Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A & P Appliance

Founded 1986 • With Angi since August 2005

4.8

(180) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12625 SW Broadway St

Beaverton, OR 97005

Description

Parts store located in Beaverton. We service all major kitchen and laundry appliances within Western Metro area. Additional email contact@apappliance.com. Award winning service. We also carry a large number of replacement parts in our store. Do-it-yourself advice available.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/15/2020


Stephanie P.

Our nine-year-old over the range GE microwave died. It's during Covid-19 and not only did Quinn arrive on time he was wearing a mask and gloves (never touched his face either). Initially, it looked like the issue was a fuse. He replaced the dead fuse in and it died again. He then removed the microwave from under the cabinet and looked at and tested parts. It wasn't the magnetron, it was the transformer. He provided the cost to repair. It would have been more than to buy a new one. We decided to buy a new one. Quinn offered to haul away, free of charge, the dead microwave. We will most definitely use A & P Appliance again!

Description of Work
Nine-year-old over the range GE microwave died

Category small appliance repair

5.0

04/11/2020


KAREN S.

Perfectly! I called on Thursday, the tech arrived on Friday. He diagnosed and solved the problem within minutes. I especially appreciated the fact that, in light of the coronavirus pandemic, he arrived with a mask and gloves. He was quite competent and professional and explained what had happened and how I could recover if it happened again.

Description of Work
Washing machine would not start

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/06/2020


KP D.

Everyone was very professional & friendly & efficient when called for appointment. Noe was out the next day & the following day installed the part. Works great now - Thanks!

Description of Work
Side-by-side was not cooling Freezer or Refrigerator. Noe diagnosed the problem, began the defrosting & ordered the new part.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/07/2019


Patti D.

Perfect! First I called to get an approximate estimate. They estimated with the service call and hourly plus parts less than $400. When I called them back with the model in the serial number, they scheduled my appointment for 9 am Monday. Noé arrived on time. Fixed the problem in less than 45 min. It works perfectly... They charged me $258.50.... This is the 5th time over used their services over the years. Awesome company.. Wouldn't use anyone else. Thank you A&P!

Description of Work
Freezer wasn't operating properly

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/16/2019


Linda W.

Very good, they are on time and got the job done.

Description of Work
They fix a washer dryer.

Category appliance repair

2.0

05/06/2019


Mike C.

We made an appointment for 3:00 on a Saturday. We left what we were doing to be home before the repair. Waited until 4:30. They didn’t answer their cell or office number nor did they call us. They didn’t apologize when they called back to reschedule. We used them before and they were fine but their lack of professionalism this time was unbelievable so, went elsewhere for service .

Description of Work
Dryer repair.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/27/2017


Sharii R.

At first,it looked like I would need an entire hose assembly, which was ordered. When the part came in, and the installation appointment arrived, he found a piece of glass in my hose and removed it, so I did not need the new assembly. That cut the cost substantially, which made me happy.

Description of Work
My dishwasher ceased cleaning the dishes. I cleaned the filter and it worked for awhile, but then ceased cleaning again. The filter was clean, so I called in a pro.

Category appliance repair

2.0

09/30/2016


Nick R.

The job was accomplished but seemed rushed. They didn't bring their own vacume or rags and only wiped down the washer when asked. They didn't do any thing past just getting it done and after they left I found that they really didn't clean anything I asked. They price was higher than expected and service tech's just wanted to get done and leave it seemed.

Description of Work
Replacing the large front rubber seal on a front load washer.

Category appliance repair

1.0

04/14/2016


Kay D.

They are coming back out tomorrow, because I have them coming out to check the seal on my freezer. Even though I called them and gave them the model number, they still didn't come out with a part for the freezer, and had to order that. I don't know when that is going to be ready. They came me a price. To just come out was $112, and that was in the medium range of 3 different people that I had called, and then to perform and labor would be on top of that. The price was high. The workers were detached. They could have come prepared with the seal for the freezer since I had provided them with the information, and they could have not broken the microwave, and tested it before they left to see if it worked.

Description of Work
I used A&P Appliance. I wanted them to fix the latch on my microwave, and they adjusted it but were unable to fix it, and in the process they broke my microwave, it doesn't work at all.

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/22/2015


Lisa S.

I had an amazing experience. My dryer door latch broke. I called A&P on the phone at 1:30pm and asked them how late they were open on Saturday. When they said 2:00pm, I thought I would have to wait until Monday. To my surprise, they said if I came right in they would wait. I raced over and walked in the door right at closing. Not only were they able to fix my dryer door, they did it at no cost and never made me feel bad about keeping them late. I would highly recommend them if you need an appliance repair. They were very knowledgeable and extremely nice. Thanks A&P - you have a new loyal customer in me!

Description of Work
My dryer door latch broke and A&P fixed it.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/01/2015


Susan H.

They were great! I have used them twice.

Description of Work
They repaired dishwasher and dryer at different times.

Category appliance repair

1.0

04/24/2015


KATY H.

The short version: It seems that A & P Appliance was more interested in selling me a part that I didn't need and didn't want than in actually diagnosing the problem correctly on the first try. When I requested they come back out to resolve the initial failed service call, they were very unresponsive and I ended up wasting most of my day waiting for them to call back. Their service technician (Noey) was rushed, did shoddy work, and was extremely unprofessional and downright rude in my presence. Their owner (Al) seems to be a reasonable and professional guy; the only mark against him is that he would keep a technician like Noey on his payroll and allow him to make rude comments about customers, with the customer standing right in front of them. The full story: When the technician (Noey) arrived, I told him that my washer had been reporting a slow drain error code for the past few days, and that I had already replaced the drain pump motor in an attempt to fix it, but that the machine was still issuing the same error code. I asked him to try to see if there was something else wrong with the machine, and told him that since I had already replaced the motor, I didn't think that was the problem and would prefer not to replace it again. Noey inspected the motor and claimed that it was bad and needed to be replaced. I took him at his word and let him replace the motor with one he brought with him to the service call. He then replaced the bellow (at my request) with one I had purchased myself ahead of time. He wrote me an invoice for $343.50 (including roughly $160 for the replacement pump), I wrote a check for that amount, and he left. After Noey left, I started an Express Wash cycle, and about 15 minutes later, the slow drain error code came back up. I called A & P Appliance to see about having someone come back out and take another look at the machine, and was told by the person who answered the phone (Jeff) that Noey was coming right back and would be here in "a few minutes". After waiting 20 minutes, I called A & P back and they said they would call Noey to see what was going on and call me back again. After *another* 20 minutes of waiting for their call back, I called them again and was told that they weren't able to get in touch with Noey and had left him a voicemail; and that they would call me back when they knew more. An hour after that (this is now 12:30pm, after the original 10:00am appointment) Noey called me and said the soonest he could come back was 3pm. I said I had been told he was coming right back and would be here in "a few minutes" and that I couldn't wait that long. So he called his boss and then called me back and said he would be right over. During Noey's second visit, he disconnected the drain hose from the wash basin to the pump motor and found 2 small cloth napkins in it. After removing them, he started a rinse and spin cycle and the machine appeared to be working fine. At this point, I said that since I had specifically requested that the motor not be replaced unless absolutely necessary (since I had already replaced it) and since he had found what appeared to be the root cause of the slow drain error in the clogged drain hose, I felt the replacement pump he had installed was excessive and I wanted to try the old pump. He said I was welcome to try that on my own, and when I asked about getting refunded the $160 he had charged me for the unnecessary replacement pump, he said I could call A & P and talk to them. So before he left, I called A & P and asked for a refund on the replacement pump that I didn't need. The owner (Al) asked to talk to the technician, so I handed my phone to Noey so they could talk. While Noey was on the phone with Al, I overheard him say that the old motor was "100% defective", to which I responded that that wasn't true since he later found the root cause to be a clogged hose. Then Noey said that I had requested he install the new pump, which I again corrected, stating that I had specifically said *NOT* to replace the pump, unless absolutely necessary. Finally Noey told the owner that "I'm going to tell this guy [referring to me] to never call us again." He hung up the phone and proceeded to pack up his tools. I had to ask him what his boss had said and he reluctantly agreed to take the new pump off, write up a new invoice and return my original check. After he took the new pump off, he went to his car, came back and said he couldn't find the check and told me to call the office. I asked him if he would please put my old motor back on, which he refused to do, then he promptly left my house, leaving my washer in worse condition (no pump motor attached) than when I first called A & P. After this incident, I called A & P and asked to talk to the owner (Al) but was told he was very busy and couldn't talk to me right now. So, sensing that I needed to act quickly before they cashed my check for a pump I didn't need and no longer was in possession of, I told the person I was talking to that I would put a stop-payment on the check and that Al could call me back when he was ready to sort this out. After I gave them my number, I called my bank and put a stop-payment on the check. About an hour later, the owner (Al) called me back and was actually very professional. He agreed to not cash my original check and write a new invoice without the unnecessary replacement pump, but he wanted to charge me a re-stocking fee. I told him that since I had specifically requested the pump not be replaced, I didn't feel that paying the re-stocking fee was appropriate, and that since I had to put a stop payment on the original check since his technician had stormed out of my house without returning it, I would need to ask for a discount equal to the stop payment fee my bank charged me. To my surprise (and a credit to Al's professionalism), he agreed, and I have since paid them the agreed on $154.50 for labor and diagnostics. I have also since (on my own) re-installed the original drain pump, and my washer now works again. My wife later noticed that the door bellow was installed crooked such that water does not drain from it properly, but I frankly don't trust A & P's technicians enough to have them come back out and fix that, and I plan to address it myself.

Description of Work
I hired A & P Appliance to come fix a slow drain error code my washing machine had been reporting, and to replace the bellow.

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/03/2015


MILT J.

I called for an appointment on Monday and was able to get scheduled on Tuesday (although I could have gotten an appointment the same day).The technician Noe showed up at the exact time and went right to work. From the symptoms I had described to the scheduler, Noe came prepared with drum rollers, drum belt, and drum belt idler wheel. He disassembled the dryer efficiently and used my shop vac to vacuum out the entire unit before proceeding. The problem was the idler wheel which he replaced. He also checked and lubed the drum rollers, and carefully checked the belt which was OK and did not need replacing. He was done within a half hour. I highly recommend A & P appliance repair.

Description of Work
Repaired a Samsung dryer

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/02/2015


L M S.

We had just completed a kitchen renovation where we replaced all of our appliances with new ones with a stainless steel finish. All, except for the dishwasher which is in great shape and working very well. It had a white enamel front panel which didn't match the new appliances. Earlier, I had done some parts research on-line and discovered that there was a Stainless Steel front panel replacement part available for our specific model dishwasher. Rather than tackle the project myself, I called the receptionist at A & P who indicated they could order the part for me (at less cost than my web research indicated) and have a service tech do the installation. She ordered the part and called me to set up a time. Mike arrived exactly on time, and brought the new part in, still in it's box. He removed the old panel with some difficulty (I was glad he was doing it, and not me.) After installing the new panel, he noticed a very slight dent in the stainless finish. He said, "That won't do. We'll leave this one on and order a new panel." After a week, the new panel arrived and Mike returned and replaced it with no problem. Needless to say, we are very happy with the matching stainless steel look throughout the kitchen. We have used A & P Appliance exclusively over the years, and have always been extremely satisfied with their professionalism, experience, and great customer service. I highly recommend them for any appliance repair needs.

Description of Work
Replaced a white enamel panel on dishwasher with Stainless Steel

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/31/2015


Michael G.

Drain pan was leaking and ruining the floor. They came out quickly and diagnosed the issue within an hour, but they had to order the parts to fix the problem. The tech setup a temp fix for until the parts got there. My only issue with them is that the same tech that diagnoses the issue needs to make the repair, so if you're tech only works 1 day a week, you've got to wait a week for it to be fixed.

Description of Work
Repaired a refrigerator

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/27/2015


Phillip L.

Overall very well. There was more delay in getting the service done requiring an extra couple phone calls. Otherwise excellent service.

Description of Work
Serviced my refirigerator

Category appliance repair

5.0

12/16/2014


GREGORY S.

After the service technician arrived, he quickly determined that our cook top was an old and discontinued model. Even so, he spent close to half an hour on the phone with his shop trying to find compatible replacement igniters and gas valves, ultimately without success. He then took the time to move the igniter from the burner with the bad (and not replaceable) valve to the one with the burned out igniter, so that we now at least have three of four burners working. The ultimate prognosis for our cook top is terminal, but A & P at least bought us some time. Even after spending the time on the phone and a little labor, the technician charged us only for the service call, no labor -- and took off an Angie's List discount to boot.

Description of Work
Our ancient gas cook top had one burner that did not ignite, and another on which the gas valve was stuck closed. We asked A & P to address and attempt to repair these problems.

Category appliance repair

3.0

12/02/2014


DOUGLAS B.

The repair was great. The person was on-time, personable and knowledgeable. He had all the necessary parts and completed the job in an easy half hour or so. Then I discovered that I was being charged for both diagnosis AND repair. In my long experience with appliance and auto repair businesses it has been customary to be charged a diagnosis fee and then have that fee credited against the repair should the customer decide to proceed and have the repair done. A further discussion with the company resulted in an impasse. This is a good repair company with unusual policies. Be sure how you are going to be charged before inviting them over.

Description of Work
Replaced blower cage and rear rollers on a clothes dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/04/2014


Wendy A.

Very professional, exactly on time. Answered all of my questions and gave advice.

Description of Work
Fixed the dishwasher.

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/16/2014


MARY S.

My 12-year-old Maytag dryer had started making terrible squeaking noises while running. I called on Monday and scheduled an appointment for Wednesday, between 10 and 10:30. The repairman arrived promptly at 10 and had all the required parts with him. He took apart my dryer and discovered that one of the rollers was worn out and needed replacing. He recommended replacing both rollers at the same time, since the other was the same age and bound to wear out soon as well. I agreed. He also vacuumed out the inside of the dryer and showed me a very plugged fan vent, which he cleaned out. He also cleaned the vent behind the dryer and replaced the hose, which was kinked and not allowing sufficient air flow. I felt that he was making sure the dryer would work well for me for years in the future. He noted that the belt did not need replacing, even though it was 12 years old. I was very satisfied with the repair. He even retrieved a handful of coins from inside the dryer works, and gave them to me. The price was more than I expected, but that was because the parts for my Maytag dryer are quite expensive ($45/roller). My only complaint was that there were some dirty smudges on the inside of the dryer that I had to clean before putting clothes inside, but that was not a big deal.

Description of Work
Fixed squeaky dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/20/2014


keiv G.

Mike was great. Showed up on time, got right to work and fixed it in no time. I would definitely recommend A & P Appliance to all Angie's list users.

Description of Work
repaired our broken clothes dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/15/2014


WARREN F.

Took two visits. First to analyze the problem and determine part needed to be ordered. Second to install the replacement part. Mike, the repairman showed up precisely on time and did the job efficiently. Great service. I'll use A&P for any similar appliance problems in the future.

Description of Work
Fixed fridge water filter housing leaking water.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/03/2014


NORA P.

They were delightful. Excellent. She knew what I wanted when I described it and gave her the part number. When I arrived they had it ready for me. It was a good experience for me and I would go back.

Description of Work
Replaced electrical element in the bottom of my oven.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/06/2014


Colleen P.

It was a great experience with A & P Appliance again. They had been out just 2 weeks earlier to fix the door handle for the dishwasher, so we knew who to call when the refrigerator gave up. For our refrigerator repair, Mike came out & diagnosed the defrost issue, the defrost element went out, a thick layer of ice formed over the back of the freezer & stopped the entire unit from working. Mike was able to provide a work around, & got our refrigerator to work until he was able to make the permanent fix. So we weren't out of service on the hottest days we had so far this year. Mike came to our rescue, & we will call again when the next appliance stops working.

Description of Work
Our 18 yr old refrigerator stopped keeping cold. Mike, from A & P came out & diagnosed the issue, the heating elements for the auto-defrost were burnt out & made arrangement for a 2nd visit once the parts arrived. In the interim, he got the refrigerator working until he was able to make the permanent fix. He came back when promised & made the fix, and we are very happy customers!

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/10/2014


Susan B.

I called and requested "same day service". My aging washing machine refused to spin, and dirty laundry was piling up! The receptionist put me on a brief hold to talk with the tech, and was able to give me a 1:30 (same day!) appointment. The tech showed up on time, listened to my sad story and got to work. He came to me 15 min later to show me the gross gunk on the pump filter, which disabled the spin cycle to protect the pump. He cleaned the filter, reinstalled it and confirmed it now spinned. Problem solved! The whole visit lasted about 30 min, no extra charge for same day service, and was given $5.00 off for mentioning Angie's List! Now I can work on the mountain of dirty laundry :-)

Description of Work
Diagnosed and fixed my washing machine

Category appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Best Housecleaning

    The Best Housecleaning is not the biggest yet, we are proud of the fact that we provide service the delight our customers. I started this venture four years ago with the objective of running a business that is based on the cornerstones of strong principles and values. As a mother of two young kids, I know exactly how challenging it can be for people to keep their homes as clean as they want them to be.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Crux Roof & Gutter Cleaning

    Crux Roof & Gutter Cleaning is a local company specializing in roof moss and gutter cleaning services. Crux is dedicated to providing quality and professional cleaning services.  

    Angi Certified

    Gu-Wi, Gutters and Windows

    Gu-Wi Gutters & Windows is a family-owned exterior cleaning company that has been serving clients in the Seattle and Portland area since 2007. With over 16,000 customers served, we are proud to call ourselves one of the very best when it comes to gutter and window cleaning. Contact us today for more information! NO CHARGE until you are 100% SATISFIED! We get rid of the ooey-gooey so you don't have to! FREE QUOTES for the following services: Gutter Clearing, Gutter Repair, Window Cleaning.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    207362
    Trade License Locale
    Oregon
    Trade License Authority
    State of Oregon Construction Contractors Board
    Trade License Expiration
    08/11/2023
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    In home & in shop repairs. Replacement parts as well.

    Services Not Offered

    Kitchen and laundry appliance repair - parts and service!

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A & P Appliance

    How is A & P Appliance overall rated?

    A & P Appliance is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are A & P Appliance open?

    A & P Appliance is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does A & P Appliance provide

    A & P Appliance accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does A & P Appliance offer free estimates?

    No, A & P Appliance does not offer free project estimates.

    Does A & P Appliance offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A & P Appliance does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by A & P Appliance?

    Yes, A & P Appliance offers warranties.

    What services does A & P Appliance offer?

    A & P Appliance offers the following services: In home & in shop repairs. Replacement parts as well.

    Are there any services A & P Appliance does not offer?

    Kitchen and laundry appliance repair - parts and service!