Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc

Founded 1985 • With Angi since October 1996

4.9

(599) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6336 State Route 605 South

Westerville, OH 43082

Description

Experienced, Dependable and Committed, Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co., Inc. has been a locally and family owned business in Central Ohio since 1984. Our owner, Phil Mallory, is a certified arborist #OH -0725A and he carries on his family tradition of top-rated service, making sure you have a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/28/2022


Mike S.

I had 17 or so large oaks trimmed on 12/8/2022. All service was excellent and completed same day, yard clean up was outstanding. Phil, Teri, Ruskie, Jessica, and team are true professionals. Company is very responsive.

Description of Work
Tree trimming/removal of dead limbs from large oaks.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]! We really appreciate it!
5.0

11/24/2022


John K.

I'm happy to give Charter Oaks a good review. We've relied on their services ( pruning, tree removal and insect treatment) for several years and have always been satisfied. Friendly, reliable and reasonably priced.

Description of Work
Insect treatment

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

11/02/2022


Joe S.

Excellent! I have used their services for several years, and they have always been terrific!

Description of Work
Tree and plant trimming

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Here's to many more years! Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

07/11/2022


Joseph T.

Very good contractor. Does great work, does it neatly and cleans up well

Description of Work
trees trimmed

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

[Member Information Removed] [Member Name Removed]!
1.0

06/22/2022


Barb P.

Do not use this company! It took them a month to send someone out to remove stumps. I had 5 small stumps that needed removed. They only removed 3 and tried to charge me for all 5. The owner Teri, accused me of lying and not wanting to pay. I sent photos of the stumps still in my yard and she actually said I was taking pictures of different stumps, not in my yard. When I let them know the job was not complete and that I wanted my bill adjusted or the work completed, she refused. She called me 9 times in just one afternoon and sent me 7 text messages that same day, just wanting to scream and threaten me. She has now said that she is sending me to collection and putting a lien on my home for $200 worth of work that her company did not complete. Teri is beyond unprofessional. She had no interest in resolving the issue and providing customer service. This company will not complete the work and then demand payment and threaten you to receive the money! BEWARE!

Description of Work
Stump grinding

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Our goal is to provide prompt and exceptional service to every customer. Ms. [Member Name Removed] requested an estimate from our company for stump grinding on 5/9/22 at 3 pm for which she provided photos. We emailed an estimate to her on 5/10/22 at 7:38pm. On 5/10/22 at 7:42pm she authorized the work to be done. We schedule our customers in the order in which they approve the work. We serviced this customer 8 business days after receiving acceptance of our contract. On 5/19/22 at 7:27 pm, we informed the customer that we would be out the following business day (5/20/22). At no point did Ms. [Member Name Removed] express that she was unhappy with her estimate or the date that she was provided. We would have been out a few days earlier had the ground not been so wet due to recent rain. The customer was at home when we did the work on 5/20/22. An invoice was sent via email on 5/20/22, 5/24/22, 5/26/22, 6/3/22 and 6/15/22. Ms. [Member Name Removed] expressed no complaints the day we did the work or during any of our attempts to collect payment until we notified her that our third party collection agency would be acquiring the debt due to non payment after 30 days. As a courtesy, we were trying to prevent her from incurring additional fees and late charges. Ms. [Member Name Removed] provided photos of 2 stumps that she alleges we missed and they are clearly different than the ones in the original estimate request.
4.0

06/02/2022


Beth U.

From the beginning, Charter Oak was responsive and timely. During the time when we were walking our property with Ruskie, for the estimate, he was approachable and easy to talk and shared his expertise readily. On the day of the work, the 3-man crew who came to our house, was only interested in the safety of our home, making sure that they got everything done accurately and they were even open to our questions and cutting off an additional branch here or there. They even left a few cuttings of the trunk for a keepsake (the tree had a special meaning to the family). After that day, the stump grinder came two days later (exactly when we were told he would come) and completed his work in very short time with no mess left behind. Matter of fact, throughout the entire process ever worker made sure that they cleaned up and tidied up like they weren’t even here!! Thank you to everyone at Charter Oak!!

Description of Work
Tree removal, tree trimming, stump grinding

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

04/30/2022


James R.

It went perfectly. The work looks great, with no more sketchy limbs. It looks healthy again, and the work was done timely and professionally! It was well worth the money and I'm Very happy with Charter Oaks and their work!

Description of Work
Needed large tree trimmed because it was dropping limbs and branches in the street, yard, and sidewalk.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

There's nothing better than a happy customer! Thanks Jim!
5.0

03/26/2022


chris S.

Everything went smoothly. The owner met with me to discuss the job. He was very professional and knowledgeable. The two-person crew who did the work were also very professional. They pruned three trees. All debris was removed. I also received a call to advise me of when the work would be done. I feel that the cost of the work was reasonable.

Description of Work
Tree Pruning

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

11/21/2021


Michael C.

The 3 man crew took just one day to do the work. One large elm tree was in a landscape area close to a deck. They successfully removed the 50 foot high tree without incident. Very professional approach to their work. Thoroughly cleaned up branches and debris. Thanks to Charter Oaks for a job well done.

Description of Work
Remove two large trees and three smaller trees, along with grinding one smaller stump.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank yo [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

11/16/2021


Lane H.

We had a tree fall on our house and van parked in the driveway after a wind storm. Charter Oaks responded to our request for help quickly and effortlessly. They quickly sent us quotes via email and were here the next day to remove the tree. When they were done, we were very impressed with the whole process from the beginning to the end. The clean up was even very impressive and the stump was ground out the following day. I would highly recommend Charter Oaks to anyone who is looking for some tree service!

Description of Work
Tree Removal

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

11/14/2021


Judy S.

Excellent Customer Service from Teri(Owner) and Jessica in providing information, follow through with answering questions, and pricing was excellent. Was always there for me. Great service from tree workers Dave, Tony and Trevor in providing good information and follow through with concerns, polite and informative. Great with removing tree and stumps and clean up.

Description of Work
removal of tree and 3 stumps

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

11/06/2021


marsha C.

Equipment used most favorable to property owners with nothing bigger than a small bobcat but hefty to remove biggest of trees. Checked with us on arrival and on completion. No surprises. They have won our business over and over and continue to improve year over year. Happy customers!

Description of Work
Tree removal and stumping

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We like happy customers! Thanks so much [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

09/22/2021


Lisa S.

Very impressed with this company. They went above and beyond what they said they would do (by cutting and removing things that weren't on the invoice but needed to be done). The team was easy to work with and cleaned up at the conclusion of their job like no other company I've used. Neighbors have already asked who they were because they did such a great job and I've recommended them to anyone who has ask for recommendations. I will use them again (and this time not need to do any comparison shopping because their prices, customer service and work is the best!)

Description of Work
Trees trimmed and removed

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We look forward to working with you again!
5.0

09/21/2021


james N.

We had a large branch fall over a driveway and Charter Oaks was very prompt to remove it. I had them return to remove the rest of the tree on a less emergency schedule. I have used them many times over the pass many years as we have a heavily treed residence. Very fair pricing.

Description of Work
Large tree removal

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

04/30/2021


Sean V.

After the recent late snow we had a few large branches that were split and just barely hanging on. Unfortunately, one was over our driveway and another was directly over our aluminum fence. We normally use a different company for our tree services, however they had not returned my call and there was wind and rain in the forecast. I reached out to Charter Oaks to see if they could take care of them on short notice. Ended up speaking with Terri (sp?) who is one of the owners and WOW, she was great to deal with. She was very thorough gathering details about our trees, their location on the property and our concerns about safety for people & property. She also informed me about a new (to Ohio) disease that is devastating oak trees. If you have oaks, or know someone who does, give these folks a call! Our normal tree service ended up calling as I was talking to Charter and they were able to make it out the next morning, however I had such a positive experience with Terri that I felt it was worth leaving a review and we will certainly keep their number handy for any future emergencies or projects that our regular service doesn't handle. A+ Customer Service!

Description of Work
Storm Damage Tree Branch Removal

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

04/22/2021


Lee K.

The team at Charter Oaks did a great job trimming three of our large trees and removing one dead one.

Description of Work
Tree Trimming and Tree Removal

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

04/13/2021


Sam G.

The guys that came out to do the work were quick and efficient. They cleaned up everything well and were very polite. Jessica at the office was amazing and a pleasure to work with. Already referred them to another neighbor that needs some work done. Great Job 👍!

Description of Work
Removed 2 trees and multiple shrubs, stump ground 1 of the tree stumps, also ground shrub roots

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

04/11/2021


Alyson L.

Charter Oaks was quick and responsive. I had questions and they were helpful in explaining the services proposed. They were friendly, quick and responsive. And Charter Oaks performed the services promptly and did a good job. I would recommend them and use them again.

Description of Work
Tree trimming and tree removal/stump grinding

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We certainly hope you do - Thanks [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

04/01/2021


Patricia T.

This was the first time I used Charter Oaks. I would use them again. The price was lower than another company. The estimator was very knowledgeable. The workers were efficient and professional. They did not damage the yard and cleaned it up of all debris afterward.

Description of Work
I had 2 trees removed

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] - we look forward to working with you again!
5.0

03/30/2021


Nick K.

Great! Very responsive. Quick clean service.

Description of Work
Tree and bush removal. Tree trimming

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We look forward to working with you again!
5.0

02/15/2021


Linda S.

We have used them several times in the past and they always do a professional job. This job, Perfectly. Done as usual. They used a bucket truck for my large trees on a day with the snow all over the ground and did a great job, great cleanup and with a smile. I would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Many trees thinned, cleaned up, lifted. and cut back away from house

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

01/29/2021


John K.

I've been a customer of Charter Oaks in the past, and I didn't hesitate to rely on Phil and his staff for advice and services when it was again time to take care of some problems. He came out and gave us his analysis and asked all of my questions in detail, and he made recommendations and provided a reasonable estimate for the services. Their office followed up with good communication about when the services would be performed, and they all met our expectations in providing friendly, efficient service and did a good job stacking wood and otherwise cleaning up.

Description of Work
Chemical treatment of 3 trees and removal of one tree

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

12/17/2020


Veronica M.

Excellent- timely, professional, extremely nice to work with. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Tree removal - multiple

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

12/14/2020


Todd S.

We will know if it work by next fall. That said, the gentleman that performed the work was professional and knowledgeable. I would recommend and use them again.

Description of Work
Treat oak trees for disease.

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We hope you do!
5.0

12/03/2020


NANCY W.

Great job definitely would hire again.

Description of Work
Two trees thinned and trimmed.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We look forward to that! Thank you very much!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Weed Man - Columbus North

    For more than 45 years, Weed Man Lawn Care has striven to create outdoor yards and landscapes that you call home. Our integrated services provide you with a peace of mind that allows you to unwind in the comfort of your yard, knowing that you’ve created a safe and healthy environment for entertaining your neighbors, playing catch with your kids or letting your pets romp carefree through the grass. Our professional lawn care services also result in increased property values, a must in today’s economy. We know lawn care and we tailor our programs uniquely for your lawn. Our lawn care program includes fertilization – with our exclusive blend of fertilizers – weed/insect/disease management as well as aeration and seeding. We guarantee our services. To find out more about any of our services, click below or call your local Weed Man professional today for a custom lawn analysis and a program designed to keep your lawn healthy and vigorous. Additional email - columbus.nw@weedmanusa.com. if (BADGEBOX) BADGEBOX.PlaceBadge();COLUMBUS lawn service  

    Angi Certified

    DLG Property Services, LLC

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Landscape Design Solutions, LLC

    Provide the best client experience for each of our client's from our initial meeting to completion of the project. Attention to detail & being consistent on our landscape services is what brings our client's back to us each year. We are always striving to improve our techniques to help our clients understand what we can do for them & their landscape needs. Through education & researching new design software we can provide a client experience that is unrivaled. Whether it is transforming your back yard into an outdoor living space, renovating your landscape or just having a patio installed we can meet and exceed your expectations. Allow us the opportunity to serve you in your landscape needs. We can create a landscape that adds value to your home & enjoyment for you & your family for years to come.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    OH-0725A
    Trade License Locale
    Ohio
    Trade License Authority
    International Society of Arboriculture (ISA)
    Trade License Expiration
    06/30/2024
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Certified Arborist, Tree Pruning, Tree Removals, Stump Grinding, Tree Cabling and Bracing, Disease Diagnosis and Treatment, Fertilization. 24/7 Emergency services also available!

    Services Not Offered

    Patio Installation, Stone Work, Mowing, weeding, mulching, sod, tree and shrub planting

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc

    How is Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc overall rated?

    Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc open?

    Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc provide

    Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, Check

    Does Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc?

    No, Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc offer?

    Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc offers the following services: Certified Arborist, Tree Pruning, Tree Removals, Stump Grinding, Tree Cabling and Bracing, Disease Diagnosis and Treatment, Fertilization. 24/7 Emergency services also available!

    Are there any services Charter Oaks Tree & Landscaping Co Inc does not offer?

    Patio Installation, Stone Work, Mowing, weeding, mulching, sod, tree and shrub planting