Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Basement Doctor

Founded 1987 • With Angi since September 1997

4.7

(476) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7369 E Livingston Ave

Reynoldsburg, OH 43068

Description

Since 1987 The Basement Doctor has been providing expert wet basement waterproofing, foundation repair, crawl space vapor barrier, basement finishing, and mold and spray foam insulation services. We give free inspections and detailed written estimates to homeowners in the Columbus and central Ohio

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Glenn S.
4.0
05/06/2022
Crew was excellent, professional and responsive. New block, excavation and replacement with steel reinforcements was also excellent. Issues related to finish and tie-in work that were not of the same quality as the 2003 replacement of the side foundation by the Company. Blue board gap shows at soil foundation to house brick level (response - Company’s prior sub did faux brick gap finish on his own! Only now sole water leak is at joinder of Company’s new foundation to old - response: you should pay for water proofing! Caution: Be aware, contract and watch the finish work of the project!
Description of Work
Foundation front replacement tie in to prior 2003 replacement and former poured foundations
Category
excavators, foundation repair
Becky S.
1.0
08/30/2020
NOBODY ever came to assess our area to give us a quote. I called Basement Doctor Thursday, July 30. This was my first contact with them. Around 5p Jesse, called. He inquired about location of egress, our address, & our availability to meet with him. He also said that he needs to check with the auditors office. That threw a red flag. Nobody requested that. We’re homeowners. At 5:05 I texted Jesse a few pictures of the interior & exterior of the interested egress location. 9:27 that evening, Jesse texted: You have plenty enough room for egress window sorry I just got out of the appointment about 30 minutes ago we will get you on the schedule and I can come take a look at it :) I texted back, “ no problem, thanks” (Jesse didn’t read my text until Mon, Aug 3...4 days later). Mon, Aug 3 @ 11:00a Jesse texted: I have not forgotten about you lol Well, it’s now Sun, Aug 30. One day shy of four weeks! POOR business representative. Maybe something happened but someone else should’ve followed up. We WILL NOT be using Basement Doctor. Really disappointed.
Description of Work
Install egress
Category
egress windows, basement waterproofing
Judith A B.
5.0
10/07/2019
Our house is 108 years old and most of the foundation was in terrible shape with bulging, shifting, cracking big enough for possums to get through, and leaking in the front and on both sides. We were on the way to working with another company to do the work when their estimated costs suddenly went sky high and there was no evidence of a contract to show specifically what work they were going to provide. I called Basement Doctor and talked to project manager Rob Forrest, had an evaluation by Al Galko, structural engineer, and met foreman Justin Parks. By the time I had an estimate of cost (expensive, but reasonable for the amount of work that needed to be done) and time (also reasonable at 3 to 4 weeks), and a contract to sign that clearly spelled out the work, I was confident in going ahead with Basement Doctor as provider. The main crew of Justin, Matt, and Greg was amazing--considerate, hardworking, professional, punctual, and neat (cleanup every day). Other crews, also efficient and reliable, came to do specific work such as excavating or electric work. The crew found other problems along the way, and there were 2 change orders clearly specifying the work and cost. When a problem cropped up, Justin always let me know right away with one or more solutions already in mind. Disruption to our daily living was minimal. The crew went above and beyond the letter of the contract, for example, building new steps to the front porch after having to tear off the old ones and other such touches that continue to make our lives easier. The workmanship was excellent, and we are very happy with the end result. Our basement is solid, dry, and safe. I believe it can stand proud for the next 108 years. Many thanks to Basement Doctor, most especially to Justin Parks--you are the best.
Description of Work
Basement foundation work
Category
electrician, excavators, plumbing, basement waterproofing, structural engineer, glass block, foundation repair
Betty H.
3.0
08/01/2019
Basement Doctor work crews were prompt and polite, accommodated my requests, and cleaned up beyond my expectations. There were, however, significant problems. Estimate was incomplete -- need for dehumidifier was not emphasized until after the work was in progress so was not in the contract. Cement dust was bad enough to injure my lung. However, Basement Doctor made what seemed like reasonable effort to contain the dust. The same might have happened no matter who did the work. After phase one was done, there was dampness along the crawlspace wall where drainage had been installed. I was told that it was not wet. In order for it to be wet, there had to be standing water. When examining the conditions in order make an estimate for phase 2, my project manager looked at the crawlspace drainage that had been installed in phase 1, he saw something that caused him to call the production manager, then told me that there was a problem with the drainpipe as installed in phase 1 and that it would be replaced in phase 2. This left me with worry about whether the rest of the work had been done correctly. When phase 2 was complete, I expressed disappointment that the appearance of the encapsulation did not live up to expectations. Primarily, the taped joint between the material used on the floor and part way up the wall and the silver insulated material used on the was not level, and was wavy to an unsightly extent The white material billowed out from the wall into the floor space rather than going down the wall consistently then out onto the floor. The project manager said that Basement Doctor guaranteed the function of the work, not its appearance. The foreman said that the white material would, over time conform to the wall. (It hasn't.) The project manager said the production manager (director?) would call me. It took three months and a nasty letter from me for that call to be received. When he came to my home the production manager reiterated that Basement Doctor stood behind the function of their work, not its appearance -- at least for the type of work done in my home. He said that there had been no problem with the drainage pipe that had been replaced, but that it had been replaced at my request. At that point I wondered who I should believe. He did improve the appearance of the encapsulation by adding tape so the joint was no longer wavy.
Description of Work
Phase 1: Installation of new electric panel. Removal of insulation from basement walls and debris from crawl space; waterproofing basement; installation support beams; installation of dehumidifier; drainage of 1 side of crawl space, new sump pump and pipe to get the water out of the house Phase 2: Removal and replacement of drainage pipe in crawl space; installation of additional crawl space drainage; applying epoxy to walls; encapsulation of crawl space.
Category
electrician, basement waterproofing, wells, structural engineer
Ellen D.
2.0
01/16/2019
Contacted for a quote for drop ceiling in our basement. Came out about 3 weeks later then never provided quote. Spoke with contracter after 4 weeks of waiting who promised the quote would be done in a week, but still never received.
Description of Work
Drop ceiling installation
Category
basement waterproofing
JULIE G.
5.0
09/16/2018
Charlie showed up to give us a quote and was able to see that the fix was just concrete caulking. He fixed it but gave us a quote to totally seal the crawl space. Very, very GOOD company - honest and trustworthy. If we were not moving we would get the crawl space sealed but I will leave the quote for the new owners as I think it should be done. It will protect that space from moisture, bugs, and mold making it much more useful to them.
Description of Work
Estimate to fix leak in crawl space
Category
basement waterproofing
MAX R.
5.0
09/07/2018
We have been using them every year for the past 26 years. They are very efficient. If we have a problem, they come right out.
Description of Work
They service our sump pumps and dehumidifer every year and check our crawlspaces
Category
basement waterproofing
M K.
5.0
09/03/2018
Estimate was half of another company. Work was scheduled promptly, done on time with minimal interference with lawn and plants. Crew and supervisors were polite and acted with integrity.
Description of Work
sump pump drain pipe
Category
drain pipe
Patricia B.
5.0
08/29/2018
The process when great. they showed up on time to give us an estimate and to do the work. The cleaned up everything prior to leaving.
Description of Work
Repaired a foundation leak.
Category
basement waterproofing, foundation repair
Ann S.
5.0
08/21/2018
The project went very well! The men were very knowledgeable and professional in all areas. They took care to cover hallways with rugs and the stairs with plastic to reduce dirt. They worked well together and did a very professional job of installation. We were expecting the work to take place all day, but they completed the project before noon.
Description of Work
Installed steel girders to reinforce a cracked wall in the basement,
Category
bathtub refinishing, basement waterproofing, foundation repair
DAVID & EMOGENE E.
5.0
06/22/2018
They are very knowledgeable and they have new equipment. Jim who came out was very knowledgeable.
Description of Work
He put a new dehumidifier into the crawlspace.
Category
basement waterproofing
Julie B.
2.0
05/29/2018
Our basement flooded, and we called The Basement Doctor for an estimate. The work that they said needed to be done matched all of our other estimates. This company, however, was approx. $3,500 higher than all other companies. The salesman said he'd take $1,000 off the price if we "signed tonight". We said no. He was very high pressure, and he would NOT leave! He stayed at our house for 2.5 hours giving us the estimate. All other companies were at our house approx. 30 minutes. We did not like the high pressure, and not sure why their price was so much higher than all other companies.
Description of Work
Estimate for interior basement drain system, sump pump & exterior drains.
Category
basement waterproofing
BARB W.
5.0
05/18/2018
The team was respectful of my house, kept everything as clean as possible, did the work efficiently, finished sooner than expected, and cleaned up nicely. The basement walls look great.
Description of Work
Remove old wall paint and finish walls with epoxy
Category
basement waterproofing
Shawn B.
1.0
01/26/2018
After taking my name, address and e-mail address, I was told a project manger would be contacting me the following afternoon at 1:00 PM. The call never came. That was 5 days ago. I still have heard nothing. You would think I would at least get an e-mail apology.
Description of Work
I wanted to talk to someone about breaking through my foundation and installing a window in my family room
Category
egress windows, basement waterproofing
Ann H.
5.0
12/12/2017
It took one months from estimate till the date They did the work. They came and did what they said they would. It has held up fine in all the recent rains. They cleaned up after themselves. There is a guarantee on the work.
Description of Work
A leak in the corner of the basement needed to be sealed.
Category
basement waterproofing
MARILYN J B.
5.0
10/21/2017
Job was finished on time. Workers were friendly. Foreman was present each day. Everything that was going to be done was clearly explained by the foreman prior to their arrival. After the job was completed, the foreman explained how the pump worked, what yearly maintenance we needed to do and warranty info.
Description of Work
Beams were installed in basement to deal with water problems. Sump pump was also installed. We had mold cleaned off walls.
Category
basement waterproofing
Phillip Y.
5.0
08/10/2017
Very responsive to emails/calls. Project manager went over all details as did our actual repairman (Robert). Took a couple hours and they were there right on schedule (around 7:30 am). Spoke to a few other basement places that would not fix this issue (rotted sill plate and subfloor) or had a higher price. Was happy to find the Basement Doctor that did it cheaper and in a relatively short time frame.
Description of Work
Repair and replacement of sill plate and subfloor
Category
foundation repair
Brad S.
5.0
08/07/2017
It went very well and we are very pleased. The field rep was very helpful, informative and answered all our questions. The work crew was courteous, performed an excellent job, cleaned up and hauled away the debris. They went out of their way to do a great job.
Description of Work
Crawl space encapsulation. Zoeller sump pump. Upgrade 2 downspout and sump pump discharge into one hard pipe. Seal crackage between heat pump slab and basement wall.
Category
drain pipe
Kristin C.
5.0
08/03/2017
Wes evaluated my basement, as I had a concern for some spotted moldy areas on the wall. He walked me through the process of what they would do, showed me pictures, and was able to give me a quote. He was very friendly, explained everything in terms I could understand, and although I don't believe I am going to have the work completed at this time, I will definitely be keeping them in mind for future work!
Description of Work
Mold on basement wall, concern for water.
Category
basement waterproofing
Mary Ann Megimose M.
5.0
07/23/2017
Excellent customer service, excellent work, answered all of our questions
Description of Work
extensive basement work with walls,
Category
basement waterproofing
John D.
5.0
07/02/2017
Wes Miller was very prompt in coming out to quote this job. He was also very reasonable in offering us the same price-per-beam as the previous job they did for us on one wall back in 2008. The crew did an excellent job on installation day. They were very careful in moving the beams into our home, and they did an excellent job of installing and then cleaning up after the work was completed.
Description of Work
We needed I-beams installed on the front and back basement walls of our home due to slight bowing of those walls (5 beams on each wall). The Basement Doctor had already installed similar I-beams on one end wall of our basement. They did excellent work then which is why we called to have them do this new work. We also like the warrantee which is transferable to to a new owner upon sale of the house.
Category
structural engineer, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, [Member Name Removed]. Referrals and previous customers are our biggest compliments!
Oliver W.
2.0
06/10/2017
The engineering and installation phase was fine; however at the one year re-check and adjustment of spring screws, several were at the limits of adjustment. Two technician visits and a call to the office did not result in any solution.
Description of Work
Steel Beam supports of basement wall
Category
basement waterproofing
Grace R.
5.0
05/12/2017
The were fast and efficient, clean, and very nice.
Description of Work
waterproofing basement, install sump pump
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your "A" review! We appreciate your business.
Margaret M.
5.0
05/09/2017
They were on time and fantastic. They moved everything for me and even helped dispose of items from the basement.
Description of Work
They completely water-proofed my basement. They also put in a new sump pump, humidifier, and drain pipes that go to the alley underground.
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We appreciate your business.
Cathy D.
5.0
04/18/2017
Wes came out on time and looked at previous issues we had from upstairs leaking window and masonry that was in process of being fixed. We wanted to see if there was anything The Basement Doctor has to be involved in. Wes was upfront and honest about his assessment that the basement itself was fine and any damage was from main story and not underground. Some companies could have taken advantage of the situation. We appreciate The Basement Doctors honesty and will recommend them others.
Description of Work
Damage in unfinished basement due to leaking window from upstairs.
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your business.

    Other local Pros in your area

    B-Dry Basement Waterproofing Systems

    Additional dba names - RDM Inc. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    GLASS BLOCK HEADQUARTERS

    Super Service Award Winner in Windows! GBH is family-owned, assuring you that everyone here is committed to the impeccable reputation of our company. We know what it takes to give you the highest quality products along with top-notch customer service! Our team has been put into place firstly and most importantly for their ability to deal with customers in an easygoing, courteous, & professional manner. They possess common sense and the ability to handle any situation. Understanding our customers' needs and working around any problem is our strong suit. Since we work as a tight-knit family, no issue ever goes unresolved. No one will ever hesitate to escalate any situation to someone else if they cannot resolve it themselves. 16 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBCONTRACTORS. Cost determined per job, no travel charges.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Fresh Touch Custom Painting Inc.

    Thank you for considering Fresh Touch Custom Painting for your upcoming painting project. Fresh Touch Custom Painting is an award winning, full-service residential and commercial painting company that provides the highest quality painting services in Central Ohio. Fresh Touch Custom Painting strives to provide the highest quality of workmanship and outstanding customer service in the most cost effective manner. Our goal is to exceed your expectations so that every customer can join our extensive list of clientele. We take pride in our experienced, professional staff and are eager to take on any project of any size. We will exercise the same care and attention to detail in painting your home or business that we would use when painting our own homes. We use only top quality paints on professionally prepared surfaces. We buy the best paints and products so that your paint job will have an excellent finish that will last for years. Discover for yourself the painting company that hundreds of home and business owners like yourself turn to for their decorating needs. We are proud of our Angie's List Super Service status and prouder still of the many satisfied customers who tell their neighbors and friends about the quality of work our company provides. We invite you to become one of our many satisfied clients. Customer satisfaction is our guarantee! Thank You, Mark Tabor-Owner Fresh Touch Custom Painting & Drywall Inc.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    HIC1704
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement waterproofing, structural work, sinking & settling foundation repair, bowed & cracked basement wall repair, spray foam insulation, sump pump systems, crawl space vapor barriers & encapsulation, water extraction.

    Services Not Offered

    Blown-in wall insulation.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Basement Doctor

    How is The Basement Doctor overall rated?

    The Basement Doctor is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Basement Doctor open?

    The Basement Doctor is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does The Basement Doctor provide

    The Basement Doctor accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing

    Does The Basement Doctor offer free estimates?

    Yes, The Basement Doctor offers free project estimates.

    Does The Basement Doctor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Basement Doctor does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Basement Doctor offer a senior discount?

    Yes, The Basement Doctor offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does The Basement Doctor offer emergency services?

    Yes, The Basement Doctor offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The Basement Doctor?

    Yes, The Basement Doctor offers warranties.

    What services does The Basement Doctor offer?

    The Basement Doctor offers the following services: Basement waterproofing, structural work, sinking & settling foundation repair, bowed & cracked basement wall repair, spray foam insulation, sump pump systems, crawl space vapor barriers & encapsulation, water extraction.

    Are there any services The Basement Doctor does not offer?

    Blown-in wall insulation.