Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel

Founded 1995 • With Angi since July 2002

4.6

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

17619 Winslow Road

Shaker Heights, OH 44120

Description

Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel is a residential remodeling company with a wide range of design, planning and construction skills and experience. Our team of customer service-oriented professionals typically handles remodeling projects from "concept to completion" and is well respected for our design and project management abilities, as well as our excellent craftsmanship. Kitchens, baths, whole house remodels, additions and historic renovation are all part of our service offerings. Karlovec & Company's expertise really shines through on projects that include not only remodeling services, but design, planning and project management as well. Above all, everything we do feeds into the quality of our construction phase in order to achieve an exceptional finished product on every project. We are a results-oriented team and do well working with other professionals who expect things to be done right....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/15/2015


Scott H.

Work was done to a very high degree of quality and professionalism. The design made substantial changes to the configuration of the kitchen to address usability issues. The design made the best possible use of a challenging space. The contractor and all subcontractors paid very high attention to detail.

Description of Work
Comprehensive renovation of kitchen and dining room and minor renovations of a mudroom and powder room. Design and installation, including new cabinets, countertops, lighting, plumbing, appliances, fixtures, carpentry, and painting.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed member name], and not just for the wonderful review. One of the main reasons the project went so smoothly is because we worked so well together. You and Julie were great project partners for a long list of reasons including your clear and direct communication, clear goals and expectations and prompt decision making. Thank you for having faith in the Karlovec & Company team to execute this important project. Our working relationship, and the project results, are an excellent example of what the Design/Build Remodeling process looks like when everyone does their part. Thank you! Jim
5.0

10/15/2013


Dennis G.

They do really good work and the quality is great. The communication is excellent with us and they are always responsive to our questions.

Description of Work
They did a kitchen remodel for us in 2008 and also my basement last winter.

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

5.0

11/17/2011


Carol B.

12/15/2010 From the beginning the biggest challenge was to see if we could make the master bath more efficient as you had to step up into the shower, a good foot, in order to shower. The ceiling was low and you had to duck under the shower head to wash your hair. the reason for the step was because the shower was over the stairway to the second floor. So, our focus was to make a shower where you could stand up straight and not duck under the shower head. Only upon gutting the bath was it discovered that if the shower was moved, there would be no need for the large drain and the step up to the shower. So, the closet wall was removed and the closet became the large walk in shower with a large glass door and a lighted wall panel which actually is the top of the ceiling of the stairway. Through out this entire process, I was kept informed and participated in discussion about how best to proceed. I was in constant contact via email, phone and in person at my house. This project was small in cost and actual size for this company, but I was still considered important and I was treated with respect and in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Plan A and B were drawn for the renovation of the master bath. One was just to use the current footprint of the current bath and one plan was to use the current bath plus use a closet adjacent to the bath, but not connecting. The closet would have a toilet and sink. After the exciting bath was gutted, it was discovered that the adjacent closet could be connected and made into one larger bath. So plan C was designed for one room bath using the closet as part of the bath. So, Karlovec made the plans, revised the plans and built everything in the bath. I was involved with the tile selection, colors, lighting, window treatments, storage areas and cabinetry and gave input on plan C.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

5.0

09/19/2011


michele G.

We can not say enough good things about our experience working with Karlovec and Co. From the beginning, Jim was professional, prompt and knowlegdable. He worked with us to design our kitchen. He consistently made great suggestions of elements to include that would provide a "nice unique touch;" but never pushed them on us. The construction team of Bob and Robert worked well. They were timely and responsive to any of our unique requests. In addition, they communcated well with us regarding the job tasks and schedule. The schedule of compeletion was amazing -- they finished ahead of time!!! Rob, the production manager, was able to have our kitchen completed when we arrived home from vacation. Furthermore, we have three young children and I feel like Karlovec understood the needs of our family. This was evident throughout the scheduling process (no demolition until school was out for the summer), project management (we were informed in advance when there would be an extra dusty or fume day) and design (Jim brought samples to our home so we wouldn't have to go to numerous showrooms and met during non-traditional work hours). Finally, the kitchen itself, is absolutely stunning. My husband and I had trouble at times visualizing the "big picture." However, seeing it completed, it has all come together nicely.

Description of Work
Karlovec and Co. completely renovated our kitchen. We gutted the kitchen down to the studs and sub-floor and built it up from there. New plumbing, wiring, insulation, walls, ceiling, hardwood flooring, etc. Also, custom cabinets, granite countertops, tile backsplash and built-in eating area were installed.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/29/2011


Julie S.

This is approximately the 4th project we have completed with Karlovec + Co. As always, the response time, attention to detail, and design alternatives/solutions presented, were excellent. The coordination of the different tradespersons' tasks was well-scheduled. The final result exceeded our expectations.

Description of Work
This was a complete update of a downstairs powder room. It required moving the toilet plumbing, installing new ceiling lighting, and installing additional electrical outlets. The design work included new cabinetry, new sink and faucets, new flooring (Marmoleum - excellent!), new door and handles, decorative shelving, new exhaust fan/light, and mirror. An existing granite slab remnant was incorporated into the work. A special note: this room was designed to be multi-functional: as bathroom, recycling center, and our dog's bedroom. The designer measured our dog (really!); his bed fits beautifully between the cabinets with the granite slab overhead. The recycling center incorporates sliding baskets inside the cabinet doors to accommodate newspapers, glass, and plastics.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

1.0

08/10/2011


Denise D.

It was a terrible experience which is one of the reasons why we have waited all these years to start our kitchen remodel...we don't know who to trust.

Description of Work
We had our masterbath completed by Karlovec. Bob, who did much of the work was pleasant and punctual, and most of his work was of good quality. However, when the grout in our NEW shower began to crack along with the NEW marble threshold into the shower, we reported the problem to Mr. Karlovec who came up with many excuses for the problem including blaming my husband and I for not drying the shower walls after showering who does that?!). It took over 3 months to get him to repair the work that fell apart. We then contacted a structural engineer and found that our second floor was sagging, which was the reason for the tile and grout cracking. It was found by the engineer that the support beam that was causing the sagging had been cut into by Karlovec's workers to lay new piping which weakened the support beam. It cost us another $4,200 to add a new support system from the basement through the second floor. This was incredibly sloppy work, not to mention there were no plans given to us ahead of time and we were rushed into choosing materials (tile, etc) as the work was being done rather than making the plans ahead of time.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/01/2011


CHRIS S.

I can?t say enough good things about Karlovec & Company! They are extremely conscientious and prompt. They are very concerned with cleaning up after themselves. Their employees are fantastic. They never made too much noise, or played music loudly. Even my dog my dog liked them!

Description of Work
They have worked on our whole house from the time we moved in. This has included ripping up carpet and refinishing floors, renovating the kitchen from top to bottom, painting, and installing a front door.

Category remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

5.0

07/04/2004


PATRICIA C.

JIM KARLOVEC IS VERY FRIENDLY AND MADE RELIABLE COST AND WORK PROJECTIONS. FIRST BATH WENT VERY QUICKLY AT OUR REQUEST. SECOND RAN OVER TIME, BUT WAS MADE ''FUNCTIONAL'' QUICKLY, ALSO. WE ASKED THEM TO DO THE CHOOSING OF FIXTURES ETC... WITH LITTLE INPUT EXCEPT OVERALL STYLE, FUNCTION AND COST GOALS AND THIS WAS DONE VERY WELL. COMPLETE UPDATING OF WIRING AND PLUMBING, IN HOME ALMOST 100 YEARS OLD, SEEMED TO BE DONE IN VERY THOROUGH AND SAFE MANNER, INCLUDING MANAGEMENT OF SOME ASBESTOS ISSUES. CLEAN-UP GOOD. VERY ACCESSIBLE FOR CONCERNS OR QUESTIONS. FELT COMFORTABLE HAVING THEM IN HOME, EVEN IF WE WEREN'T THERE. GOOD ATTENTION TO DETAIL. I.E. A TILE WAS CHIPPED AND IT WAS REPAIRED BY STAFF WITHOUT OUR HAVING TO BRING IT TO THEIR ATTENTION. I REALLY LIKED THE CARPENTRY - WHICH MATCHED PRE-EXISTING MOLDING, MEDICINE CABINETS ETC... OF THE HOUSE. PRICE WAS FAIR CONSIDERING WE DID ABSOLUTELY NONE OF THE LEG WORK. I REALLY LIKED THAT THEY USED LOCAL BUSINESSES FOR PLUMBING AND CABINET PR

Description of Work
COMPLETE REMODEL OF 2 BATHROOMS - ONE FOR $15,000 AND LARGER ONE FOR $20,000 OR SO. DEMOLITION OF BOTH PREEXISTING ROOMS TO THE STUDS, UPDATED ALL WIRING INCLUDING CIRCUIT BRAKER AND OUTSIDE WIRING, UPDATING PLUMBING, MOVED A DOORWAY AND USED A BEDROOM CLOSET TO ENLARGE ONE BATHROOM. ONE BATH NOW WITH A LARGE PREFABRICATED SHOWER, PREEXISTING PEDESTAL SINK REFITTED WITH NEW ''RETRO'' PLUMBING AT OUR REQUEST. OTHER ROOM NOW WITH WHIRLPOOL TUB WITH SHOWER AND DOUBLE SINK/VANITY. INSTALLED FANS, WHICH ORIGINAL BATHS DID NOT HAVE. WAS NECESSARY TO MOVE A DOORWAY AND DEAL WITH ASBESTOS ON PIPES IN BASEMENT AND OUTSIDE SHINGLES. CARPENTER WAS ASKED TO REPRODUCE WINDOW AND FLOOR MOLDINGS AND MEDICINE CABINETS FROM ORIGINAL BATHS.

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/23/2002


CHRIS S.

JIM KARLOVEC AND HIS EMPLOYEES ARE SIMPLY FANTASTIC. EVERY DETAIL WAS COVERED AND COMPLETED AS DAVE, ZACK AND JEFF MADE SURE THAT NOTHING WAS OVERLOOKED. WE LIKED WHAT THEY DID SO MUCH THAT THEY NOW HAVE COMPLETELY TORN APART OUR KITCHEN. IF YOU LOOK IN THE DICTIONARY UNDER PROFESSIONAL JIM KARLOVEC''S PICTURE SHOULD BE THERE.

Description of Work
COMPLETE INTERIOR REDECORATION. INCLUDING THE REMOVAL OF WALLPAPER, WALL TO WALL CARPETING AND ELECTRICAL UPGRADE.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Re-Fresh It interiors

    Give us a call or click to request a quote today!  

    Infinity from Marvin Cleveland

    PREMIUM INFINITY FROM MARVIN FIBERGLASS WINDOWS AND DOORS. OUR PRODUCTS: Our complete line of home windows & doors are custom-made for your home using our proprietary Ultrex fiberglass that is 8 times stronger than vinyl. The durability of Ultrex, combined with our timeless designs & finishes, will ensure your windows & doors withstand the test of time. OUR AWARD-WINNING SERVICE: Our goals with every customer are to provide a worry-free process & an exceptional experience. We also back our service up with a Lifetime Service and Installation Warranty. We'll take care of all the details, you sit back & enjoy your new view. ABOUT US: Backed by a company with over 100 years’ experience, Infinity from Marvin - Cleveland provides premium Infinity from Marvin fiberglass replacement windows & patio doors for your home.  

    Offers by Infinity from Marvin Cleveland on Angi
    Ferrato Landscaping and Home Improvements Inc.

    Family owned & operated, Ferrato Landscaping and Home Improvements offers spring/fall cleaning, de-thatching/aeration, patio installation, plant installation, garden maintenance, shrub/tree trimming, lawn installation, mulching/edging, and weekly lawn maintenance. We've added some new year round services to our company that include:Indoor painting, Indoor/outdoor window cleaning, carpet cleaning, hauling junk/basement or garage clean out, and power washing siding and walkways. We are friendly, professional and continue to expand our skills and knowledge of the landscape industry in the Cleveland area. We look forward to working with you to beautify you lawn and landscape!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel provides the following services: remodeling, kitchens, baths, additions, historic renovation, whole-house remodeling, design, project management, custom cabinetry, finish carpentry, window and door replacement (non-vinyl), tile & stone installation

    Services Not Offered

    As stand-alone services we do not offer vinyl windows, basement waterproofing, roofing, exterior painting, siding replacement

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel

    How is Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel overall rated?

    Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel open?

    Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel provide

    Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel offer free estimates?

    No, Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel offer a senior discount?

    No, Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel?

    Yes, Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel offers warranties.

    What services does Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel offer?

    Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel offers the following services: Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel provides the following services: remodeling, kitchens, baths, additions, historic renovation, whole-house remodeling, design, project management, custom cabinetry, finish carpentry, window and door replacement (non-vinyl), tile & stone installation

    Are there any services Karlovec & Company Design/Build Remodel does not offer?

    As stand-alone services we do not offer vinyl windows, basement waterproofing, roofing, exterior painting, siding replacement