Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma

Founded 1982 • With Angi since August 2006

4.4

(82) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

704 Research Park Blvd Ste 100

Norman, OK 73069

Description

We have been serving the electrical needs of Oklahoma since 1982, and have thousands of happy customers. From Broken Arrow to Norman,Oklahoma's home and business owners have come to rely on prompt, professional service from Mr. Electric's Licensed and Background checked Service Professionals. Mr. Electric's UP FRONT PRICING means that there is never a surprise when your job is complete. Ask your service Professional about Advantage Plan Savings....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/22/2020


Philip C.

Showed up on time. Did a great job. Professional and communicative.

Description of Work
Repaired light fixtures - GFCI in one room was burned out.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did.
5.0

04/17/2018


Jeff Y.

Service was excellent. Fixed problem in garage and since I had already paid for him to come out he went through and tested/repaired outlets in house that were not properly grounded.

Description of Work
Light out in garage

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response. Our first priority is always the safety of our customers, their families, and their properties. That is why we always do a Free Home Safety Check on every call. Please call if we can be of assistance in the future. Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma. OK2086
5.0

01/08/2018


Armando P.

Excellent work, but it cost more than expected. All work was approved by me beforehand.

Description of Work
Replace bathroom exhaust fan and light fixture.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Please enter what you would like the response to look like:Thanks for the kind words. We always strive to supply Expert Electrical Service. I understand that $355 can seem like a high price for the work that was completed but there is more to the service than what you see. A Service Professional must spend 4 years in an apprenticeship program before getting the opportunity to take the State Journeyman Electrical exam, (the average number of times to pass the exam is 4+). The Journeyman Electrician can then work for a Licensed Electrical Contractor who has spent 6+ years learning his trade before qualifying to take the Electrical Contractors Exam. We all have to complete continuing education requirements to keep informed of our National Electric Code which updates every 3 years. Our trucks are fully stocked, (a $50K-$60K expense), so that we can respond to a customers needs without additional trips to a supply house, and without taking up more of our customers time. We are required to carry $2 Million in aggregate insurance to protect our customers from product or workmanship failures. We pay for vehicle insurance, health insurance, unemployment insurance, matching SS, Worker Compensation, Medicare/Medicaid, retirement, paid vacation, paid holidays, and Christmas bonuses. We must buy a State License, State Bond, and Licenses in every city that we work in, (currently 17). We purchase background checks for all employees for customer safety. We have vehicle fuel and maintenance costs, office/warehouse rent, accounting expense, payroll processing, Dispatcher, after hours answering services, uniforms, winter wear, associations and professional training, software and computer expense. We give an extended 2 year limited warranty to all Advantage Plan Members. At $110 we are at a mid range for an electrical service call in this area. We are glad to do that to help keep costs for our customers down. We appreciate the trust that you have placed in us to insure the electrical safety of your family and your property. At Mr. Electric SAFETY is JOB #1. Sincerely, Bob Kueny Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma [phone number removed]
1.0

08/31/2017


DWIGHT D.

Actually I think the work he did, he over charged me for it. I ended up paying $400 additionally. I would give him an F just because he over charged me. It was pretty good work, so I'll give him a C on quality. He did get here on time.

Description of Work
Put in two lights. A porch light and a spot light over the driveway. A motion spot light over the driveway.

Category lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us a review. Even a negative review is helpful because it gives us an opportunity to improve our service to future customers. Please help us to understand the ratings that were given since there is no explanation. We understand that when a review is written more than a year after services were performed that there may be some confusion as to the events. We are fortunate to have all of our job activities recorded, so we are able to help our customer when they need detailed verification of work that was completed. * The information we received was that the call was for "bathroom exhaust/light/fan he wants replaced", but the scope of work changed, so the Service Professional was obviously Responsive and Professional. *The call was scheduled for 2:00 PM, 6/13/2016. The Service Professional "arrived at the job 6/13/2016 1:33 PM" Obviously punctual. *He reviewed the work that was requested and "created an estimate 6/13/2016 1:42 PM" *He "added 991101 to the invoice for $-200.00, 6/13/2016 1:53 PM" to apply the Angie's List Big Deal Savings. *He "sold an estimate for $346.28", (Not $499), and "captured the Authorization signature from the customer, 6/13/2016 1:53 PM" So the total cost of the job was presented and agreed to PRIOR TO ANY WORK COMMENCING. We will always give upfront pricing and answer any questions the customer may have. *According to our notes the Service Professional's scope of work was "REMOVE EXISTING FRONT PORCH & DRIVEWAY FLOOD LIGHT FIXTURES; INSTALL NEW CUSTOMER-SUPPLIED FRONT PORCH LIGHT & DRIVEWAY FLOOD LIGHT FIXTURES; INSTALL NEW OUTLET [Member Information Removed] FOR DRIVEWAY FLOOD LIGHT FIXTURE (EXISTING [Member Information Removed] WAS IMPROPERLY INSTALLED)" It seems from our notes that the Service Professional also found substandard work done by a previous worker and corrected it. He also obtained an acknowledgement signature for the completed work. Would you please let us know specifics about how we failed to provide the value for the price that was agreed to prior to the work being done. This information will help us to serve future customers. Thank you.
5.0

06/02/2017


Rodger M.

So far everything is working just like it is suppose to.

Description of Work
They tied an electrical outlet from one wall, through the wall, over to another wall.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words. We always strive to supply Expert Electrical Service. Here is a summary of what it takes for us to deliver our services to customers. A Service Professional must spend 4 years in an apprenticeship program before getting the opportunity to take the State Journeyman Electrical exam, (the average number of times to pass the exam is 4+). The Journeyman Electrician can then work for a Licensed Electrical Contractor who has spent 6+ years learning his trade before qualifying to take the Electrical Contractors Exam. We all have to complete continuing education requirements to keep informed of our National Electric Code which updates every 3 years. Our trucks are fully stocked, (a $50K-$60K expense), so that we can respond to a customers needs without additional trips to a supply house, and without taking up more of our customers time. We are required to carry $2 Million in aggregate insurance to protect our customers from product or workmanship failures. We pay for vehicle insurance, health insurance, unemployment insurance, matching SS, Worker Compensation, Medicare/Medicaid, retirement, paid vacation, paid holidays, and Christmas bonuses. We must buy a State License, State Bond, and Licenses in every city that we work in, (currently 17). We purchase background checks for all employees for customer safety. We have vehicle fuel and maintenance costs, office/warehouse rent, accounting expense, payroll processing, Dispatcher, after hours answering services, uniforms, winter wear, associations and professional training, software and computer expense. We give an extended 2 year limited warranty to all Advantage Plan Members. At $110 we are at a mid range for an electrical service call in this area. We are glad to do that to help keep costs for our customers down. We appreciate the trust that you have placed in us to insure the electrical safety of your family and your property. At Mr. Electric SAFETY is JOB #1. Sincerely, Bob Kueny Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma (405) 447-4811, (405) 340-9099 OK2086
4.0

03/27/2017


Robyn M.

They were nice, but I felt like the price was high. I wasn't comfortable with him. I think he thought I had to have that done, but the other guy said no. I just didn't want more work than what I wanted.

Description of Work
He gave me an estimate. He wanted to fix my control panel because it had been painted. There were little paint specks on it. I didn't want it done. That is what he gave me the estimate for. It was $1,099.

Category electrician

3.0

02/09/2017


Gerald C.

Technician arrived, looked at both of the installed fans, and said he would have to charge me $109.00 "Diagnostic" fee to remove the covers of the old fans to see how they were wired. I asked if that fee would apply to installation of the new fans and he replied "No". Was not a very pleasant technician. I told him I would seek someone else to do the job, which I did.

Description of Work
Remove existing ceiling fans and install two new ceiling fans.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to quote your electrical project. When a Service Professional gets out his tools to check a light, fan, equipment, etc., he/she IS DOING WORK. Every time we get our tools out and begin to look in to a project or a problem at a customers home we are assuming some level of liability for what we do. If while removing the ceiling canopy of a ceiling fan it should suddenly fall wouldn't a customer consider us liable? I can answer that YES, because I have seen things like this happen due to an improperly installed fan. It would have been possible to apply the diagnostic fee to the assembly, and installation of the fan, and the Service Professional was mistaken for not offering that option to the customer. For this we apologize. I do find it quite discouraging that simply because our pricing does not fit a customers budget that there is a need to make personal comments about the Service Professional's character. This particular Service Professional has earned his title by providing Expert Electrical Service for residential, commercial, and industrial customers all over our state. He is hard working, conscientious, thorough, and uncompromising on issues of customer safety. We are the first to realize that not everyone is going to be our customer. This is why we always give upfront pricing BEFORE DOING ANY WORK. If a customer would like to seek other options, while we may be disappointed, we simply say thank you for the opportunity and move on. We do not judge or insult their character. Very disappointing.
5.0

02/02/2017


Glenna J W.

They told me if I wanted extra work it would cost me and I knew ahead of time. They were really good and courteous.

Description of Work
They help me with some electrical problems that I was having with my box and some outlets. They did some checking around the house.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for trusting Mr. Electric with the safety of your family and your home. We understand the importance of a safe and reliable electrical system. You can always count on Mr. Electric to offer you the latest technologies available to improve the safety, security, and convenience of your family. Whether it is Smoke/Carbon Monoxide Detectors and GFCI, (SHOCK), Protection, the convenience of USB outlets, or the added security of additional outdoor motion activated lighting, Mr. Electric will do the job right the first time.
5.0

01/10/2017


Jane S.

They were timely, professional and courteous. They explained things in layman's terms so that I could understand.

Description of Work
Change out of several electrical outlets.

Category electrician

2.0

12/20/2016


Daniel C.

The electrician who showed up WOULD NOT DO WHAT THE COMPANY AGREED TO DO. He said it would be an additional amount ($120???) if he had to get his tools out to look at anything. All he would have had to do is take off the panel cover to check out the breaker wires. He would not do it without charging more money. I told him that I asked ahead of time because I wasn't sure if what I wanted would be covered. My sister worked from my home that day so she could be there when he was there. He would not budge. He blamed it on the receptionist and said that if a real electrician would been asked they would have known to say no. I reminded him that the receptionist put me on hold and asked someone else. Who could that have been? He said it was probably the owner but still wouldn't do it. Punctuality was okay. The appt was for 0830 and he was there at 0900. This is just my impression not based on any specific evidence: I think this was a bait and switch. They thought if he got there and said he would have to charge more then I would agree to let him do it since he was there already. Or, it could just be that the electrician didn't want to do what his company agreed to do. Maybe he thought it was beneath him. Or, maybe he wanted to spend his time at another house where he could talk them into paying more. I don't know, but it's very poor and potentially unethical business.

Description of Work
Coupon was for $39.00 circuit breaker panel labeling and a free home electrical safety inspection. I called ahead of time to see if their coupon would cover what I needed done. I was honest and upfront with them because I could understand if they wanted to stick strictly to what the coupon said. But, the part about the free home electrical safety inspection left me with some hope. The receptionist put me on hold to check. She came back with a confirmation that they would do it. I needed my electrical box inspected to see if it was a 150 or 200 Amp. I already had the breakers labeled and the main breaker was a 150Amp. I also needed to see if there was a reason that the house lights blink every time the condenser kicks on.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Customer purchased this "Coupon was for $39.00 circuit breaker panel labeling & a free home electrical safety inspection." But when we arrived customer wanted something else? I would say that this is a classic "Buy & Switch". If the offer is for labeling the breakers in the panel, & a "Free Home Safety Inspection", why would there be any expectation that we would do a professional evaluation of the electrical system? It's not possible to diagnose issues with an electrical system over the phone, or without taking out our tools. A Journeyman Electrician in Oklahoma must spend 8000 hours in training & classes in order to be able to take the Unlimited Journeyman's exam. Often times people expect our dispatcher to be able to answer questions about how or if something can be done, & it's simply not reasonable to think that she would be able to do that. No one would expect the receptionist at the Dr.'s office to diagnose symptoms & prescribe medicine. In most cases a Journeyman must look at the job in person in order to give an honest & fair evaluation of a proper course of action to resolve an electrical issue. If we as Licensed Professionals do not use proper diligence when looking over an electrical issue we can be held accountable for future problems that may arise. Simply from a Liability standpoint, we have to be thorough. There are no "Ballpark Estimates" in our industry, or at least there should not be. I apologize that we could not give the service that was listed, in detail, in the offer. In the future it may be best to simply state what is needed, & ask for that service in order to avoid disappointment & confusion. To personally attack the Journeyman, "Maybe he thought it was beneath him. Or, maybe he wanted to spend his time at another house where he could talk them into paying more." & Mr. Electric, "I don't know, but it's very poor & potentially unethical business." is out of line.
2.0

10/24/2016


Dan B.

It was bad. They could have fixed the problem. They did not find the problem to fix it.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for Mr Electric of Central Oklahoma. They did basic repairs.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Yes we could have fixed it. Here is the quote. Mr.Electric of Central Oklahoma 704 Research Park Blvd. Suite 100 Norman, OK 73069 Estimate Job Estimate Date 6/8/2016 Customer PO Billing Address (Customer info removed) Oklahoma City, OK [Member Information Removed] USA Job Address (Customer info removed) Oklahoma City, OK [Member Information Removed] USA Estimate Details Extend 120 volt circuit to restore power to garage receptacles. Task # Description Quantity Your Price Your Total Z12121 ServiceTrip Charge 1.00 $23.53 $23.53 Z12121 Angie's Deal 1.00 $-50.00 $-50.00 V10250 15-20 AMP ROMEX WIRE CLOSED WALL 1.00 $320.00 $320.00 Sub-Total $293.53 Tax $0.00 ___________ Total $293.53 This is what it would have cost to do the repair. The quote was declined.
3.0

10/12/2016


Kamil N.

The work has gone well, it took less than one hour, true work less than half an hour, Thw cost enormous.

Description of Work
2 CFGI plugs did not work

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for calling Mr. Electric to address these electrical issues. This is the actual work that was done. "DIAGNOSE & REPAIR: 1- MOTORIZED POOL COVER NOT WORKING (FOUND & REPLACED FAULTY GFCI RECEPTACLE IN BACK OF POOL CABANA; INSTALLED NEW WEATHERPROOF IN-USE BUBBLE COVER; RESET TRIPPED CIRCUIT BREAKER); 2- BATHROOM & OUTDOOR RECEPTACLES ON POOL CABANA NOT WORKING (FOUND & REPLACED FAULTY GFCI RECEPTACLE IN POOL CABANA BATHROOM; RESET TRIPPED CIRCUIT BREAKER)" In the course of completing this work we inspected 4 panels that are on the property. The problems addressed in this particular case involve electrical systems and equipment in a pool house and around the pool itself. These are particularly critical areas regarding electrical safety and require thorough examination and testing to insure that they are functioning as intended so that there is no danger of electrocution. While the summary of the work required to complete this task may be brief, the processes involved are not necessarily so.
4.0

10/07/2016


Terri S.

Technician was on time and diagnosed the problem quickly and fixed it. The final cost was quite a bit lower than his original estimate. We purchased one of the company's one year advantage plans for $89.00--we'll see if it will be worth it.

Description of Work
Some of our electrical receptacles weren't working. Replaced ground fault circuit breaker.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for trusting Mr. Electric with the safety of your home and family, and thank you for becoming a Mr. Electric Advantage Plan Member. As a Member you will receive these benefits. Priority Scheduling: Our Mr. Electric Advantage Plan customers are always given priority scheduling when emergencies arise. Preferential Pricing: As a Mr. Electric Advantage Plan customer, you will enjoy a special discount from standard pricing. 13%-15% discount. Periodic Specials: As a loyalty reward to our Mr. Electric Advantage Plan customer, we from time-to-time, send out specials providing even greater savings and convenience. Personalized Records: For our Mr. Electric Advantage Plan customers, we maintain records of what we find during our home safety check up, which helps you to have greater peace of mind as we diagnose solutions. Transferable Agreement: Your Mr. Electric Advantage Plan agreement is transferable to new owners when you are ready to sell. Simply notify us of the name of the new owner. Multiple Site Coverage: Customers owning additional residential properties enjoy Mr. Electric Advantage Plan coverage over all listed sites. Extended Labor Warranty: Double the stated length of your labor warranty on your Mr. Electric Advantage Plan. We look forward to serving you. At Mr. Electric SAFETY is JOB #1.
4.0

09/23/2016


Susan B.

I think it was fine. We didn't really have him do any work because it was expensive but he was fine. His estimate was expensive. I think he was thorough.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for Mr Electric of Central Oklahoma. He just did an inspection and gave us estimate.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to inspect your electrical system and make recommendations to improve the safety of your home and family. We understand the costs involved in providing Professional Electric Service, and know that not everyone can afford to upgrade their electrical system. We also know that if we don't offer EVERY CUSTOMER the option to install safety equipment in their existing home, (that is now REQUIRED in any new home), we are not doing a Professional job. OUR JOB IS SAFETY FIRST!!. We do have affordable payment plans available to all customers who would like to use them.
5.0

09/22/2016


Jane V.

It was good. He was prompt, courteous, did what he said he would do, on time and cleaned up everything.

Description of Work
I used Mr Electric of Central Oklahoma to redo our panels in the garage and numbered it.

Category electrician

1.0

09/11/2016


Jackie B.

Have dates to contact me as directed. Never heard from them.

Description of Work
Minor electrical work

Category electrician

5.0

08/22/2016


Jana G.

Very well. Electrician was personable, courteous and polite. He did a fantastic job

Description of Work
Entire house had to be rewired and brought up to code due to some remodeling we were doing

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

2.0

07/07/2016


Linda A.

Now that I have the labels I have no idea which ones go where. It has been very difficult trying to get this company to come out and actually do the labeling.

Description of Work
I bought a big deal online for a circuit breaker labeling. Bob came out the first time and spent all day here but still didn't label my breaker. I had to have them send them to me in the mail and after multiple weeks I finally received them. It took several phone calls just to get these.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

The fact is that I did spend several hours doing a FREE HOME SAFETY INSPECTION, you DID schedule a time to have repairs done, the first week in July, and then cancelled the appointment. We understand that appointments get cancelled for many reasons, and that's part of being in business. But we also offered to come up and install the panel circuit breaker label, at NO COST, and were told to send it in the mail which we did. When the appointment was cancelled, and we were told that you wanted the label mailed, even though we offered to come and install it, we had to prepare the label from notes and photos taken during the initial inspection. To say that "It has been very difficult trying to get this company to come out and actually do the labeling", is simply not true. Whatever reason the appointment was cancelled is none of our business, but to disparage our company is not acceptable.
1.0

07/07/2016


Jinna C.

The whole time I felt that he was trying to up-sell me, thinking I would not have an idea on price since I am a woman. I felt uncomfortable, and I will be using someone else for the work.

Description of Work
They came out to give an inspection and estimate on a breaker box in my garage.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry that you felt uncomfortable. The circuit restoration fee that the Service Professional recommended would have covered removing any devices,(receptacles, switches, light fixtures, etc.), necessary to determine the cause of the power loss to the receptacle in the kitchen, and the "surges" in the living room. It includes replacing any of the receptacles, switches and a standard circuit breaker necessary to make the system safe. The home was built in 1963, (Zillow), and there have been 18 National Electric Code updates during that time. As a policy we NEVER sell a [Member Information Removed] something that, in our professional opinion, would not improve the SAFETY, CONVENIENCE, EFFICIENCY, AESTHETICS of their home. What we will do is offer to every [Member Information Removed] the opportunity to have the latest electrical safety devices installed in their home while we are there. These devices are now REQUIRED IN ALL NEW HOMES. Why? Because they have saved hundreds of lives and millions of dollars in property damage. Simply because a home was built before the requirement does not mean that an owner shouldn't have the opportunity to improve the SAFETY of their family and property. We try to educate our customers about the opportunities available to them. How else would the average home owner know about changes that have been made to electrical safety in the last 53 years? The safety of our customers is always our highest priority, and we realize that not everyone is our [Member Information Removed]. We always appreciate the opportunity.
1.0

06/28/2016


ANIL D.

AFTER PURCHASING THE "DEAL" ON 06/09/2016, THE PROVIDER DID NOT CONTACT ME INSPITE OF THEM HAVING MY EMAIL ADDRESS AND THEIR WEBSITE ALLOWING ME TO SET UP THREE SETS OF DATES AND TIMES FOR AN APPOINTMENT. I FINALLY CALLED! ON-06-22-2016, WHEN THE PERSON CAME HE PARKED "ACROSS" MY DRIVEWAY BY COMPLETELY BLOCKING MY DRIVEWAY. WHEN I ASKED HIM TO RATHER PARK "IN" MY DRIVE WAY HE SAID "NO, ITS COMPANY POLICY". IT WAS TRASH DAY AND HE HAD BLOCKED ACCESS TO MY TRASH CANS ON THE CURB. RATHER THAN MOVE HIS VEHICLE HE MOVED MY TRASH CANS! HE DID NOT EVEN BOTHER TO LOOK AT WHAT MIGHT BE THE ISSUES WITH A COUPLE OF ELECTRICAL REPAIR ITEMS I NEEDED FIXED. IN FACT HE QUOTED ME ON COMPLETE NEW REPLACEMENTS AT ASTRONOMICAL PRICES. ONE ITEM WAS "FURNISH & INSTALL NEW ELECTRONIC PROGRAMMABLE ASTRONOMIC TIMER" THAT COSTS $32 AT HOME DEPOT BUT HIS QUOTE WAS $272.52. HE TRIED TO UP SELL ON STUFF THAT I DID NOT WANT; (A) AN ADVANTAGE PROGRAM COSTING $89.00, (B) A TRIP CHARGE OF $20.00, (C) REPLACING THE HOUSING THAT HOLDS CEILING FANS, BECAUSE THE HOME IS "OLD" (D) OFFERING TO PUT NEW SECURITY LIGHTS ON THE OUTSIDE OF MY HOME! "(BECAUSE THE ONES I HAVE ARE FOR CHRISTMAS LIGHTING!)' (e) A BASIC DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE OF $89.95. (NO DIAGNOSING WAS EVER DONE)!! ALL OF THIS BECAUSE I LIKED THE ANGIE'S LIST DEAL THAT SAID "$45.00 for an electrical service call and diagnostic, plus $50 credit toward any necessary repairs" I AM NOT SURE HOW MR. ELECTRIC IS PROVIDED AN "A" RATING FROM ANGIES LIST. THEY HAVE ALMOST 30% OF THEIR REVIEWS THAT ARE NOT "A'! FOR ME ITS AN "F" AND SHOULD NOT EVEN BE ON ANGIE'S LIST! BUYER BEWARE! I HAVE REQUESTED A REFUND, WILL NEVER USE OR SUGGEST MR. ELECTRIC AND I CAME SO VERY CLOSE TO CANCELLING MY MEMBERSHIP WITH ANGIES LIST. MORE THAN LIKELY THESE PROVIDERS ARE PERHAPS THE REASON WHY ANGIES LIST MEMBERSHIP SUFFERS!

Description of Work
NOTHING, OTHER THAN UP SELLING AND GIVING ME A QUOTE ON WORK THAT I DID NOT ASK FOR!

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

We apologize for your experience. The reason we don't park in a customers driveway is if we may have an oil leak, or some other engine fluids, we don't want to leak on your driveway. I don't believe any of our vehicles have leaks, but we don't take that risk. The Service Professional should have put his vehicle in your driveway after you asked him, "It's company policy" is NEVER a proper response. As to the "ASTRONOMICAL PRICES", we definitely are not a handyman company, but we do use a menu price guide that insures we are consistent in our pricing to all of our customers. When you purchase materials from Mr. Electric, we bring them to you, we install them, in the case of the ASTRONOMIC TIMER, we program it, (astronomic meaning that once it is programmed it is self adjusting all year including for daylight savings time), we provide a 1 year labor and materials warranty, so you are getting more than a $32.00 timer. I looked over the quote and did not see any "upselling". This is your quote. DIAGNOSE & REPAIR: MECHANICAL 24-HOUR TIMER SWITCH CONTROLLING FRONT EAVE RECEPTACLES & BACK MOTION FLOOD LIGHTS NOT WORKING (RECOMMEND REPLACING TIMER SWITCH); FLOURESCENT LIGHT IN KITCHEN LIGHTPANEL DROP CEILING NOT WORKING (RECOMMEND REBUILDING FIXTURE) Task # Description Quantity Standard Price Your Price Your Total Y2150 FURNISH & INSTALL NEW ELECTRONIC PROGRAMMABLE ASTRONOMIC TIMER SWITCH 1.00 $316.79 $271.52 $271.52 R1250 REBUILD/RETROFITEXISTING FLOURESCENTSTRIP LIGHTTO LED 1.00 $240.84 $204.71 $204.71 Z100 BASIC [Member Information Removed] 1-4 OPENINGS 1.00 $105.83 $89.95 $89.95 Z12121 ServiceTrip Charge 1.00 $23.53 $20.00 $20.00 Z10000 1 YEAR [Member Information Removed] ADVANTAGE PLAN 1.00 $89.00 $89.00 $89.00 991101 ANGIE'S LIST COUPON CODE: 1.00 $0.00 $-139.00 $-139.00 Sub-Total $536.18 Tax $0.00 ___________ Total $536.18 Membership Discount $239.81 But if in fact there were electrical safety issues, or ways to [Member Information Removed] energy, or reduce maintenance and we didn't at least mention them we would not be providing a professional service. It was difficult communicating to schedule an appointment, as we typically do that via telephone and when trying to do it via email there can be delays. As far as not looking at " ELECTRICAL REPAIR ITEMS" if a timer is not working, there is no "repair" option, it must be replaced, and if a fluorescent light is not working after new lamps have been installed the best option for a long term solution is to convert it to LED. The Advantage Plan Offer meant spending $89.00 to [Member Information Removed] $239.00, and savings up to 15% on any other work for a year.
3.0

06/22/2016


DWIGHT D.

worker was punctual and after several code checks of electrical service went to work and installed both lights in a timely manner my only regret is the cost seemed to be about twice what I thought it should be, would not use again

Description of Work
Replaced porch light fixture and driveway motion spotlights

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

It appears that we met expectations for Punctuality, "worker was punctual", " installed both lights in a timely manner", but rate only a C on punctuality and a D on Responsiveness?? Because someone has an expectation of price/cost that was not met is no reason to denigrate a companies character on other issues. I'm sorry that our price did not meet your expectation, and that is why we ALWAYS give UP FRONT PRICING, so that a customer can say NO, or preferably, 'No thank you'. We realize that not everyone wants to pay the price that we have to charge for the work we do, but many people want a higher level of service than a handyman would charge, and they understand the costs involved with running a business, they appreciate that we set appointments to work with their schedules, that our Service Professionals are State Licensed and background checked, that we call the day before to remind them of their appointments, or simply that we return calls. But it is true that we are not going to be the cheapest. If we worked out of our garage, had no liability insurance, no workers comp, hired anyone, we might be able to meet a low price expectation, but then we wouldn't be Mr. Electric.
5.0

06/17/2016


Paula S.

Mike and Kofer arrived on time. They were professional and kept us informed as they did the work. They answered all questions.

Description of Work
Installed whole house surge protector. Installed light above kitchen counter; replaced several outlets and replaced switches. Installed outlet in garage.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO POST A REVIEW. KNOWING THAT WE ARE MEETING AND EXCEEDING OUR CUSTOMERS EXPECTATIONS TELLS US THAT WE ARE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT.
4.0

06/07/2016


Aud S.

Problem was not solved and still exist. I feel the $45 was wasted. The problem was not straight forward and as he stated intermittent so without making a guess he could not diagnose the issue. I said I would not use this provider again but they should have unsure as an option. I probably would not use them for diagnostic purposes since my problem still exists.

Description of Work
I bought the $45 diagnostic test from Angie's list. He arrived on time and was courteous. He asked my opinion on what happens when the problem occurs which I explained. The problem I was experiencing and will continue to experience is a tripped circuit breaker in one of the bedrooms. When the problem occurred the treadmill and cable box were the only items plugged in. On one occasion I had a small heater plugged in. Since he was not able to reinvent the problem when he was here the problem still exists. He said many things could cause the problem but he could not name one thing because it was intermittent. From this I can't say what the quality of their work is because my problem is still a problem. I guess if it were a straight forward problem it could have been fixed. He did say he could guess at what my problem might be but I could go broke on a guess. No work was done and my diagnostic was unsuccessful. I feel the $45 was a waste for this issue.

Category electrician

3.0

05/24/2016


Harry K.

It didn't work. He couldn't do the job. It was an electric part on a piece of an appliance. It was a switch and it's something they were able to do for. It would have been expensive in addition. They were prompt.

Description of Work
We purchased a "Big Deal" for Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma.

Category electrician

5.0

05/22/2016


REBECCA M.

Mike and his assistant were great! Very professional and friendly, fast service and great results. I would definitely use Mr. Electric again.

Description of Work
Installed 2 outlets for garage doors.

Category electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    Weatherization Experts Inc

    We are PEERLESS in lowering your utilities and increasing your comfort! Proud recipients of Angie's "Super Service Award" winning 6 consecutive years 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 in two categories Energy Efficiency Auditing & Insulation . Additional contact names - Todd L. Cox, Stella Cox, Jesse Cox.  

    Action Satellite & Home Theater

    Owned & operated solely by Greg Appleby. 44 years experience. Challenging, difficult & unusual requests are a specialty. Lots of TLC for my customers. Many times have solved problems over the phone. I have a large number of DirecTV customers who won't have anyone else work on their system. DirecTV even sends their customers to me if they can't make it quickly, although I'm not a DirecTV dealer! I sell & install Free-To-Air satellite systems (FTA) for those interested in foreign or specialty programs. I set-up local off-air HD antennas in attics or on roofs. My service call trip is usually between $30-50 in the Oklahoma City Metro, and $60/hr. afterwards, plus materials. I'll travel just about anywhere in the state if my client will cover mileage. I accept all major credit cards, personal checks, and I still take cash! I have been mounting TV's on walls and fireplaces for many years now, and have a 4.5+ job reviews. Have recently become a certified Yamaha & Denon product line dealer. So please call me if you would like to speak with me about a home entertainment or electronics service need. Thanks. Greg  

    Total protection connection

    We specialize in whole home security systems including fire alarms and glass break detection. We do security cameras and window alarms. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call -or- click to schedule a strategic session!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Electrical Services, Home Wiring

    Services Not Offered

    New Home Construction

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma

    How is Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma overall rated?

    Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma open?

    Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma provide

    Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offers free project estimates.

    Does Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma?

    Yes, Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offers warranties.

    What services does Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offer?

    Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma offers the following services: Electrical Services, Home Wiring

    Are there any services Mr. Electric of Central Oklahoma does not offer?

    New Home Construction