Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

FINELLI ORNAMENTAL IRON

Founded 1961 • With Angi since November 1997

FAMILY OWNED, 12 EMPLOYEES. MAKE ALL PIECES ON SITE. CAN VISIT SHOWROOM AT LISTED ADDRESS. GO EVERYWHERE-INCULDING AKRON/CANTON LARGEST IN OHIO!

Verified Reviews

4.5

(32) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 32 reviews
Catherine S.
5.0
04/28/2015
They spent a long time talking with me to find out exactly what I wanted and my price range. Always on time for meetings. During the production process, I was invited to the plant to see the work in progress. They were very accommodating when I asked for more leaves on the decorative vinework. These guys went the extra mile to be sure what I got was what I wanted. Installation was done on time with no mess. That ironwork is one of the decorative highlights of my home. I would definitely hire Finelli again.
Description of Work
Created a custom iron railing for a second floor balconey. Collaborated with a blacksmith to incorporate specialty finials.
Category
wrought iron
Chuck W.
5.0
04/21/2015
They did a wonderful job! The old railing to our upstairs looks brand new. We would absolutely recommend Finelli to others and would use them again.
Description of Work
Welded and repaired existing rail. Removed railing, painted and re-installed.
Category
wrought iron
John K.
5.0
12/11/2014
They did a great job. I was not home when they did the work, but the finished product looks great. They cleaned up well and the finished product looks just like the description that they gave me. It seems like it will last as long as the house. So, I was pretty happy with it.
Description of Work
I have used Finelli. They installed railings on our front porch.
Category
wrought iron
ROBERT & DIANE W.
5.0
04/05/2013
Fifteen years ago Finelli Ornamental Iron installed an ornamental fence in the front of your yard and did and excellent job. Recently the gate had become very stiff and difficult to open and close. I called last week and they sent someone out to look at the situation. They gave me a proposal and estimate on Tuesday of this week. They told me it would be approximately two to three weeks before they would be able to get out to do the work. I was concerned because we weren't sure we would be able to get the gate open. They called me back on Wednesday night to say they would be there Thursday morning to do the work!!! And they were. They did an excellent job. Very efficient. The gate is good as new and I'm very pleased.
Description of Work
Finelli Ornamental Iron repaired an ornamental gate for my front yard fence.
Category
fencing, wrought iron
Debra V.
5.0
03/29/2012
They were prompt, and thorough. The railing is absolutely beautiful. They were very honest and forthcoming during the entire process. We would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
We used Finelli Ornamental Iron to install a railing last November.
Category
fencing, wrought iron
JEAN P.
5.0
02/17/2012
They were prompt and did exactly what we wanted. I was very happy in their work.
Description of Work
I had them install some railings and gates.
Category
fencing
Leigh K.
2.0
10/13/2011
I have a Spanish Revival house and I had them do it a few years ago, it all started rusting out. When I called Tom back out to my house, it just wasn't acceptable to me as to what he was going to do. I don't remember what the warranty was, but I guess it was my fault that I was very busy and I didn't call them as quickly as I should have. A year went by and when he came out he said that the warranty was over for him to do anything. He said that he would have to charge me all over again. He also said that he'll only charge me for labor, but it was going to be $2000 or $3000 to redo it on top of the $4000 or $5000 that I had already spent. He was going to charge me several thousand dollars for them to take the railings apart, take the balconies down, to rip all the paint off and then repaint everything. I thought that was ridiculous and I wasn't going to do that. They are all rusting and I just sanded them down a little and painted them myself, but I don't know how long they are going to last. The ones that I'd had, had lasted for 70 years. They had used defective process to paint the iron. The process was defective, but they wouldn't honor that. There was no customer service. If they were a really solid company and if they knew that they were using a defective process, they should have done a little bit more than that. When I pay a top dollar, I expect them to last more than a few years. Its wrought iron and the original ones that I had there were original to the house and they must have been there for 70 years. I just wasn't satisfied at all with that aspect. They are a very expensive company and people should be getting their money's worth. They are responsive and punctual. They are very good about calling and coming out. They are a very professional company, but they were an F in terms of customer satisfaction. I would never use them in the future. I had some other iron work done and I used another company and they were absolutely fabulous. They didn't charge me nearly the price that he did and they came on a recommendation from my landscape architect. Had I known about them in the beginning, I would have used them originally because they even looked at it and they were going to do it again for me for a much more reasonable price. I just didn't feel like paying again for the same job.
Description of Work
Finelli Ornamental Iron had reproduced a railing and a balcony out of iron a couple of years ago.
Category
fencing, wrought iron
John M.
5.0
07/28/2011
I contacted Finelli Ornamental Iron for a quote for a porch railing system. Tom Romeo was very friendly, courteous and punctual. The product samples he showed were of the highest quality. Tom had a number of pictured from other projects and provided a drawing along with his estimate. We decided to go with a wood railing rather than an iron railing system so we did not proceed with Finelli. I would recommend contacting the company if at all interest in iron railing systems.
Description of Work
Quote only.
Category
wrought iron
CHARLENE M.
5.0
04/12/2011
It was very favorable. They were very conscience. They pointed out things in relation to the placement of the post on our porch that we had no thoughts about. Their suggestions made an improvement on the appearance.
Description of Work
They installed railings on our front and side porches.
Category
fencing
ROB D.
5.0
09/10/2010
I originally contacted Finelli about this work last winter. They promptly provided an estimate, but other financial priorities forced me to delay the work. When I contacted them again this summer, they were gracious, professional, and responsive. They promptly scheduled an appointment to review the work proposal and estimate. Their sales representative was approachable and informative. The work was completed about 1 week faster than their original estimate. I think the price was reasonable for the quality of the work and the service. I am overall very satisfied with Finelli's job.
Description of Work
Fabrication and installation of 5 custom-built wrought iron window well covers. The covers were sandblasted before painting; this additional step was represented to provide a longer lifespan for the finish on the ironwork. The old covers were also hauled away, as part of the service.
Category
wrought iron
robert M.
2.0
06/24/2010
Finelli removed our wrought iron window enclosures (the house is 1930 french style). Although they were shown how to remove them properly, Finelli did it "their way", completely ruining the original fasteners. They did a nice job re-coating the iron. Upon refastening, a great deal of stone and mortar was removed. We think more than necessary due to "their way" of fastening. They were not responsible for repairng the tuck pointing. They also refinished the window well grates. We currently have some rusting on those grates. Although they have a good reputation in NE Ohio, we just did not have a good experience with them. We do not trust them nor would ever recommend them.
Description of Work
Finelli removed our wrought iron window enclosures (the house is 1930 french style) and refinshed them. They also refinished the window well grates.
Category
wrought iron
Maxine & Philip S.
5.0
06/08/2010
I wanted to change my front railing, which ended up not being legal to do. As I'm down the street from city hall, there was no way around this. The man that came out was very nice and competent. We appreciated his information regarding the codes in our area.
Description of Work
I contacted them for an estimate to re-work my front railing, as well as some additional railing work.
Category
fencing, wrought iron
HELEN W.
1.0
05/14/2010
I have been remiss in not submitting a report earlier. We contracted with the company to replace both the front and side door railings. The work was completed on schedule. But a few months later I noticed that there was rust on the side door railing. They came out after I initially contacted them and repaired some of the rust spots. Since I rarely, if ever use our front steps, I did not notice that the front railing was defective. One of the railings was not properly welded and did not seal properly allowing water to enter into the inside of the railing causing the water to freeze which f caused bulging, which cracked the railing and completely rusted it out. I called the company in 2007 and they said that it was no longer under warranty. I then asked them to come out and give me an estimate for a railing for the inside of my house and they came out. At that time they examined the front railing and after giving me an estimate for the inside work, they said that they would repair the front railing for free, if they did the new work in the house. I was very disappointed that they would not honor the quality of their product, even if was a few years old. After paying close to $1500.00 so that this problem would not occur, I expected that the work would be warrantied for a lot longer than a few years, especially when the original work was defective.
Description of Work
In 2003 we contracted the company ( which was recommended by Angie List) to replace the existing front and side railings to our home. They gave us an estimate and we told them to go ahead with the work. They replaced both railings
Category
wrought iron
Carol Hopkins L.
5.0
05/04/2010
They do not make the rail until they get all the information in detail. They make it specifically for the job, custom-made. The offer great, helpful suggestions. I have a house that's over 100 years old and had just replaced the steps on my porch. The old rail wouldn't fit, so we contacted Finelli. They did a fantastic job! I would highly recommend them. Price is N/A as I didn't compare estimates.
Description of Work
The did the rails on my porches.
Category
fencing, wrought iron
MARY E G.
5.0
10/13/2009
It was phenominal and I get compliments all the time on it. It did not take them more than three hours to put it together. I have a dog and I now feel comfortable letting him out to have room on the porch to lie down.
Description of Work
They built a two part gate that matches the strom door along the porch that spans the length of my house.
Category
fencing
Judith G.
5.0
08/05/2008
He came out and spite 4-5 proposals to me. It went absolutely fantastic. I would recommend him to anybody. Every time I called him he called me back and he was very responsive.
Description of Work
I had a rod iron gate to my backyard built and installed.
Category
wrought iron
KAY W.
5.0
05/21/2008
They were very good workers and both of them were high caliber people. If they have any suggestions, consider them because they know what will work out best.
Description of Work
I wanted a gate made for the drive so I would be able to let our golden retriever out without having to take him out to the backyard on a leash. Mr Tom Romeo came out to take measurements and to see exactly what was needed. He was very efficient and took care of all my requests. The gate is beautiful and sturdy and I love it. I will appreciate it even more when the drive is slippery and with drifts of snow. They do excellent work and I would recommend them if you want a job to be proud of.
Category
fencing
ED B.
5.0
05/04/2007
We called and arranged an estimate. The companies representative, Tom Romeo, came out, as arranged and was on time. He carefully measured and made drawings of the work to be performed. They subsequently did the job. It is beautiful to behold. This in not the more common tubular steel or aluminum railing but custom made solid iron...that accounts for the high price. The work was done expertly and the railing, I'm sure, will outlast both me and the house. A very nice experience with this local firm. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
We wanted to add an iron railing on one side of our porch.
Category
wrought iron
SUSAN S.
5.0
03/30/2007
I would definitely recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
They replaced 5 grills for us.
Category
wrought iron
MARY V.
1.0
10/04/2006
Called in July, 2006. Left voicemail in Tom's box. Never returned calls.
Description of Work
Did not hire.
Category
wrought iron
MARY S.
5.0
08/24/2006
The quality of work is excellent, all meetings and appointments were on time and they gave me many choices and were open to my suggestions. The work looks beautiful and I will definitely use them again and have recommended them to several friends.
Description of Work
Replaced wooden posts on stairwell with wrought iron while keeping and using the existing wooden banister.
Category
wrought iron
GREG C.
5.0
08/10/2006
They are very cordial and a really great company all the way around from the people who answer the phones to the people that do the installation.
Description of Work
They made custom made window grates for our windows. They also made repairs.
Category
wrought iron
SUSAN O.
3.0
10/12/2005
THE RAILINGS OF WERE OF VERY GOOD QUALITY AND HE HAD A WIDE VARIETY OF CHOICES. EVERYTHING WAS PLEASANT UP UNTIL THE TIME THAT I QUESTIONED ABOUT A PERMIT. HE WAS SURLY AND SAID THAT IT WAS UNNECESSARY AND WOULD COST MORE MONEY. HE RARELY BOTHERS WITH RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL PERMITS. HE SHOWED UP 1.5 HOURS EARLY.
Description of Work
RECEIVED AN ESTIMATE FOR WROUGHT IRON RAILINGS.
Category
wrought iron
SARAH P.
5.0
05/04/2005
WORKED WITH US TO CREATE A CUSTOM DESIGN TO OUR TASTE. THEY HAVE A GREAT DEAL OF OPTIONS IN STYLES FROM MODERN TO TRADITIONAL. VERY EASY TO WORK WITH THROUGH DESIGN, AND INSTALL. ON TIME FOR BOTH VISITS TO HOUSE (FOR MEASUREMENTS, THEN INSTALL). HIGH QUALITY WORK OF THE KIND FOUND IN NEW SHOW HOUSES.
Description of Work
REPLACED 1960'S PAINTED IRON HANDRAIL ON STAIRS AND AN 8 FOOT SECTION OF GUARD RAIL AT TOP OF STAIRS. INSTALL WAS A COMBINATION OF WROUGHT IRON (BALUSTERS) AND WOOD (TOP RAIL AND END POST).
Category
wrought iron
Leigh K.
5.0
11/14/2003
THEY WERE VERY NICE, VERY EASY TO WORK WITH. THEY'LL DO JUST ABOUT ANYTHING THAT YOU WANT.
Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED AN UPSTAIRS BALCONY AND A PORCH RAILING.
Category
wrought iron

Other local Pros in your area

Home Exteriors Roofing, Siding and Windows

Fast, Affordable, & Dependable. Over 35 years in business, Family Owned and operated. We specialize in the complete exterior envelope, Windows, Siding, Roofing, Gutters and Doors. What's in your future? Maybe a new roof for your home or possibly a complete exterior makeover? Talk with one of our roofing, window or siding professionals to find the action that best fits your needs. We're happy to make some repairs to buy you some time, or make a replacement if it is needed. You want a contractor you can trust, and one who has the experience to help you make some major decisions. We will listen to your goals, desires, and help alleviate any concerns. We will walk you through the process like you were one of our family.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Progressive Building Supply

Progressive Building Supply is a Marvin & Windsor Window & Door full service dealer and Certified Installer. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

Angi Certified

Smart Choice Windows & More

At Smart Choice Windows and More, our goal is to exceed all of our customers' expectations by providing them with Quality products, Professionally Installed, at an Affordable price. From start to finish, we communicate with you throughout your home improvement process. We never take short-cuts. You receive free estimates with no pressure salesmanship. Your job is done right the first time by our service and installation teams. You can deal direct with the owner. We will exceed your expectations.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

30815 SOLON RD

Solon, OH 44139

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

DO NOT DO SECURITY DOORS, WINDOWS OR AWNINGS.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

FINELLI ORNAMENTAL IRON is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

FINELLI ORNAMENTAL IRON accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

No, FINELLI ORNAMENTAL IRON does not offer free project estimates.

No, FINELLI ORNAMENTAL IRON does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, FINELLI ORNAMENTAL IRON offers warranties.

FINELLI ORNAMENTAL IRON offers the following services: CUSTOM MAKE WROUGHT IRON PIECES FOR BOTH INTERIOR & EXTERIOR. TRADITIONAL OR CONTEMPORARY DRIVE OR GARDEN GATES, FENCES, RAILINGS, BALCONIES, WINDOW WELLS, ETC. ALSO DO BRASS WORK. HAVE A SHOWROOM AND CAN HELP MEMBERS DESIGN USING SAMPLES & PHOTOGRAPHS.

DO NOT DO SECURITY DOORS, WINDOWS OR AWNINGS.