Desborough Construction Inc

About

Founded 1998 • With Angi since September 2009

Desborough Construction Inc. is a full service remodeling company. We offer full design work free of charge and the estimate is free as well. Our team of highly skilled tradesmen& craftsmen strive to perform the best job possible at all times & maintain the highest level of customer satisfaction & professionalism every step of the way. We use licensed subcontractors for plumbing and electrical work. We have developed a highly diverse level of clientele ranging from the budget minded to high end. Every job receives the same level of attention to detail & customer satisfaction whether its budget, middle or high end. Every year we continue to expand our customer base through phenomenal customer satisfaction & a can do attitude. We are also now dealing with commercial accounts & maintenance accounts with big box retailers & service companies throughout the region. We have continually expanded our operations steadily every year & have not been affected by the ailing economy due to our exceptional customer service &timely completion time. As we have grown, we have not forgotten the little things that have helped us to achieve our goals. Every job site is left cleaner than when we originally arrived just to ensure that the customer is not responsible for putting things back together after we are gone. We offer flexible hours of operation & will work with each customer in any way necessary to accommodate their schedules & individual needs associated with their job & their day to day lives....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+138 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(262) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

204

4

14

3

16

2

7

1

21

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (208)interior painting (49)tile installation (45)drywall (42)basement remodeling (39)woodworking (38)flooring (37)countertop installation (35)plumbers (33)door installation (29)electrician (29)general contractors (15)
Showing 1-25 of 262 reviews
5.0

04/28/2022


Rita C.

Excellent. I have used Desborough Construction 2 times previously and would use him again and again. All work was done so beautifully and professionally. I highly recommend Desborough Construction.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling

Category contractors, home remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/09/2022

5.0

04/08/2022


J P.

John and his workers were extremely professional. They did excellent work on schedule. They were always helpful in answering questions and making useful suggestions. They cleaned up at the end of each work day. I definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category basement remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2022

5.0

11/14/2021


Ronald K.

John and his crew did another excellent job for us. They are highly skilled, considerate, and give attention to detail. The job was essentially complete in about 10 days and on budget. They work to minimize disruption in your home and keep the demo dirt to a minimum. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Remodel bathroom

Category contractors

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2021

5.0

01/03/2021


Katherine H.

I can’t recommend John Desborough and his team more highly. They completed a flooring project in a kitchen in December, on time and on budget. I’m still genuinely marveling at the outcome. My family and friends are marveling, too. The work is beautiful. This was a challenging project for a porcelain tile installation. Because John is a general contractor and tile is a specialty of his, he rose to the challenge and executed skillfully. John is an excellent manager, he’s personable and flexible and an outstanding communicator. He and his team are clearly highly skilled and experienced. They demonstrated attention to technical and aesthetic detail, the marvelous outcome speaks for itself. I am very grateful to him and his team for the planning and for the detailed execution of this project. My rating for this project is A+. Thank you.

Description of Work
Porcelain tile floor, baseboard replacement and painting in kitchen

Category contractors, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2020

5.0

09/16/2020


Dianne and Carl M.

Wonderful service, easy to work with. Did a beautiful job!

Description of Work
drywall repairs and painting

Category handyman service, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2020

Images

Review for Desborough Construction Inc - 3335 Teresa Ct, Perry, OH - 38878079

+1 More

5.0

09/13/2020


Jennie B.

We hired Desborough Construction to do a major kitchen remodel, which included doing a redesign of the dining room so that it now flows freely to/from the kitchen. We also had Desborough Construction install all new exterior doors and install new flooring in our foyer and guest bathroom as part of the project. John worked closely with us from the initial design throughout the entire construction phase. He was easy to work with, and he was instrumental in helping us turn our ideas into reality. John and his team were everything that one could hope for when contracting a project of this size. They were prompt, efficient, courteous, clean and their attention to detail was second to none. We were extremely pleased with every step of the process, and we are incredibly happy with the final result. We have nothing but praise from everyone who has seen the transformation of our kitchen area. We recommend John and his team with the absolute highest regard. They are simply the best! We are 100% satisfied.

Description of Work
kitchen and dining room remodel

Category home remodeling, doors

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2020

Images

Review for Desborough Construction Inc - 3335 Teresa Ct, Perry, OH - 38876657
5.0

09/11/2020


Chris H.

Our kitchen remodeled by Desborough Construction is fabulous! Desborough Construction's craftsmanship was flawless. John's entire team was highly skilled, highly professional, and delightful. John's experience and guidance was highly valuable in several design choices, too. John's dedication and commitment to excellence is unsurpassed - and it shows in our gleaming, beautiful kitchen. Throughout the project, Desborough Construction communicated timely updates and maintained the schedule so that it minimized disruption to our home. Further, Desborough Construction worked impeccably, keeping our kitchen and home remarkably clean. Every aspect of our kitchen remodel was at the highest level.

Description of Work
kitchen remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2020

5.0

09/11/2020


Colleen W.

John returned my original call right away. Came out for an interview and was very timely with providing me a quote. He kept me updated on tentative start date and was on time for the project. Workmanship was excellent. Cleanup excellent. I would recommend and already have.

Description of Work
tile backsplash

Category home builders, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2020

5.0

09/05/2020


Debra H.

Fantastic! This deck looks like it belongs at a high-end resort. The installers precisely engineered the pergola to tuck against the existing structure, and under the gutters, making it look as if the house and the deck/pergola were constructed at the same time. The work was done quickly and cleanly, and we're really happy with the results.

Description of Work
27 x 13 Trex deck with pergola

Category decks, home builders

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2020

5.0

09/05/2020


Gayle H.

We worked with John Desborough (Desborough Construction) to finish our basement, including building a custom wood bar with plumbing and cabinetry, a matching wooded booth, and a half bathroom. This was a big project and it was important to us that the work was done right, so we interviewed three contractors. John stood apart from the competition. He spent a significant amount of time speaking with us to understand our goals, and offered suggestions and advice on how to accomplish our vision and improve our design. John’s proposal contained significant detail compared to others. We selected him because it was clear that John understood our goals and was capable of getting the work done right and within budget. We understood exactly what was included in the scope of work and knew there would be no surprises. John did a great job of communicating throughout the project and there were no unanticipated delays. He and the Desborough Construction team worked quickly and kept the project on track. John clearly takes a great deal of pride in his work. For example, although we didn’t specify that the bar top had to be one solid piece of wood, John knew that the bar was important to us and that a solid top would look best. To accommodate the lengthy bar top (which was constructed off-site), John cut a hole in the drywall of the basement stairway in order to get it safely down the stairs, installed the bar, and repaired the drywall during the same day. We couldn’t tell it had ever happened! Throughout the project, John went the extra mile to ensure that our expectations were exceeded and that we were extremely happy with the finished product. We feel lucky to have found Desborough Construction and John will be our first call for any future home improvement projects.

Description of Work
Custom Basement Finishing and Bar

Category home builders, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2020

5.0

08/31/2020


Anthony P.

Phenomenal Performance from Desborough Construction!!! John and his team renovated our kitchen with amazing attention to detail and thoroughness. All work was conducted with scrupulous levels of cleanliness, and with the sensitivity of controlling the impact to the rest of the house. John and his team were prompt and always delivered and were present based upon their communications to us. John and his team also helped guide us with decision making and helped us through hitting all the details we would have missed. Truly a highly professional organization that I would hire again in a heartbeat, and would and have recommended to others.

Description of Work
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2019

5.0

04/06/2020


Rocio M.

As far as remodeling projects go- and we have done quite a few, this was by far the easiest job we have hired. Every step of the way John informed us on the progress of our remodel- we added a room in the unfinished part of our basement. He finished on time and within budget. (He even took care of a few mistakes made by other contractors- many of which he didn't even charge us for!) We will definitely have them back again. HIGHLY recommend.

Description of Work
Remodeled basement

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $13,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2020

5.0

11/17/2019


Debra H.

John is fantastic to work with! He is as meticulous and exacting in his estimate as he is in his construction. He estimated the amount of time and money the job would take and the job came in on time and on budget. He can get tradesmen on-site the day he needs them, and his subs are as professional as he is. Our basement addition included a large family room with family game area, a bedroom, a workshop, a large storage area, and two rooms that will function as an office and a sewing room. John made suggestions for things that we didn't think of, and everything was done as if he were working on his own house, We told him our plans, and he created what we wanted and more. When we shared our vision with him, he picked up on it and ran with it, starting construction within a week of final plan approval! The basement was transformed by his work, and we absolutely could not be happier. We will call John for every construction need we have, since he does all types of work, and has connections for everything we seemed to need!

Description of Work
Finish 1440 sq ft walkout basement

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2019

5.0

10/11/2019


David L.

Every single person affiliated with Desborough Construction went totally above and beyond! They were on schedule, kept in constant communication, and the quality of their work is outstanding! They gave a very detailed estimate and did exactly what they said they would. No surprises. I would use them again in a heartbeat. They are the best!

Description of Work
John and his crew finished our entire basement. Flooring, drywall, installed a wet bar, etc.

Category basement remodeling

Cost $38,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2019

5.0

09/10/2019


NICOLE O.

We could not have had a better experience with Desborough construction. John met with a few times before any work was done he is as genuine a person as you could ask for. The work was done quickly and John was extremely patient with the few hiccups we encountered. We plan to have John do further work on our home in the future. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2019

5.0

09/07/2019


Jordi R.

Desborough construction is my go to contractor for, all and I mean all, of my home improvement needs. I have used John Desborough's company for the last 10 years and have always been happy with the quality of the work. John personally takes the time to help you and always is available to answer questions, help with design and point you un the right direction for fixtures and the like. John and his crew are punctual, polite and clean up nightly so that a busy family can live through any construction project. This time around I had them frame in custom doors to match existing doors in my bedroom- see picture below. I challenge you to determine which of the three doors is the newest ( the other two are over 40 years old). Hint - it's the middle set. I also had them install overhead lighting fixtures in my guest room. Professional and efficient. It is why I keep coming back. ( We remodeled the master bath a few years ago with them too)

Description of Work
Overhead lighting, custom carpentry

Category electrician, woodworking

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2019

Images

Review for Desborough Construction Inc - 3335 Teresa Ct, Perry, OH - 38093463
5.0

04/13/2019


tricia S.

Design consultation : John did the design work free of charge and the estimate was free. We obtained quotes from other companies and had to pay for a design workup. John was also so flexible with our change requests. We were given a difficult time with changes we wanted to make with the other companies. Product selection: Whether it was plumbing, fixtures, tile, wood flooring, counters -John has assembled a great team of people to help with selection of these items Construction: John does EXCELLENT work and he has assembled a WHOLE TEAM who do likewise - the painters, electricians, plumbers, tiling, Amish custom built vanities and shelving, general contracting,... Working relationship: He doesn't impose his vision on you. He makes suggestions but it's your project. After we pay off this bathroom we’ll have him do the next one

Description of Work
Master Bath, bedroom and walk-in closet renovation

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2019

5.0

01/02/2019


Cynthia D.

The job started and finished on time. One problem was noted after completion and John responded immediately to fix. This is the third job I had Desborough Construction do and would not hesitate use them again.

Description of Work
Full bath and powder room remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2018

5.0

12/31/2018


Stevie R.

We hired John and crew for a major home renovation. Not only are we thrilled with the final product but John made the process smooth and always kept us well informed. To say it simply John and team were on time, on budget and produced quality work. We will definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Entire house remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2018

5.0

12/30/2018


Brian R.

John Desborough and his crew are consummate professionals. My family and I enjoyed working with them on two different projects this year. We remodeled our 1980's kitchen which included installing new appliances, installing a new sink, faucet and garbage disposal, new tile, new LED lighting, installation of a chandelier, installation of new molding around existing cabinets, installation of new cabinet hardware, and some painting. We also installed new concrete countertops but they were installed by a separate group. After our kitchen remodel we took an extensive remodeling of the first floor of our house. The remodel included removal of rug flooring and replacement with a new wood floor that matched some pre-existing white pine floors. They also replaced all of our lighting with new LED lighting, installed custom cabinets, a beautiful new fireplace and they completely renovated our first floor half bath. They also installed a giant, beautiful fan in my family room, some smaller fans in my kids' rooms, a massive modern chandelier in our foyer, and new front doors. Finally, they replaced all of the door hardware throughout the first floor. John has a great crew with expertise in essentially every area of remodeling. They are all great. They show up on time, work hard and clean up when they are done. They are very nice guys too. We have an eclectic design style and they embraced our style nicely. They let us pick out all of the appliances, tiles, doors, etc. and they were great about letting us use whatever vendors we wanted or supplying us with catalogues and so forth. John is extremely fair with regards to pricing and every aspect of his work. I will be finishing my basement this year and upstairs baths next year and I will definitely be hiring John Desborough and his crew, assuming that they are available.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, bathroom remodel, family room remodel, flooring installation

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/09/2018

5.0

12/16/2018


Jennifer D.

In two separate jobs I had my entryway remodeled and my kitchen and living room repaired after a pipe leak. The latter involved working with my insurance company and John guided me through the process and provided required documentation. When the sink I chose wouldn't work with the existing piping and my ceiling fan didn't work because I needed additional wiring John found solutions and communicated my options. John and his team are knowledgeable, helpful, and accommodating.

Description of Work
Remodel and Water Damage Repair

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2018

5.0

12/12/2018


Jennifer G.

From start to finish, John and his crew did a great job. They got right to the task, total demolition of existing bath was completed in a day with the remodel started. Five days later, our bathroom is nearly complete and we are more than pleased with the result. They covered all our floors and vacuumed every night after the day's work. I highly recommend this company and will be using them again. John, Nate and Rob really know their stuff and I feel they are honest and trustworthy as well.

Description of Work
Total Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2018

Images

Review for Desborough Construction Inc - 3335 Teresa Ct, Perry, OH - 37605372

+1 More