Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Ground Zero Storm Shelters

Founded 2001 • With Angi since November 2009

4.7

(158) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4600 Independence Rd

Perry, OK 73077

Description

Four generations of our family have been involved in our storm shelter business. From start to finish—the design, the fabrication, the warranty work, installation and sales. We have installed tornado shelters in the following states: Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas, Mississippi, Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Alabama, Iowa, Illinois, North Carolina, Kentucky, Indiana, South Carolina and Virginia. Additional phones numbers - (405) 880-1351, (580) 336-1351. Additional DBA - Ground Zero Shelters, Co. Additional fax - (580) 336-1356....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/20/2018


Eddie L.

It never happened they call me to set appointment never show up never call back

Description of Work
Hurricane shutters

Category garage builders, hurricane shutters

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], I'm sorry but I don't think you have the right business. We do not do hurricane shutters in any state. We are an Oklahoma based business and we build Tornado Shelters and install them. I'm sorry but I believe you have made a mistake. Could you please remove your comment? Thank you, Melanie Johnson Ground Zero Shelters, Co 918-399-3069
5.0

08/12/2018


Jeff L.

They let us know that they did not do Hurricane shutters.

Description of Work
No work was done.

Category garage builders

1.0

07/21/2018


Stephen C.

They were not interested in doing the job.

Description of Work
Ground up build

Category garage builders

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I sent you a response letting you know we do not do construction or roofing. We are tornado shelter manufacturing company. I'm sorry you felt that that response served to give us an "F" rating. Thank you, Melanie Johnson Ground Zero Shelters, Co [phone number removed]
5.0

05/02/2018


DAVID D.

Perfect. I enjoyed getting to sit in the storm shelters at their showroom to help with size selection. After signing up for the install, they connect you to an online portal to manage the contract and to update building permit number, etc. Installation was prompt and clean.

Description of Work
Install storm shelter in garage floor

Category garage builders

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you. Sincerely, Melanie Johnson Ground Zero Shelters, Co 918-399-3069
5.0

05/16/2017


Linda W.

Great! Would recommend to a friend .

Description of Work
Installed above ground storm shelter in garage.

Category garage builders

5.0

05/10/2017


Tony & Cindy F.

Our "only" negative comment about Ground Zero Shelters is that they do not come to a persons residence to give the sales pitch and demonstration. You must go to their showroom or see their product at a home show. This being said, we were extremely happy with the sales experience, reminders and installation of our shelter. They called about 10 days prior to the installation for a reminder, their installers called the day before and the morning of the installation to remind us that they would be at our home at the designated time. They showed up as promised and were completed with the installation in less than 1 1/2 hours time! Thank you Ground Zero!

Description of Work
Purchased and had installed an above ground "safe room"/storm shelter in the spring of 2017. My spouse and I both work for an agency that provides disaster recovery services. We both worked the May, 2013 Moore Oklahoma Tornado Disaster for an extended period of time. This is where we observed multiple above ground shelters that survived the devastation. Contemplating having a shelter installed for the past few years, we finally decided on the "Ground Zero" 4' x 8' above ground storm shelter, which was recently installed! Thank you Ground Zero!!!

Category garage builders

5.0

03/27/2017


Karla K.

Great product. I'm safe, finally :) yea!!

Description of Work
Garage Storm shelter

Category garage builders, hurricane shutters

2.0

11/16/2016


Brian Z.

The original shelter installation went fine, the contractors were on-time and did a quality job. Our issue came with the customer support after installation. About a year after installation we started to notice multiple areas around the shelter accumulating rust. We asked for help and it took almost a YEAR (and multiple attempts) to get someone out to our house. The following is a brief overview the day that the 'painter' showed up. I received a phone call from JC (maybe AC?) about 8am stating that he was on his way to our house. I told him please don't come before 9am because we had other obligations to full fill that morning, which he agreed to do. He arrived at 8:30am. His untimely arrival greatly upset us because it disrupted our whole day. (Side Note: JC also did not come prepared to perform any maintenance on the shelter. He did not have a flashlight, mask, goggles, paint primer, painters cloths, or any stenciling protectors. It was apparent that he was not intending to help us address any of our issues with the shelter.) He informed me that the rust on the shelter was typical and went on the explain that steel oxidizes and ALL of the shelters have this happen (sounds like a quality control issue). We also had a yellow stain on the bottom of our shelter, which we inquired about, but is response was "I don't know". I told him that these types of defects shouldn't be 'typical' after only a year and there were some parts of the shelter that were bare (no paint) from the day of installation (mainly the sliding door handles). Then he said something that blew me away, "He was not legally authorized to work on our shelter." Why send someone out that had no intention or authorization to help address our issues? We argued for a while but after sensing that it was mostly useless I asked what he could do.. he said he could leave some spray paint that I could address the issues myself. He left a can of paint at our house right in front of the garage door, which my wife I had to remove before she could pull the car into the garage (another little thing that just made our day). That evening I addressed the issues with the shelter myself.

Description of Work
Tornado shelter install and follow on mainteance

Category garage builders

2.0

07/23/2016


Julie F.

The comopany came on time and worked quickly. The main problem with installation was the condition of my driveway. They ask if the cement truck could back up in the driveway. Being not very experienced with this, I told them ok. This left my driveway with severe cracks. Now three years later, the shelter is rusting on the inside. I can only imagine what the part in the ground looks like. I called and ask for warranty service. They said that the rust was due to leaking. This shelter is in the garage! There has never been any water in the garage. They said that this is maintence that I should have done according to maintence guide that I received at installation . I did not receive a maintenance guide at instillation. The only things covered in the warranty is floating up and the latch/rollers. The maintenance guide was then e-mailed to me. It said to spray paint the rust with Rustoleom paint. My advice would be to use a company that uses galvanized metal or polyurethane for the shelter.

Description of Work
Storm shelter installed

Category garage builders

5.0

01/25/2016


Brian B.

Ground Zero did a top-notch job from start to finish! It is rare these days to be inspired to write a positive review, so let me dive in with the details: 1. Sales - I visited their showroom in South OKC. Alicia was very friendly and knowledgeable about the shelters. I'm an engineer by trade and had many geeky engineering questions; Alicia was able to answer every question I had about the construction and design. She walked me through how the entire process is handled, and even described OKC's building permit process. Was so impressed that I made the purchase on-the-spot. The price I indicated ($2300) was a sales price for the "smaller" shelter, so your price may vary. 2. Permits/Pre-Install: Ground Zero provided pre-filled forms for the building permit. If you live in OKC you can go online and apply, then fax the forms. They (the City) will call you back for your CC number and give you the permit number (which you provide back to Ground Zero. Ground Zero people followed up with me four days before install to ensure that everything was on-track. 3. Installation: Here is where Ground Zero hit it out of the park. I have to admit I was nervous about the install, as I've had more than a few installations that were total nightmares. My installers - Raul (Installer) and Xavier (Helper) were on time, ready to start immediately, and were very polite and professional. Since I had a Pre-Tensioned Slab we had to call Suncoast to cut /re-anchor the cables latticed underneath the slab, this caused Raul and Xavier some minor delay and re-marking, but both of them worked seamlessly with Suncoast with the modifications and everything quickly was back on track. Raul quickly had the slab cut and dirt removed within 1.5 hours, he was able to finesse the mini-excavator like a pro, probably could use it to pick up toothpicks if he wanted. Xavier was constantly moving and took care of the 1000 other smaller tasks, Raul and Xavier worked together like clockwork and rarely needed to talk. When they were done they cleaned EVERYTHING, not a spot of mud anywhere inside or on the driveway, Raul used the pressure washer for a good 30 minutes just on the driveway. While Raul hauled the dirt away, Xavier finished the troweling on the cement backfill leaving it with a nice raised feathering that looks very professional. NEVER in four hours on site did I see either gentleman take a break to loaf, they were constantly moving and working non-stop. I'm very pleased with the professionalism of the Ground Zero Team from Start to Finish, and pleased with the final product. No, I'm not a "shill" nor do I work for Ground Zero. I am just one consumer that is tired of writing bad reviews for bad service, and pleased for once to be able to write an outstanding Review!

Description of Work
Installed an in-ground garage Tornado Shelter

Category garage builders, Uncategorized

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for such a positive in depth review. We love to hear these positive things about our employees. I will pass the great review on to our GM and the owner of the company. Thank you again, Melanie Johnson Ground Zero Shelters, Co
5.0

10/21/2015


Brenda K.

I'd give them an A+. It was 2 years ago that we had it installed. They were very courteous, polite, respectful and cleaned up the mess. They were good. They did a good job. We called a whole bunch of places and everybody was about the same in price. I also checked ratings and the Better Business Bureau before I called the places I called.

Description of Work
They installed the storm shelter/tornado shelter.

Category

5.0

08/30/2015


Hal H.

Ground zero was perfect, from start to finish was less then 8 hrs. After completing they showed the features of the shelter then filled out all necessary paperwork to submit for rebates, all I had to do was sign and mail. Two years later after parking a car on the lid every night, it still opens and closes as easy as the day it was installed.

Description of Work
On the day of install, Ground Zero got the needed city permits, cut opening in cement floor, hauled off unneeded dirt, set storm shelter, waited for city inspectors to approve then laid concrete.

Category roofing

5.0

08/21/2015


Christopher M.

It went really well. The two-man crew was prompt and professional. They knocked out the job quickly and the craftsmanship was spot on.

Description of Work
Install a storm shelter in the garage.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/20/2015


Charles T.

The installation took less than 3 hours. They showed up exactly when they said they would, were very polite, courteous, and professional. The concrete cracked on the the first cute, but they cut a new spot a few inches over so that it would be aesthetically appealing...but, more importantly so that we would have any issues with leakage. They cleaned up the mess VERY, VERY well. I would highly recommend them and use them again.

Description of Work
We had a storm shelter installed in our garage floor.

Category garage builders

5.0

06/08/2015


Scott M.

The sales people were very informative and accurate in their information. The process from the time we signed up to the point that the installation people drove away went just as had been described. The installation took 4 hours and went smoothly - they were a well-oiled machine! After the unit was in, the installation supervisor went through the "how to's" for us again and gave several very useful suggestions about how to make the unit more "habitable" and safe.

Description of Work
Installed an extra-large underground storm shelter in our garage.

Category roofing

5.0

04/13/2015


Julie F.

.They showed when they said they would and cleaned everything up. It looks good. I think they provide their customers with thicker/stronger boards to sit on while in the shelter. I also think the shelters should come at least 5.5 to 6 feet tall. Most families have at least one family member or friend that is over 5 feet tall. If we have to stay in it for a hour to several hours, we need to be able to stand up. They were careful with the equipment and quick. I recommend you look for any cracks in your garage around where they will be installing the shelter and driveway, so if you see any cracks once they are finished you can have them fix it. I also recommend that you tell your neighbors that you will be having a shelter installed and ask if they can move their vehicles out of the street. Ground Zero has a very long trailer they pull their equipment on and they need room to turn around on/in the street.

Description of Work
Installed a x-large storm shelter. I haven't used it yet, but we have put a fan, light, radio and other things recommended in case we have to stay in it. I recommend you get a 5 gallon bucket and seat. We have consistent days of rain fall and it has not leaked.

Category garage builders

5.0

11/19/2014


Bradley P.

The showroom in OKC is nice and the guy there was friendly. We were able to climb inside a shelter in the showroom to test out the size and ease of use of the door, etc. The guys who came out to install the thing were amazing! Only two guys came and it was fascinating watching them work. They did everything quickly and accurately, cleaned up after themselves as they worked, and finished the whole installation in less than 4 hours. They were great about giving us specific instructions about when we could walk/drive on the new concrete and how to operate the door, winch, etc. We are incredibly lucky that we haven't needed to use it yet but I'm confident in its ability to protect my family when the time comes.

Description of Work
Installed an underground garage storm shelter

Category garage builders

3.0

09/04/2014


Lisa P.

Ground Zero team was prompt professional and performed the job quickly. In and out in less than 4 hours.

Description of Work
Installed in garage under ground storm shelter

Category garage builders

5.0

08/14/2014


gary K.

They were on time, professional and cleaned up everything. Their subs were real good. So far we have been happy with them. They did a good job.

Description of Work
They put an indoor garage in the ground storm shelter.

Category hurricane shutters

5.0

06/25/2014


Kaye D.

They gave us a discount because we bought three for ourselves and our daughter's house. It fits really flat against our garage door, they cleaned up after themselves and it only took them a couple of hours to install from start to finish. It's guaranteed for like a hundred years or something and it's supposed to never float. It's not supposed to leak. They passed all kinds of storm cellar tests at Texas Tech.

Description of Work
We had a new storm cellar installed by Ground Zero.

Category hurricane shutters

5.0

06/20/2014


Joy D.

Brandon and Larry arrived on time and were very thorough and helpful. They showed me the best location for the shelter and began working in a very professional manner. The shelter was installed efficiently removing all debris and leaving the garage very neat and clean - not a speck of dirt was left behind. The provided me with detailed instructions on how long to leave the area undisturbed as well as usage and future maintenance. The entire process, from purchase with April to installation, was handled professionally with no false claims.

Description of Work
Installed a tornado shelter in garage.

Category garage builders

5.0

06/10/2014


James P.

Installers arrived promptly (from out of town) on the date and time scheduled. Working as a well-propared team and using heavy equipment brought with them, the installers cut out a section of cement in the garage, dug out a pre-arranged section of the dirt carefully measured, placed a pre-built steel storm shelter in the hole made, and poured 5'' of cement around the shelter that was then carefully manicured on all sides. After installing the benches, stairs, and shelter opening, the surrounding ground debris was carefully washed away and the dirt and cement removed hauled off to an authorized disposal site. All in less than four hours!

Description of Work
Installed a storm shelter

Category garage builders

5.0

06/10/2014


Perry H.

The two men crew arrived on time and immediately when to work. They had me signed a letter stating that if the job exceed four hours then I would pay an additional amount. Once they started working it went pretty smoothly, they had the whole installation done in about 3 1/2 hours and they clean everything up and were finished and gone . I wished they have taken time to do some demonstration using the hand chank in the shelter.

Description of Work
Installed a storm shelter in my garage

Category garage builders

5.0

05/28/2014


Robert H.

The entire process went very well. Great communication from the beginning. All staff were professional and friendly. Installation began on time and was completed on time. They cleaned up after themselves. Very happy with my decision to choose Ground Zero for my storm shelter.

Description of Work
Installed Extra Large In Garage Storm Shelter

Category garage builders

5.0

05/26/2014


Eric H.

Everything went great, but for one thing which was not even their fault. The cement truck was late, causing the job to take longer. I was amazed how quick it to install the shelter.

Description of Work
They installed an extra large storm shelter in my garage.

Category garage builders

    Other local Pros in your area

    PRECISION GUTTERING & DRAINS

    We are a family owned and operated business serving the area for over 18 years.  

    Ivy Construction & Design

    Ivy Construction is a full service Construction and remodeling company. Our specialities are bathroom remodels, kitchen remodels, decks & design. We are happy to do any residential Construction you are looking for. With 60+ years of experience in Construction and design there is no job to large or small. We are Construction the way it should be. Family owned and operated, Honesty and integrity are our core to great service. We love what we do, treat our customers and employees right, and it shows.  

    Ted's Rain Gutters

    We use a 5 inch seamless gutter machine with several different colors to match your facia board. We offer a 2 year warranty on the quality of our work. This business has been in work for 25 years and still going. We are a small business looking to venture out and prove our quality of work. Call Dakota or Jacob at 405-827-4901/405-338-8841  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Building & installing above & below ground tornado shelters.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not General Contract, for sheds, porches, we don't roof etc.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ground Zero Storm Shelters

    How is Ground Zero Storm Shelters overall rated?

    Ground Zero Storm Shelters is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ground Zero Storm Shelters open?

    Ground Zero Storm Shelters is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Ground Zero Storm Shelters provide

    Ground Zero Storm Shelters accepts the following forms of payment: Check, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

    Does Ground Zero Storm Shelters offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ground Zero Storm Shelters offers free project estimates.

    Does Ground Zero Storm Shelters offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Ground Zero Storm Shelters does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ground Zero Storm Shelters offer a senior discount?

    No, Ground Zero Storm Shelters does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Ground Zero Storm Shelters offer emergency services?

    Yes, Ground Zero Storm Shelters offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Ground Zero Storm Shelters?

    Yes, Ground Zero Storm Shelters offers warranties.

    What services does Ground Zero Storm Shelters offer?

    Ground Zero Storm Shelters offers the following services: Building & installing above & below ground tornado shelters.

    Are there any services Ground Zero Storm Shelters does not offer?

    We do not General Contract, for sheds, porches, we don't roof etc.