Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery

Founded 1927 • With Angi since June 2010

4.8

(45) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4041 Erie St

Willoughby, OH 44094

Description

Before you decide to buy new fine furniture, you may already have it in your home! Furniture upholstery Free in home estimate, address is work shop, services about all of Ohio. Additional number 440-269-8438

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/21/2021


Carol F.

This was an absolutely wonderful experience. James is terrific in every way. The quality of his work is superb. He also connected me with a place to review and purchase material. All went without a hitch. Hire him. You will be very please with the entire experience.

Description of Work
Sofa and Loveseat Uphosterery

Category furniture repair

1.0

11/12/2020


Teri S.

"Given nothing and had no right to trash my mother's furniture In 2017, My mother brought 2 antique chairs for reupholstering and we picked the fabric also supposed to refinish a antique table and a heavy duty side table. Made some payments and then tried to contact to discuss additional payments and status of work in 2020. He Said he called with no success to reach my mom. He didn’t leave any message about details or what was going to take place. My mom tried contacting for awhile to arrange for payment in Oct 2020 . He did call and leave a message THEN returning her inquiry , but never left a message initially to have them taken care of or picked up-when Covid closed down business in April 2020. He called and left a message saying , the chairs were no good and same with tables then told my mother he just threw them out with Covid and had no room . He did not properly contact not even sending a letter to her address Seriously wrong!!!! Unbelievable!!!! he received money and has. given nothing and had no right to trash my mother's furniture . If a message was left the furniture would have been picked . Very upset . Be careful. I would NEVER recommend this business . I think the whole matter was very unprofessional!!!!

Description of Work
Upholstery and wood refinish repair

Category furniture repair, upholstery, alterations

5.0

09/18/2020


Larry H.

JAMES - I went to his home workshop. I left the chairs and paid a small deposit. He told me two weeks. In less than two weeks, JAMES called to say the chairs were ready. In a word, my clients said they couldn’t have been repaired, they looked brand new! Incredible job. I would highly recommend and I will use again for sure.

Description of Work
2 Chairs from Clients. Sentimental value.

Category furniture repair, alterations

5.0

01/18/2018


ROBERT & DIANE W.

Perfect! This is the third time I have used them to repair chairs. The other 8 chairs were antiques and all needed new seats. They were all done just perfectly! I'm extremely pleased and will definitely use this company again.

Description of Work
He recaned the chair seats on two chairs.

Category furniture repair

5.0

10/27/2017


Wendy T.

The process was so easy. They came and picked up the fabric, measured the seats, then came back and delivered the cushions. It did take a month but was well worth it.

Description of Work
I had two seat cushions made. I provided the fabric.

Category upholstery

5.0

08/15/2017


Barb B.

It was great! They are very helpful and friendly. They picked up my furniture and delivered it back when they were done. The couch was $2600.25 and the chairs were $1544.10. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I had them recover a 65 year old couch and six chairs.

Category upholstery

5.0

06/14/2017


Tenney H.

It went well with devices performed on time with personal attention.

Description of Work
Reupholstered an antique chair and repaired its springs.

Category upholstery

5.0

06/05/2017


Deborah D.

Everything about this experience was great. Jim had an amazing selection of fabrics. He is knowledgeable and does excellent work.

Description of Work
We had 4 dining room chairs re-upholstered and 2 couch cushions re-stuffed.

Category upholstery

5.0

11/03/2016


WILLIAM R.

Great. James picked up the chair, retied the springs, upholstered it and brought it back. Expert work and a great improvement to our living room.

Description of Work
We needed a large armchair rebuilt and reupholstered.

Category upholstery

5.0

07/05/2016


ROBERT & DIANE W.

It went perfect. They are very professional and have great customer service.

Description of Work
New Cane seat on the bottom of an antique chair

Category upholstery

5.0

12/12/2015


Jeanne C.

The entire experience couldn't have been better. In the first place, Jim inspected the furniture to make sure it was worth reupholstering. We purchased the furniture thirteen years ago from Arhaus. It passed inspection. I picked out fabric and off we went. I had people tell me to just buy new, between the cost and craftsmanship. Well let me tell you the cost was fair and I didn't have to go shopping for furniture (which doesn't have the quality as my existing reupholstered furniture). The furniture is beautiful and very comfortable. He is now in the process of refinishing a table top. After he finishes that I am having my kitchen chairs redone.

Description of Work
I had my family room furniture done. A couch, love seat, large chair

Category furniture repair, upholstery

5.0

10/10/2015


Barbara T.

It went great! James Luskin did everything he said he would. He complete the work in a timely manner. I now have my beautiful furniture to enjoy in my home.

Description of Work
James Luskin provided top notch service when he upholstered a favorite chair and ottoman. The quality of the work was better than I ever expected. Really quality work! This was the best experience I have ever had with an upholsterer. I say this because I have used some upholsterers in the past and their work did not meet my expectations. I highly recommend Mr. Luskin to all, and I found him on Angie's List. I will definitely use him again. Very professional guy.

Category upholstery

5.0

08/24/2015


Daniel M.

I contacted Jim Luskin about re-upholstering two couches. His first question was the age of the couches - I immediately thought I'd hear about "they are too old". Actually, it is newer couches that are not candidates for re-upholstery. The "newer" of the two couches was purchased in 1951. Jim came out to provide a quote. He provided an estimate of material cost, which would change based on material selected. The re-upholstery was being done in conjunction with a living room renovation. Jim picked up the sofas at the start of the project. He had several books of materials from which to choose for the new covering. The first set of material selections turned out to be no longer available from the manufacturer. Jim brought additional books to the house for alternate selections. One of the couches is a sleeper sofa. Jim worked with one of his suppliers to obtain a new mattress for the sleeper. (The mattress cost is included in the total price.) The living room renovation involved restoring - as much as possible - the room to historical accuracy. Some unforeseen issues extended the project by about six weeks. Although the couches were done, Jim had no issue with keeping them - and, not requesting any payment, until we were ready for delivery. When the couches were delivered, they looked great, had more support than before this job. I'm very happy with Jim's work. I'm planning to have some chairs re-upholstered by Jim in the next year.

Description of Work
Re-upholster two couches

Category upholstery, alterations

5.0

05/11/2015


MR P.

He came out, gave us an estimate, picked up the chair and left us samples to decide upon a fabric. Contacted him the next day to let him know the fabric we had decided upon. We were told it would be two weeks and it was. He delivered the chair back to us when it was finished. We now have a completely brand new chair. We are very happy with what was done and we would definitely contact him again.

Description of Work
Had an old chair that needed new upholstery, springs and padding.

Category upholstery

5.0

12/22/2014


Derek M.

By far exceeded our expectations. I inherited the drop arm sofa from my grandparents attic. It was severely neglected and had become home to squirrels and lots of walnut shells. Essentially, the sofa was not usable in its form. The upholstery was torn, the wood scratched, one of the drop arms was hardly attached, and the innards needed replaced. I called Durabilt and set up a time for an estimate, James came out and provided an estimate and he was able to take the sofa the same day. So off went the sofa. About a week later we stopped by the shop to pick up some samples which we took home and we picked one out. About a week later, James scheduled a time to stop by and show us the fabric so we could see it and double check that it was indeed what we would like. After we agreed to the fabric, it took about another two weeks, and then James called to schedule delivery. I cannot express how happy we are with the work that Durabilt performed. After having the sofa for several weeks now, I cannot find any areas that need corrected or fixed and every day I am still amazed of the quality of craftsmanship that was performed. We received so many compliments on it and several of our friends have already asked for the name of the company that performed the work. Without a doubt, the upholstery was performed with absolute perfection. We will certainly use Durabilt again for some other projects that we have around our house.

Description of Work
Completely restored late 18th century love seat with drop arms

Category upholstery

5.0

10/31/2014


Kenneth L.

The owner, James Luskin, gave use samples and also advised us of some fabric stores we could check. The owner stayed in contact with us while we ordered fabric, advised us of the amount of fabric required. They picked up our furniture and advised as to when it would be finished. The whole process was very professional and friendly. We are very pleased with the whole process.

Description of Work
Dura-bilt reupolstered our porch furniture. the cushions and furniture platform needed to be redone.

Category upholstery

5.0

05/02/2014


ROBERT & DIANE W.

They did a fantastic job, the chairs look wonderful.

Description of Work
I took 6 antique ladder-back dining chairs to them to have the seats redone. The seats are a woven jute cord . On 3 of the chairs the cording had began to pop and break. They re-wove the seats and stained the jute to match the shade of the old jute on the chairs.

Category furniture repair, upholstery, antiques

5.0

03/16/2014


MARCIA C.

I first found Dura-Bilt on Angie's List and I have used him on 4 separate occasions in the past 9 months. I have recently moved and have been reupholstering my good furniture to go with the new decor. I couldn't be happier with James. His workmanship is excellent. He strips the item down to its frame and starts from scratch with padding etc. His selection of fabrics to choose from has given me many choices. His shop is loaded with books and I have happily made my selection and taken the books home to double check in the home environment. Once the fabric comes in, he brings it to the home before making the first cut---again just to make sure I am happy with the full look of the fabric.Time frame for the job is always reasonable and gets done when he says with no problems. James is definitely a people person and goes the extra mile with customer contact and delivery. I have one more project to go (dining room chairs) and of course, James will be doing it once I get to that particular room!

Description of Work
Reupholstered two upholstered swivel chairs and two ottomans.

Category upholstery

5.0

11/17/2013


MARCIA C.

I found DuraBilt on Angie's List. James came out and looked at all the pieces I wanted redone: 2 loveseats, 2 wood chairs, 4 kitchen chairs,chaise lounge, and a bench.I was given an estimate at this time. I was up against a timeline of Thanksgiving and he felt this all could be done by then. I had pre-selected my fabric except for the kitchen chairs. I went out to his shop to select fabric for these, took some books home and made my selection. Fabric came in very quickly for the kitchen chairs. I was really impressed with how fast this was moving along. Workmanship was excellent. He picked up all the pieces at once and delivered the various pieces as they were completed. He is a fine person to deal with and I plan on using him again. Very happy customer!

Description of Work
Re-upholstered many pieces of furniture

Category upholstery

5.0

10/01/2013


Karl B.

Jim gave a fair price, did the work as promised and it is good quality. I am sitting on it as I write this review. Thanks

Description of Work
Reupholstered desk chair

Category upholstery

5.0

06/30/2013


Elaine B.

Contacted me promptly. Made the appointment to view pieces for estimate. Friendly and knowledgable .furniture was picked up promptly and the work took four weeks as promised. I provided a drawer from a different set of furniture As a example of the color and finish. They did a great job. It looks much better than I anticipated.

Description of Work
Refinished four pieces of bedroom furniture.

Category furniture repair, upholstery

5.0

05/06/2013


Jayne B.

When he found the supplier was no longer carrying the original fabric we selected, he was on the phone with them asking the to send similar product for our approval. He could not have been nicer to work with. I was very pleased!

Description of Work
The owner did a complete rebuild of my swivel rocker, from re-staining the wood accents to re-padding and reupholstering.

Category upholstery

5.0

05/04/2013


Bernice B.

No work was performed, but he gave me great advice over the phone. He was very upfront with me and had great customer service.

Description of Work
I contacted him for upholstery of a couch.

Category upholstery

5.0

03/10/2013


Susan F.

The in-store experience was very positive. Jim is very personable and helped me to feel comfortable looking for new fabrics. He walked to my car with me to carry in the sample chair I had brought. When he came to the house to pick up the remainder of the chairs, he brought a larger bolt of the fabric so that I could be sure on what I had chosen. The completed chairs were delivered less than two weeks later. They look great! I would definitely use Dura/Bilt again!

Description of Work
Jim helped me to find new fabric to recover the dining room chairs I inherited from my mom. He really zeroed in on what I wanted and was patient and helpful in finding the perfect fabric.

Category upholstery

5.0

12/05/2012


Margaret S.

I dropped the first chair off at the shop myself and James carried it from my car to his shop. He then dropped off that chair at my house and picked up the glider rocker. He is very good about calling and setting (and keeping) appointments and I always knew where we were with the jobs.

Description of Work
This was the second of two items I had done.... and both turned out exactly as I had hoped! The first was a reasonably simple project -- replacing the covering on a wooden chair with an upholstered seat. I wanted to put a leather-look fabric on it, rather than the floral fabric that it currently had. James found books with leather-look fabrics for me at his shop and allowed me plenty of time to look through them and choose what I wanted. He completely redid the seat and the upholstery work was flawless! The second job (which is the one I dated 10/29/2012) was a more difficult job (at least in my mind!) I had one of the very first Dutailier glider rockers from the early 90s. I loved that chair because it was one of the only chairs around that actually fit me (I'm 4'10"). The newer models are bigger chairs with much more massive cushioning and I neither liked the chairs nor did the newer chairs fit me. So, I wanted to have the cushions replaced, something done about the fabric/spring combination that held up (or in my case, no longer held up) the cushion and, in general, reglue the wobbly arms and turn the chair back into something that actually looked nice again. I had some ideas about fabrics and James once again helped find books for me and even ordered a fabric and then called me in to have a look at it (it was perfect!) He figured out a new way to support the cushion, made the back cushion tie rather than snap on to the chair and re-glued the rather wobbly arms. The chair now looks -- and feels! -- as if it just came out of the showroom. James attention to customer service and to detail lead me to recommend him wholeheartedly.

Category upholstery

    Other local Pros in your area

    MARY ANNE'S PLACE

    We can take care of all of your sewing and alteration needs.  

    J Display Case

    We are a custom acrylic fabrication shop with stock designs also shown on our website. Our quality is the finest in the acrylic industry. Display cases, wall cabinets, display covers and bases for antiques, model ships, collectibles, and turntables. Safely packaged and shipped to your door. We ship to all of the US states and cities in 48 contiguous states. Email or call us for a free quote 1 800-971-6276.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Alterations/Sewing/Decorating
    Antiques
    Furniture - Custom Made
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Custom Furniture, Window & Upholstery

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery

    How is Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery overall rated?

    Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery open?

    Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery provide

    Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery offer free estimates?

    No, Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery offer a senior discount?

    No, Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery?

    No, Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery does not offer warranties.

    What services does Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery offer?

    Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery offers the following services: Custom Furniture, Window & Upholstery

    Are there any services Dura-Bilt Drapery & Upholstery does not offer?

    Ask for details.