordered a cord of "seasoned" wood to be delivered. Got just what I ordered. Prompt!
Category
firewood
PAUL A.
5.0
09/03/2014
The office responded timely by email using Angie's email functions. Steve showed up on time. Followed my instructions on where to stack wood in pagoda. Worked right along and was done in less than two hours. Periodically checked with me to see how I liked the job. Steve courteous, friendly and a hard worker.
Description of Work
Delivered and stacked a cord o' mixed, kiln dried firewood.
Category
firewood
Philip K.
5.0
06/18/2014
Called O'Malley Brothers on Tuesday afternoon and they delivered on Wednesday morning. Purchased a mixed (oak/fir) cord of kiln dried firewood for delivery. They gave me a 2 hour window for the delivery and they were on time. The driver was very friendly and professional. He made the effort to dump the load right in front of my wood crib and took care to see that all of the pieces made it out of the bed of the truck. They were fast, friendly, and efficient with a fair price for kiln dried firewood.
Description of Work
Delivered a mixed cord (fir/oak) of kiln dried firewood
Category
firewood
JEFF W.
5.0
12/17/2013
I called during the end of the local cold snap, so they were extremely busy. Most Craigslist folks were either out of wood, or would not return calls. I left a message and OMalley Brothers called back right after I found a local cord of fir. I really wanted hardwood since I have enough fir to get the hardwood burning. When he called I got a quote for hardwood and found out they were pretty far away. We worked out a fair price delivered. (Supply was scarce and I understand the distance they had to come out to deliver). We made arrangements to have the wood delivered the next day. I was at work, so could not be there at time of delivery. I left cash for him and he delivered the wood. He called to confirm delivery and I feel they were professional during all communications. When I went to stack the wood a few days later, I noticed a mixup with a small percentage of fir and an abnormal amount of scrap pieces and small chips. I called to mention this and sent a couple pictures on request. Today they came back out with more hardwood to make up for the inconvenience and shortage of scraps, and softwood that was in the mix. They are working on their loading process that generates the scraps. I appreciate that they stood behind their product and made good on the deal. Especially since I am not conveniently close. I will likely choose them when I need wood next year. I will confirm they worked out the scrap pieces issue.
Description of Work
Bought one cord of hardwood delivered.
Category
firewood
Julie L.
5.0
12/12/2013
Great, respnsive and prompt. Good quality wood.
Description of Work
wood delivery
Category
firewood
Dave K.
4.0
12/10/2013
Dropped off wet wood - doesn't burn well at all. Additionally, there were very few cut logs...it was mostly in the form of kindling. Over the phone he mentioned that he had "maybe 50 pieces of wood registering around 20-25% moisture". Got home last night and most of the wood was damp/wet/frozen.
Description of Work
Firewood delivery.
Category
firewood
Paula R.
5.0
12/09/2013
Called for firewood information received a quick response and had firewood delivered within a couple of days. This is my second load of firewood from OMalleys
Description of Work
Received one cord of firewood. Delivered and unloaded.
Category
firewood
Helen V.
2.0
12/08/2013
As described above, the wood was delivered the same day as I placed my order. The delivery man was very clean, polite and professional. He dumped the load as close as to where I requested and then he left. I recently had surgery on my foot, so could not be outside when it was stacked. My daughter who was helping to stack it made mention as to how wet and heavy it was. I then went outside and it was not just one piece of one type but all of the wood. I attempted to use it and after a few days called and voiced my concern. The gentleman on the phone said he was waiting for my call that it was a mistake and he would be bringing my dry wood on 12/8/2013. When I called in the late afternoon, a man said he would be out. A few hours later (getting dark) I called again and the man was rude, said I wasn't who he thought I was and the wood was fine, hand picked and met the qualifications of moisture content. After some put down comments to me, I hung up. My granddaughter called him and he was even more rude with her and said he would bring me some dry wood. He did in fact show up with some scrap pieces of junk wood, enough to fill two yellow recycle bins. He measured the wood with my daughter present and advised, the wood is fine. Never ever, will I use this company again. Not necessary over the wet wood or the promised dry wood that was scraps but the very put down attitude and condescending manner.
Description of Work
I called, placed an order for a cord of assorted dry seasoned (as advertised) to be delivered to my home in Canby. I was told one to two days. Later, same day, received a phone call that they could deliver it that day. The man came, dropped the wood and left.
Category
firewood

Service Provider Response

We sent one of our company representatives out to [removed member name] house on Sunday 12/8 to resolve this complaint. On arrival Dirk (OBC Employee) tested random samples of the wood delivered with a General brand moisture meter. He was very transparent with the testing, letting Mrs. Vance's daughter witness the results. Fir tested between 17-19% Alder tested between 24-25% Maple tested at 22-25% In addition, the "junk" wood that was brought out on the second visit was in fact fir kindling to assist Mrs. Vance when starting her fire, and was brought as a good faith gesture and free of charge. We are confident that this was a fair delivery as advertised, however if there is something we can do to appease Mrs. Vance, we would gladly do so.
Robin N.
2.0
12/06/2013
Did not get my firewood...kind of a bummer.
Description of Work
Hard to write a review as they said they would deliver a cord of wood but never saw them . Talked to a gentleman on the phone who took my number and address and said he would come later that day or the next. Unfortunately, I never heard back. I guess he forgot.
Category
firewood

Service Provider Response

I apologize that your order did not get processed, and that no one gave you a return call. If you have not yet got your wood, and you would consider giving us a second chance, we will get you taken care of. And we would be happy to give you a discount on your order to make it up to you. Thanks for your time. Mike O'Malley Direct cell 503-407-9058 , please leave a message if I don't awnser.
John W.
5.0
12/05/2013
I wanted a half cord of hardwood firewood; they only deliver full cords. That's not at all unusual, and was not a firm requirement. I really wanted ONLY hardwood, and need dry, well seasoned firewood so that I could have a nice fire in the wood stove on Thanksgiving. | |O'Malley Brothers were very responsive, giving me next-day service during a time when lots of people want firewood right away. If you check the listings on Craig's List, $260 for a full cord of nice and dry maple is a pretty good price. It was at least a full cord, I think it was generous. When it arrived, Dirk told me that most was the really dry wood, but they didn't have a full cord and I got some not-so-dry. Perhaps they should have had that a bit more upfront, but the load had plenty of dry wood to last me plenty long, so it wasn't a problem. We had a bit of back-and-forth on the actual time of day for delivery, but Dirk delivered the day he said he would, and called me at work so I didn't spend a lot of work time waiting at home. | |So- bottom line is great wood, delivered very quickly for a good price. The small problems with communication are the reason for the B in professionalism. My experience with firewood sellers tells me that this is par for the course, and overall O'Malley Brothers are better than my expectations.
Description of Work
.
Category
firewood
Paula R.
5.0
11/12/2013
They have a dedicated number for firewood orders, so the person who answers knows what they are talking about as far as pricing, delivery schedule, and type's of product available. I left a voicemail and it was promptly returned, and we made a deal on price and delivery time. The driver called ahead of the scheduled delivery time to let me know he was running a few minutes (30) behind. Upon delivery, the driver was very professional and courteous, and the company has a nice, clean delivery truck. The wood was dumped where I requested, and was definitely a full cord of good seasoned wood.
Description of Work
O'Malley Bros supplied our family with our first cord of wood for the winter.
Category
firewood

Phone

Address

30855 Ely Rd

Estacada, OR 97023

Service Categories

Auto Service
Rentals - Equipment

Other Information

Services offered

We are proud to offer Portland's BEST heating, cooking, and camping wood, and PORTLANDS ONLY commercial firewood kiln! MAKE US YOUR FIRST AND ONLY CALL FOR QUALTIY FIREWOOD ! We also offer forestry related transportation, construction, and maintenance services, customized. contract logging packages, land clearing, and general excavation.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard

FAQ

O'Malley Brothers Corporation is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

O'Malley Brothers Corporation is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

O'Malley Brothers Corporation accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

No, O'Malley Brothers Corporation does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, O'Malley Brothers Corporation offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, O'Malley Brothers Corporation does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, O'Malley Brothers Corporation offers emergency services.

No, O'Malley Brothers Corporation does not offer warranties.

O'Malley Brothers Corporation offers the following services: We are proud to offer Portland's BEST heating, cooking, and camping wood, and PORTLANDS ONLY commercial firewood kiln! MAKE US YOUR FIRST AND ONLY CALL FOR QUALTIY FIREWOOD ! We also offer forestry related transportation, construction, and maintenance services, customized. contract logging packages, land clearing, and general excavation.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

IN AND OUT AUTO CARE

5.0

(17)

Angi Certified

IN AND OUT AUTO CARE

Taking Great Care Of Cars Since 2001 In and Out Auto Care is a family owned business delivering honest and professional automotive repair and car maintenance services to people in Gladstone and surrounding areas, including Milwaukie, Oregon City and West Linn. Our quality ASE certified technicians employ the latest automotive technology and are equipped to handle all major and minor repairs on foreign and domestic vehicles.  

GRIMMS SERVICE

5.0

(38)

Angi Certified

GRIMMS SERVICE

Family owned and opperated business that believes in honest relationships with our customers.  

Junk King Portland

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Junk King Portland

Stress Free Junk Removal to help you reclaim your space and get back to doing what you love. We continue to do things the old-fashioned way, your way ensuring your stress free experience and doing all the work to make you look like a superstar. We offer fair, up-front pricing, call you 15 - 30 minutes ahead of every job, and sweep up after ourselves. It's the Junk King way. Call us today and experience the joy, guaranteed at 1-888-888-JUNK [5865]. Additional services: shed removal, deck removal, items too bulky or dirty & items too large to leave curbside, commercial clients, storage units, real estate agents, property managers, estate sales, small building demolition & removal and donations. Call Us at 1-888-888-5865