Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SCHAEFER & CO

Founded 1954 • With Angi since July 2006

4.5

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3205 S CTY RD 25A

Troy, OH 45373

Description

EMPLOYEES: 12

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/16/2019


George M.

On 10/03/2016 we purchased our home in Tipp City, Ohio, on that date, the seller provided us with paperwork on the improvements they had done or contracted to have done which included the installation of a new roof with 25 year shingles in 2003. Subsequently in April 2017 we discovered leakage in the roof over the soffits in multiple locations. Immediately we found rotting of the wood underlayment and facia boards. There also appeared to be growth of mold on those same materials. We immediately began looking at the roof and found it to be improperly installed with multiple installation errors. We then approached the shingle manufacturer (GAF) with pictures of the installation and were advised that the installation was not to industry standards, and they provided us with a technical advisory bulletin dated 04/11/2011 which also applied to roofing installed in 2003 verifying their discussion with us. We also had a professional engineer access the roofing installation. In his stamped letter to us it states “It is my professional opinion that the contractor’s work product did not meet the manufacturer’s or industry installation standards. As a result, structural damage has occurred and, is expected to continue, until the roof and sheathing are replaced.” Schaefer & Company looked at our roof and denied any responsibility for the improper installation even with the above documentation. Schaefer and company were unwilling to correct the issues that we pointed out, stating that the roof was installed in 2003, and beyond any reasonable time frame for repair. Instead they gave a repair estimate of $1,968.00, which would have mismatched materials and left the roof in an unsightly condition. Schaefer & Company would not respond to either the technical advisory bulletin or the engineer’s report. This has been our experience with Schaefer & Company, and in our opinion, they are not willing to stand behind the work that they had performed.

Description of Work
Roof was replaced

Category roofing

5.0

07/16/2016


Julie T.

Description of Work
They redid our bathroom which was a total gut. Added ventilation, tub/shower install, cabinetry and flooring - the whole thing. Well done and careful in our home.

Category woodworking

5.0

11/28/2015


John G.

good

Description of Work
took off old roof and put new roof on house and garage

Category roofing

5.0

01/28/2015


Erma S.

Description of Work
We had a total bathroom remodel. The bathroom is modern and beautiful.

Category roofing, woodworking

5.0

07/02/2014


Pam D.

They were okay. They did a pretty good job. It looked nice when they were done. They didn't leave a mess. I wasn't here when they did the job but when I got home, everything was cleaned up and the job looked good. I haven't had any leaks in my roof, so I'm quite happy with it. I thought it was pretty expensive all the way round and that's why I chose to get the holes replaced instead of the whole roof replaced. It was a little pricey.

Description of Work
I used SCHAEFER for roof repair.

Category roofing

5.0

06/30/2014


Erma S.

Description of Work
Total bathroom remodel. Demo down to the studs, everything new with tile floor, decorative tile design around tub/shower, new hardware fixtures, lighting, vanity and marble countertop. Quality workmanship, taking the time to be precise rather than fast. They keept the work site clean and were professional. We are going to ask them for a quote on remodeling a second bathroom.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

11/12/2012


David M.

.Schaefer's handled our entire $27,000.00 kitchen remodel and we could not be happier! Old flooring was removed, old counters and cabinets were removed, old sink was removed and even the old drop down ceiling was taken down. Protective plastic curtains were used for all the demolition reducing the dust to a minimum. We were kept advised during the entire project on where they were and what was next. Their "do everything" man was always on time and willing to make changes on the fly. Pictures of the "Before and After" of our kitchen can been seen on Schaefer's web site ( http://www.schaeferandcompany.com/kitchens.htm ) We have nothing but praise for the professionalism, quality of work,and the finished product starting with the first contact with "Steve" the sales rep (who constantly checked on the process), "Tom" the do everything man, and the people we we directed to for the backflash tile and the granite. It was a great experience!

Description of Work
We had a complete kitchen remodel with new ceramic flooring, sink, custom faucet, granite counter tops and cabinets. We had the entire kitchen gutted including the ceiling. There was electrical work, plumbing, and granite installation. The whole project took approximately a month

Category woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

07/31/2006


SHERYL S.

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM, THEY'RE EXCELLENT. IT IS A PRIVATELY OWNED COMPANY, AND THE OWNER IS THE ONE THAT COMES TO DISCUSS WHAT YOU WANT TO HAVE DONE.

Description of Work
SCHAEFER INSTALLED A DOOR AND CHANGED THE TRIM IN MY KITCHEN.

Category woodworking, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Dayton

    There’s never been a better time to transform you home with Champion of Dayton! Think of us as a one-stop shop for everything you need to beautify your home’s exterior: windows, sunrooms, siding, roofing and doors. Only Champion offers the superior energy efficiency of Comfort 365 Windows, industry-leading limited lifetime guarantee, and award winning products made in the USA. For over 60 years, Champion has been manufacturing and installing quality windows, doors and sunrooms while creating a seamless experience for our customers. More than 9 out of 10 customers recommend Champion. Not only do Champion products enhance your curb appeal, but can also lower your energy bills, improve the comfort level of your home and reward you with a high return on your investment. Experience the difference Champion products can make for your home today! ENERGY STAR®, NSA, AAMA, Installation Experts, VSI, BBB, NFRC  

    Van Martin Roofing

    Family orientated business operated by the owners. Focussed on customer service and communication, combined with a thorough knowledge of products. We strive to see the project from the customers point of view. Excellent project management skills. Additional contact name - Mike Hoff. Additional email - lmartin@vanmartinroofing.com. Additional address - 1475 West River Road Dayton OH 45417. Award winning.  

    TECHPRO ROOFING

    We are dedicated to the roofing and remodeling area, providing quality jobs to Ohio residents. 12 years experience, Family owned and operated, fair prices, and guaranteed job!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    OFFERS A FULL RANGE OF RESIDENTIAL EXTERIOR REMODELING AND REPAIR SERVICES, INCLUDING REPLACEMENT WINDOWS AND DOORS, STORM WINDOWS AND DOORS, SKYLIGHTS, COLUMNS AND RAILINGS, SIDING, SOFFITS, TRIM, GUTTERS AND DOWNSPOUTS, SHUTTERS AND ACCENTS, PATIO COVERS, PATIO ENCLOSURES, PATIO DOORS, SHINGLE ROOFING, FLAT ROOFING, AND ALL TYPES OF REPAIR AND MAINTENANCE.

    Services Not Offered

    ASK FOR DETAILS.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SCHAEFER & CO

    How is SCHAEFER & CO overall rated?

    SCHAEFER & CO is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are SCHAEFER & CO open?

    SCHAEFER & CO is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    What payment options does SCHAEFER & CO provide

    SCHAEFER & CO accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard

    Does SCHAEFER & CO offer free estimates?

    No, SCHAEFER & CO does not offer free project estimates.

    Does SCHAEFER & CO offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, SCHAEFER & CO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by SCHAEFER & CO?

    No, SCHAEFER & CO does not offer warranties.

    What services does SCHAEFER & CO offer?

    SCHAEFER & CO offers the following services: OFFERS A FULL RANGE OF RESIDENTIAL EXTERIOR REMODELING AND REPAIR SERVICES, INCLUDING REPLACEMENT WINDOWS AND DOORS, STORM WINDOWS AND DOORS, SKYLIGHTS, COLUMNS AND RAILINGS, SIDING, SOFFITS, TRIM, GUTTERS AND DOWNSPOUTS, SHUTTERS AND ACCENTS, PATIO COVERS, PATIO ENCLOSURES, PATIO DOORS, SHINGLE ROOFING, FLAT ROOFING, AND ALL TYPES OF REPAIR AND MAINTENANCE.

    Are there any services SCHAEFER & CO does not offer?

    ASK FOR DETAILS.