Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Barbera Home Improvement

Founded 1970 • With Angi since April 2004

4.8

(403) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5376 Ridge Rd

Parma, OH 44129

Description

Free estimates. Senior discounts.no travel charges apply. Over 40,000 satisfied customers since 1970. Let us make you one!! Family owned and operated. Our company has been a family owned and operated business for over 44 years. Our business has grown to become 1 of the top 150 largest residential

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/06/2022


Keith Z.

John was here in one day after I decided to go with Barbera to sign the contract and he and his crew were here to perform the work the following week. They removed the previous roofs and replaced both by 6:00pm the same day. They did a fantastic job from start to finish. Clean up after the work was completed was outstanding! I was so impressed with their work I asked about having gutter guards installed and John was here the next morning to give me an estimate. I can't say enough about John Barbera's communication and concern for his customers. Give them a call and you will not be disappointed.

Description of Work
I was looking to have my garage and home roof removed and replaced. I had several estimates from local companies and Barbera was outstanding in terms of promptness, professionalism, and cost.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing, roof cleaning

5.0

11/05/2021


JOHN S.

It was fantastic and they were very good. We love the work that they did. They did everything they said they would in a timely passion and it was a fantastic looking job.

Description of Work
They sided the house and they put a new roof, gutters, and soffit.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

08/10/2021


Chris O.

John Barbera is da bomb! I had water coming in through a light fixture and he and one of his guys came out within the hour (literally) and identified the problem (flashing boot on the soil stack) and fixed it. I personally know others who have used Barbera Home Improvement and have been extremely satisfied with his services, so I also decided to get an estimate for a roof replacement since it's old. John returned my inquiry right away and came out personally to review the roof and created an estimate right there on the spot via software in his truck and I had the estimate before he even left the driveway -- talk about customer service, efficiency, professionalism and being tech-savvy. John also brought lots of good information with him, including insurance information, a very informative booklet on how to evaluate roofers and what is important, which helped with terms, options, etc., that I had no idea of, which was very helpful. He also have reams of paper listing addresses by tons of cities of roofs he replaced and also the product and shingle color so a drive-by could be done, which was also beyond incredibly helpful when evaluating products and and color choices. I decided to get several estimates for a roof and other companies sent a "sales" guy who showed up and never took any notes, no clipboard, no paper/pencil, so when I mentioned things like: do you run downspouts from an upper roof exit into the lower gutter so water doesn't spray all over the roof, a skylight that needed replacement, valleys, etc., I could tell with some of these other companies, they weren't listening and not prepared, and their estimates reflected this. I would then inquire: I don't see a skylight replacement? etc., and they would respond: "Oh yea, I forgot about that, I'll add that in." When you are spending decent dollars for a complete roof replacement and some sales guy doesn't even come prepared, creates inaccurate estimates, it makes me wonder how professional and competent the installation crew(s) might be or even the managerial oversight, or possible warranty claims after the fact. John Barbera and Barbera Home Improvement, from A...Z were in a complete league of their own which became quite evident throughout the roof estimating process. Thank you John!

Description of Work
roof leak caused inside water intrusion

Category contractors, roofing

1.0

10/03/2020


Bridget H.

I cannot even begin to explain what a poor experience I had with this company. To start, Josh had no intentions of listening to me when I tried to tell him what was wrong with my roof. He assured me his solution was the right one and disregarded all I had to say. After the repair, the company double charged me for the work. When I called the company, they assured me there was no way they could double charge and it must be my card’s issue. When I called my card company, they told me it was resolved on the company’s end, and that the company fixed the double charge. One big rainstorm later, it’s raining in my house and the repair (that I told the guy wouldn’t fix my roof) DID NOT fix my roof. When I called the company back to see about getting a new roof instead of a repair, Josh actually LAUGHED at me MULTIPLE TIMES and told me I would just have to deal with it raining in my house because he couldn’t help me until the spring—he’s just too busy. I picked this company because of all of the fabulous reviews I had read, and they were all absolute lies in my experience. I have never felt so disrespected by a company before, and I’ve never been so angry about the way I was treated over a service I paid for. I will NEVER recommend this company. If you want good customer service, and work that is done correctly, look literally anywhere else.

Description of Work
Roof Repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing us. We are sorry there was a glitch with quickbooks / credit card company and your card was billed twice. We had no control of that and your account was credited back. You as well as all our customers are important to us. We would never laugh at a you or any customer with a problem. That is simply not true yet you continue to post this. I personally offered to come out to service the area free of charge and my offer still stands at anytime if you want us to come out and put a tarp on to hold you over until you get a new roof we are happy to do so. Josh was being up front and letting you know because it was October, the weather may get bad soon, and he was afraid we might not able to do your roof this year. Josh fixed what he thought was the problem but since it didn't work we are more then willing to come out again free of charge as sometimes repairs do not work the first time. Respectfully John Barbera
5.0

04/30/2020


Yasmin N.

Ted patiently answered all my questions & concerns. Work was well done. The crew cleaned up so well you couldn't tell there had been any disruption. They also corrected the ventilation problem with my soffits. This team is very professional & believes in quality work. Will hire again

Description of Work
Gutters with guards so I don't have to clean gutters

Category gutter repair

4.0

02/14/2020


B G.

Work as specified in the estimate was completed in a professional manner in late December 2019. Unfortunately there were severe rains shortly after that with a massive amount of water ingress despite the patching that had been done. Barbera personnel came back and examined the roof leaks. It appeared that the roof was in worse shape than originally determined. They were willing to work with us and we were able to arrive at a resolution to the immediate problem. We appreciate Barbera's integrity, professionalism, and customer focus.

Description of Work
Diagnose and repair roof leak. (Estimate provided included replacing ridge cap shingles, replacing shingles where exposed nailhead indicated water ingress, and resealing chimney and flashing).

Category roofing

5.0

07/07/2019


Doug N.

All projects have been done as promised, timely, affordably, and with great attention to detail.

Description of Work
We have had roof, windows replaced and now siding added.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows

5.0

05/15/2019


Jared G.

I don’t have enough good things to say about Barbera Home Improvement. We worked with Ted T. and he was incredibly professional, knowledgeable, helpful, and an all around great guy, a real pleasure to deal with. They arrived right when they said they would to install our roof, and the whole crew was very respectful, hard working, professional and cleaned up everything afterwards. I was amazed at how quickly they were able to get the old roof off and the new roof on! We had another worker come back a day or two later to install our gutter guards which took him no time at all. I highly recommend Barbera Home Improvement for any house needs you might have. This is a great company that will stand by their work and strive to make their customers happy!

Description of Work
Complete tear off of old roof, new roof and gutter guards installed.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

01/29/2019


Dennis D.

The day I called, the roof technican came out and checked the roof . He described what needed to be done and said he would be out as soon as the roof was safe( there was snow on the roof). As soon as the roof was clear(about a week), he came back and fixed the problem.

Description of Work
Leak around dormers on roof

Category roofing

5.0

11/24/2018


Jeffery A.

John Barbera and his team replaced the roof on my home and shed, as well as my gutters, gutter guards, downspouts, and de-icing cables in August, 2018. I am extremely pleased with the workmanship, quality of installed products, and responsiveness of Barbera. His quote was extremely competitive compared to the other 3+ quotes that I received. He is readily accessible whenever I call him with a question or request- even after the roof was installed- and he listens and works to meet every request I've made. A friend/neighbor recommended Barbera to me, and I would recommend Barbera to my own family who are looking for a roofing contractor.

Description of Work
Roof replacement, gutters, gutter-guards, and downspouts replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

09/12/2018


Noreen B.

WOW what service. I am a senior citizen in Seven Hills, Ohio and just yesterday notice a wet are in my master bathroom. It is a fairly new roof (put up buy another contractor) so I was very upset. I decided to call Barbera Home Improvement because they also did some work for me on my Brecksville, Ohio rental several years ago and their home office is in the Parma, Ohio area. John, the Owner came out the next day to inspect the area of my concern and assured me that it could be taken care of. John went up on the roof (in the rain) and assessed the situation and fortunately for me found another area that needed attention. What I liked was that he took pictures to show me. I asked what the cost would be and he was so very reasonable that I elected not to even get another estimate. Well, when I came home later in the day I noticed that the repairs were already made. Less than 24 hours my problem was solved. In addition, John took the time to check the whole roof for any other potential problems and there were a few that he took care of for me at no CHARGE. John, and his employees are all very professional, friendly, and craftsmen at their trade. I was fortunate the wait time for this busy business was minimal but in the future the wait would be definitely worth it. The project that was completed in Brecksville, Ohio was a little more involved and it was concerning the gutters and overhang. It was a big project but the end result was outstanding. Again, the crew was always on the job when they were scheduled, friendly, and cleaned up after themselves DAILY. If your considering any work, now is the time to schedule before the winter---get yourself on the schedule and you will be happy when the snow, wind and ice starts up.

Description of Work
Roof assessment and leak repaired

Category contractors, roofing

5.0

08/17/2018


Mike S.

Those guys were amazing. Hard workers who knew what they were doing. They had the old roof removed, and new one installed in about 6 hours. My new roof looks nice. I like it. The staff was also courteous and professional. They even offered to fix the crown on my chimney for free. I own about a 1000 sq ft ranch. I am glad that I chose Barbera.

Description of Work
They put a new roof on my house.

Category roofing

5.0

06/26/2018


John C.

On time, roof done in a day, thorough clean up

Description of Work
Tear off/new roof, repair work

Category roofing

4.0

06/18/2018


Sean C.

Very happy with my experience. Barbera was friendly, honest and affordable. I bought an older home in Lakewood that had 3 layers on it, other roofing companies I contacted made a big deal about this. Other companies wanted to charge me over 3,000$ for the tear off and another 10,000 for the roof. Barbera came in at 6200, after the wood that needed to be replaced it was 6400.

Description of Work
Had 3 layer old roof torn off and new roof put on.

Category roofing

5.0

05/01/2018


Tom K.

It went really good. They got here 7:30AM and had the roof ripped off by 9:30AM. They had the work done fast and the price was terrific. The new roof was finished by 2:00PM. Ted Tomaselli is the best salesman. They are very reasonable.

Description of Work
I had a new roof put in the house.

Category roofing

5.0

03/28/2018


mary D.

From the first contact to the project completion, project manager Tim was very professional. The roof work was completed in one day with gutter work the following day. I was very satisfied with all levels of performance and would recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Roof tear off and replace

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

02/22/2018


Eugene K.

Barbera did a complete tear-off and new roof back in 2012. Fantastic job!! This was the second time I used them. Did the same job on our previous house. Another fantastic job!! On Wed 02/21/18, I noticed plaster/paint on the floor of our garage floor coming from the ceiling and saw leak/water marks on the ceiling. Called Barbera the next morning and told the secretary about the problem. John Barbera (the owner himself) called me back within 30 minutes!! He wanted to come out and look at the problem immediately! I was at work, so arranged for John to come out at dinner time (5:30). John showed up on time, looked at the situation, and concluded that the roof was not the problem. Rather loose molding, siding, and old caulking around the second floor windows were the problem. John secured as much of the molding and siding with screws as he could under the circumstances.It was raining and sleeting!! He advised that I monitor the situation and have them come out when the weather was better to replace caulk and better secure the molding and siding. And, the best part, there was no charge for what he did even though the roof was not the problem.

Description of Work
Possible Roof Leak

Category roofing

5.0

12/06/2017


Tom B.

Mike Drockton came out to see what the problem was. He advised us to have the chimney tuck pointed before going through the expense of replacing the roof. We did that but it didn't stop the leak. No loss, it needed to be done regardless. Mike came back and gave us an estimate to replace the roof. The price was better than other estimates we had. After we agreed to the work, Mike informed us that the owner of the company, John Barbera said because the roof was leaking he would have a crew out the next day. The crew led by Cande was great. All were very polite, hard working and fast. Cande kept us informed throughout the day. In 6 hours the old roof was torn off, the old gutters were removed, 25 sheets of plywood were replaced, new roof was installed, and the yard was cleaned up. The next day the new gutters with leaf guard were installed. We had one issue that turned out to be my fault due to a misunderstanding. John Barbera himself came out to do some additional work that he was not obligated to do and didn't even charge us for it. We couldn't ask for better service. This company is great. I highly recommend them for any roofing problem you may have.

Description of Work
Needed roof replaced due to water leakage around the chimney.

Category gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair

5.0

11/27/2017


Jodi D.

It went very well, I would hire them again.

Description of Work
One Gutter replacement and two downspouts installed.

Category gutter repair

5.0

09/25/2017


Norman P.

Great communication, great price, and great work!. Excellent!

Description of Work
New roof, including gutters and downspouts, on a house in Brooklyn.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

09/20/2017


DAN P.

Went well. They had to come back to fix a couple minor things, but they were quick to respond.

Description of Work
Did a large roof due to storm damage. They worked with me and the insurance. They had to be more patient with me, then me with them.

Category roofing

5.0

07/23/2017


Thomas L.

From our initial contact with Barbera (Mike Drockton) through the entire process of roof, soffit and ventilation the process was smooth as silk. Our home is a 3000 square foot L shaped ranch with roof three valleys and three double chimneys. The previous roofer took over a week to do the job. Barbera did the entire job in a day including installing two new vent vans and connecting three bath and kitchen vent fans per code. Their crew also performed a thorough clean up of all nails and debris. I will state that we are VERY SATISFIED and will strongly recommend Barbera to friends and family. We also send a special thanks to Mike Drockton, Juan and Pablo and the entire hard working professional crew. I have not met the owner of BHI but will say to him " you have and outstanding, hard working crew" who were professional, pleasant and courteous on our job. Thank you!

Description of Work
Our roof was an out ten yrs old and had numerous problems since day one due to improper installation and code violations. We needed a completed roof tear off and replacement as well as proper ventilation added to the roof and soffit.

Category roofing

5.0

04/10/2017


Lori M.

Barbera was very responsive to my inquiries. The salesman, Dan, was upfront and honest with us, he did not use high-pressure sales, and he answered all of our questions. Not to mention he was very friendly and personable. When the crew came out to install our roof, they were respectful of my comings and goings, and they were very hard working. They had the entire roof torn off and replaced in less than 8 hours. They did a quality job, and we have received many compliments on our new roof. I was uneasy going through this process, because I've never had to get a new roof before, but Dan and the crew at Barbera helped me feel confident that I made the right choice by choosing them. Thanks, Barbera!

Description of Work
We needed a complete roof tear-off and replacement on our bungalow.

Category roofing

5.0

01/15/2017


Diane S.

When cutting the ventilation openings in the soffits, the workers noted that the company that had put baffles in the attic did not do them correctly. To shorten the long story, John Barbera went above and beyond to help ensure the work would be done right. He had to come to a meeting at my home with the other installer and an architect - and charged nothing for this. I know I can call or e-mail him at any time, and he will respond. That means everything. John is passionate about his work, is willing to explain things, listens to/values new ideas (architect), and I trust him totally. His workers are well-trained. NOTE: Cost shown below reflects all 3 jobs combined.

Description of Work
I needed a new roof (tear-off; shingles). I also wanted a "tube" of sorts connecting my bathroom vent to the outside on the roof. After work on the roof was completed, I had ventilation holes cut in the soffits to improve air circulation in the attic (recommended by roofer).

Category roofing

5.0

09/30/2016


Harry S.

John and all of his crews (each facet of the work was done by a crew that specialized) were prompt, courteous and highly professional. Outstanding work at a price well below the other quotes we got. We could not be happier. I will definitely recommend Barbera Home Improvements to family and friends!

Description of Work
Roof with complete tear-off, gutters, downspouts, soffit & fascia.

Category gutter repair, roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    All American Gutters & Power Washing

    Here at All American Gutters & Power Washing we GUARANTEE our work, from a simple cleaning to the most extensive repair. We also specialize in power washing services such as houses, decks, driveways, sidewalks, fences, patios, & roofs etc. Our attention to detail is unmatched, and our work is GUARANTEED! Veteran Owned & Operated.  

    Angi Certified

    Mikes Roof Cleaning

    WE OFFER NON PRESSURE ROOF STAIN REMOVAL and Exterior pressure washing We know that in the vast majority of cases, black roof stains can be completely and safely removed with the gentle cleaning IF you come across a contractor that wants to clean your roof with a high-pressure wand, run in the other direction as fast as possible. We provide Professional Roof Cleaning for Residential and Commercial properties. Homeowner Associations, Real Estate Agents and Property Managers are encouraged to contact us BEFORE any roof replacement is started. We provide professionally cleaned roofs at a fraction of the cost of replacement.  

    Angi Certified

    Josh the Window Cleaner

    We are Northeast Ohio's premier window cleaning and power washing company! Our trained technicians are expertly trained to provide top customer service and communicate efficiently. We also have your health in mind by wearing masks at all times.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    0%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    2014 Super Service Award Winner! Roofing. Siding. Windows. Ventilation. Gutter repair & cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Insulation, mold remediation.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Barbera Home Improvement

    How is Barbera Home Improvement overall rated?

    Barbera Home Improvement is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Barbera Home Improvement open?

    Barbera Home Improvement is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Barbera Home Improvement provide

    Barbera Home Improvement accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Barbera Home Improvement offer free estimates?

    Yes, Barbera Home Improvement offers free project estimates.

    Does Barbera Home Improvement offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Barbera Home Improvement offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Barbera Home Improvement offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Barbera Home Improvement offers a 0% senior discount.

    Does Barbera Home Improvement offer emergency services?

    Yes, Barbera Home Improvement offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Barbera Home Improvement?

    Yes, Barbera Home Improvement offers warranties.

    What services does Barbera Home Improvement offer?

    Barbera Home Improvement offers the following services: 2014 Super Service Award Winner! Roofing. Siding. Windows. Ventilation. Gutter repair & cleaning.

    Are there any services Barbera Home Improvement does not offer?

    Insulation, mold remediation.