Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alpha Construction & Repair

Founded 2008 • With Angi since April 2013

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2620 SW 211th Ct

Beaverton, OR 97003

Description

More than 17 years of construction experience remodeling and repairing homes around the Portland/Hillsboro area. Specialties range from full additions and remodels to small repairs. We focus strictly on quality, cleanliness, safety, respect, dependability and especially communication. We are very friendly and easy to work with. Look forward to meeting with you to talk shop about your project....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/01/2020


David M.

Tyson (Alpha Construction) was truly impressive. He was on-time, beginning to end. He kept me appraised of everything as he went and showed me what the problems were causing the leaks and why there was a failure originally. He gave me several choices in the repairs (good, better, best). He updated his estimate as he went along. His work was excellent (better than the original builder) and his attention to detail was great. His drywall work blended in perfectly with the original walls. I will use him in the future, have in fact scheduled more work with him. On top of everything he was GREAT with my dogs, all 4!

Description of Work
Leaking roof and leaking / rotting exterior door.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, roofing, water damage restoration, interior painters, doors

5.0

10/06/2020


Janna C.

several house remodel projects

Description of Work
Tyson did a fantastic job and he was very sweet and patient. My finances didn’t work out the way I thought they were and Tyson worked with me to bring the project scope into an affordable range. He went Way out of his way to get my projects finished and we were very impressed with the finished product. Did I mention how patient he was?

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

02/06/2020


Janna C.

Alpha construction and Tyson acted like they cared about me and mine, not just the job. He bid the original job, kept coming back even though the scope changed and stuck by me till the end. A successful and happy conclusion. He found me subcontractors for the individual projects, did the work as needed himself AND even made use of my interest to help. He even kept his prices as reasonable as possible. I would both call him for a future project and would recommend him to any one!

Description of Work
Remodel projects

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

04/07/2018


Joy I.

Tyson communicated with me frequently on scheduling and planning. Explained what he was doing and why. Always here when he said he would be and kept me informed about other held he was involving in the project. Always careful when inside to cover shoes and job sites were cleaned up after work was completed. Would absolutely hire him again and actually already have plans to do just that.

Description of Work
Several projects for home repair

Category handyman service, replacement windows

5.0

07/07/2017


Denise B.

Amazing work done at fair prices and with creative ways to make quality fixes without uneccessary expense. I appreciate his attention to detail and double-checking work until customer is satisfied. He has a good network of subs he can bring in to do work as well.

Description of Work
Upgrades to an older home: windows, weatherstripping, flooring, bathroom remodel with tile and new fixtures, kitchen appliance and cupboard upgrades

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, chimney caps, home remodeling

5.0

06/12/2017


Dan D.

The project went great, better than I expected. The estimated time was two days (to allow for any unforeseen problems), but it actually took less than a day.

Description of Work
We needed the old carpet removed from a bedroom and wanted wood laminate flooring installed.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

04/22/2017


Lori H.

Lowest bid. Professionally done. Matched the rest of the fence. My neighbor was very pleased. I am a single lady and appreciate finding someone I can trust.

Description of Work
Extensive fence work.

Category concrete repair, fencing

3.0

07/14/2016


Tony W.

Description of Work
No comment

Category concrete repair

5.0

03/30/2016


Matt R.

Description of Work
Tyson fixed a toilet and a bathroom sink drain. He did good work and finished quickly. He's done work for me before at my previous house and I was also very pleased with it.

Category concrete repair, lawn service, interior painters

5.0

01/12/2016


Ann G.

Both the fencing and pergola were finished on time and on budget. The projects were finished when promised...something that other contractors have not done. They did an excellent job. Both projects look beautiful and are exactly what I wanted. Something that really gave me a good impression was how happy the workers were. They obviously like working for Tyson. Another positive is the way they all treated me...an older woman. They were respectful and very helpful. Tyson and I adjusted the schedule so that I had time to prime all the lumber for the pergola before construction. He was very supportive of my desire to do the painting. They cleaned up nicely before they left. In fact, my garden looked neater and tidier than ever.

Description of Work
He built 60 feet of "good neighbor" cedar fencing. He built a a 10' by 14' pergola in my garden using my design but giving me very valuable input and advice on the project.

Category remodeling

5.0

09/04/2015


Claudia L.

Category concrete repair, flooring contractor

5.0

06/13/2015


MARY S.

Tyson worked with us to make sure that we could afford the remodel that we wanted. To save money, we did part of the demolition and also worked with the county to get the building permit. He also squeezed us into his schedule so that work could be finished before a family wedding. The permitting process was more complicated than expected, as additional support was required in the floor and wall below; Tyson and his crew made sure that everything was constructed according to code and passed inspection. I especially appreciated that John was able to install additional wall support on the spot when the inspector required it, so we could move on with the project without a second inspection appointment. The project itself took just a few days, and the crew showed up on time and cleaned up after themselves when they left. I thought the price charged was very reasonable, and I would hire Alpha Construction again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Removed part of a wall to create an archway

Category remodeling

3.0

09/18/2014


Susan G.

This review has been particularly difficult to write. I’ve agonized over how to convey my disappointment without being too h****** Tyson. While Tyson Worf (Alpha Construction) does very nice work, his professionalism is sorely lacking. I’ve had dozens of contractors do work at my home in the last 27 years and with only two exceptions have had great luck with good, honest professionals. Alpha Construction is one of those exceptions. I first hired Tyson to do some work in my kitchen which included cutting a hole for a new dishwasher and installing shelving in my kitchen closet to serve as a pantry. His estimate was a bit on the high side I thought, but he’d been recommended by my plumber, and on meeting Tyson, he seemed like a very personable young man, so I went with it. The first indication of less than stellar business practices occurred with that job. I was coordinating with a plumber and electrician involved in the dishwasher install as well, so it was important that he be there when he said he would. On more than one occasion, he didn’t come when he indicated he would, but he also didn’t call to say he would be late. I realize that this line of work can be unpredictable, but I think a call to the waiting customer is a required courtesy when you’re going to be later than even an hour. In one instance, after waiting 2.5 hours, after contacting him, he attempted to cancel because he “was too far away”, but I reminded him that the plumber was scheduled to be there so I thought it was imperative that he be there. In the long run, everything worked out ok and the workmanship was good, so I hired him, with some reservation, to tear down an existing fence and install and stain a new cedar fence in my back yard. Tyson again did not show up when he said he would and didn’t call either to say he’d be late or to explain why he’d been late. Communication is not his strong suit. When we discussed replacing the fence in the back yard, I said I wanted a fence like the one I had. He saw the old fence, so it should have been clear what I wanted. It was about 4 feet high, with four inch rounded slats spaced ½-3/4 inch apart. I used the term picket fence because that what I’d always called it. When he showed up at my house, he unloaded several pre-built sections that he had bought at Home Depot. They were stacked and I didn’t look at them closely to see how closely the slats were spaced. They had a nice look to them so I said ok (I realize that this is almost entirely my fault for not pulling one out to look at more closely). He made the comment that “we” saved some money and time by buying pre-builts. I spent that evening and the next morning looking at the portion of the fence he’d installed and concluded that there was no way I could live with it because it had 3.5 inch slats with 4 inch spacing between. It looked more like a railing than a fence and I could see into my neighbor’s yard like it was part of my yard. My neighbor also stated she was surprised they’d call that a fence. When he arrived the next morning I stated that I had a few things that I wanted to discuss with him about the fence, the spacing being chief among them. He recommended putting 2.5 inch slats in the spacings and I agreed to that. The additional charges came to $357. I agreed to that only because I felt I was in large part responsible for the miscommunication even though what he had installed in no way resembled the original fence and he admitted that he had gone with the pre-builts to save money so it was not his original design plan. A mistake on my part to not confirm what the fence would look like before the project began and I had ok’d the original estimate. So, work began a few days later to finish up the install with the added slats, albeit much later in the day than originally scheduled. Steve Tyson’s assistant) arrived on Friday to stain. When he was finished staining, he asked if I could pay the balance of the bill. It should be noted that Tyson asks for half payment before the work even begins which I’ve been advised to never do and to avoid contractors who use this practice. I told Steve initially that I would write a check, but after thinking about it for a while, decided that the best course of action would be to wait until after cleanup which he was not able to do that day. Further frustrations with his practices: 1. Didn’t cleanup all the wood debris—there were several small pieces of wood that appeared to have been deliberately thrown behind my cedar tree. I say this because there was a chalk line that had been left back there after the work was completed and they’d managed to find that and pick it up, so they had to have seen the debris at that time. 2. Overheard Tyson maligning me to one of his workers when he thought I was out of earshot. Basically, I gather from his sing-song imitation of me in one of our conversations that he thought I was being demanding in asking for the added slats. When I confronted him about it, he denied it, making the issue even worse because he’s either not willing to man up to anything or sees his actions as justified. 3. My water hose and spray attachment were used in the mixing of concrete but not properly cleaned, so the spray attachment is clogged for most functions and permanently cemented to the hose, making it virtually useless for any other purpose than jet spraying. 4. While cleaning up around the fence a few days after completion, I found a large wet spot on the ground underneath a huge fern plant behind the tool shed in my yard. On closer inspection, it appears to be a spot used to dispose of paint thinner and/or stain. I sent an e-mail to Tyson to ask if that’s what had been done and he emailed back that Steve had “accidentally” spilled a pan of stain and wondered if there was still stain that needed to be cleaned up. This just doesn’t make sense. Why would anyone in their right mind, balance a stain pan on a large fern plant? And there was no attempt to clean it up because the plastic downspout under the fern plant was covered in stain, and none of the earth appeared to have been disturbed as you’d expect to see if there were any digging. I dug down about 8 inches until I hit concrete and removed what soil I could that appeared to have been contaminated. There’s so much more to the job than putting out a nice product, which he does. Too bad he hasn’t learned all the good practices that go with it.

Description of Work
Removed old fence of approximately 40 feet, installed and stained new fence.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/03/2014


Matt S.

We had a restoration project where a tree fell on a porch. The tree was so bit it blew out the 4' high foundation holding up the porch. After trying to get other companies to give us an estimate and make the repair for 3 weeks I found Alpha Construction (Tyson) and gave him a call. He came right out and even though he had a busy schedule he got his men on it right away. The customer loved the work and we continue to use them. Would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We had them pour some sidewalk in an older neighborhood and also repair a foundation

Category concrete repair

5.0

03/03/2014


Tony W.

Tyson and his partner did a stellar job on our project. We will be having other work done later this year and they will be the first call. This job ran a day or two past the time that Tyson said it owuld take but there was really nothing that could have been done to change that. A great company to work with.

Description of Work
Alpha Construction replaced the counter tops in our kitchen, including removal of an old stove top and replacement with a new one that I had bought. They also installed the new tile back splash.

Category concrete repair

5.0

02/22/2014


Trent K.

They're friendly.

Description of Work
I used the services of Alpha Construction & Repair. They did the siding and roof repair.

Category roofing

5.0

11/15/2013


Cheryl L.

Tyson is very detail oriented. We have used him for other jobs in the past such as tile work in the bathroom and he built a gorgeous Pergola in our back yard. We'll definitely be hiring him to do some other projects in the future. His work ethics are excellent, he shows up on time, does grade A work and his rates are reasonable.

Description of Work
Repaired backsplash in kitchen. We recently had granite counters installed in the kitchen. When the old counter tops were removed (by another contractor) some of the glass tiles in the backsplash were damaged. There were also uneven gaps between the glass backsplash and the counter. Tyson retiled the bottom two or three rows of tile and made everything even. He also repaired the wall that was dinged when the old counter top was removed.

Category concrete repair, drywall, handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

09/21/2013


Linda D.

Alpha does great work at reasonable prices. I am extremely fussy about everything I have done in my house and they have performed to my high standards. I would use them again and recommend them to everyone if you want a great job done for a good price. Very trustworthy and professional.

Description of Work
Moved bushes to another location, installed solar attic fans, trimmed blackberry bushes, installed white landscaping rock with landscape fabric in front of house, built raised garden bed (4;x8;x18"), clean dryer vent. Previous work was varied from building and sheet-rocking a new furnace room doorway, moving heat vents, paint interior, cement work, repairs of various items around home.

Category concrete repair, drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, lawn service, remodeling, roofing, chimney caps, interior painters

5.0

06/18/2013


Linda D.

Tyson is very professional and prompt. His estimates are fair and reasonable and he sticks to the prices quoted. Everything he has done for us has been completed in an excellent manner. I am very picky and always tell anyone doing work for me right up front so they know what to expect. I watch over everything and tell them along the way if it's not going the way I want it to go. I've never had any problems with Tyson and the prices are fair/reasonable. The work is always completed on time. I give him an A PLUS score; he does excellent work.

Description of Work
several jobs over the past 4 years, including new roof, fence, landscaping, painting, repairs of all sorts, doors hung/replaced, new front porch post, general construction work

Category concrete repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Petra Home Services, Inc.

    PETRA HOME SERVICES SPECIALIZES IN RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL EXTERIOR & INTERIOR PAINTING, PRESSURE WASHING, ROOFING, SIDING, ROOFING & GUTTER CLEANING, & CHRISTMAS LIGHTS We are a general contractor in the Clark County area. We take pride in our work, guaranteeing a professional and clean job with 100% satisfaction. Our priority is to give good prices and keep our customer happy. We provide a photo progress of your project to show you that the job is done the right way.  

    Energy of colors painting

    Interior and exterior painting, wall paper removal and kitchen cabinets refinishing .  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    General Construction, Remodeling, and all Home Repairs

    Services Not Offered

    Major plumbing and electrical (not licensed)

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alpha Construction & Repair

    How is Alpha Construction & Repair overall rated?

    Alpha Construction & Repair is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Alpha Construction & Repair open?

    Alpha Construction & Repair is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does Alpha Construction & Repair provide

    Alpha Construction & Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Alpha Construction & Repair offer free estimates?

    Yes, Alpha Construction & Repair offers free project estimates.

    Does Alpha Construction & Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Alpha Construction & Repair offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alpha Construction & Repair offer a senior discount?

    No, Alpha Construction & Repair does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Alpha Construction & Repair?

    No, Alpha Construction & Repair does not offer warranties.

    What services does Alpha Construction & Repair offer?

    Alpha Construction & Repair offers the following services: General Construction, Remodeling, and all Home Repairs

    Are there any services Alpha Construction & Repair does not offer?

    Major plumbing and electrical (not licensed)