ABV Contractors Co

About

Founded 1972 • With Angi since October 2009

We are a family owned and operated company with over 40 years experience in Basement Waterproofing, Sewer and Water Lines, Septic Systems, Excavating and Demolition. We also provide Sewer Jetting and Color Video Camera Inspection. Our goal is to leave our customers happy and satisfied in contacting us to solve their problems. Please don't hesitate to contact us either by phone or e-mail, even if you are interested in information only....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(41) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

36

4

2

3

0

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (28)drain pipe installation (19)excavating (18)foundation repair (5)drain cleaning (2)sewer cleaning (2)well & water pump repair (2)tree service (1)septic tank service (1)lawn & landscaping (1)
Showing 1-25 of 41 reviews
5.0

07/22/2022


Anne H.

The guys were professional and easy to work with. They willingly and pleasantly answered all my many questions. They had to re-do some concrete on my driveway. When I noticed that some concrete had splattered on my brick home and called it to their attention, they came the very next morning to power wash it off. I appreciated that so much. No debate, no excuses. They just wanted to make it right. I would highly recommend ABV to friends.

Description of Work
ABV waterproofed one corner of my foundation.

Category excavators, basement waterproofing

Cost $10,650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us! We are grateful to know that we could solve your problem. Thank you again for the opportunity – it was a pleasure to work with you.

5.0

11/21/2020


Elizabeth B.

ABV was incredible to work with. They are excellent communicators and always return emails and calls. They are timely and hard-working when on the job site. They consulted us carefully about issues as they arose. They were careful with our property and restored our yard to better condition than they found it. The job was more complicated than originally anticipated and we went over budget due to completely unanticipated issues. They were incredibly helpful in making suggestions to control costs. And, finally, they were just nice people -- always smiling, upbeat and helpful.

Description of Work
We needed to re-route the exterior storm sewer run off and install additional exterior drains around foundation. This required substantial excavation including cutting through a very thick, old concrete pad reinforced with rebar (not just cement mesh)

Category excavators, basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us! We are so happy that everything turned out the way you wanted. Thank you again for trusting ABV – we appreciate the opportunity to work with you.

5.0

09/03/2020


bob N.

Mike and the ABV Contracting team did an excellent job. Mike is thorough, personable and willing to work with the homeowner to solve their water issues. After listening to me describe the basement water leakage and backyard drainage issues, Mike presented a couple potential solutions that we discussed and agreed on what would work best. When the work started, Mike was on the job each day and the ABV team was punctual, courteous, knowledgeable, hard working and cleaned up each afternoon before leaving. As the work progressed, Mike and his team kept me apprised of any issues they uncovered and of any subsequent decisions that needed to be made. After obtaining several quotes, Mike's price was fair and reasonable for the work performed. I would highly recommend ABV Contracting to rectify your basement waterproofing issues and would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing, Foundation repair, Drain pipe installation

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we are happy to hear we hit the mark for you! We appreciate your trust in our company and want to thank you again for the opportunity to work with you.

5.0

06/23/2020


Roseann L.

Everyone in the crew did a fantastic job. They knew what need to be done. They were professional polite, neat and very hard working. Each night they cleaned up. They were respectful to us and our property. The job required removing steps, a railing, many patio stones and many other things. Everything was put back together to our satisfaction. We can’t say enough good things about ABV Contractors. We would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone we know and would be glad to call them if a need arises.

Description of Work
Basement Waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2020

Service Provider Response

Not only was it our pleasure to help solve your basement issues but it was beyond satisfying to see how happy you both were once the job was completed. We appreciate the opportunity to work together and thank you for trusting in us.

5.0

06/17/2020


Virginia T.

Our sewer was backing up in our house so we contacted ABV Contractors. They found roots in our sewer line and made a sanitary sewer repair. They also camera-ed and snaked our sewer line.

Description of Work
Sanitary Sewer Repair

Category sewer cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are so glad we could repair your sewer line.

5.0

04/21/2020


Steve S.

3 days Job to finish good communication Couldn't have gone better

Description of Work
Water in basement foundation work

Category excavators, basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to work with you and we are happy to hear everything was up to par on your end.

5.0

01/14/2020


ANDREA D.

Mike and ABV contracting were great! To start they provided the best estimate. Mike was very helpful getting the appropriate permits and utilities, septic system taken care of. They demolished the buildings in three days and left the lot in good condition. I would definitely use them again if need and would recommend them highly.

Description of Work
I need 4 small building demolished on a property I recently purchased.

Category excavators, basement waterproofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2020

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind words and we are glad to get your new project started on the right foot!

5.0

06/12/2019


Derien J.

It was excellent. Call me back right away. And came out the same day. Knowledgeable, on time and gave me an estimate.

Description of Work
Flush drain in yard.

Category drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words and we are happy we could solve the problem.

5.0

08/17/2018


Pete M.

I needed both storm and sanitary sewer lines laid from the back corner of my house to the street. A possibly invasive job. These guys are awesome. The price was great. Everyone from their money guy, crew chief, machine operator, even their laborers were excellent and seemed to know their stuff. They showed up when they said they would, worked continuously on the job, and finished on the estimated finish date with no extra charges. The job went smoothly and everything works fine. Bing, bam, boom. I can't say enough good things about them. Molto acclamazioni! (I hope that's right :) Thanks again.)

Description of Work
New storm and sanitary sewers dug/laid

Category excavators, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing how satisfied our customers are after a project like that.

5.0

08/06/2018


Judy P.

The job went smoothing and quickly. Very professional--did an excellent job.

Description of Work
full basement waterproofing and sewer line replacement

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on the experience.

5.0

04/25/2018


Michael P.

Highly recommended! ABV septic service did an excellent job and great price.

Description of Work
Septic instillation

Category excavators, septic tank, basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience with us. We are thrilled to know we continue to satisfy our customers.

5.0

10/24/2017


VICKIE F.

I used them before to install a new trench drain in a walk-out basement, and replace 75 feet of storm drain that runs out to a creek behind my house. They did an excellent job on the basement waterproofing, just as they did with the other job. (I've posted a review of that as well). They completely excavated the 50 feet of wall and removed all material in 7 hours. The operator of the excavator was skilled and efficient. Everyone on the crew worked hard and was careful about how they went about their work. I highly recommend this company for drain lines and basement waterproofing. I rated them an "A" in each category, and they earned it.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing - about 50 linear feet: one full wall and the adjoining sections of two others. Excavate old footer drain tiles; install new drain pipe; repair cracks in wall; apply cement coating on exposed walls; sealcoat with tar; backfill with gravel to 12" below grade; backfill with new topsoil; remove all excavated material.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and for your continued support and trust in us to solve the issue.

5.0

10/18/2017


Kristi M.

I cannot say enough about Mike and his crew. They were timely, neat and very professional. I was kept aware of the progress throughout the job. They cleaned up each night and I couldn't be more satisfied with the end product. Let's face it, no one wants to have to have this type of work done, but the guys at ABV did a wonderful job at what I felt was a reasonable price.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing. I had 3 walls dug out and waterproofed.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are very pleased with the way the project turned out. We take pride in each job and work on them as if they were our own homes.

5.0

09/20/2017


VICKIE F.

The new drain works well and solved my problem. Because the new trench drain would sit lower than the original drain there was some concern about whether there would be sufficient fall for water to run off correctly. ABV did measurements with surveying equipment to insure this would work. The crew did good work in less than ideal conditions - wet and cold December. The operator of the excavator did a great job of digging up the old clay tile and keeping the correct grade for the new pipe. I was very pleased and am considering using them for some basement waterproofing work.

Description of Work
I had a walk-out basement with a small round drain in a 36" x 40" concrete slab at the bottom of the half-flight of stairs outside the basement entry door; it would get clogged with leaves and debris, with water getting in the basement. The slab was removed and replaced with a trench drain. The old drain emptied into 60 feet of clay tile storm drain that had gotten blocked over 50 years. The clay tile was excavated and replaced with 4" PVC. The new drain and pipe were tied into the existing footer drain system; about 10 feet of clay tile footer drain against the house was also replaced with perforated PVC.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your detailed review and we are grateful that the project came out great. We always appreciate our customers taking time to let us know how we are doing.

4.0

08/17/2017


michael M.

the work went well and was well done. the lack they showed was in not picking up the plywood put down to protect my . The wood was left down several knights and we have lost much packisandra and some ivy.

Description of Work
waterproofing front and one side wall of house

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. Unfortunately we can not guarantee any landscaping in the process of the work being done. We have seen in the past that grass and/or ground cover will usually come back the following year. We apologize for the misunderstanding and we hope the work we performed solved the water issue.

5.0

07/11/2017


Monica T.

Mike got back to me right away, was informative, patient and on-time. He answered detailed questions about the project. For an excavation job, everything was kept as neat as possible. The crew was hard working, careful and experienced. I would highly recommend ABV for your project.

Description of Work
We had exterior waterproofing done on 2 sides of our house.

Category excavators, basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are grateful to know we could solve your problem and it was a pleasure to work with you.

5.0

02/07/2017


BOB G.

Very good. Mike called me to explain his findings.

Description of Work
The foundation drain tile did not appear to be draining as good as it should. I asked Mike of ABV to put a camera through the drain pipe to see if there weee clogs or some other problem.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/25/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your continued trust in our ability to help diagnose the problem.

5.0

09/25/2016


Francesca W.

Great, I had a comfortable gut feeling that this was the company I wanted to go with after our initial meeting at the house. I felt I could depend on them to do the work needed without me being home at times and I was correct. There were no issues but they called me to get me updated on their progress when I was not there. I am extremely pleased with the work they did.

Description of Work
Had to have a in ground concrete pool filled in, a drain line put in from the back of the house connecting four downspouts and then flowing out to make connection to the street drain, a number of tall bushes in the front of the house taken out and a tall pine tree removed.

Category excavators, landscaping, tree service, drain pipe

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your positive experience with us. It was an unique project but we are happy that it turned out great. We appreciate your trust in our company and we thank you for the opportunity to work with you!

5.0

04/26/2016


Matt F.

Every time it rained I had water coming in through my foundation walls on 2 sides of my house. I got 3 estimates from 3 companies (ABV was one) and I did my homework on each company beforehand. ABV was not lowest price but after meeting with them I decided to use them because of their knowledge and expertise in basement waterproofing. I will say I was not disappointed that I hired ABV, they stood by their work and did everything and more that they promised me they would during the estimate. I highly recommend this company to anyone. They are courteous and their workers were neat, organized and always made sure the property was safe before they left each evening. I always believed in not automatically hiring the lowest bidder and I'm glad I didn't because ABV is worth it! My only advice to all people in need of work performed at their house...you get what you pay for! Thank you to all at ABV Contractors and I will definitely recommend them to anyone in the future.

Description of Work
ABV came out and gave me an estimate on waterproofing 2 walls of my house.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

Cost $7,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2016

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! It was our pleasure that we could come out and solve your problem. Your kind words go a long way and our main goal is to leave every client happy and satisfied!

1.0

10/12/2015


Leighanna K.

Called to say he would come on 10/7 and never showed and did not call to follow up.

Description of Work
Scheduled an estimate for a water line repair

Category drain pipe

Work Completed On 10/07/2015

5.0

05/29/2015


Lynne B.

We found the problem but we couldn't fix it because the ground was frozen. They came out, they fixed it and put in a clean out pipe - on CHRISTMAS EVE! These people are excellent. They went above and beyond - I would recommend them to anybody.

Description of Work
My sump pump pipe broke. The water flooded about a third of my basement.

Category drain pipe

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/25/2014

5.0

07/08/2014


Jill D.

He gave me a brochure with all the stuff they would do. The estimator assessed the house for maybe an hour. He was very cordial and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
They provided an estimate for waterproofing two sides of the foundation.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $8,500

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2014