Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bennett Builders

Founded 1960 • With Angi since November 2013

4.4

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

27899 Clemens Rd

Westlake, OH 44145

Description

Building Happiness For Generations For more than 100 years, the Bennett name has been involved in residential construction throughout Greater Cleveland and Northeast Ohio. We’ve stood the test of time while others have come and gone because we provide more than a house. By listening carefully and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/14/2018


Dave S.

Project was completed on schedule with minimal contract extras. Bennett completed a full kitchen remodeling. They performed the design, which was reviewed with us multiple times before construction. They demolished the walls and ceiling down to studs, installed all new electrical (including a new sub-panel and lighting), drywall, painted, new pantry, hardwood flooring, tile backsplash, new cabinets and quartz countertops. They were upfront about any Issues that came up during construction and compromised on two contract extras. They did use some subcontractors, but they all did a good job. The project manager and construction manager were both responsive to our communications.

Description of Work
Full kitchen remodeling - gut down to studs - all new electrical, drywall, flooring, cabinets and countertops

Category home remodeling

4.0

05/30/2015


Cynthia H.

.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling, home builders

5.0

08/28/2013


Matthew E.

They were excellent and explained everything. They gave recommendations. I liked their quality. There were some minor settling of caulk and the sink, so they came out and fixed it.

Description of Work
I hired Terry Bennett Builders & Remodelers for kitchen remodeling.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/24/2013


Alan L.

Terry Bennett Builders & Remodelers we ended up not doing anything, but our experience was fine. They were excellent, he was very informed. We knew everything going in. He answered all our questions and he knew that we weren't 100% sure we wanted to do this and he still spent a lot of time with us.

Description of Work
Terry Bennett Builders & Remodelers gave us a quote for a back room addition.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/27/2013


Arthur T.

We moved out for six weeks and they coordinated all the work crews.

Description of Work
Focus was aging in place, re did bathrooms removing jacuzzi and and installing showers with easy access and safety amenities. Re carpet and paint all rooms, install new fireplace wall.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

3.0

11/14/2006


MARY S.

Quality is my top issue, it was extremely uneven, at times very good and at times very bad. If they think you are not paying attention, or it's an area few will see (garage, closet) work is sloppy. Details are not important, trim pieces don t meet, shelves have raw edges and painted wood was not sanded first and has a gritty feel. When problems were pointed out I was often told it was my problem and there was no way they would pay for it. There were many problems but it was that attitude that ruined this experience. They replaced a skylight that was leaking slightly and at the next rain, I had a river of water in my house. They could not fix it on the weekend (or cover the roof with a tarp) but were suddenly attentive and concerned on the weekday. It took three months to repair a ditch they dug across my backyard despite regular requests to get it fixed. Finally, I was disappointed to learn that the person who recommended them to me in the first place was not unbiased.

Description of Work
Renovate interior, remove walls, relocate windows, open up closed-in areas.

Category remodeling, replacement windows, skylights

Service Provider Response

THIS WAS A HUGE REMODELING JOB, INVOLVING WORK IN NEARLY EVERY ROOM AND THE EXTERIOR OF THIS HOME. IT TOOK THREE MONTHS OF DAILY WORK TO COMPLETE AND WAS NEARLY DOUBLE THE $50,000 PRICE THE OWNER STATED ON HER REPORT. WE COMPLETED THE JOB ON TIME. TO SAY THAT "DETAILS ARE NOT IMPORTANT" IS INACCURATE. SHE SIGNED 25 PAGES OF DETAILED CONTRACTS, SPECS, SELECTIONS, ETC. LISTING THE SCOPE OF ALL WORK. CLIENT SATISFACTION IS SO IMPORTANT TO OUR COMPANY THAT WE ASK CLIENTS TO FILL OUT WEEKLY CLIENT REPORT CARDS TO GIVE US THEIR CONSTANT FEEDBACK ON OUR WORK. THIS OWNER FREQUENTLY REFUSED TO FILL OUT A FORM (USUALLY WHEN THINGS WERE GOING WELL) OR WOULD GIVE US MUCH LOWER GRADES THAN OUR RESULTS AND EFFORTS INDICATED WITH LITTLE OR NO EXPLANATIONS. JUST TWO WEEKS BEFORE COMPLETION SHE GAVE US HIGH MARKS OF 4 OUT OF 5 FOR QUALITY (VERY GOOD), THEN SUDDENLY DROPPED THAT GRADE TO A 1 THE NEXT REPORT FOR NO LEGITIMATE REASON. A SKYLIGHT DID LEAK UNDER A WIND-DRIVEN HEAVY RAIN. IT WAS NOT A "RIVER" AND CAUSED NO SERIOUS DAMAGES. WE QUICKLY TARPED THE ROOF AND FIXED THE LEAK. A REAR YARD DITCH DUG FOR A NEW ELECTRIC SERVICE LINE WAS PILED HIGH WITH DIRT TO ALLOW SETTLING. IT DID SETTLE, WE FINISHED GRADED IT AND SEEDED WITH GRASS BEFORE PROJECT COMPLETION. ANYONE VISITING THIS HOME CAN EASILY SEE THAT OUR AWARD-WINNING COMPANY PRODUCED A TOP QUALITY JOB PERFORMED BY THE SAME, EXCELLENT, CARING CRAFTSMEN WHO RECEIVE HIGH MARKS FROM OTHER CLIENTS WE WORK FOR.
4.0

03/22/2006


Michael B.

We haven't had the job done yet because we had another company in doing the other bathroom and job a job offer in Dallas Texas - we'll likely start in June 2006. Their designer Tracy left the company, which is troublesome, but Terry Bennet met personally w/ us and wants to continue the job. We liked his attitude and he comes highly recommended. They underbid their competitor by several thousand dollars for the same job - which is why we're going w/ them to do this job. We used another contractor for one bathroom, Terry Bennet for this bathroom and the one we like best will do our kitchen/dining room. Stay tuned.

Description of Work
Remodel Bathroom, move closets, extend bathroom

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/03/2006


JENNIFER S.

They went above and beyond, doing our punchlist items under warranty even after a year and a half have passed. They stand behind the work they did. They had a foreman who was not accommodating as I would have liked, but the owners made up for it. They still built the perfect house, and I'm not easy to please. They continue to accommodate our high standards.

Description of Work
Performed some punchlist items: cracks in the wall, painting, etc. They built our home as well, and they were phenomenal.

Category remodeling

4.0

02/15/2006


PEGGY S.

When they found a problem, they told us about it and fixed it. They run a little expensive but we didn't mind because we wanted it to be nice. The finished product is always nice but it was such a struggle. There were a lot of days that nobody showed up, and the project wore on and on. One problem is that they'd gotten a building permit for the garage and Bay Village called for changes after they'd begun. Bay Village inspector notified them of a code violation and the project lost momentum and took forever to finish. We had discussed that they would need to run a new circuit to the garage. Toward the end of the project, it seemed that they planned to use an old line instead of doing this. After everything was done, they suddenly came out and dug a trench and put the new line through. It seemed like an afterthought. A representative came out on the day after Thanksgiving, explaining that it was a misunderstanding but this did not seem genuine to us.

Description of Work
Built new garage and tore down and hauled away old one. They replaced numerous windows and some doors as well. Put up some new siding and repaired rotten wood. The work is beautiful, but it took a long time. They started at the end of September and were supposed to finish by the beginning of November. They still had not finished by Thanksgiving.

Category remodeling

5.0

03/20/2004


JILL F.

WHEN THEY WERE INSTALLING IT, THE SCREWS PUNCHED THROUGH THE WALL. BECAUSE OF THE DATE OF MY HOME, THE WALLS ARE THINNER. THE WAY THEY MADE IT WORK WAS BY GLUING THE HOLDER ONTO THE TILE AND THEY GLUED THE SCREWS IN TO LOOK LIKE IT WAS SCREWED IN. ONE OF THE SCREWS CAME LOOSE AND WAS CAUSING PROBLEMS. I CALLED THEM AND LET THEM KNOW. THEY CAME OUT AND LOOKED AT IT. HE TOOK THE SCREW OUT AND RE-SCREWED IT IN. HE PUT IN A SECOND SCREW TO HOLD THE OTHER SCREW IN UNTIL THE GLUE SETS. SO FAR IT SEEMS TO BE HOLDING. THIS WAS DONE AT NO COST. THE INITIAL WORK WAS DONE UNSATISFACTORILY. THIS JOB WAS SOMETHING THEY DID BECAUSE IT WAS NOT DONE PROPERLY THE FIRST TIME. THERE WERE SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THE INITIAL JOB AND IS THE REASON I WOULD BE HESITANT TO CALL THEM FOR ANOTHER PROJECT. THEY RETURNED TO ADDRESS AN ISSUE DISCOVERED LATER. THE PLASTER HAD BUBBLES STOPPING PAPERING. THE SERVICEMAN RESPONDED QUICKLY, WASN'T ABLE TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM. CLEAN UP SHOULD HAVE BEEN MUCH BETTER.

Description of Work
THEY REMODELED PARTS OF OUR BATHROOM IN THE PAST. I HAD PURCHASED A RECESSED TOILET PAPER HOLDER.

Category home remodeling

4.0

12/29/2003


PAT J.

Description of Work
REMOVED OLD DECK AND PUT ON NEW SCREENED PORCH.

Category decks

3.0

08/22/2003


JENNIFER B.

I DIDN'T KNOW THAT THIS COMPANY SUBCONTRACTED AND SOME OF THESE SUBCONTRACTORS WERE JUST WORTHLESS. THEY WERE DELAYED A WEEK IN STARTING AND THEIR ONE WEEK JOB TOOK THREE WEEKS. WHEN IT CAME TIME TO PUT TILE UP, THEY COULDN'T BECAUSE THE SUBCONTRACTORS WORK DID NOT EXTEND TO THE GREEN BOARD AND THE WINDOW WAS JUTTING OUT IMPROPERLY FROM THE WALL. ALSO, THE PLUMBER HAD DROPPED THE TUB ON THE HEATING REGISTER AND TERRY BENNETT'S PEOPLE WERE UNWILLING TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. THIS WAS JUST A PERPETUAL PROBLEM WITH EVERYONE PASSING BLAME FROM ONE GROUP TO ANOTHER AND NO COORDINATION BETWEEN THE DIFFERENT WORKERS. EVEN THE ORIGINAL TERMS OF THE TILE COLOR SCHEME WERE BOTCHED BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT GET WHAT WE HAD CONTRACTED FOR AND THEN JUST PUT SOMETHING ELSE UP UNAUTHORIZED. IT LOOKS TERRIBLE. AGAIN, I WAS TOLD BY TERRY BENNETT'S PEOPLE, "TAKE IT UP WITH THE TILE GUY." EVEN THE SHOWER CURTAIN WAS HUNG TOO LOW, RESULTING IN FOUR TILES WITH HOLES IN THEM WHERE IT WAS FIRST DRILLED!

Description of Work
REMODELED BATHROOM

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/29/2003


CHRIS R.

THOROUGHLY CLEANUP AFTER THEMSELVES, RESPECT YOUR HOME.

Description of Work
CONSTRUCTED A HALF BATH ON THE FIRST FLOOR, CONSTRUCTED AND INSTALLED OAK BANNISTERS ON MAIN STAIRWAY, TEXTURIZING REPAIRS ON CEILING.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/14/1999


PAT J.

REMODELED BEDROOM AND BATHROOM; VERY PROFESSIONAL; BEST ESTIMATE; PROVIDED A MULTIPLE PAGE PROPOSAL, AND A LONG LIST OF REFERENCES

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Home Genius Exteriors

     

    Angi Certified

    Anthony Lewis Renovations LLC

    We dedicate ourselves to consumers needs as far as general home remodeling. That can be from painting, tile work, drywall install or repairs, kitchen remodels, bathroom remodels and basement remodels. We look forward to making your home the way you want it with absolute satisfaction!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Home Exteriors Roofing, Siding and Windows

    Fast, Affordable, & Dependable. Over 35 years in business, Family Owned and operated. We specialize in the complete exterior envelope, Windows, Siding, Roofing, Gutters and Doors. What's in your future? Maybe a new roof for your home or possibly a complete exterior makeover? Talk with one of our roofing, window or siding professionals to find the action that best fits your needs. We're happy to make some repairs to buy you some time, or make a replacement if it is needed. You want a contractor you can trust, and one who has the experience to help you make some major decisions. We will listen to your goals, desires, and help alleviate any concerns. We will walk you through the process like you were one of our family.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    New Homes. Custom Homes. Room Additions. Sun Rooms. Garages. Kitchen Bump-Outs. In-Law Suites. Two Story Additions. Kitchens. Bathrooms. Laundry & Mud Rooms. Basements. Attics. Bedrooms. Family Rooms. Home Offices. Decks & Patios. Roofs. Siding. Window & Door Replacements.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bennett Builders

    How is Bennett Builders overall rated?

    Bennett Builders is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bennett Builders open?

    Bennett Builders is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Bennett Builders provide

    Bennett Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Bennett Builders offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bennett Builders offers free project estimates.

    Does Bennett Builders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bennett Builders offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bennett Builders offer a senior discount?

    No, Bennett Builders does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Bennett Builders?

    Yes, Bennett Builders offers warranties.

    What services does Bennett Builders offer?

    Bennett Builders offers the following services: New Homes. Custom Homes. Room Additions. Sun Rooms. Garages. Kitchen Bump-Outs. In-Law Suites. Two Story Additions. Kitchens. Bathrooms. Laundry & Mud Rooms. Basements. Attics. Bedrooms. Family Rooms. Home Offices. Decks & Patios. Roofs. Siding. Window & Door Replacements.