Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

D & S Painting & Pressure Washing

Founded 1997 • With Angi since June 2010

4.9

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

20100 SW Blanton St

Aloha, OR 97078

Description

D&S Painting and Pressure Washing is a family owned business operated locally in Aloha, OR. With 25 years of quality painting and pressure washing experience it is no surprise that owner Dan Griffin works primarily from an ever growing list of referrals. Please call for a free estimate to become one of Dan's satisfied customers. Cost is determined by the job. Hourly rates available. Number of employees vary but core group is 4 plus owner....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/29/2018


Nicholas D.

I recently contacted D&S about some touch-up painting on my house. While trying to schedule the job, I indicated that it needed to be at a time that I would be home and present so that I could be involved in the process. The response that I received from the owner was "Having been a painter in Portland for nearly 40 years my record speaks for itself. I don’t need someone looking over my shoulder or my workers. I’m going to pass on this job." This raises huge red flags for me. I cannot think of a legitimate reason that a contractor would refuse to accept a job unless the client agreed to not be present to witness the work. Needless to say, we did not do business and I cannot recommend D&S in any capacity.

Description of Work
exterior paint touch-up

Category house painters

5.0

06/28/2016


Mei C.

Description of Work
.

Category pressure washing, house painters

5.0

12/29/2015


Janet H.

Dan and his crew were punctual, professional, thorough and perfectionists. They worked diligently to get the job done, and completed it sooner than expected. They did a beautiful job and we couldn't be more pleased. We have used D and S Painting and Pressure Washing services for years. They have painted the inside and outside of our house and shed along with our recent window frame staining. They have pressure washed, sanded and stained and pressure washed our roof, driveway and sidewalks for years. We have always been more than happy with their services and wouldn't even think of using anyone else. They are simply the best!

Description of Work
Dan and his crew stained the wood frames on our brand new windows and sliding glass doors throughout the house, to match the existing casings. They had to mask off all of the windows and doors, stain them with server all coats and seal them.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters, roof cleaning

5.0

02/18/2015


Cynthia L.

They were amazing to work with. They were very fast and thorough, the job was completed in a timely manner. They painted some extra things without even charging us, which we really appreciated.

Description of Work
Exterior painting.

Category house painters

5.0

06/28/2014


Michael M.

We've had Dan and his crew out to the house at least four different times: as kids left the house he'd fix their rooms; painting hard to access areas such as vaulted ceilings, bathrooms, and the outside of the house. I've pretty much given up on the idea of doing anything but touch-up painting myself. His crew has been with him for years (at least a decade for some) and I really like them all. Dan has helped us stay within a budget when things were tight and has gone beyond our expectations to help us. I can't say enough about his integrity and positive attitude. I am a detail person, and their focus on it is fantastic--no paint splattered all over cabinets and lines that are straight. If you aren't at least talking to him for your painting job, you are doing yourself a disservice.

Description of Work
Exterior pressure wash, repair, and painting.

Category interior painters

5.0

11/18/2013


Yoonsun C.

We had just bought a house and wanted to repaint the entire house with a brighter color. We got a recommendation from our realtors for Dan so I called him. He was in the area and came in the same day and gave us an estimate for 3150 for the 1800 sq ft house (empty) excluding the closets, laundry room and garage which I did not want to spend my money on initially. He said he is not the cheapest but not most expensive either, but that he and his crew takes pride in doing a meticulous job. Based on the recommendation from our trusted realtors, I decided to give it a go. They came in either the next day or a few days later and finished the work in 2-3 days (can't remember exactly, perhaps two?). They did a great job even for someone as meticulous as I am and my husband was very happy about the final results. We wanted to brighten up the walls without using a stark white color, and Dan helped us pick out the color which was exactly what I was looking for. A month later (after we returned from our honeymoon), we called Dan up to also paint the garage. His team once again did a great job, and so efficiently. I will definitely hire Dan again when I'm ready to add some color to our baby's room.

Description of Work
Paint interior of empty 4bed 2.5 bath house including garage

Category interior painters

5.0

10/24/2013


VICKI H.

It was excellent. they did a very good job. They did some patchwork and made it look brand new. He really worked with me about picking the color. He gave me some really good suggestions and was a good resource. He gave me some really good ideas, and I appreciated that. In addition, I ended up paying about $1000 because he did a lot of extra work. He fixed my leaking gutter so it wouldn't leak anymore. He also painted two different doors. He had strip one of the doors and paint that. He painted my shed and stained my fencing. They also brought in some gravel and placed some light fixtures to the entrance of my porch. For all of the extra work that he did, I though that the price was very reasonable.

Description of Work
They prepped and painted the exterior of my home.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/16/2013


Lee H.

Dan and his team are the BEST. The great service starts with a promptly answered phone call, text or e-mail and in short order Dan is at the job site to answer questions, discuss the work, help with color or decorative suggestions and answer all of your questions. The quote is delivered very quickly and if accepted, Dan quickly sets up the dates for the work. Dan works with a team of very skilled professionals who are prompt, courteous, professional and very good at their work. Painting, drywall repair, woodworking, any job is easily handled. We have a large dog that often goes in and out of the house during the day. Dan't team was more than happy to see to it that she was taken care of. Dan is also a master at including things in the scope of the work that weren't in the initial bid (freebies) to ensure that the work is professionally completed and that you are 100% satisfied. Do yourself a favor. Don't waste time trying to find other contractors for your painting, powerwashing, woodworking etc. needs. Just call Dan and I guarantee you will be very happy with the results.

Description of Work
We have used D&S Painting and Powerwashing for a number of jobs both on the inside and outside of my house. Dan and his team painted my Master Bedroom, Master Bathroom, and associated closets as well as repaired, prepared and stained my deck.

Category drywall, deck cleaning, pressure washing, interior painters

5.0

10/15/2013


Lee H.

Dan and his crew are my NUMBER ONE contractors by far. Punctual, polite, professional, and outstanding work. Although it's said many times by others, they actually do take care of your home as if it's theirs. I have contacted Dan by phone, text and e-mail and always received a prompt answer. He goes out of his way to be on time for appointments and when he tells you he and his crew will be there at an appointed time, he will be there and you can take it to the bank. In addition, they work the job To Completion. No breaks in between days, no disappearing mid-day. His knowledge of the paint products available allows him to provide you with the best recommendation for getting the desired result. While there are many people who can paint your home, Dan and his team are professionals and stand out from the rest. They do excellent work and very importantly, if a problem arises months later, then he is there to correct the issue to your satisfaction.

Description of Work
Painted interior bedroom and bathroom. Also pressure washed walkways and deck and restained the deck.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/13/2013


Jeff S.

Dan and his crew have worked for us and our neighbors several times during the past several years. They have done interior painting, exterior painting, and some pressure washing. With all of their services, my neighbors and we have been exceptionally pleased with D and S Painting and Pressure Washing. Dan is very reasonable in his pricing; I know this because I sought competitive bidding for the most recent exterior paint job on our home. He and his crew are always punctual, they take care in their work, and clean-up is the best. They even pressure washed some areas around my home without charge! Dan is very helpful, experienced, patient with client decision-making, and follows-through with all agreements. After their work this summer, our home looks brand new! He has now painted some part of each and every house on our courtyard, and all of our neighbors and friends (including one who is difficult to please;-)) are just as happy with with his work as we are pleased. He and his crew have my top recommendation!

Description of Work
Painted the exterior of our home that is very tall and quite large.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/13/2013


Gregory T.

Dan received two more homes for painting on our street because the people were so impressed with the quality work.

Description of Work
Dan and team did an excellent job pressure washing, re-caulking and painting our house in October 2012.

Category pressure washing, house painters

5.0

10/09/2013


Beverly S.

They were very punctual, arriving and leaving on time each day, extremely polite and careful with our furnishings, and even attentive to our dog, making sure he did not get out ot the house. Carlos takes justified pride in providing personalized service and doing excellent work. He responded very quickly to any telephone call, text or e-mail we sent him regarding the project. Carlos obviously desires to please his customers and goes to great lengths to ensure satisfaction with his work. We would hire his company for any future work with trust and confidence and recommend him highly to others.

Description of Work
Carlos Munoz of D & S Painting and Pressure Washing and his crew did an expert job in painting the entire interior of our 2,400 sq. foot home, including a living room, den, large dining room/family room combined, kitchen, two hallways and three bedrooms. He painted the ceilings, most of the baseboards, and each closet. He removed much of the downstairs baseboards, painted them, reinstalled them and then arranged for a carpenter to make and install a stained shoe molding that made a nice transiftion from our new hardwood floors to the baseboards and the walls. The crew was mindful of our newly laid hardwood floors and our desire to have them protected. They did this extensive job in essentially four days and during a period of time that we had selected as best meeting our needs.

Category interior painters

5.0

10/07/2013


SHIRLEY D.

Dan and his crew were extremely professional. Here's a list of just some of the things that impressed us. 1. Everything that should not be painted was covered. 2. They cleaned up after themselves each day, were quiet and courteous. 3. If windows leaked when they power washed they caulked them before painting. 4. If there was bare wood showing someplace they primed it first. 5. They removed door knobs to paint the whole door, something other painters had not done. 6. They offered free of charge to paint a mail slot and light above the single door to match the door's knob. 7. They not only sprayed on the first coat but back rolled it as well making sure the paint got in all the grooves, and made sure the bottom of the boards were also painted. 8. All the moldings were carefully hand brushed, and each was given two coats. 9. We have some long vertical windows in the front that we wanted to accentuate. They were not framed with an extra trim piece across the top but we needed that to look like it was molded to complete the "look" of the finished product. Dan's crew was able to paint it to look as if it was trimmed with a molding piece. You can't even tell that it is part of the same board that is painted the house color. 10. They were very careful with our flower beds, nothing was damaged. 11. They started when they said they would. They called if there was any change in plans. Kept us very well informed. 12. Dan was very prompt in returning any calls and addressing any concerns we had. We were very pleased with the outcome and would highly recommend D & S Painting to anyone looking for a contract painter.

Description of Work
Painted the exterior of our home, shed, a small section of fence, and the frames of five large vertical windows.

Category house painters

5.0

09/18/2013


Sondra R.

Dan was great to work with and did an excellent job. I will definetly use this complany in the future!

Description of Work
They Pressure washed concrete steps, brick work and decks for my town house. They also sanded and applied semitransparent oil stain to front and rear decks.

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters

5.0

07/21/2013


Phil S.

Everything went great! I used Dan last summer to do thousands of dollars of work on a rental property. He was so nice to deal with that I used him again on my own home. Dan goes out of his way to do more than asked just to have a satisfied customer. He is very fair on his pricing. I was in the new construction business for years and Dan is one of the best contractors I have ever met. If you use him, you won't be dissatisfied. This revied sounds too good but I promise, I am not related.

Description of Work
Sheetrock repair

Category interior painters

5.0

05/15/2013


CHARLIE & EDDA B.

Everything went well, good crew, very friendly and trustworthy, arrived on time, and did great work.

Description of Work
They removed wallpaper for us and painted pretty much every single interior room.

Category interior painters

5.0

03/30/2013


Amy F.

He was very quick to respond and to schedule a time for an estimate. I wasn't sure of colors and he was helpful with suggestions and resources. His team was quick and the three rooms were done in two days. The paint job looks great and I'll use them again when I finish the rest of the upstairs.

Description of Work
Dan and his team painted my master bedroom, master bath, and office.

Category interior painters

4.0

11/05/2012


Tushar A.

eger

Description of Work
rr e

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

we did not perform any services at this address. There is another D and S painting company in Oregon City.. I'm not sure how this review ended up on my site
5.0

10/27/2012


Kathleen B.

Interior painting was part of a major facelift for our recently purchased townhome, which included installation of new carpet. D&S Painting and Pressure Washing was one of three estimates we scheduled. After meeting with Dan, we cancelled our one remaining estimate appointment, while the other company took way too long to get back to us. Dan's estimate fell within a couple hundred $$ of the other estimate, and there were so many positives about Dan's company. He really "sold" his work, his experience, and his crew. We didn't feel like we were just another "job" to him. We saw Dan?s sign in front of a house in our neighborhood--the exterior of which had just been painted. We immediately recognized the high quality of the work. By the time we went back to copy the info. the sign was down (due to HOA restrictions). Lucky for us, we were able to speak to the homeowner, who gave Dan & his crew a glowing endorsement, and said she would be hiring them paint her interior this winter. We got Dan's contact information from that home owner. The moment Dan looked at our project, (which included clean-up & repair of a terrible paint job by a previous owner that was over-painted onto fixtures, ceilings, and cabinets) he told us how his crew would clean it up, repair wall damage before painting, and cut the new lines between colors. With just a few more comments, we knew he was our guy. He worked closely with us and the paint company to match our paint colors, recommended where to make the breaks between colors and many other extras. During the course of the work, he often shared his expertise regarding other issues with the house that we will need to address over time. Unbelievably, he had his proposal to us within six hours and, because of a turn in the weather, was able to start and complete the job the very next week. The entire interior was completed in a little over four days. One of the other companies did not even have a proposal to us for five days and talked about scheduling the work a month out (after the carpet was laid). He agreed with our concern that it would be best to paint before laying the new carpet, but included up to two hours of touch-up painting after carpet installation in his proposal. When we called him after the carpet was installed, he had a crew here within five hours to complete the job. His crew was very respectful of our space and worked with us to make certain that we were inconvenienced as little as possible. While the painting was being done, his crew immediately addressed even our smallest concerns. Afterward, Dan did a thorough inspection of the job with us before his crew left, and they corrected the very few areas which Dan was not satisfied with. Before when people came to visit we made excuses for the poor paint job. Now we can now proudly show off our ?new? home. We highly recommend this company and would hire them again in a heart-beat!

Description of Work
We hired Dan (D&S Painting and Pressure Washing) and his crew for an interior paint job, which was part of a major facelift on our townhome. This included repair of a terrible paint job by a previous owner that was over-painted onto fixtures, ceiling, and cabinets, repairing minor wall damage and other prep work, painting two bedrooms, three bathrooms, a large loft area, kitchen, dining nook, living room--walls only, no ceilings, no closets, no trim. There were two locations where two paint colors met on rounded corners, requiring them to "cut" lines at the curves on the corners. Repainting trim was not part of the contract, caulking and repainting nine window sills was optional, which we chose to have done. The cost above includes that additional work. The crew returned after new carpet was installed to touch-up damaged and newly exposed areas, etc., also included in the cost.

Category interior painters

5.0

09/10/2012


James U.

Dan Griffin, the owner, worked closely with us throughout the process. We were very satisfied with all aspects of his work and that of his crew. Dan explained his estimate clearly and worked with us as we selected the brand and type of paint to use. He was able to get us a great price on paint that saved us money. He gave us good advice about getting sample colors, and making a final choice. When the work started it progressed quickly. His crew was very skilled and had excellent attention to detail. The end result looks beautiful and we are very satisfied. Thanks guys!

Description of Work
We hired D & S Painting to prep and paint our house. They did power washing and caulking work. They painted two coats.

Category pressure washing, house painters, roof cleaning

5.0

08/25/2012


Phil S.

My deck looks brand new and it is 18 years old. Got in and out in a timely fashion. Painted my house along with pressure wash. Dan did a really great job and the house looks almost new. He took it upon himself to fix small things that needed repair and treated the job like it was his own personal house. He was vary fair in his pricing. He always showed up on time and was very professional. He thoroughly cleaned up after the job was finished. What I liked most was he was very easy to get a hold of and was quick to respond to my phone calls. Excellent communication skills. I have worked with contractors for over 35 years and Dan is in the top 10% overall. I would highly recommend Dan. On top of all this, he is a nice guy!

Description of Work
Pressure washed my deck and painted my house.

Category house painters

5.0

06/03/2012


Daniel F.

Dan and his crew were great and the results were fantastic. Very professional from beginning to end and I would definitely reccomend D&S to anyone.

Description of Work
Hired D&S for a full interior re-paint and mini re-model which included the conversion of a normal door to a sliding glass door and install of hardwood floors and ceiling fan all of which required paint and finish work. Very happy with the overall job and results.

Category interior painters

5.0

05/17/2012


RAYMOND M.

We first met him when we were selling our house about four years ago. Our realtor recommended him as her go to painter. We immediately liked him. He seemed honest, communicated well, and was priced fairly. Five years and for jobs later, all those things still remain true. At our old house, he and his employees did a terrific job of repainting a few rooms, and touching up defects that have been left by a previous painter all throughout the house. They were meticulous, worked very quickly, and used all of the "drying time" walking around the house and looking for small defects to touch up. That first job led us to hire them to repaint several rooms in our new house. They did a beautiful job of the interface between the colored walls and off-white ceilings. They also went through the entire house, and touched up all of the other interfaces that didn't look quite right. It was this attention to detail that made us call him again for our future painting jobs. Friends of ours who have a very nice home, also had some painting done at the same time as this job. When they visited our house, and saw Dan's work, they frowned and told us they wish they'd hired Dan instead. We then had them paint one side of our house, which the previous owner had ruined by mixing glossy and flat paint. They did a beautiful job of this, but there was one part that didn't look quite right. Dan made his crew re-mask and re-spray the area to make it right. In fact, he noticed the problem with that area even before I did. There was no further discussion about what to do about it. He decided to fix it and do it right. This is in direct contrast to other contractors we've worked with, who would've rolled their eyes or tried to talk us into being happy with the job as done. In summary, we will continue to use Dan and his crew again. Aside from the quality of the work in the fair price, there're some intangibles that make hiring Dan feel like a good idea. There are lots of little things that he does ? delivering paint samples, moving pieces of furniture in a very careful way, and spending time talking with you about all your options and even recommending the cheaper one sometimes. He treats his employers well ? He still has some of the employees he had a few years ago, and they've told me he's a good boss. Finally, Dan is just a nice guy. He Is very friendly, but always completely professional, polite, and respectful. We're picky about the folks we have in our home, and I have complete confidence and comfort with Dan being in our house.

Description of Work
We've used Dan at D&S painting at least four times over the past five years. We will continue to use him, and have recommended him multiple times. This last job was just a small touch up job after some remodeling, and I realized he didn't have many reviews on Craigslist. This is a shame, since Dan runs a terrific company and does a great job. Job 1: repainting multiple rooms in our old house, including painting over some ceramic tile. It looked terrific when they were done. Job 2: painting multiple rooms in our new house with contrasting wall colors Job 3: painting 1exterior side of our new house, which had been ruined by the previous owner, as well as repainting more inside rooms. Job 4: More inside work/touchup after a kitchen remodel

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

05/14/2012


Daniel F.

Dan and his team were excellent to work with from beginning to end. From the start I could tell that Dan knows his stuff and the result was fantastic. All wall repair looks like it never happened and the paint job was flawless. Dan and his team are very good at what they do.

Description of Work
D&S Painting did a full interior paint job including ceiling and new colors throughout. This was part of a small re-model which included new frenchdoor and ceiling fan that I had installed. Dan and his team were able to re-texture the ceiling where the ceiling fan was installed and also the door frame where the frenchdoor was installed. This was all made a part of the painting job so that I was able to work with one finish contractor for paint and wall repair.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

5.0

02/14/2012


eric L.

Dan and his crew are the best! He is reasonably priced, on-time and has a high standard of quality. The latest job was his annual roof and gutter cleaning of our rental house. The house has 60' high maple trees and 100' douglas fir trees within 20 feet of the roof. The roof has a 32 foot drop off the back. The back plexiglass deck cover is 20 feet off the ground. His crew cleaned the composite roof, the plexiglass roof and all the gutters. After they finished the roof, they cleaned up the sidewalk, deck stairs and driveway. They did an excellent job! I have used D & S Painting since 2008 for pressure washing, interior painting, exterior painting and deck maintenance. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Roof and gutter cleaning.

Category deck cleaning, house painters, interior painters, roof cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Willamette Power Roofing

    Willamette Power Roofing and Roof Cleaning is a family owned and operated roofing company located in Portland, Oregon. We have been fixing and installing new roofs and roof cleaning in Portland since 1990. We take pride in our history as a commercial and residential roofing company, serving Portland for over 24 years now. We attribute our company longevity to our quality work, honesty, and integrity. Our team takes pride in our work whether it is a gutter cleaning, a roof leak repair, or an entire roof replacement. Portland families and businesses know that they can trust Willamette Power Roofing and Roof Cleaning to get the job done right the first time. Award winning.  

    All Surface Cleaning Company

    All Surface Cleaning is a very affordable Roof, Gutter and Deck Cleaning service. It is our belief that anyone can do cheap work for a cheap price. Others can oversell the amount of work that needs to be performed in order to justify a “high quality” price. Our goal is to provide what we would want ourselves: VALUE – good workmanship and professionalism at a fair price. You owe it to yourself and your home to discover why All Surface Cleaning provides the best gutter, deck and roof cleaning Portland has to offer. We also offer some of the best warranties in the industry on certain services.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by All Surface Cleaning Company on Angi
    Moss Busters

    Moss Busters® is a local roof and gutter cleaning company (Superior Clean, LLC). We are located in Portland, Oregon, and service the entire Portland Metro area. Roof moss control and gutter cleaning is our specialty, but we also wash house exteriors. Although we are a small company and have only a few technicians, we believe they are some of the best in our industry– they are throughly trained and take great pride in their work. Our goal is to provide top quality workmanship, exceptional customer care, and for our customers to boast about our services. With Moss Busters®, your satisfaction is always guaranteed.____________________ CCB # 205364-- Department of Agriculture: AG-L1039108CPO-- Workers Comp Policy Number (Saif Corporation): 856264 AR-- Commercial General Liability Insurance (Scottsdale Insurance Company): CPS2206968  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    3 YEAR WORKMANSHIP

    Services Offered

    Interior & Exterior Painting. Pressure Washing. Wood & Concrete Surface Treatments.

    Services Not Offered

    wallpaper hanging. Pressure washing shake roofs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about D & S Painting & Pressure Washing

    How is D & S Painting & Pressure Washing overall rated?

    D & S Painting & Pressure Washing is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are D & S Painting & Pressure Washing open?

    D & S Painting & Pressure Washing is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does D & S Painting & Pressure Washing provide

    D & S Painting & Pressure Washing accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does D & S Painting & Pressure Washing offer free estimates?

    Yes, D & S Painting & Pressure Washing offers free project estimates.

    Does D & S Painting & Pressure Washing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, D & S Painting & Pressure Washing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by D & S Painting & Pressure Washing?

    No, D & S Painting & Pressure Washing does not offer warranties.

    What services does D & S Painting & Pressure Washing offer?

    D & S Painting & Pressure Washing offers the following services: Interior & Exterior Painting. Pressure Washing. Wood & Concrete Surface Treatments.

    Are there any services D & S Painting & Pressure Washing does not offer?

    wallpaper hanging. Pressure washing shake roofs.