Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

APPLIANCE WIZARD

Founded 1992 • With Angi since September 2008

4.2

(34) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

P.O.BOX 7061

Beaverton, OR 97007

Description

BEEN IN BUSINESS 20 YEARS, SERVICE CALL IS 49.50 THE SAME AS THE DAY I STARTED MY BUSINESS. I SERVICE THE ENTIRE PORTLAND METRO AREA- FROM SANDY TO BANKS

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/27/2022


Leona L.

Terrible experience! When repair guy came out to repair igniter on gas oven he shattered the glass door front. Even worse, when pulling out the stove from the wall, he permanently gouged my cork kitchen floor. He told me floor would be repaired when he returned to fix the glass door. When he finally came out to repair the glass door (7 months later!) he said he would call a “floor guy” about repair after he left. I never heard from him again and despite multiple phone calls, was never allowed to speak to manager . This was without doubt the worst service repair experience of my life so far.

Description of Work
Gas oven repair

Category appliance repair

1.0

12/01/2021


Matt B.

Appliance Wizard came out to fix our broken dishwasher, and not only botched the job, but caused the dishwasher to start leaking, causing extensive water damage in my home. I spoke with the owner, Walt Shively, who was very rude and defensive, and refused to come back out to fix the problem. AVOID this scam business!!

Description of Work
dishwasher

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/19/2021


Jay C.

It went great. The technician showed up on time, quickly diagnosed the problem, and reported the information to the insurance company. No sweat, no hassles. I would absolutely call them again.

Description of Work
Diagnose an ailing refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

3.0

01/28/2021


Leona L.

I haven't had a good experience with this company. They, inadvertently broke the glass on the oven door and it has been a month and they haven't replaced the glass 'til now and never contacted me for it, and they pulled out the oven from the wall and they gouged the kitchen floor, and they haven't responded to it yet. I am worried that they are not going to do anything on that.

Description of Work
Repairs on my gas stove/oven

Category appliance repair

4.0

03/03/2017


Jeff B.

After initial service call App Wizard came back and fix valve in refrig and then after plumber completed his work, App Wizard came back and fixed water feed to ice maker for no additional cost.

Description of Work
We were having problems with our water dispenser and ice maker. There were problems with the refrig and the water line to the refrig so we needed a plumber as well. Appliance Wizards fixed the refrig issue and all is working fine now.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/22/2016


Susan D.

They've now helped me on three occasions and been both professional, affordable, and just plain nice. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
This time the LG washer wouldn't spin, leaving drenching wet clothes.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/21/2016


Susan D.

They've now helped me on three occasions and been both professional, affordable, and just plain nice. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
This time the LG washer wouldn't spin, leaving drenching wet clothes.

Category appliance repair

1.0

08/17/2015


Jeff M.

Our experience as very poor. We had set up an appointment to have our Bosch washer repaired. (they advertise on their website they repair Bosch appliances, so this is why we picked them). We were asked at the time of making the appointment to provide our model number because they do not repair the "European" models. We did and received a call back that they would be out to diagnose the isue. They arrived on time and the first interaction with the person was negative. He took one look at the washer and stated ?I?m not working on that European machine. You are lucky I?m not going to charge you the service call for coming here? and left. We found another shop on Angie's List who advertises that they repair Bosch appliances and they came out and knew exactly what was needed and took care of the problem with no issue. I fee like my time was wasted (and obviously theirs) with ever scheduling an appointment with Appliance Wizzard.

Description of Work
They were asked to repair a Bosch washer

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/06/2015


REHANA N.

Provider responded promptly and professionally. I actually had to reschedule and he was very gracious. When he arrived the problem was diagnosed and repaired quickly. It was really a positive experience. I will definitely call on the Appliance Wizard in the future if need be..

Description of Work
Washing machine repair

Category appliance repair

5.0

12/02/2014


April F D.

The technician is very nice, friendly, courteous, great with three year old twins and a dog.

Description of Work
Small pieces of plastic and ceramic were stuck in the dishwasher motor. He removed them and the dishwasher works fine again.

Category appliance repair

2.0

09/09/2014


Lynn S.

This was not a good experience and I will be fair in the assessment in the hopes it will improve this business. Although I told the Appliance Wizard that extra hose length was needed when I booked the appointment, he did not arrive with it. I had already purchased a single 10' hose which he used, but he had nothing else but standard length. He connected the hoses he had with him to accommodate the distance to the water source, which was about 10-12' in total so could have used a 15' hose to give some slack. Also, the drain pipe he installed was for a dishwasher instead of a washing machine; functional but at this price point should have been the real deal. All the while, this man was gruff and made me feel like providing us service was a huge inconvenience to him. I kept overlooking his curt responses and 'put off' attitude, until the point when I asked how it was going, and he replied "it would be going a lot better if I could get out of here." He did communicate that I would need to run an extension cord to the power source. I assured him I had one in the garage and offered to get it, and he said that I didn't need to right now. He then said that he tested them for leaks and everything is ok. Little did I realize that this did NOT mean he actually tested the washer before he left. Never in a million years would I think a repairman would leave a job without testing the appliance. It is my mistake that I assumed he had an extension cord when he clearly said I didn't need to get mine. It never occurred to me that he didn't run the washer at all. That evening when I tried to used the washer, no water was going to it. When I called back on a Friday morning, he said he couldn't be back until Monday. One can argue he is responsive to calls, because he answered his phone 5 times while working on my job. The cost quoted was $59.50 plus parts and labor. Total came to $229 plus the cost of the hose I purchased already. If he would have come prepared with the correct hoses that didn't require him to fiddle with connections for 2 hours, or have a game plan based on the information I gave him when setting the appointment, I'm convinced this would have been half the amount. Regardless, $229 to simply connect a washer and dryer is out of this world. All in all, top-tier pricing for a jury-rigged unprofessional service.

Description of Work
Provider hooked up my front-load washer and electric dryer. The only unusual aspect was that the washer was on an adjacent wall from the water hook up and would require an additional 10' of hosing. I told the provider this when I made the appointment.

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/13/2014


Jane E S.

Assessed the problem, described wheat needed to be done, explained the cost and did the work. Was in my house a total of 30 minutes.

Description of Work
Replaced the thermostat in the refrigerator

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/13/2013


Kimberly S.

I just bought the house and within a couple of months the disposal backed up/stopped working and drained water all over under the sink. I talked to Walt over the phone to discuss the kind of disposal I wanted (he gave recommendations as well). He came the next day and quickly replaced the disposal. He discussed the folly of stuffing large amounts of potato peelings down the disposal- didn't see that on the home inspection..:) The bill was reasonable for the disposal I chose and the quick response time for the repair. Overall very happy with the service. thx kim

Description of Work
Changed out my garbage disposal.

Category appliance repair

2.0

08/28/2013


Rushang S.

This contractor was recommended by my Home Warranty service. He assessed my cooktop range (Kitchenaid) and said the problem was with the starter switches. He placed an order for parts. I didn't hear for 2 weeks so I called. He said my range is a special one and parts are special ordered. I said ok. I didn't hear back for another 3 weeks. I called again. He said he's not sure where parts are and will call to find out. I didn't hear back for another week so I called. He said parts aren't here, and that he would to find out. I waited 2 days and called again. He says he hasn't heard back from the company sending the parts. I told him it's been 60 days and no resolution. I asked for something in writing from the company he claims to have ordered parts from. He said sorry, tell your Home Warranty to assign a different contractor. I reconfirmed with him if his official request for me is to "call the home warranty service and tell them that he (the contractor) asked me to assign someone else". He confirmed "yes." So I did. His lack of communication is legendary. He claims he will call you, and never does. However, the one time he called back was when the service request was placed. I presume that was because there was an exchange of money from me to him. :) He never called to update me on what's going on. He claims my range is a special one. Even in this industry, 60 days for parts without an update is unheard of. Instead of offering a statement in writing that parts are still unavailable, he chose to punt on my issue and have me call the Home Warranty service. So much for professionalism. UPDATE 9/7/2013: my home warranty service assigned this to a new contractor. They ordered the parts and I got them in 3 days. Amazing how Appliance Wizard wasn't able to get the parts in over 45 days. Yes, I smell something fishy too....

Description of Work
He assessed my cooktop range and said the problem was with the starter switches. Turning one burner one would lead to random sparking on the other burners.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/27/2013


Sally R.

Excellent. Walter was very prompt & knew what was wrong - he troubleshooted the problem & is so knowledge that he knew what the problem was. He had to order a part & come back the next day to fix it. He did not charge me two service calls, let me know up front the costs for the repair so I could determine what to do. He previously came to my home when I had a refrigerator go out & he let me know what the cost of the repair was vs. the cost to simply buy a new one. He wasn't worried about lining his pocket, but thinking of the customer and what was best for me. I really appreciate his honesty, professionalism and prompt service. Would definitely use him and recommend this provider.

Description of Work
Walter replaced the gas connector to my dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/25/2013


Dane L.

Walt was called on Saturday to help an ailing fridge due to non cooling. He gave instructions on how to get it working temporarily until he could get to it on Monday. He was the only repair place that offered a temporary solution on the phone. The temporary fix worked and he promptly fixed the problem Monday. The estimated cost was exactly the price billed. Couldn't ask for a better solution for a fridge problem. Quick, courteous, reliable, excellent service. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replaced control board & defrost stat

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/19/2013


Jane K.

I think he walks on water and he has been taking care of our appliances for the last 20 years. He has been trying to save our dryer so that it would not cost us a fortune to have it repaired. In the end we had to have a major repair done but he only charged us for one service call; even though he had been here three times. He also helped with an inexpensive repair on our water heater when the manufacturer was trying to tell us we needed to buy a new water heater.

Description of Work
I use Appliance Wizard for our appliance repairs. On his last visit he repaired our dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/31/2012


Jane K.

Couldn't be happier with this service. Walt has repaired our washer, dryer, stove, hot water heater and now dishwasher. He has also recommended certain brands when we wished to replace appliances and we have always been pleased with our purchases. I am always confident we will get expert service at the best price available.

Description of Work
I contacted Walt by phone, left a message and received a return phone call and service call that same day. Our dishwasher was making weird noises and I turned it off and called The Appliance Wizard! Walt was able to find the problem (broken piece of glass in the motor) before permanent damage was done to the motor, saving us a bundle. He gave instructions about what to "listen for" if follow up service was needed but the problem is fixed! We have relied on his service for 20 years and have recommended him to family and friends. He is consistently prompt, efficient, professional and has more than reasonable rates.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/07/2011


Jane K.

He's very honest and will try to find a cheap fix instead of having to replace the appliance. He's fixed our dishwasher, washing machine, clothes dryer, hot water heater, refrigerator, etc. We've been using him for 8 years. I've referred him to several friends and they all think he's great too.

Description of Work
He's fixed a lot of appliances for us and saved us a lot of money.

Category appliance repair

4.0

08/18/2011


Kevin M.

The Appliance Wizard with prompt, friendly and quickly diagnosed the issue. My only minor complaint is that I requested he bring a replacement motor with him as I was quite certain that was the problem and didn't want to have to wait an additional day to get it replaced. Unfortunately he didn't bring the motor with him and I had to set up another time for him to replace it. Understandably it would probably cost him $$ to pre-purchase the motor before diagnosing the issue if it didn't turn out to be what I said. I would have preferred he tell me up front he wouldn't be able to bring the motor so I had my expectations properly set versus scrambling to rearrange my schedule the next day as well.

Description of Work
Replaced the clothes dryer motor.

Category appliance repair

4.0

08/11/2011


MARIE E.

They were available and courteous. I felt that they were a little bit over priced. The service went well overall but the price was a bit high. I won’t use their services again in the future because of the price.

Description of Work
I used Appliance Wizard for large appliance repair. I last used their services probably on the 11th of July for my dish washer. The dish washer was leaking and they remedied that. They fixed that for me.

Category appliance repair

1.0

03/17/2011


Laurie B.

He had repaird her oven once before last year. The oven is not working again. Not quite sure if it was shoddy work, or an issue with the appliance overall. He has repaired her refridgerater every year for the past 2 years for the same issue. Each time he was late, but it was not as flagerant as the last two service calls.

Description of Work
My friend used this company to repair her Clothes dryer around SuperBowl Sunday. He showed up with the wrong part that previous Fri or Sat, and said he would come back on Sunday. The repairman showed up late and didn't call. The customer had to call him after waiting about an hour after he was supposed to make the service call. The friend decided to give the company another try today, and the same thing happened. The repairman calls over an hour after he was supposed to make his call, and then reschedules. This company displays no courtesy for their customers time.

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/18/2011


LISA S.

I had used Appliance Wizard a couple of years ago when I accidentally shorted out the heating element in my oven two days before Thanksgiving. Walt fit me in busy schedule and when I thanked him he said there was no way he could let somebody stress on a broken appliance before a holiday! I filed his card away where I knew I could find it quickly when I needed him again. Our refrigerator fan conked out on us last night and so I fished out the Appliance Wizard card and gave him a call first thing this morning. Walt said he thought he knew what the issue was when I described the problem and told him the brand of refrigerator. Not only did he fix the fridge in a timely manner he also went across town to get a part for our cook top exhaust fan that was on the fritz. He went above and beyond my expectations and I would not hesitate to recommend Walt, the Appliance Wizard. He did tell me he sometimes can run late for appointments so if you are on a serious time crunch you might want to really nail down a specific time for him to be there.

Description of Work
Replaced the defrost station and replaced fan switch on refrigerator. Also replaced exhaust fan switch on cook top.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/04/2010


BOYD D.

We would recommend them. The guy was really good and nice. He did the work rapidly and saved us some money. We were very happy with him.

Description of Work
We used Appliance Wizard to repair a stove.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/25/2009


BOYD D.

No problens, quick removal of broken element and replacement of new one.

Description of Work
Replaced the burned ot oven element in our electric range

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Knapp's Service & Appliance Repair LLC

    Knapp's Service & Appliance Repair LLC is your best bet for quality appliance repairs in Portland. We offer appliance repair for fridges, dishwashers, washing machines, and more. We're licensed and insured for home appliance repair, and we have 14 years of experience in our industry. You can trust us for expert workmanship and professional customer service.  

    Angi Certified

    PDX Appliance

    Call Today 503-853-5784 My name is Ryan Sickles. Throughout my life I have been exposed to the appliance industry. My father has been working in the field for 50 years now and has personally trained me since I was young. I remember cleaning parts from torn up dryers that he was refurbishing since before I was 12. I entered the field when I was 19 beginning my apprenticeship. Being in and out of the field for the last 10 years, taking breaks to further my education in surrounding industries such as construction. I began PDX in 2016 while still under the umbrella of my fathers company as I familiarized my self further with rapidly changing industry. Through my lifetime of being in the appliance industry I have been able to secure a foundation of solid understanding with the old mechanical elements in appliances and also supplement that foundation with an in depth comprehension of the new age (mainly electronic) required understanding that is needed for appliance repair in this day and age.  

    Angi Certified

    All Tech Appliance Service

    All Tech Appliance Service is a family owned, technician managed service company. Our goal is complete customer satisfaction and we will do our best to resolve your appliance issues to keep you as one of our customers. We have two full time technicians who are all paid employees of the company as we do not use contract or leased workers. We are licensed, bonded, and insured for your protection, and we offer discounts to Angie's List members. For quickest response time, please call 503-762-1427 or email service@alltechappliance.com  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SERVICE MAJOR APPLIANCES

    Services Not Offered

    NO SMALL APPLIANCES

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about APPLIANCE WIZARD

    How is APPLIANCE WIZARD overall rated?

    APPLIANCE WIZARD is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does APPLIANCE WIZARD provide

    APPLIANCE WIZARD accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does APPLIANCE WIZARD offer free estimates?

    Ask APPLIANCE WIZARD for details on free project estimates.

    Does APPLIANCE WIZARD offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, APPLIANCE WIZARD does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does APPLIANCE WIZARD offer a senior discount?

    No, APPLIANCE WIZARD does not offer a senior discount.

    Does APPLIANCE WIZARD offer emergency services?

    Yes, APPLIANCE WIZARD offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by APPLIANCE WIZARD?

    Yes, APPLIANCE WIZARD offers warranties.

    What services does APPLIANCE WIZARD offer?

    APPLIANCE WIZARD offers the following services: SERVICE MAJOR APPLIANCES

    Are there any services APPLIANCE WIZARD does not offer?

    NO SMALL APPLIANCES