Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

HOMEMASTERS Portland East

Founded 2013 • With Angi since May 2014

4.5

(119) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12900 SE Richey Rd

Boring, OR 97009

Description

We have 9 employees to serve your needs to be the 1 stop solution our customers. We also have great financing options available as well.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Julie R.
5.0
06/20/2019
Homemasters replaced my cedar shake roof. They've done work at my home in the past or provided estimates and have always been on time. Roof was done within the timeframe promised and no unexpected expenses occurred. They cleaned up and took care of a minor clean up issue I noticed after they left. Price is competitive and good warranty.
Description of Work
New Roof..
Category
roofing
Karen G.
5.0
09/19/2018
I called Homemasters in hope that they could do an emergency service call for me. Jenise was wonderful to work with. She called the service guys and had them rearrange there schedule and got them out the same day. Yes there was an extra charge but it was worth the peace of mind. I have forgotten his name but he guy who actually did the worked called while he ws on the roof and and gave me an update. Still awaiting pictures but would definitely use then again.
Description of Work
Gutters cleaned
Category
gutter cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for the kind words and great review. We strive to provide exceptional service with fair prices. I will reach out to the tech on site and see if there is any information that needs to be passed on to you. Thanks again, this review means a lot!!
RUTH P.
5.0
01/29/2018
Steve came out on time at the appointed time and was professional, knowledgeable and friendly. He showed us all our options and we made our choices and set up a time for his crew to do the work. He threw in the roof cleaning as a bonus! They are very busy and the date was about 6 weeks after our initial discussion. Steve called a few weeks later saying they had an emergency job (a big one) that needed doing and could we postpone a week. That was fine. The crew showed up on time ready to go. They did an excellent job. We had agreed to have special gutter guards put on the the gutters, but discovered that our roof shingles were glued down at the edge and wouldn't allow it. The crew put in downspouts that could be cleaned out instead. This all reduced our price considerably. Because of weather and the change in the job, it took a few more hours the next day, for which we were not charged a lot extra.
Description of Work
We needed gutters and downspouts replaced on our home. We also needed the roof cleaned off and moss treatment applied.
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roof cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for the kind words and the excellent rating. Your satisfaction is truly our end goal and we appreciate your business and support. Do not hesitate if there is some way we can serve in the future. Steve/ Owner
elsie G.
1.0
10/11/2017
I will say my roof finally got replaced by steve again after along hard fight and battle. My son ended up being admitted to the hospital for 3 weeks because of a lung infection due to mold because of the roof leaking. He has custic fibrosis and steve knew that since day 1 and it took 2 1/2 years and threats of suing him to get this done. Do not use this company I have been contacted by so many people out there just like me that paid thousands of dollars to steve and were ripped off.
Description of Work
Roof replacement x 2 because of the shotty work that was done by homemasters the first time in november 2014. So much damage to my home and I'm still paying for all of the stuff we had to replace and cleaning services.
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing
Marty B.
2.0
07/03/2017
It was a horrible experience, and we never did get the painting done. We negotiated and settled with the company after ten months had passed and the roof, soffit, and gutter jobs had finally been completed. The roof leak that caused us to seek roof replacement was actually made worse by their roofers, and we had to call them back multiple times over many months before the leaks stopped and we were willing to sign off. The soffit job is so amateur as to be an embarrassment-- uneven cuts, gaps between boards--as attested by the painters we have had come out recently to bid on the paint job that Homemasters never got around to. Perhpas the worst experience was with the debris that littered our yard, driveway, and walkways for months. All three occupants of our household stepped on roofing nails at some point, even after we asked for clean-up. We were lucky that they punctured only our shoes. But the fourth time was not so lucky, requiring me to go for a tetanus shot. We demanded a thorough cleanup after that and got an immediate response--with a magnet sweep--but months later we are still finding stray nails (roofing nails land facing upward) and pieces of wood with protruding nails in our shrubbery. We withheld the last payment on the work, and the owner of the franchise ultimately agreed to close the ticket for the amount already paid, canceling the paint job. Still, the $22k we paid was far too much for the results we got.
Description of Work
We went with Homemasters because their salesperson persuaded us it was "one-stop shopping" for the new roof AND exterior house painting we needed. We did not anticipate however, that they would treat not only those two jobs as completely separate, with separate contracts, work teams, due dates, and deposits, but that the replacement of the soffits under the eaves and the gutter replacement were also separate jobs, leading to much confusion and chaos over a ten month period.
Category
gutter repair, handyman service, roofing, house painters
Ken W.
5.0
02/25/2017
Overall, it went well. Chose a color and style that worked well for the house.
Description of Work
Installed gutters.
Category
gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're glad to hear that you are happy with the work done to your gutters. Please think of us the next time you are considering a home improvement project.
Ken W.
3.0
02/25/2017
Not well. They did great with the gutters, but this project was not done with excellence. Installers were great people, but a few of their choices they made in the process of repair were poor. I decided to use them for a gutter project that went well - but for repairs like this, I would not use them again. Used wrong wood for outside window framing and used cardboard as shims when they ran out of wooden shims. Other issues as well, but suffice to say - just not an experience I'd do twice. Owner did do his best to resolve issues when I raised them, and for that - I give them credit and went forward on a gutter job. But for siding repair or general handyman work - I would not work with them again.
Description of Work
Repaired water damaged siding and window moldings.
Category
siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review both of your projects. We appreciate your willingness to work with ownership to let us make things right. We strive to make sure that all of our customers are happy with the end result. We appreciate feedback and use it to constantly improve.
Marty B.
2.0
12/29/2016
My first contact was in June for a summer project before the rains. We've reached January and we have a new roof that still leaks, no soffits replaced under the eaves, removed gutters and exterior lighting, and no painting done. Their friendly and credible sales agent convinced me it would be more efficient to let them handle it all--one point of contact. She subsequently left the company, and it took 3 months for them to recreate the lost bid and another month to begin work. I also discovered that I have to work with 4 separate teams: roofing, soffits, gutters, and painting; who have no idea what the other teams are doing or have done. They show up unannounced, or don't show up when expected. They don't call to schedule or update us. And yet, 30 days after the roofing alone was done (sans soffits or gutters, and still leaking), they were prompt to remind me that my payment was late. Still trusting at that point in time, I drove the payment to their office the same day. Certainly, a few days of snow and a week of rain have hampered the completion of the work, but, firstly, it was not we who delayed the work into the winter season, and secondly, they should either not start a job without completion in sight, or make every effort to avail themselves of weather conditions that do allow them to complete it as soon as possible. Above all, they should keep us informed of what to expect. We're 6 months since first contact, and the painting will certainly not happen until spring, 10 months or more from my first phone call. No word on whether the roofing needs to be redone, but the fact that the soffit work has been halted suggests that perhaps that is what they are waiting for. I have been told repeatedly that Diana will call me to schedule, but I'm still waiting.
Description of Work
New roof and house painting
Category
gutter repair, roofing, pressure washing, house painters
Jame W.
3.0
09/26/2016
Job started 5/4/2016 still not done. Prep done for painting was poor. Everything else good
Description of Work
put in a new window/ fix roof/ paint house/ put in down spout
Category
gutter cleaning, roofing, pressure washing, house painters
Corey O.
5.0
05/10/2016
As the rain moved in last Fall we discovered a couple spots where the metal gutters had rusted through and were dripping causing rust color stains on the fascia boards and siding. Owner Steve Frick came out and gave a bid on just fixing the stretch that was holding water. He presented an option to do the entire aluminium gutter system with a lifetime warranty. After careful consideration we decided to do the job the right way. Unfortunately for me I have a hip system so the gutters go all the way around the house and do not stop. Steve was one of six proposals. While they weren't the least expensive, I saw the quality and value in their service and lifetime transferable warranty backed by a franchise company. When we had hiccups or issues, the folks in the office were quick to make it right, which reaffirmed their philosophy to take care of each customer. We're looking forward to further projects with Homemasters Portland East! Thanks Steve and team!
Description of Work
Replaced Gutters and Down Spouts
Category
gutter repair
Gerald S.
5.0
03/31/2016
The work was done through a series of 3 contracts as additional problems became apparent. Each time the estimator was right on time and equipped with a tall ladder to inspect areas needing repair. He was obviously very experienced in the work and discussed in lay terms what would be needed. The price was very competitive and there was no sales pressure. The work crews arrived on time, did their work very professionally and cleaned up thoroughly. Not only did the work exceed our expectations but also we were treated respectfully by everyone from the office lady to the repair crews.
Description of Work
Repaired water damage to ceiling, put on new downspouts configured and sized to stop water overflow, replaced 12 Hardiplanks and removed 4 ft of roofing and the flashing to replace it with a snow and ice barrier, new felt and shingles and new correctly sized and installed flashing.
Category
drywall, gutter repair, roofing, siding
Michael F.
5.0
10/05/2015
The guys were great. Very prompt, very courteous. Did the work and looked great.
Description of Work
Fixed under eaves of roof
Category
gutter cleaning, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for the kind words and review. We truly enjoy to serve and are striving to elevate the level of professionalism in our industry. We hope you will continue to keep us in mind for any Roof, Gutter and or Handyman needs. Steve / Owner
Barbara M.
1.0
09/25/2015
Don came over to write the proposal for the work. They were supposed to install a new ceiling fan and a new porch light. Don said they could get everything done, and that they would send two people over. Greg, the tech from Home Masters, showed up today, over two hours late for the appointment. He was the only person. My wife was home alone, and noticed that they didn?t even bring any equipment. She called me and I left work and came home early. When I came in, Greg, the service tech was standing on my box spring to reach the fan. I asked him to stop working. He said that he could not reach the ceiling. He didn?t even have a ladder, just a step ladder in the truck. He could not get the ladder in because he couldn?t move the box spring. My disabled wife actually helped him move the mattress and even offered to help him move the box spring. He was obviously not prepared to do the job, and didn?t even have the equipment. I called the Don, who wrote up the proposal, to ask what was going on. He said it was all an oversight on his part. Greg, the tech left. I called Arle in the office and asked him to send Greg back. That?s when Arle told me that they never send two guys out, contrary to what Don said when he was writing the proposal. Greg came back and left my lights on the porch. I spoke to Don, and he said that he was having some personal problems and that I would not be charged anything. I am very upset. I have wires hanging out of the ceiling, and now have to find someone else to finish this job. I do not want these guys back in my house. I just want my $200 back. I would never hire this company again.
Description of Work
They were supposed to install a new ceiling fan and a new porch light.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

I would like to offer my apologies for you not being happy with the process of dealing with Homemasters. We strive to excel in the details and setting the expectations correctly up front so ensure success for all of us. I am sorry that Don's situations got in the way of that. We have addressed and corrected the issue here. I know you may not allow, but if you were to give us a second chance in the future I promise that your experience will be completely different.
Mary E.
5.0
09/06/2015
Very Well, they proved to be worth their fee. Provided free estimate, did the work honorably and lived up to their advertisement. I would hire them again and have no hesitation recommending them.
Description of Work
replaced old gutter system with one that really works
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for such kind words. Your satisfaction means everything to us and we love the fact that you would recommend us in the future. Please remember that we have a referral program and have them mention you by name to take advantage of that. Thanks again for your trust and business. Steve / Owner
Karen M.
5.0
07/18/2015
Don from Sales was very nice to work with. He came out and reviewed the work, gave us a good estimate of repairs that needed done, and told us he would be watching the weather forecast to schedule the job during sunny days. Next day he called us and scheduled the work based on the forecast. The job was completed within 2 weeks of ordering off Angie's List. Initially, Don thought the job could be completed in 2 days. Some damaged plywood and facia was discovered upon removal of the old roof. The entire job took only 3-1/2 days and the weather cooperated. During the work Don followed up with us a couple of times. The crew was friendly, hard workers and on time daily. They did a great job of cleaning up during and after the project. We are very pleased with the work performed and impressed with Don and the crew's outstanding professionalism. There was fantastic communication between Don and the crew about necessary repairs and time schedules. Every company should function like Homemasters. The job was completed on 3/15/14. They provide a wonderful warranty on labor (20 years) and the roofing materials (30 years). We have had a few of small things come up since the repair, gutters adjustment, and two leaking skylights for a total of 3 after-job visits. Steve from the office had someone out here next day (once, same day) to follow up. The work was completed promptly and the repairs were correct. I really appreciate their responsiveness. They were quick to respond even though the crews were on other jobs. They made sure someone came to take care of the problems. Good company.
Description of Work
Our entire roof was replaced (40 squares), a big job. Roof replacement and facia replacement
Category
gutter cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member's name removed] thank you so much for the nice remarks. Your warranty with us is very important to us and we stand behind our work 100%. Thanks again for the review and please let us now if we can assist you in the future.
DAVID H.
5.0
07/02/2015
He did great job, on time and on budget. I'll get him again
Description of Work
Reset and rehung pasture-type gate.
Category
gutter cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. Please let us know if we can help in the future.
Elizabeth L.
5.0
06/30/2015
We were very happy with this company! Their sales manager came right out to give us a bid on the job. His price was unbeatable. When Zach and his team came to do the job, we discussed our concerns about debris in the flower beds and garden. They took everything we said to heart and did a fabulous job on the roof and cleaning up! Everything looked perfect and they worked efficiently. We will not hesitate to have them back.
Description of Work
Full service cleaning of roof and gutters on a 3 story home. Cleaned all skylights.
Category
gutter cleaning, roofing, roof cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for such kind words. We strive to hire the best employees with the customers interest in mind. Please et us know if we can further assist with any future projects. Steve / Owner
Rian S.
5.0
02/25/2015
I really liked Don, the salesman, from the start. I had looked for roofers on Angie's list and ended up getting quotes from 5 other roofers. I hadn't come across Homemasters until they left a flier on my house. Don knew his stuff! He is trained and certified in his business, as well as with the Certanteed company that makes the shingles they use. He knew how his product was rated by companies like BBB and Consumer Reports. He also got me the Energy Star shingles so we can use them as a credit on our taxes. Everything was weather proofed and put together per the manufacturer's specific recommendations. It took about two days to do although it took about two weeks to schedule related to Oregon's rainy weather. The workers cleaned up nicely and did the magnet check for extra nails. Homemasters was my second lowest bid but their promise of guarantees from them and the manufacturer put them way ahead. I only gave them a B on price because $10K is sort of a shocking number to me, I wasn't expecting it to be so expensive but our bids ranged from $8K-$18K.) Our roof looks great and my mind is at ease with Troutdale's wind storm season in high gear!
Description of Work
Completely removed our old roof and placed a new one with a lifetime warranty from them as well as from Certainteed, the shingle maker.
Category
gutter cleaning, handyman service, roofing

Service Provider Response

thank you so much for all the kind words. I am so happy that you were pleased with our organization from start to finish. We pride ourselves on being educated in all aspects. Thank you so much and we hope that you will refer us if the situation arises. Steve, Owner
Carolyn E.
5.0
02/17/2015
Sales Manager Don Bruton described process very thoroughly after providing estimate. (It was helpful to be told that they also provide handyman services.) Workers were punctual each day and I appreciated the responsiveness when I was concerned about the work causing a stain on my freshly cleaned driveway. They made sure it was totally removed when they finished the job. We have had some heavy rain and winds since the job was completed and for the first time in quite a while, we didn't have to listen to water dripping and running because the gutters were such a mess. Weather turned as the job was finished so I'm still awaiting painting to cover nails.
Description of Work
Replaced gutters and downspouts.
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair, handyman service, roofing

Service Provider Response

Good morning (Member name removed), Thank you so much for the kind words and response. I am so pleased that you are happy with the service and the team. We are scheduled to be out tomorrow to complete the touch up painting for you since the weather has improved. We hope that you will look to us for your Handyman services and any other services needed in the future. Thanks again Steve Owner
Mike S.
5.0
02/10/2015
Don was professional and experienced we are likely going with Don just pending structral engineer
Description of Work
Don was the only roofer of six including the insurance adjuster that knew what our problem was. All roofers but one agreed our roof was in very good to excellent condition and did not need to be replaced. All were unable to determine a reason for leaking except Don. Don seemed knowledgable and experienced given recent wind storm we are told have wind driven rain damage and need winter guard flashing and some minor repairs to prevent further damage. He explained that the heavy winds had damaged our flashing and that to prevent repeat episodes we should install a more heavy duty flashing.
Category
gutter cleaning, roofing

Service Provider Response

Good morning [member name removed], thank you for the kind words about Don. We pride ourselves on being educated in our field and I am happy that Don was able to help. We look forward to serving you in the future. Warm regards, Steve Owner
Judy F.
3.0
10/30/2014
It's been a big frustration for me. They haven't done what I need them to do yet. It's been 2-1/2 weeks. I feel like they've been avoiding me. Hopefully they keep their appointment next week.
Description of Work
I was trying to hire them to do some housepainting and a few other items.
Category
handyman service
Mindy G.
5.0
10/21/2014
The owner came out himself to be sure we received prompt professional service even though it was a small job. He did the work himself and was readily available to answer any follow up questions.
Description of Work
Fixed rusty gutters
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair
Robert B.
5.0
09/16/2014
The job went very well. They were within budget. They kept the job site clean and cleaned up after the job. They worked well with us on just what needed to be done and how I wanted the job accomplished. I have, and will continue to recommend this crew to anyone needing their services. I have other jobs I will be doing in the future and they will be my first contact.
Description of Work
Removed and replaced steps, railing, some deck boards and a roof on a deck. Also cleaned and removed moss or the main house roof and cleaned the gutters.
Category
gutter cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words and the great review. We look forward to helping and serving you here in the future. Steve
JUDITH B.
5.0
08/03/2014
They did an excellent job and were finished in a short time. I appreciate that they did not use harsh cleaning methods on my roof. They also reported that my roof is still in good condition. (I had used a roof cleaning company a few years ago who informed me that my roof would need replacement soon. Homemasters had cleaned it in 2012 and I was happy then with their work.)
Description of Work
A team of three men arrived at 8:00 as scheduled and cleaned my roof and gutters and applied a moss deterrent.
Category
gutter cleaning

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], thank you so much for the kind words!! We truly appreciate your current and repeat business. We hope that you will continue to use us and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations!!
Delicia Y.
5.0
02/25/2014
I purchased an Angie's List Big Deal for this service and it was good.
Description of Work
I used Homemasters for gutter and roof cleaning.
Category
gutter cleaning, roof cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It’s always good to hear that our team worked well to help one of our valued customers. Thanks again, Gary

    Other local Pros in your area

    Crux Roof & Gutter Cleaning

    Crux Roof & Gutter Cleaning is a local company specializing in roof moss and gutter cleaning services. Crux is dedicated to providing quality and professional cleaning services.  

    Angi Certified

    Cedar Care

    We specialize in maintenance and preservation of cedar shake and shingle roofs, something that many contractors simply don't handle. Our qualified and experienced team is also able to diagnose leaks and other problems, quickly repairing damaged areas of the roof and protecting your home from damage.  

    Angi Certified

    Referred Roof Cleaning & Exteriors

    Referred Roof Cleaning is a full service roof and exterior cleaning company that has served over 2000 residential and commercial clients since 2011. We have a proprietary online bidding system that allows us to perform accurate bids of most projects remotely, saving our customers time a money. We offer a special 10% off discount to all online bids and guarantee you will receive your bid within 24 hours of your inquiry. We also offer in person estimates if that is your preference. Our company motto is "High Quality, Fair Price, Happy Customers". We follow the Platinum rule which is; "Treat others the way they want to be treated".  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    201763
    Trade License Locale
    State of Oregon
    Trade License Authority
    State of Oregon
    Trade License Expiration
    01/15/2018
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    3%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roof Maintenance & Replacement, Gutter Maintenance & Replacement. Full Interior & Exterior Handyman. Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Window Replacement, Siding Replacement

    Services Not Offered

    Underground & Foundation Work. Heavy Electrical Work. Commercial Related.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about HOMEMASTERS Portland East

    How is HOMEMASTERS Portland East overall rated?

    HOMEMASTERS Portland East is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are HOMEMASTERS Portland East open?

    HOMEMASTERS Portland East is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does HOMEMASTERS Portland East provide

    HOMEMASTERS Portland East accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does HOMEMASTERS Portland East offer free estimates?

    Yes, HOMEMASTERS Portland East offers free project estimates.

    Does HOMEMASTERS Portland East offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, HOMEMASTERS Portland East offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does HOMEMASTERS Portland East offer a senior discount?

    Yes, HOMEMASTERS Portland East offers a 3% senior discount.

    Does HOMEMASTERS Portland East offer emergency services?

    Yes, HOMEMASTERS Portland East offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by HOMEMASTERS Portland East?

    Yes, HOMEMASTERS Portland East offers warranties.

    What services does HOMEMASTERS Portland East offer?

    HOMEMASTERS Portland East offers the following services: Roof Maintenance & Replacement, Gutter Maintenance & Replacement. Full Interior & Exterior Handyman. Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Window Replacement, Siding Replacement

    Are there any services HOMEMASTERS Portland East does not offer?

    Underground & Foundation Work. Heavy Electrical Work. Commercial Related.