Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DW HART WOODWORKING INC

Founded 1989 • With Angi since March 2006

5.0

(11) Verified Reviews

General Remodeling

Description

For 20 years we have been helping the homeowners in the Portland-metro area create fantastic designs in decks, gates, fences, spas and other projects the require the skill and workmanship we bring to our projects. We can help make your dreams and desires a reality. ADDITIONAL #: 503-514-9889. CCB #104432....

Other local Pros in your area

Mountain View Decks & Renovation

With over 7 years of deck building and renovation experience, we are here to meet all your renovation needs and dreams.  

YTO Exteriors LLC

Specialize in wood fencing, chain link, PVC, vinyl and decks. My company is reliable with excelent work ethics that takes pride in a work well done. YTOexteriorsllc is an owner operated company with 5 years experience.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
D&D Decking

Decking and Roofing contractor based in Portland  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/07/2015

Derek was professional and flexible. We were designing the deck for some specific functions, namely to have a large eating area with a covered cooking center (so that my husband would still smoke salmon the half of the year that it rains!), as well as a smaller deck that could safely support a hot tub. We had ideas of how we wanted it to appear visually as well, and Derek was patient and flexible, helping us problem solve to get the aesthetic we desired, and ensuring appropriate function and safety. He offered excellent suggestions for accomplishing all the goals, and was responsive to comments and requests for minor adaptations along the way. His team was professional as well, and they picked up and carefully kept the surrounding yard as functional as possible throughout the time they worked. There was also coordination necessary with other teams (we were also residing the house as well as having an electrician wire the hot tub and the cooking area), and he worked well with these teams. Our only snafu came at the time of the city electrical inspection, which technically was not Derek's responsibility, but they did not pass us initially because the metal used in the railings was within 5 feet of the tub, and metal cannot be that close without being grounded. Derek said had not encountered this concern before. It was remedied by our electrician through pain-stakingly grounding each individual section of the aluminum railing (the sections were separated by composite posts, so there wasn't adequate conductance from section to section), but we thought it was strange that Derek didn't anticipate this potential issue, since he was specifically recommended by our hot tub vendor due to his expertise in this area (having worked with their customers for approaching 2 decades). Perhaps we just had an over-zealous inspector, but it was a source of frustration for us as well as our electrician. But that being said, our overall experience with Derek was positive, the deck is gorgeous and we've had rave reviews from all who have seen and enjoyed it thusfar, and we are very satisfied and happy. We definitely recommend him for future work.

Description of Work
Removed old wood deck, built new two level composite deck custom designed to accommodate both a new hot tub as well as a covered cooking area.

Category decks

5.0

12/31/2014

Derek is clever with design and helped create our beautiful Trex deck, railing and later custom gates for the railing deck entrances. He was able to customize the deck to allow for a new Hot Tub to be installed below ground. He was on time, he and his workers worked hard and finished by cleaning up each day. The job was completed to my satisfaction and on time.

Description of Work
2 Custom Aluminum deck gates. DW Hart also specializes in decking. He has done Trex Deck and aluminum railing on our property

Category decks

5.0

03/01/2014

They met the schedule and were attentive throughout the job. They did a wonderful job and exceeded our expectations. No detail was overlooked and the deck turned out great.

Description of Work
DW Hart constructed a deck in our back yard.

Category decks

5.0

12/15/2013

Derek was informative and honest. He kept the stated schedule and the quality of work was excellent. |I went with DW Hart because he clearly demonstrated his intent to perform quality work. I had received a lower quote from another contractor but he did not present the same level of professionalism and interest in quality that Derek had. |DW Hart was worth the extra money.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/23/2012

He did all this promptly and professionally. He made the process seamless and coordinated with the hot tub company. The price was reasonable and well worth it. He showed up exactly when he said he would and left no mess behind. Looks great and was about as easy as the process could be.

Description of Work
To install a new hot tub, I needed Derek to take disassemble part of a backyard fence/ remove an old hot tub/ rebuild the deck/ wait for installation of the new hot tub/ return and reassemble the fence.

Category decks,fencing

5.0

10/18/2010

D W Hart did an excellent job of designing a deck that we wanted. He and his crew did a masterful construction job. Always finished the day with organizing their equipment so they would be ready to work the next day. I would definitely use them for any future deck construction.

Description of Work
Replace a second story cantilevered deck. Replaced with a deck supported by posts. Designed and constructed so to not interfere with view from windows below.

Category decks

5.0

04/09/2010

Derek and his team came out and assembled my gazebo cover. Each of the men were very polite and friendly. As they worked you could see that they all were very expierienced and capable. They put in full days and had the job done in 3 days. Which is what was promised. Derek was able to take what we told him and build exactly what we wanted, actually exceeding our expectations. If you want quality, speed, and professionalism, hire DW Hart Woodworking. Their prices and commitment are superior.

Description of Work
I hired Derek and his team to construct a gazebo style cover over our concrete patio that is detached from the house.

Category decks,siding

5.0

03/03/2009

He returns calls promptly He is always available in a reasonable amount of time to do a personal visit, measuring and bid. The work is remarkable and he is always on budget ... and on time!

Description of Work
We have hired Derek three times for projects. Spa gazebo (including reinforcing the structure to hold the weight) and huge patio roof, as well as a small deck. He always does more than expected and the quality is amazing. Although we have an idea in mind, Derek is a talented designer who offers suggestions for a more finished look.

Category decks

5.0

04/09/2008

This was an excellent experience from start to finish! Derek came over to give us a bid and realized that we really needed help siting and designing the entire project. He made several recommendations and showed us photographs of other gazebos he had built. He then worked up a design that we liked. He helped us find a concrete layer that he trusted and gave him instructions about what we needed. Derek built the complete structure in a little over a week, despite very rainy, cold weather on several of the days. The entire crew was professional, detail oriented and hard-working. The site was cleaned up every day. The job was completed exactly as promised!

Description of Work
Derek designed and built a 12' x 14' partially enclosed gazebo for a spa. The gazebo is a 4-sided structure. The sides are 7 1/2' tall with 38" high walls with sills and open upper areas on 3 1/2 sides. The entry way is 8' wide to allow for the spa to be moved in and out. The roof line runs from 7 1/2' up to 11' with approximately a 3' flat section over the 14' stretch. The roof is composition tile matching our house. The siding is painted Hardiplank, also matching our house. The interior of the roof is is open beam finished with a light cedar stain. The structure sits on a 12' x 14' concrete pad. Derek and his 2 employees constructed and finished everything themselves.

Category decks,siding

5.0

04/25/2007

Derek has the kind of personality that a person would want to have in a contractor. He is willing to listen and give his suggestions. Also, willing to accomodate various changes that I had. Building a deck using IPE was one of the few challenges that Derek had but he took everything in stride and the outcome was wonderful. There were a few challenges during the construction around the stairs, etc but Derek always has a solution that made everything fit together nicely. The construction took longer than anticipated, but I rather have it that way than rushing thru the process. I highly recommend him for any outdoor woodworking projects.

Description of Work
Built a stand alone IPE deck with aluminum railings. Incorporated post and step lighting cut-outs. I installed the lighting fixtures/wiring myself. Derek supplied the drawings and obtained the necessary permit and inspections for the deck.

Category decks

    Services Offered

    CEDAR DECKS, COMPOSITE DECKS, SPA INSTALLATIONS, ARBORS & ROOFS, GATES AND RAILS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    No