Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Erie Construction Midwest Inc

Founded 1975 • With Angi since August 2009

3.8

(94) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4271 Monroe St

Toledo, OH 43606

Description

Trusted, Bonded and Insured, Erie Construction has grown to become one of the nation's largest home remodeling companies. We offer best-in-class products aimed at improving the value of your home while saving money on your home energy bills. We've been truly dedicated to the products we offer, and we're happy to back them up with warranty's to match. Since opening our first location in 1975, Erie Construction has serviced over 100,000 customers, with over 50,000 returning to us for additional projects. Read what our customers have to say about us at GuildQuality: http://www.guildquality.com/erieconstruction You can always schedule your free estimate by dropping us a line at 1-800-536-4200 or visiting us online at http://www.erieconstruction.com Erie Construction services locations in nearly 26 states to bring the highest quality home products to you....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

02/02/2022


Sonya S.

I would not recommend Erie Construction. We had our roof done in 2015 for $15,000. We just hired a company for windows and siding. The siding crew was only able to complete the bottom half of our house because the roof was not done correctly. They did not install drip edge or flashing. Also the roof vent is not installed correctly. AT this point I'm doubting that the snow and ice guard is installed since the rest is not correct but I don't have evidence of that yet. The siders cannot finish the job because they have no space to tuck the trim piece in, the shingles are flush with the house. So in the meantime my house is new blue vinyl siding on the bottom and tan aluminum on the top. And a massive pile of waiting siding in my front lawn. There is a spot on my ceiling in my kitchen where the paint is peeling, likely due to a small roof leak either due to no flashing or they cut the shingles flush with the roof and water has been slowly leaking in over time. At the time of the contract we were charged for a city permit and after this hot mess started my husband went down to city to see when (date)the permit was pulled and they never pulled a permit. If they had pulled a permit the roof would have never passed an inspection. So we called the company and Riley, construction coordinator, has been talking with my husband about the repairs that need to be done. We told him and customer service, Catherine, that they could NOT touch our roof without pulling a permit first because we want our roof FIXED CORRECTLY. They tried to send the roof crew out 3 times WITHOUT a permit. We had to turn them away 2 x because they were physically here. The last time he called me to let me know he was coming and I told him to check to make sure there was a permit before he adjusted his schedule/jobs to come to ours. So now we have a permit, (yeah) the crew comes out today to make the repairs and per the lead crew member STATES that yes what they are doing is not code. And will not pass inspection. In the meantime the siding company that started their job in December wants to finish the job so they can get paid. I want the pile of siding boxes off my lawn and for my house not to look halfa**. I want the ROOF I PAID $15,000 FOR TO BE FIXED THE CORRECT WAY. There are also multiple complaints on the BBB website that also state this company has not installed flashing, and drip edge correctly and per the contract.

Description of Work
New Roof installed

Category bathtub refinishing, roofing

1.0

10/19/2020


Karen B.

Equipment left lying around. 2 -guys putting on roof were not always supervised - did not repair problem just bandaid. Was not told not removing all shingles but put on over prev shingles. Overpaid for amount work done. 2yrs later still picking up roofing nails in yard. Left box of nails in driveway dumped in gravel thank goodness found before drove over.

Description of Work
Roof repair and new shingles

Category bathtub refinishing, roofing

5.0

07/20/2020


Sam M.

It went Great. They were very quick and did a great job. They cleaned up the mess and made sure I was happy with the results. Highly recommend

Description of Work
Windows and roofing

Category bathtub refinishing, gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows

1.0

07/07/2020


John B.

I never leave reviews for companies we haven't actually hired, but Erie showed such a lack of respect for me that I decided to share. I called about a week ago and requested an estimate on a roof. I told the person on the phone that it was for a rental property. She made an appointment with me for today. This morning, less than an hour before I was supposed to meet the person for the estimate, I got a call saying that theirs was a real premium product and they only work with owner occupants. I found this incredibly offensive, as we are very good owners, despite it being a rental property and are looking for a high quality product. I also did not appreciate the super short notice cancelation. They should have told me when I called a week ago that they don't work on rental properties. I rearranged my schedule so that I could meet them this morning. I will definitely not be calling them when it comes time to replace the roof on the home I live in either.

Description of Work
New metal roof

Category roofing

1.0

07/03/2020


Richard J.

This is one company I’ll never recommend to anyone. Predators who charge exorbitant amount of money. High pressure sales tactic. We paid 30k for asphalt roof for basic 1450 square feet house. Not an honest or honorable company.

Description of Work
New roof installation

Category roofing

1.0

01/10/2020


DARON A.

Elliott the salesman did a great job explaining the metal roofing system. Spent 1.5 to 2 hours inspecting, taking pictures, and talking about the product. Claimed a technical issue prevented him from providing a quote. In reality, because my wife was not feeling well and wasn’t up to a two hour sales pitch they insisted a second visit was required. When the scheduler called me back I explained we were not interested in another sales pitch but could they email or mail me the quote that Elliott promised. She insisted this was not possible that all homeowners are required to be present to receive a quote. This tells me that Elliott’s technology issue claim was BS as he had no intention of providing a quote. The scheduler kept pushing the issue and I finally had to cut her off and say if they would not provide me the quote our conversation was done. Sadly I am interested in their product but their sales tactics are shady and unprofessional. Call a local roofer and skip these guys. I’m leaving this review here as I made a comment on their Facebook page but they have blocked me from commenting. They also only show their 5 star reviews from some external party. No Facebook reviews or Google reviews can be found.

Description of Work
Roofing estimate

Category roofing

1.0

09/20/2018


Laura A.

They are overpriced, by a lot they gave price of 80000 for a metal roof and 40000 for asphalt shingles. Had three other quotes and metal roof will only cost 40000, and asphalt will only cost 14000.The price isn’t the only problem I had with this company the salesman went in attic and took pictures showed them to me and my husband said we had mold and if we let it go we would have to have hazmat come and that will cost alot; what a joke. I noticed that he had to scroll though his pictures on his phone to bring up pictures he just took; BIG RED FLAG! Also told us that we had light coming though the attic.The salesman said that the job would take two to three weeks to finish however all three quotes we were told the work will only take two to three days. After the salesman left we went in the attic there was no mold, no light, and the pictures showed a white ceiling and the ceiling in our attic is tan. Had a lady call and ask if we were going to get the work done I said cost was to high she informed me they sell roofs that cost that much all time, that is because they con people.

Description of Work
Roofing quote

Category roofing

1.0

04/30/2018


B H.

Erie metal roofing is a predator sales , Salesman sales you roofing shingles that does not exist . After a five hour sale pitch telling how they make their own Asphalt shingles in Toledo Ohio and they are the best things made today after showing me a bunch of samples . Sales man never gave me a price on metal roofing or a price after we said we were not leaving house to the kids . A few days later I was delivered IKO shingles and that is what was put on my house , I found out the cost and labor and material was less than 4$500 so I ended up paying over $10k for a warranty . The installers were great but the company is not and will never do business with them again , Be ware of these people .

Description of Work
New Asphalt shingles on my roof

Category roofing

1.0

02/25/2018


Eric S.

Erie had a salesman walking around the neighborhood offering quotes for roofing, siding, windows, etc. I took them up for a free quote on a roof and had them back out to my house the next evening. The total quote that they provided me was $21,000 for a simple 4/12 gable roof measuring 21.5 sq. Given the extreme high price ($976 per sq), I told them I would like to get another quote and I would get back with them. After telling them that, their demeanor significantly changed and the sales pressure got more intense with them telling me that the prices were going up by 28% in the next week and that is the best price that I was going to get. I was eventually able to get them out of my house only to be called on a daily bases by Erie for the next week. I eventually blocked their number. I ended up getting the roof replaced by Hansons for a total of $12,535 (583 per sq). After pricing out the materials and labor for the job, the roof should have cost me no more than $6,000 (279 per square. I posted a review for Hansons on their page. Overall, I will never have Erie come out to my house again. The same goes for Hansons. If you have any questions about this review you can contact me at esholdings48@gmail.com

Description of Work
Replace roof (21.5 sq)

Category roofing

1.0

10/18/2017


angela S.

Horrible, paid 19000.00 they did not show up until well after schedluled time.( I have a small house.) I called when it was time was told I should never got a exact day and they say they would fire the person who told me. sub contractor came when was told no sub contractors worked for the corp. No custom work done no vents were ever installed. Left old roof on and put overlay roofing. only thing done with vents was attached previously so they connected the tubes to my bathroom fan that they disconnected on the day they were here to look at my house. I paid for a state of the art thing and got sexually harassed by crew on my roof. Had to deal with loud heavy metal music coming from there truck I asked them to turn it down after my nbors called to complain and told no they do that every job they do so they did not turn it down . At the end Dennis Bird tried to sell more products. I refused to sigh sub contractor paper that I was happy with the job. I did not sigh Dennis Birds contract that I was happy. I feel they wronged us because we were in high priority court prosidings from our 13 yr. old son being killed with 3 others in car accident. Every thing is a matter of public. Also my husband has been having several surgerys so he cant be doing this yet. Charley ? tried to take extras and husband told him no we paid for that so leave it . at that time we were told he had to buy it out of his own money. I paid 19,000.00 deposit for custom to my home roof left owing !9,800.00 I did not pay the remaining balance because no work he wrote down was acctualy done. We ask a lot of questions after being told they were made to camp out in the cold because no funds were given to them to be properly taken care of . So I ask if this was custom to my roof how is it going to fit one roofs of other jobs????? Threw this whole thing I had several complaints only to be sent to Dennis Bird time after time. I was told these will be swiftly and nothing done to remedy the problems . When I had other problems I was asked what now... it was ok for them to speak so grossly to me because they were with the corp. 20 years. Fully knowing they were sub contracted. It came out of there mouthes they have there own co.out of Clare or Grand Rapids. Now my skylight leaks and cathedral ceiling all craked up. mind you my house was newly built. they did not know I had cathedral celings to use caution when they were up there. the sub contractors told us that. They came unannounced we were told they would not be back for a week after and came the next day. Putting tar paper over existing roof then shingles. Only thing I was having problems with having some weard spots on my cealing that wipped off but told it was from the shingles I had. those shingles never removed.

Description of Work
needed roof and vents to it. paid for custom roof

Category remodeling, roofing

1.0

09/01/2017


Fran G.

ABSOLUTELY THE WORST OF THE WORST !

Description of Work
After TWO roofs, this job is STILL NOT DONE.....this is the WORST company I have ever dealt with in my life. They are LIARS and bums who did the work. I dont think any of them were ever on a roof. This company should BE SHUT down. If you even consider this company for any work shame on you, the are the worst of the worst. I cannot stand anyone who i have dealt with in this company. They are the pits

Category roofing

3.0

08/27/2017


Kristin S.

As far as their products for roofing they seem great quality. However super overpriced. To the point they can come down 15k+ in their estimate. However not why I give them a horrible review. We wanted a quote for a metal roof- not a FIVE hour meeting and presentation. No indication of this length of time was given when making the appointment. Insisted on both spouses present meaning we had to basically let our kids watch tv the whole time and feed them a bunch of snacks bc I couldn't leave to even make lunch without them stopping their talks. Pushy. Did not need or want a power point presentation comparing their company and prices to others (which by the way they inflated to double what it's costing us). So nope would not use them. In this age of three young kids and little time they were a total waste of a day and would have very much appreciated a shorter meeting and perhaps an email or text vs showing up at our house again the following day with a better offer

Description of Work
New roof and gutter guards

Category roofing

2.0

07/14/2017


May L.

I now have to find some one to fix the things they damaged. The gutters, the flashing around the windows. I already purchased new solar lights for the yard. I can never repair the stone wall and the lilies were from my mothers house and some are under the stones. The young men were disrespectful, as has been my experience with the company over the last four years. My original contract was in 2013. So it has taken a while to get the original roof fixed.

Description of Work
First roof had to be torn off after two years of telling them roof was not right. They did finally tear off and reinstall new roof. Now I have to find someone to fix my gutters that they ruined by and repair the flashing that they did not put on correctly. They ruined most of my solar yard lights and collapsed my partial slate/stone wall onto my lilies. After several calls, they told me someone by the name of Mark would come to inspect and he never showed up.

Category roofing

3.0

07/03/2017


William H.

In less than 3 years had to replace roof due to shingles being installed wrong. Were not nailed in the nailing strip and as a result a large section of it blew off during a wind storm

Description of Work
Replaced roof.

Category roofing

5.0

06/20/2017


Sandra G.

THEIR WORKERS WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND REMOVED ALL OUR OLD MATERIALS AND CLEANED UP OUR PROPERTY. THEIR PRICE WAS VERY COMPETITIVE AND THEIR SERVICE WAS PROMPT AND RELIABLE. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND ERIE CONSTRUCTION TO ANYONE NEEDING HOME IMPROVEMENTS.

Description of Work
I NEEDED GUTTERS AND GUTTER GUARDS REMOVED AND REPLACED. ERIE CONSTRUCTION RECOMMENDED 5 INCH GUTTERS WITH BUILT-IN GUTTER GUARDS. THE NEW GUTTERS AND DOWNSPOUTS COMPLETELY FIXED ALL THE ISSUES WE WERE HAVING.

Category gutter repair

5.0

06/05/2017


Jean B.

The project went very well. The salesman did an excellent job of explaining the process and answering all my questions. He examined not only the outside but he crawled around my attic and identified the areas of leaks and molds. His suggestion of roof color was a perfect match with the brick house. He was very thorough. This was a big project and the install team was very professional. They arrived as scheduled every day. They cleaned up every day. The install team took special care to protect the windows and landscaping. The on-site manager was communicating with me throughout the day regarding the progress. Left over material was picked up promptly at the end of the project. I would use Erie again on a future project.

Description of Work
I needed a new roof. There was some leaking into the attic and house. There was mold on the roof and in the attic. It was a tear off with several layers of old roofing and some area with rot.

Category roofing

5.0

03/29/2017


Rob I.

Both jobs went well..My wife and I are very happy with the work done.

Description of Work
New metal roof and attic were insulated (at different times).

Category insulation, roofing

5.0

03/29/2017


LUCINDA K.

Great! They did it within a few weeks, always cleaned up every night and did a wonderful job. Friendly workers. I'd hire again.

Description of Work
Roof replaced

Category roofing

5.0

02/02/2017


Frank G.

The went above and beyond. They were very professional and did everything the proper way.

Description of Work
They installed a steel roof. They also repaired our gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

01/20/2017


samuel M.

It went great they were very quick and did a great job. They cleaned up there mess and made sure everything was to my expertise before they left.

Description of Work
I needed new windows replaced

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/19/2017


Corey D.

I recently was in the market for new windows on my house. I went to a couple of places to compare products and prices. Erie by far was the most helpful in the process. They had a representative come to my house and show me exactly what I was getting. They reviewed every option I had as well as the pricing options for the windows. The price was very comparable to the other places that I looked. I chose to go with Erie. Them being local was also a benefit. The representative also informed me that they would be able to get all of the windows installed in the same day. This did not seem like it would happen to me. Come January Erie came before the day that they projected to be there. A team of 2 men showed up at my house and said they were there for the windows. I did not believe that 2 guys would be able to install the almost 20 windows in one day. But they started working and to my surprise, every window was installed in my house, That night my house kept the highest temperature all night since I have lived there. The nihgt before the windows were installed my house hit a low temp of 56 degrees despite my furnace being set at 65 and running all night. The night I had the new windows my house was able to stay at 65 degrees, despite it being under 10 degrees outside. The next day Erie returned and finished up the windows on the outside of the house. They had to enclose the windows and then they put trim on the windows inside. Both nights after the men were done working they cleaned up after themselves very well. They had a vacuum and when a window was finished being installed the 2nd guy cleaned up. You would have not known how much debris there was because of how quickly they cleaned everything up. Erie was very quick and efficient while doing the install on my house I was very pleased with the final project and I would recommend Erie to do windows on my family members houses. The quality was also very good. My house looks 10 times better both inside and out. I am also happy with the fact that my house can now keep heat in and I do not have the concern of waking up to a very cold house. Erie was excellent.

Description of Work
Multiple windows on both stories of my house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/11/2017


Jackie M.

From start to finish they are very professional. What a classy act. We had a metal roof installed. The kind that looks like asphalt. If you are on the fence about this... don't be it was the best investment we made to our home. First the neighbors said it was so beautiful and they could not tell it was metal. Second after installation we had some sleet one day and we could not hear it on the roof. Thirdly it was 30 MPH winds yesterday, need I say more no roof lost and warm inside with very little noise. Lastly it has a lifetime warranty .... LET IT RAIN, SNOW AND BLOW... our metal roof can hold up.

Description of Work
New Steel Roof

Category roofing

5.0

01/11/2017


stephen B.

Awesome, salesperson was well knowledged on product. The men who did all the work on removing the old roof and putting the new one on, were very polite and prompt. They also did a fantastic job on cleaning up after the work was done, Five Stars, from beginning to end, with my whole experience with Erie Construction!

Description of Work
New single roof. Total tear off and reshingle.

Category roofing

5.0

01/04/2017


Steven H.

This was my first experience with Erie Construction. I had been in need of new windows for a few years. From the initial visit, to the estimate, exact measuring, and final installation, the staff was friendly, and professional. I also appreciated the fact that they took time to address my particular situation and needs to find the best product available. I also like the fact that they manufacture their own windows rather than installing another retailer’s product. Installation was completed in a timely manner and to my satisfaction. I love my new windows and already notice a difference in heating. Thanks Erie Construction!

Description of Work
New Windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/20/2016


Jared G.

Erie Construction replaced all our windows and sliding door in a timely and efficient manner. The staff was very professional and a pleasure to work with. We would recommend Erie to anyone.

Description of Work
Replacement windows

Category roofing, replacement windows, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    CMC SEAMLESS

    Seamless Gutter's & Gutter Protection with over 25 colors to choose from A local business serving the Community since 2017. Dont over pay or get caught in some fancy sales pitch. Here at CMC SEAMLESS we want to save you money so that you can take that vacation you keep talking about!  

    PJK

    Owner operated. Specializing in Furniture Assembly and Handyman Repairs . We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Hennessy Bros

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Offers by Hennessy Bros on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Windows. Siding. Metal Roofing. Gutters & Gutter Protection. Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling. Energy Audits. Attic Insulation & Radiant Barrier.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Erie Construction Midwest Inc

    How is Erie Construction Midwest Inc overall rated?

    Erie Construction Midwest Inc is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Erie Construction Midwest Inc open?

    Erie Construction Midwest Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Erie Construction Midwest Inc provide

    Erie Construction Midwest Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Erie Construction Midwest Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Erie Construction Midwest Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Erie Construction Midwest Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Erie Construction Midwest Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Erie Construction Midwest Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Erie Construction Midwest Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Erie Construction Midwest Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Erie Construction Midwest Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Erie Construction Midwest Inc?

    Yes, Erie Construction Midwest Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Erie Construction Midwest Inc offer?

    Erie Construction Midwest Inc offers the following services: Windows. Siding. Metal Roofing. Gutters & Gutter Protection. Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling. Energy Audits. Attic Insulation & Radiant Barrier.