Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Excavation

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc

Founded 1952 • With Angi since November 2009

4.9

(93) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

63090 Fremont Rd

Bend, OR 97701

Description

Ted Rudiger Jr. Excavation has been in business since 1952 and is a third generation family owned company. We serve the demolition and excavating needs of the Portland metro area providing full excavation, demolition, site work, sewer lines, concrete work, ponds and waterfalls. Payment 1/2 down, final down due upon completion of project. We do take credit cards!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/23/2021


Andrea G.

Ted exceeded our expectations. We hired Ted to create a flat backyard and RV parking on our sloped property. Watching him excavate and move boulders with his equipment was like watching someone use a bionic arm to perform surgery. He removed our existing boulder wall, moved tons of dirt, and rebuilt the wall better than before, with little room for him to maneuver his equipment. We also had Ted dig trenches and remove part of our concrete foundation with great care to not damage the rest. He's talented, precise, creative, committed to do a good job and really pleasant to work with. We're extremely happy and highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Excavation

Category excavators

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review. Glad you are happy! Ted
5.0

08/12/2020


Kyle C.

Ted fit me into a tight opening in his schedule which was much appreciated and then went above and beyond with the work. True to his word and did a great job.

Description of Work
Dirt removal and regrading backyard.

Category excavators

5.0

08/10/2020


Bill O.

Ted was great. He removed a concrete slab and disposed of concrete. Also moved some large rocks in our backyard and placed nicely so we can make steps up the rocks. Did work promptly and even a little extra just to make sure everything looked just right. We are in Bend, OR. He is a good option if you are in Central Oregon.

Description of Work
Concrete removal and large rock placement

Category excavators,landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the review, it will help get us over there. Ted
5.0

06/02/2020


bernie M.

Out of several companies, I chose Ted Rudiger, Excavation Inc. because the company spans three generations and I appreciate professional experience. Furthermore, Mr. Rudiger's estimate was fair and he was not overcharging. Mr. Rudiger and his employee were punctual and pleasant to work with. They explained the work to me at various stages and made sure that the nearby deck was properly reinforced before they started digging. Because of the narrow entrance, all materials had to be brought on site using a wheelbarrow. Mr. Rudiger had promised to do his best to spare some important vegetation and none was removed or damaged. In addition, Mr. Rudiger helped me with the complicated paperwork. He and his staff responded rapidly to my (many) inquiries and were always courteous. The site was left in good shape. We felt that the job was in reliable hands and I definitively recommend this company to others.

Description of Work
Sinkhole, thought to have been caused by old cesspool

Category excavators,pavers, gravel

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. It really was a pleasure working with you, and happy that we got everything straightened out, and final outcome was successful. Thank you again, Ted Ted Rudiger Excavation
1.0

04/22/2020


Kasha S.

I would not recommend anyone to hire this company! They did a job for us and (in my opinion) they totally ripped us off. We had to hire an attorney to deal with him! We had a contract for him to remove fill dirt and put down erosion control, and he did not seem to follow the contract on many levels. We had to hire someone else to correct what they did because we continued to have issues. Consultants told us that he left 3-4 feet of dirt that was all supposed to have been removed down to native and that he put the erosion materiel the wrong way on the hill. We asked him to come back and fix what he failed to do, but he refused. If you want someone honest, in my opinion, I would not recommend anyone hire this guy!

Description of Work
Fill dirt removed and erosion control installed

Category excavators,landscaping,pavers, gravel,asbestos removal,hardscaping

Service Provider Response

First of all this was not an Angie'[Member Information Removed] List project, and to our knowledge you have went to every website possible to slander our company. Legal facts are with CCB and our insurance company, who also provided an engineer to your site, and findings were in our favor. We did have a meet set up with CCB, but you and your attorney cancelled the meeting, so we were not able to resolve. Our insurance company to whom was working with you waited for you to provide addt. info., and you never provided, so they closed the case. CCB has also closed the dispute. City Planner with Ore.City also inspected job site when completed and said that the problem was mitigated. The engineer that was hired from the insurance company disputed your facts and said that it could not have been our company that caused the damage. All engineers that went to site were in our favor, and not to slander your other contractor that went after the fact to your site to fix the septic system that was sliding, this contractor went through the whole project and destroyed everything we did, including fabric, french drain, all the plants and hillside materials placed were destroyed, and your contractor filled his septic hole with the plants that we placed on your hillside. Other pictures and docs show as proof, all in our favor. I am sorry that you feel that this was not resolved, but all inform., docs, pictures, emails show that the damage was not caused from our co.
5.0

07/30/2018


Will M.

Ted was great to work with. He was on time, did the work I asked him to do and exceeded my expectations with the overall quality of the work. There were roots that were buried I didn't know about and more earth to move than he had originally expected. We got it all done and are extremely happy with the result.

Description of Work
Topsoil removed for a new driveway on the side of my home.

Category excavators

5.0

05/16/2018


Gerald J.

This was a great experience. The staff (Roberto, Tyler, Bruce, David and Ted) was excellent and kept me informed daily as what had happened and what was going to happen the next day. They cleaned up after each day and repaired a neighbors fence post that was slightly damaged during demolition. When unexpected issues came up, they found ways to make everything work. Ted ensured everything was done as per our agreement and a bit more. I'm very satisfied with the work done and would use them again if a project needed their expertise.

Description of Work
Replace failing wood retaining walls with stone retaining walls.

Category excavators,hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review. It has been a pleasure doing business with you. On behalf of our team, we thank you! Ted Rudiger
5.0

08/25/2017


barbara S.

The job they did was very well done.

Description of Work
Ted and his crew built a retaining wall, put in French drains and landscaping. They were very professional. They did a wonderful job and went above what was expected without additional cost.

Category landscaping,drain pipe,hardscaping

Service Provider Response

It was a great pleasure to work with this customer. Thank you, Ted
5.0

06/08/2017


Thomas B.

Ted was honest, clear, communicative, and did exactly what he said he would do.

Description of Work
Driveway slope evened out & sewer line replacement

Category concrete repair,excavators,plumbing

5.0

05/16/2017


Yolanda R.

Ted and his crew came quickly, identified the problem, and got things done efficiently. The crew was professional and cleaned up, everyday, after they were done. They did a great job and we're happy with the work that they did.

Description of Work
Ted replaced the dry well, decommissioned the septic tank, and installed a retaining wall in the backyard.

Category excavators,septic tank,wells

    Other local Pros in your area

    Scott Coffee Drywall

    Serving Portland, Oregon and the Tri-County area for over 20 years, we offer complete drywall services for remodels and repairs at affordable rates. Family owned and operated, we are open six days a week to accommodate your busy schedule. Licensed and insured, we provide clean, quality workmanship as a top priority. With a new location, we are now offering our services in Bend and the surrounding areas.  

    Country Craftsman

    Country Craftsman is owner operated with 15 years of combined experience in multiple fields. We cover all of central Oregon. From land development to custom carpentry we do it all. Free consultations are available. Affordable, reliable work done right the first time.  

    Daniel Simmons Contracting

    We are a locally owned and operated company that values honesty and integrity, and treats your home as if it were our own. We specialize in Wood and Vinyl Siding, Asphalt Shingle Roofing, and a variety of carpentry related tasks to include framing, doors, and windows. Our services are customized to the individual project, paying close attention to the details of each project that we're involved with. We look forward to building long-term relationships with our clients and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    250.00
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sewer, demolition, additions, asbestos, retaining walls, concrete, paving, septics, site development, drywell, water problems & land clearing, ponds, water-falls, fencing and gutter cleaning, pressure washing, demo, paver stones.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc

    How is Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc overall rated?

    Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc open?

    Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc provide

    Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc?

    Yes, Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offer?

    Ted Rudiger Excavation Inc offers the following services: Sewer, demolition, additions, asbestos, retaining walls, concrete, paving, septics, site development, drywell, water problems & land clearing, ponds, water-falls, fencing and gutter cleaning, pressure washing, demo, paver stones.