Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

C Sumer Electric Co

Founded 1971 • With Angi since January 2002

We are fully licensed, bonded and insured to offer residential, commercial and industrial electrical services for our clients in Lake, Geauga & Cuyahoga counties. Whether you need help with underground wiring issues, pool wiring or a complete house wiring inspection, we are the first and only call you will need to make. C Sumer Electric Co. was founded in 1971 and we have over 41 years of experience in the industry. We are proud to be a family owned and operated business that is known for our prompt and professional service. Please feel free to review our services page for more information on the high quality services we offer.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.7

(39) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 39 reviews
Ted M.
5.0
09/11/2020
IT WENT VERY WELL. THE ELECTRICIAN WAS VERY NICE AND COMPLETED THE JOB QUICKLY AND FOR A RESONABLE PRICE. THEY WERE ABLE TO COME OUT THE NEXT DAY, AFTER I CALLED FOR SERVICE.
Description of Work
WE NEEDED 4 FLUSH MOUNT CEILING LIGHTS INSTALLED.
Category
lighting
REBECCA L.
1.0
02/23/2018
This company does not serve all of Cuyahoga county. They no longer service Shaker Heights.
Description of Work
Circuit panel replacement
Category
electrician
Steve D.
5.0
04/12/2017
Work was well done in a timely fashion.
Description of Work
A service entrance to my house in Painesville was replaced and grounded. I rent this home from a distance and am happy to have added Sumer to my list of "go to" companies.
Category
electrician
Jeff B.
5.0
03/28/2017
Awesome. Charlie is a class act. Great prices, great work, punctual and friendly. I recommend him to all of my friends and family.
Description of Work
Installed three ceiling fans in bedrooms.
Category
electrician
Nyna T.
5.0
10/05/2016
It went well and they were nice enough to program an opener for me too .
Description of Work
Electrical in garage and GFIs
Category
electrician
Tim G.
5.0
06/26/2016
I contacted Mr. Sumer to repair/retire a hanging light fixture. I had attempted this myself and wound up disconnecting the 6 wires coming off the fixture. Mr. Sumer came from the job he was working on and rewired and replaced the fixture.
Description of Work
Replaced hanging light fixture in utility room
Category
electrician
Shelby C.
5.0
06/10/2015
Charlie is very professional, easy to work with and provides high quality service. I will use him again for future projects.
Description of Work
took out a 220 V car charger and reinstalled in a new location
Category
electrician
Paul N.
1.0
03/19/2015
Called and left a message for services needed. Did not receive a call back and will not use.
Description of Work
Nothing, never received a call back
Category
ceiling fans
Ryan M.
5.0
01/10/2015
Went very well, had 2-3 people on the job, got everything done in less than 2 hours, on budget. Would definitely use them again!
Description of Work
Added a new outlet for an electric range.
Category
electrician
David M.
5.0
04/23/2014
Repairs were made promptly and completely, I would add very professional, courtesy and willingness to take of issues not originally discussed at an excellent cost makes this company in my opinion very special. I highly recommend C Sumer electric for your needs.
Description of Work
Half the lights intermittingly would drop off in a commercial building I own. Charlie responded quickly, determined in short order the issue was a burned out service connector to the building. Charlie made it a priority, worked quickly to get us back in business again. He also lowered the connector ,so gutters can be installed on the building. Fixed a couple other issues we had while he was there saving any additional service calls. The original estimate was spot on for the work scheduled. Additional work completed was a value.
Category
electrician
Paul S.
5.0
03/24/2014
Woke up to a strange smell and thought my furnace motor had burned out. Further investigation led me to my electric panel where I found the smell and discovered my main circuit breaker had failed and was overheating. I placed a call to C Sumer Electric shortly after 7 a.m. Mr. Sumer returned my call immediately and arranged to have someone come out to investigate. It was determined that the main breaker had failed and, due to the age of the box (36 yrs), the best course of action was to replace the entire box. Mr. Sumer and another electrician went about their business quickly and efficiently and by mid-afternoon my electric service was restored.
Description of Work
Replaced an indoor 200 amp main breaker box and circuit breakers.
Category
electrician
Thomas S.
5.0
03/19/2014
The guys arrived on time, and spent the entire day on the various tasks. They were courteous, efficient, and cleaned up afterwards.
Description of Work
Moved 2 outlets, installed 3 ceiling fans wiring and fished wall switches, moved a light switch, installed dimmer switch.
Category
electrician, lighting, ceiling fans
Joseph J.
5.0
02/14/2014
He was prompt. I cannot only use words to describe his service. He was polite. He was reasonably priced. I had him come out in an emergency and he came out within a few hours. We needed our power fixed because it was cold and the power company was taking days to respond.
Description of Work
C Sumer Electric came out to fix our electric supply.
Category
electrician
Samir R.
5.0
12/12/2013
The owner Charlie was very responsive and solved the problem swiftly. After 15 minutes of trouble shooting he determined we had a bad neutral wire located in the panel box.||Great guy, Great company!
Description of Work
.
Category
electrician
Jeff B.
5.0
10/08/2013
Charlie and another employee showed up on time and got straight to work. I've used Charlie a few times and he's always punctual and gets the work done quickly and with very high quality. The light was up in no time and it's working great. He even wired it so the light switch I wanted to control the light worked with it. I would definitely recommend Charlie for any electrical work.
Description of Work
Installed an overhead florescent light fixture for a pool table
Category
electrician
Andrea C.
2.0
08/12/2013
He returned my initial call and told me he would telephone me again to arrange a date and time to visit, but I never heard back from him.
Description of Work
Did not get as far as providing a service.
Category
electrician
Ronald K.
5.0
05/28/2013
I suddenly lost one leg of my electric power. I called Charlie Sumer and he came within an hour. He diagnosed the problem (which was a damaged underground power line) and advised me as to how to get CEI to provide temporary power and send a repairman out to find the break and repair it. I would definitely call Sumer Electric again! Ronald Kinkade
Description of Work
Diagnosed a partial power failure at my house and advised me on how to get CEI to provide temporary full power.
Category
electrician
Bonnie M.
5.0
04/23/2013
We called Mr Sumer on Friday, and he made the appointment for Monday and called us on Monday morning to confirm the time for the appointment.. They made the repairs quickly, and the cost was less than the estimate, due to a ground line already to the dryer. I would hire them again.
Description of Work
Hired them to convert a dryer outlet to a four prong, install a floor outlet in the living room and install a ceiling fixtures basement.( we provided the fixture.)
Category
electrician
Thom S.
5.0
03/25/2013
Having used C Sumer Electric before aprox. 5 years ago(2007) they replace my fuse box with a circuit panel. I was very happy with the work that was done and the price and I decided to use them again to repair the wiring and GFI's that were needed from a house inspection in order to sell the house.
Description of Work
C Sumer Electric worked on a older home that needed some of the wiring & outlets to be upgraded. They did a great job and did an excellent job cleaning up after the work was done.
Category
electrician
Wendell R.
5.0
05/14/2012
When I called the number, I was shocked - Charlie Sumer answered his own phone! After I explained to Charlie the scope of work that was needed, he said no problem, but wanted to see the project prior to giving me a cost. He offered to stop by later in the day to take a look.True to his word, Charlie showed up at the scheduled time, spent about an hour looking at the project AND made me aware of some parts that should have been provided by the pool dealer as part of the installation that were not included in the original delivery.After looking at the project, Charlie gave me a reasonable estimate and we scheduled a date for him to do the work.On the day the work was to be done, Charlie and his associate Tom arrived promptly. Unfortunately during the installation of the pool, some additional challenges were discovered for the electrical work. Rather than complain, Charlie walked me through the additional work that would be needed and provided a reasonable cost for the new work. Working through a rainy day and more unexpected challenges, Charlie and Tom completed the job on time and on budget. Not only that, but they fixed an interior ceiling fan for me at NO CHARGE. FINALLY, I OPENED MY MAIL THIS MORNING TO FIND A CHECK FROM CHARLIE FOR $50! - Part of Charlie's estimate included the cost of permits, but he didn't realize that I had already secured the permit for his work.Talk about an honorable and quality service provider - I have an electrician for life.Thanks Charlie and thanks Angie!
Description of Work
Having just had a new above ground pool installed, I needed a licensed electrician to install the electrical lines and equipment for the pool's pump, etc.Being new to the area I called a number of local electricians for quotes and direction and after a great deal of frustration with lack of response and very high quotations, I decided what the heck I'll try Angie's List. It was well worth the cost of membership. The first company I called was C. Sumer Electric: How lucky I was to call Charlie Sumer!
Category
electrician, pool cleaners
MAIRGHREAD M.
5.0
11/15/2011
Mr. Sumer was able to work with our busy schedules, performed an excellent job that exceeded expectations. I will definitely use him again.
Description of Work
Mr. Sumer was called on to move an outlet for a dryer and actually left us the option to have the one where it was, and rewired a seperate outlet closer to our current dryer.
Category
electrician
Arnold P.
3.0
12/09/2010
We ended up not being real happy with the electrician since his prices were very high. He also had to come back 3 times to fix and correct a problem that we had the city inspect. I would probably suggest others to try somebody else and I wouldn?t use their services again.
Description of Work
We have used the services of C Sumer Electric Co for electrical work. We also received an estimate from them for doing some electrical work on a new house. Our last interaction with them was about 2 months ago.
Category
electrician
John H.
5.0
10/28/2010
I call Mr. Sumer based on Angie's List and his Yellow pages advertisement which said All Calls Returned. I had called two other companies that did not return my calls. Mr. Sumer and his fellow electrician Tom came that afternoon and replaced my service.
Description of Work
During a microburst storm, a tree top fell on the power line to my house, pulling the electrical service off of the house. A temporary repair was made by First Energy, but the entire service had to be replaced.
Category
electrician
VIVIAN S.
5.0
10/24/2010
They went to the trouble to route the hook up ender the deck for a very neat appearance. They came out twice (before and after the house was painted and hot tub moved) to ensure the job would be done exactly right. Electricians were on time, personable and professional.
Description of Work
rewired hot tub, replaced llight switch
Category
electrician, pool cleaners
JULIA P.
5.0
09/20/2007
Mr. Sumer called me back within an hour. He came out when he said he would. The final cost was exactly what he said it would be. He and his workers were very professional. I would recommend them.
Description of Work
Replaced load wires from meter. Replaced water heater's 220 wires that were too small. Grounded service. Removed outlet in kitchen cabinet.
Category
electrician

Other local Pros in your area

AMERICAN ELECTRIC LLC

American Electric LLC has been in operation since the 70's We are a small company that employs 10 Trained Technicians We offer upfront pricing on any project you have to have done. You will receive 10% off your project by mentioning you found us on this site. We accept all forms of payment including credit card, check and cash.  

Angi Certified

Mr. Electric of Cleveland

Since 1994, the professional electricians at Mr. Electric have been serving residential and commercial customers throughout the US and Canada. We get it right the first time, delivering the most comprehensive electrical services including installation, upgrade, and repair solutions available.  

Angi Certified

STREB ELECTRIC

We have been a Family Owned business for over 30 years. We handle all Residential Service and Repair Electrical needs. No job is too large or too small. We belong to the Eaton Certified Contractor Network. We are a Drug Free Company and offer a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Licensed, Bonded & Insured. We use a Straight Forward Pricing system where you know the price of the job before we start.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

12010 Girdled Rd.

Painesville, OH 44077

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

C Sumer Electric Co is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

C Sumer Electric Co is open:

Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

C Sumer Electric Co accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check

No, C Sumer Electric Co does not offer free project estimates.

No, C Sumer Electric Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, C Sumer Electric Co does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, C Sumer Electric Co offers emergency services.

No, C Sumer Electric Co does not offer warranties.

C Sumer Electric Co offers the following services: Residential, commercial & industrial lighting.