Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & R Contracting Co Inc

Founded 1963 • With Angi since March 2011

J & R Contracting understands the devastating effects that a loss can have on your home or business. No matter what the cause of damage, we will restore your location with care. In a time of complete chaos, you can have complete peace-of-mind and full assurance that your property is in the most capable hands in the region. For nearly 50 years, our company has been built on the principles of providing client care, quality craftsmanship, and highly reliable restorative services. Our diverse range of skill sets continues to grow to meet the ongoing client needs. Our ability to provide total services to the restoration industry has established J & R Contracting as a leader in the industry. This allows us to create a comprehensive, interconnected experience restoring our customer’s property – properly! Local and ready to serve you 24 hours a day.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.0

(16) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews
Claire R.
1.0
11/04/2019
My elderly mother has been strung along for over 5 months since paying a 50% deposit in May. She hired them to fix a big hole in her roof after a storm knocked a tree into the roof. It seems they take advantage of those who are older and perhaps more trusting. Each time she calls them they promise to call her back later that week with a start date. This has been happening for months. Meanwhile there is a huge gaping hole in her roof as winter approaches. Empty promises to complete a job won’t keep her warm and dry in the cold northern Ohio winter. I only wish she had pulled me into the process sooner - there is a similar review about them struggling along another older customer. I would have told her to run and find someone else. We just had our entire roof replaced and received 5 estimates. All of them said they would be able to start work within a month. We ended up going with a company that fit us in within three weeks and did an excellent job and was very responsive. This is not the case with J & R. Unfortunately, my brother and I are now seriously looking into taking formal action to find resolution. I will update this review should things change.
Description of Work
Roof replaced
Category
roofing
Jeff H.
1.0
11/15/2018
Wrote review already the name of the person we talked to was Drew Bostdorff not Cory.
Description of Work
water damage repair
Category
interior painters
Jeff H.
1.0
11/15/2018
ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE! FIND SOMEONE ELSE! Came and dried out the room. Set up a day to fix walls and floors and spray for mold and mildew. We were called on a Thursday to set up a time, which was Monday at 7:30 am. Called to confirm of Friday, since we were taking everything out the night before and needed to set up a plumber to come in and reset everything up. Yes they will be out. Monday morning at 7:28 am the contractor calls to inform us that all his employees are sick, however they could come out Friday to do the construction. OH YES 5 DAYS WITHOUT WATER. GOOD IDEA. And how is everyone sick. Cory was called and said he would be right out. At 11:30 when we called him to see where he was and he proceeded to yell at me for being upset with his contractor. He said he was about to leave, 4 hours later. We ended up having to do all the work ourselves and pay a plumber to do nothing and then reschedule a plumber to put everything back together when we finished. All contact with this company after this was met with no help. We receive bills, however when asked for an itemized bill none was ever sent. The bill is over $2000.00. We received and estimate at the beginning and for what they actually did it should have been far less than this. They were NEVER concerned about my family having to live in a hotel for 3 days, or me having to miss 3 days of work, or me having to do the work myself. Never offered any solutions or help! Run away fast. The water line broke in February and it took til the middle of March for them to try and fix the room (which they never did)!
Description of Work
Utility/Laundry Room Water Damage Repair
Category
remodeling, water damage restoration, interior painters, mold removal
Tracey C.
5.0
01/12/2018
They were easy to work with, well- priced, and professional.
Description of Work
They removed old and installed new shingled roof. The job also included adding a reverse- gable patio roof. I also hired them two years ago to enclose the patio into a sunroom.
Category
decks, egress windows, remodeling, roofing, siding
Debra R.
4.0
05/26/2017
.
Description of Work
Soffit and gutter
Category
gutter repair
Bonnie C.
5.0
02/08/2016
iJerry Lagger: 1. Inspected all areas from which the water could have come before he diagnosed a drain backup. 2. Crew pulled up carpet and tiles in flooded area to make sure water was not coming up through the floor. (I live in a bi-level home) 3. Sucked up remaining water, cleaned and sanitized the affected areas. 4. Set up dehumidifiers and fans to dry out the affected areas. 5. Returned next day to remove equipment. Inspected affected areas to be sure it was dry. Cleaned up. I was very impressed with all the cleanup work they did both during and after the job. Jerry and the crew (Travel, Sean, Dan) were professional, respectful, had good senses of humor, worked quickly and efficiently. I had a similar flood several years ago and the cleanup crew charged me a huge amount of money and did poor quality work. I wish I had known about J&R back then.
Description of Work
Damage repair and control after flooding from backed up drain.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, water damage restoration, interior painters
Brenda B.
4.0
08/13/2015
This was a long, drawn out project in which after the first several months, I had contact w/ the company owner who was kind, very helpful, as well as professional. Work was done on a damaged vacant property that I had planned to sell after repairs. J&R Contracting was professional & thorough, and responsive to my calls and questions. At times I felt I was not kept apprised of what was being done as situations occurred, and when called, "builders jargon" was used so I did not fully understand what was going on. I had to call and find out in retrospect @ times receiving shocking information. They have a customer representative with whom I worked toward the end of the nearly year & a half that they worked on my property. The house was found to have termite damage far worse than original estimates. Ultimately, the cost became so absorbitant that I auctioned the house for less than i put into it for repairs.
Description of Work
Repair foundation of house. Empty contents. Repair termite damage/remove damaged wood.
Category
interior painters, foundation repair
Lee K.
2.0
01/12/2015
They were my insurance contractor, and it was a very bad experience. Most of it was shoddily done and since I held payment because the problem was not fixed, they are suing me. It was about a 6 month process, and I was out of the house for those 6 months. They are billing me for about $8000 and the insurance covered $24000. There were a few things that they did very well, and the rest was bad.
Description of Work
I used J & R Contracting. They were hired by my insurance to take care of a problem that I had after I had a pipe burst. The damage was pretty severe and it included plumbing, electrical, dry walling, painting, floor replacement and just about everything. They had to replace sub floor, carpeting and vinyl floor.
Category
carpet installation, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, interior painters
edward P.
1.0
06/11/2014
Since the closing and J and R was paid, they have disappeared. They at least responded to my calls and made excuses for awhile. They now refuse to respond to any of my communication. They will not complete the job.
Description of Work
J&R was hired to tear off and completely reinstall a stucoo/drivet exterior to my home. The entire purchase of my home was contingent on Mike Bostdorf and J&R Construction following the reccomendations from a local, licensed EIFS inspector, Jim Johnson from Seagate inspections. Mike quoted $19,000 and guaranteed it would be done in 30-45 days in order to make closing. Closing came and there was still around 20 hours of work that was needed. I closed on my previous home and my family and I were living in a hotel. Mike knew that and asked for payment in full, even though the work was not complete. He seemed to be an honest guy so the payment was made in good faith.
Category
remodeling
brad L.
5.0
04/17/2014
It was a good experience.
Description of Work
I used the services of J & R Contracting. They did install carpet.
Category
carpet installation, woodworking
Mary C.
5.0
10/24/2013
unknown
Description of Work
Repaired damaged from tree falling during ice storm They did an excellent job
Category
interior painters
AAREG L.
5.0
07/10/2013
good except he could have called before coming over
Description of Work
cleaned roof and gutters and tightened gutters
Category
interior painters
Barbara B A.
5.0
05/13/2013
Around Thanksgiving we discovered we had an area that had rotted at the base of our kitchen wall and floor next to the door to our garage. It had been hidden by a cabinet and insulation in the basement. Jand R was the second contractor we consulted. The first company had concluded that we would need to redesign the garage roof at a tune of $10,000. By the time we called Jand R it was Dec 3 and we still didn't know what we were going to find once we got into the wall. We were expecting a houseful of guests within 10 days. Jand R was such a blessing to work with.They came out within a few days, correctly diagnosed the cause, said they thought there was an effective alternative plan, and promised to get it done within a few days of my guests' arrival. Their team of workers showed up right on time, tore back the vinyl siding, roofing, gutter work, rotting boards along the top of the basement wall. They taped off the rest of the house from the kitchen which really minimized mess. They worked efficiently, pleasantly, and did quality work, and cleaned up the worksite at the end of each day. Their foreman was easy to get a hold of. I went up to their office in Sylvania to choose the flooring - they were a big help with that. Initially, the contractor thought we wouldn't need to replace the kitchen floor, but the rotting was more extensive than under the cabinet. Still, they completed the work well before my guests arrived and I got a new kitchen floor for less than half what the other contractor recommended. The rotting had only been going on for about 8 years - right after we reroofed. So for 15 years that garage roof design had been adequate. The new larger gutter trap had a pin hole drip we discovered within a few days of installation. Called the foreman back up and he had someone out to fix it within 2 days - no problems since and it has been 6 months. Can't recommend them highly enough. .
Description of Work
Redid the flashing and installed a guard that went under the shingles where the valley-shaped roof of the garage fed into the eaves/gutter. Replace the gutter and trough with a large capacity one. Replaced the studs between the outside vinyl siding and the kitchen wall. Replaced rotten subfloor area under cabinet/vinyl floor in kitchen. Installed new vinyl flooring. Installed a metal guard between the vinyl siding and our back stoop to protect the basement walls from runoff.
Category
flooring contractor, gutter repair, roofing, siding, interior painters
Mary C.
5.0
05/15/2012
Mike is the president and he is a superb person. He makes sure that his crew is very professional and that they do an excellent job. They follow through and they only employ excellent subcontractors under them.
Description of Work
I used J & R Contracting because I had some storm damage. It was an ice storm and it took down a large tree limb in the back yard and wiped out the pool and destroyed part of the deck. It took some power lines down and did some damage to one wall of the house that had to be redone. They had to do some renovation in the house and rebuild a deck. They did some electrical work, some painting and some drywall.
Category
decks, drywall, electrician, remodeling, interior painters
brad L.
5.0
08/24/2011
They were good, honest, prompt and clean. They came early in the morning and they were done when I came home later in the day. They have been great. The price also included some windows. I was very happy and I would absolutely use them again.
Description of Work
I used J & R Contracting to do siding on the house.
Category
siding, replacement windows
sarah g P.
5.0
03/10/2011
The painters were excellent. They were very careful in the house. They covered things. They cleaned up after themselves. Overall, I was quite happy. The man I had the contact with was a man named Jason Quinn. I think the price was on par. I did another estimate with someone else and I got pretty similar pricing. It was reasonable. It was a lot of money clearly to paint the whole area, but I thought it was reasonable. They were doing it in the time frame that I wanted it done and they were finished when I wanted it done.
Description of Work
J & R Contracting came out and did some interior painting for us. They redid the plaster in the walls of the master suite. The paint was cracking and they couldn't just paint over it. They put something at the base to even it all out and then they painted the whole area and all the trim. I have quite a lot of trim.
Category
plastering, interior painters

Phone

Address

1300 Michigan Ave

Waterville, OH 43566

Other Information

Services offered

Fire, Water, & Wind Damage Services - 24 Hour Emergency Care, Drying Service, & Board-Up Service. Back in Business Program. Commercial, Industrial, & Residential Restoration. Personal Project Management. Odor Removal and Deodorization. Climate Controlled Storage. Hail Damage. Emergency Tree Removal. Duct Cleaning. Sewer Backup. Plumbing, Electrical, & HVAC Restoration & Repairs. Consulting Services. Bed Bug Removal. Hauling & Clearing Contents. Architectural & Engineering Services.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

J & R Contracting Co Inc is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

J & R Contracting Co Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

J & R Contracting Co Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Ask J & R Contracting Co Inc for details on free project estimates.

Yes, J & R Contracting Co Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, J & R Contracting Co Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, J & R Contracting Co Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, J & R Contracting Co Inc offers warranties.

J & R Contracting Co Inc offers the following services: Fire, Water, & Wind Damage Services - 24 Hour Emergency Care, Drying Service, & Board-Up Service. Back in Business Program. Commercial, Industrial, & Residential Restoration. Personal Project Management. Odor Removal and Deodorization. Climate Controlled Storage. Hail Damage. Emergency Tree Removal. Duct Cleaning. Sewer Backup. Plumbing, Electrical, & HVAC Restoration & Repairs. Consulting Services. Bed Bug Removal. Hauling & Clearing Contents. Architectural & Engineering Services.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

All American Gutter Protection - Detroit

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

All American Gutter Protection - Detroit

The best decision you'll ever make! All American Gutter Protection is an innovative gutter protection company that is established and manufactured in the USA, who prides themselves on the highest quality product, installation, customer service and satisfaction. Specializing in seamless aluminum gutters and a stainless steel micro filter gutter guard, All American Gutter Protection is the number one choice when it comes to all gutter needs. All American Gutter Protection uses only authorized, trained technicians and a lifetime performance warranty.  

Foundation Systems of Michigan

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Foundation Systems of Michigan

Foundation Systems of Michigan, founded in 2007, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Livonia, Grand Rapids, and Traverse City. FSM is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, gutters, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

We provide 24/7 full service electrical contracting to residential, commercial, institutional, and industrial customers in Ohio, Michigan, and Indiana. Our personalized options and wide range of prices cater to every budget, so you will be sure to find the solutions you need. Take a look below at all of the services that we offer and get in touch today.