Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Clean Painter

Founded 1992 • With Angi since July 2005

3.4

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

770 N. State Route 61

SUNBURY, OH 43074

Description

Clean Painter offers professional painting and remodeling services at prices you can afford. Please check out the Promotions page on our website at www.cleanpainter.com for coupons, promotions, and more....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

07/18/2016


srividhyah S.

The job was done for two days. We agreed for the price and whatever they can complete within the time frame. He added additional charges for the ladder that his daughters used. When communicated that we paid more, he used very bad languages through text messages. It was greatly disappointing. Oh well, we cannot expect the professional service from him.

Description of Work
Partial- Interior house painting

Category interior painters

1.0

06/30/2015


Karen H.

TERRIBLE!!! Dave Hoover may or may not have 25 years of experience--we couldn't tell because the bulk of the work was done by his 17-year-old son, younger daughter, and her boyfriend (although I presume Dave was the one to teach his children how to paint, he saw nothing wrong with the job they had done). By the end of the first day, the boyfriend had made such a mess that the son told him to leave. No tape was used for straight lines and the lines were crooked, both vertical lines where two colors of paint met at a corner as well as horizontal lines at the ceilings. The prep work that should have been done to the walls was not done as it should have been: none of the imperfections in the walls were addressed before being painted. Coverage was spotty. I was told that because they were using a "back roll" technique, that they only needed to paint the wall once, even though the original white walls showed through the new color. Additionally, clumps of paint had dried on the wall, left by the roller. When we inspected the walls each evening, we placed tape where we found something wrong and tried to point out what dissatisfied us the next day. Our efforts did not seem to be received well. The job did have its problems. The living room ceiling had cracks that kept recurring despite efforts made by a contractor to repair them. This did cause a second painting of that ceiling to be done. Also, the laminate flooring that was to be installed before the bedrooms could be emptied of the furniture (and thus painted) was defective twice, causing about a 4-week delay overall. This meant Clean Painter couldn't finish as soon as planned, and although they chose to leave their equipment when I explained the delay (I had no control over the process Loews had to go through to file a claim on the defective material, collect & return that order, and place a new order), later Mr. Hoover came to me asking for more money since the project was stretching out. I did pay an additional $600, and I tried to keep him informed as to when the floor was scheduled to be [hopefully] completed which would allow him to finish. In the meantime, we asked him to come do "touch-up" work ( (to straighten lines, fill holes, touch up where coverage was incomplete). Mr. Hoover refused to make another trip, said he had spent enough time on the job, and was coming to get his equipment and give me a final bill. That bill turned out to be more than the original estimate even though 3 bedrooms (one quite large) and their closets (again, one the size of many bedrooms today) hadn't been touched (and were still on the bill). I refused to pay anything more considering what we considered to be a poor quality job. He swore at me and threatened to sue me...and he did. We counter sued. In court, Mr. Hoover agreed that the pictures did not show quality work, but claimed they weren't "his" work. To cut to the chase, he lost his suit and we won ours. The judge looked at the pictures we took of the job Clean Painter had done and then looked at the pictures of the 2nd painter I hired to REDO the ENTIRE job as well as listened to the second painter's evaluation of what he found when he came to the job and determined that we had not received a quality job. A job that had been supposed to cost $3820 had become a job that cost nearly $10,000. We were awarded the maximum small claims courts allow--$3000 which Mr. Hoover has NEVER PAID (and told us he doesn't intend to). We STRONGLY recommend NOT hiring Clean Painter or Dave Hoover as a painting contractor!!!

Description of Work
The initial estimate of $3820 seemed reasonable to paint the entire house (including closets) which is around 3000 sq. ft. Dave Hoover said he had 25 years of experience and was willing to start soon and divide the job: part 1 was the majority of the house, and part 2 was the bedrooms & their closets where all the furniture was stored. We were to provide the paint and a deposit of 1/2 the estimate, with the rest of the money due at completion.

Category interior painters

5.0

04/02/2014


David B.

On time, great job, neat, professional.

Description of Work
Painted bedroom.

Category interior painters

4.0

02/12/2014


Miller F.

It went okay. They were professional and on time. The price went up from the original estimate, but that was because we changed the project a little.

Description of Work
The painted four ceilings, and a small spot on the wall.

Category interior painters

4.0

11/15/2012


Wendy M.

Before beginning, they asked me specific questions to ascertain my expectations. They arrived on time, used drop cloths, had all the equipment needed to complete the project. They were friendly and professional and completed the job in a timely manner. They also swept up the dust and paint specs on the floors after they were done, as is usual after any painting job. I liked them so much that I requested a quote for some more work that I will be needing in the direct future. Another thing I appreciated was that they used Sherwin Williams paint that has little or no disturbing odor. (This report is given by the daughter of the actual customer, Beverly Corner, as my mother isn't and quot;computer savvyand quot;. I certify that she gave all these statements about this company and many more that I haven't listed. She is very pleased with their perfomance and they were reasonably priced. I, Wendy McKissick, was present today at the work location and witnessed for myself everything my mother stated.)

Description of Work
The company was one of four bids and I'm glad I chose this company. They were contracted and completed to paint the walls and ceilings of the living room, hallway and back bedroom as well as the doors of each room.

Category interior painters

1.0

11/05/2012


Julie R.

I would not want anybody to go through what I did; I could not wait for them to leave. They gave me what I thought was a reasonable price but he sent his kids in to do the job and it was horrible; awful. I talked to the owner and told him the work was unacceptable and he agreed. They had dust all over and did no cleaning whatsoever. I brought my shop vac in to them and told them to clean up and they did a bad job of that.

Description of Work
I used Clean Painter to change a turquoise room to neutral, paint a bathroom and touch up my sun porch. They had to take wallpaper down in the bathroom.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Wow! I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied. This job was completed in July of 2012. Clean Painter puts customer satisfaction at top priority. However, we are a little confused as to why we did not hear of your dissatisfaction sooner. It would have been great to receive a call in regard to the matter. This is the first we have heard of any issues with the project. When we completed the work on your home in Westerville four months ago you seemed very happy and had no complaints. If you would have let us know there was an issue, we would have gladly taken care of it. As far as having my “kids” on the job, this is a family owned business and I take pride in that. I do not know if the home has been sold yet or not, but please let us know if there is anything we can do. Thank you.
5.0

11/21/2011


Tony F.

I received a very prompt estimate, and the job was completed the same week! the quality of work was excellent, and they were very courteous and professional!

Description of Work
Interior paint job (bedroom and bathroom).

Category interior painters

3.0

05/07/2010


Jamie B.

The wife is the owner and was very detailed oriented but not all of the workers were. We had a lot of touch ups to do before we signed off on the job. The job took longer than expected and we had to continue to move our move in date back which cause us some frustrations.

Description of Work
They painted the interior of our house before we moved in.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

We are truly sorry that the member felt this way. However, the members called us less than two weeks before they were expected to close on their home and asked if we could squeeze their home painting project into that week because they were closing at that time and it was the soonest they could gain access to the home. The members chose nearly a different color for every room of a three bedroom house; some of which were deep based and took multiple coats. Everything was painted in this home; including walls, ceilings, woodwork, windows, tile around the fire place, book shelving, stairs, and spindles. Clean Painter was only given a week to do this project. It is true, with any business, that some employees do not put the passion and quality into their work that the owner does. However, the business owner went through every room and completed touchups herself to ensure that everything was done right; without the owners’ insistence; most of which were done without the homeowner pointing them out. Furthermore, the business owner stayed until 10pm on the last day of the project to ensure everything was done and the job stayed on time. Clean Painter is sorry that completing the project within the time allotted and with additional effort did not satisfy the homeowners.
5.0

12/18/2008


DARLENE B.

She was neat and clean. She was very easy to get in touch with to make the appointment. She was very prompt. She got the work done in great time and was obviously work-oriented.

Description of Work
We had the entire inside first floor of the house painted, which was about 1500 sq/ft.

Category interior painters

2.0

11/10/2007


Ruth P.

Mary came as scheduled to give me an estimate. I sent the $300 deposit and arranged for them to do all the work. There was confusion on Mary's part on the day they were to begin (she thought it was a week earlier than we actually agreed), but they did show up on the correct day to start work. They stayed approx. 6 hrs. both days. They finished up late in the afternoon, so I did a careful visual inspection the next day with better natural light and was appalled at some of the painting results. They didn't repair two very visible drywall cracks (just painted over them) and didn't put a second coat of paint on the small pieces of wall between the bedroom doorways and around an air intake vent to the furnace. I sent them a letter about the problems, but they claim they never received it. After several phone calls, I finally got them to come back, expecting a full second coat on 2 walls. They only painted over where they didn't do the work right to begin with and it still looks bad.

Description of Work
Dave & Mary removed wallpaper from my combined kitchen/dining area and patched a water-damaged area on the ceiling over the kitchen sink. I also had them paint the kitchen/dining area, plus my living room, short hallway, and just the ceiling in my bathroom.

Category wallpaper removal,interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    CertaPro Painters of Columbus

    CertaPro Painters of Columbus has been serving the Central Ohio and Greater Columbus area since 1994. Locally owned and operated, we are a professional house painting and commercial painting service. We have an outstanding record of customer service and industry leading expertise.  

    Palmers painting and handyman services

    At Palmers painting we strive to give excellent customer service while creating a mutually beneficial relationship with our clients. Work is done safely and efficiently to meet the quality standards of you. The home owner. We provide everything from painting, staining decks and fences, drywall repair, basic plumbing and electric. We are a family company who works for you!  

    Davy Painting

    Family owned and operated for 20 years with 12 employees. We do not sub out any of our work. No travel charges. Do not confuse with Davy Painting on Bevelheimer Rd.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Commercial and residential interior & exterior painting, power washing, blind installation, drywall repair, wallpaper removal & decorating tips.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Clean Painter

    How is Clean Painter overall rated?

    Clean Painter is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Clean Painter open?

    Clean Painter is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Clean Painter provide

    Clean Painter accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Clean Painter offer free estimates?

    Yes, Clean Painter offers free project estimates.

    Does Clean Painter offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Clean Painter offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Clean Painter offer a senior discount?

    No, Clean Painter does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Clean Painter?

    Yes, Clean Painter offers warranties.

    What services does Clean Painter offer?

    Clean Painter offers the following services: Commercial and residential interior & exterior painting, power washing, blind installation, drywall repair, wallpaper removal & decorating tips.