Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Jim's Upholstery

Founded 1965 • With Angi since January 2001

4.8

(27) Verified Reviews

Upholstering - Boat & Auto

Description

Cost determined by the job....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

02/18/2015


James B.

I dropped off the section of sofa on December 13th. I wanted one half of the two-cushion section re-upholstered utilizing material from the back of it. I wanted new foam installed, the man who does the work said they have two densities of foam and asked me which one I wanted. I said I'll have to have my wife stop in and tell you because that's where she sits. He said he'll call when he gets to the point where she can come in and test the two types of foam on our sofa. I also mentioned that the frame needed a screw replaced, and it needed a new piece of cardboard and foam in the arm rest. I had brought the sofa section into the store in pieces and showed him the issues. I also brought 8 photos of how the sofa looked before I took it apart, and of the areas needing repair. Carol and I agreed on a price of $500 plus $32.50 in tax and she scribbled it down on paper. She said they wouldn't be able to start on it until after Christmas. Four weeks after Christmas I got the call for my wife to check the types of foam. She went in, for the first time for her, and told them which type she wanted them to use. A week after that I got the call that it was done. When I got there I found that the bill was now $200 higher than I was quoted. She wanted $697.50 and told me that the extra was for the new foam. She pointed to the chicken-scratching (her hand writing) on the original quote that stated something about the customer to check about foam, or words to that effect. I reminded her that the "checking" was referring to my wife coming down and telling her which type of foam, not whether or not we wanted new foam. We discussed this for a while and she finally said "let's just split the difference and I'll charge $600". I was tired of arguing and wanted to get the h*** out of there so I agreed, paid her, got my sofa and left. $600 was a horrible price to pay to have one cushion re-upholstered, two pieces of seat foam replaced and a few very minor repairs to the frame, ... and she was going to charge me $700. Not to mention it took them 6 weeks to do it.

Description of Work
Re-upholstered a section of a sofa and made minor repairs.

Category upholstery

5.0

08/14/2014


TERESA G.

I am so impressed with the outcome! I am putting in a banquette in my family room and had Jim’s produce the cushions to my measurements. I have bought higher end furniture from companies such as Hickory Chair and Century and not seen work this exacting. The back of the banquette is a large headboard looking piece of tufted upholstery. It is beautiful. It really is a feature wall in the room. I have work done at this shop before but nothing that required this level of skill. I am so happy.

Description of Work
Two large cushions, 8 throw pillows, tufted back banquette

Category upholstery

5.0

04/21/2014


LENORE W.

Involved me in the whole process. Went in to try out the different cushions to be sure I got what I wanted. Process was done in a timely manner. All employees helpful and easy to work with.

Description of Work
Rebuilt and upholstered an eighty year old sofa and upholstered another sofa.

Category upholstery

5.0

09/26/2013


william F.

Took about 3 months. Their work is unparalleled. Museum quality. Still when discussing the price with "virtually" everyone, i've been told that Jim's is far above the "high" side.

Description of Work
Re upholstered an antique chair.

Category upholstery

5.0

12/10/2012


Lynn S.

I brought the cushions in, asked the price, which was comparable to other places. However, they showed me samples of different densities and had me sit on them to decide which foam filling I wanted. They also explained the differences in the densities, which helped. I have more cushions to have done and will definitely take them to Jim's Upholstery.

Description of Work
I brought sofa cushions in to be re-stuffed. They did a great job, including re-installing the buttons on each cushion.

Category upholstery

5.0

12/03/2012


Larry N.

They picked the sofas up on time, serviced them in the time specified, and returned them on time. All done at a price that was competitive with other estimates. Interfaced with three employees. All were helpful and courteous.

Description of Work
We replaced the foam and padding in two large leather sofas. They were 16 years old and were really showing their age. They now look like new ... maybe better than new?

Category upholstery

5.0

04/12/2010


GENE L.

We were THRILLED with the results and with the whole experience. They had more fabric and trim choices than anywhere else we'd been at very good prices. They offered great suggestions throughout and let us visit after work had begun. The upholsterers were EXPERT ARTISANS who went to the trouble to center motifs in a busy design in the tufting on the back and on the seat of each piece and in the center of each footstool so that the finished pieces are positively BREATHTAKING! The pick up and delivery were right on time and the furniture was handled with great care. The repaired settee is as good as new and is more comfortable than it ever was before! They gave us an accurate timeline and delivered the finished pieces a little early. We would use them again without hesitation!

Description of Work
Reupholstered antique sofa with 2 matching chairs and 2 footstools, replacing springs, padding and covering after re-gluing all wood connections on the frames. Copied the original complicated tufting on all pieces. Also re-webbed and retied springs on an antique settee without having to remove its fabric or padding. They provided pick-up and delivery of the pieces as well.

Category upholstery

4.0

07/22/2009


Walda O.

Once again, the outcome was really beautiful. They agreed refinish the bench legs and said it would have to be done separately because the insurance company does not like them stripping, painting, and revarnishing. I gave them the bench on May 4, 2009, and it was completed July 15, 2009. I cannot tell you how many times I called and heard excuses. The bench is 48 inches long and about 14 inches wide. I could not even begin to judge whether the $500 price is reasonable or not. I did not check anywhere else. It just felt like a really, really lots of money for the project.

Description of Work
The service performed was absolutely beautiful and professionally done. I had an antique bench that needed a new seat. Jim's upholstery was nearby and sounded friendly and businesslike on the phone. We spent at least an hour picking out the fabric. As long as I was going to redo the seat I asked if they would refinish the wooden legs. They were black with antique gold markings.

Category upholstery

5.0

07/18/2008


Lynn M.

Wonderful! Carol is so patient while costumer chooses fabric - I was back and forth a number of times with samples and swatches. She is also knowledgeable about what fabric choices they have - and was able to steer me toward the fabric books that worked best with my colors and patterns. The work was completed 2 weeks earlier than I had requested. Detail and craftsmanship of work were terrific. I had had these chairs done previously by another company years ago and the chairs were unstable, squeaky, and very uncomfortable. Now they are beautiful, comfortable, sturdy, and no squeaks! They replaced the webbing and put in sturdy new wire springs with thick padding under the fabric. Their attention to detail is terrific. A week before the chairs were done Carol called and asked me to come in and look at them. They were concerned that the decorative tacks and finished edge I had selected were not right, and they wanted me to take a look to be sure. When I arrived, the guys had made up 8 different selections with my fabric, different braids and finished edges, and different tacks to choose from! I was overwhelmed that they would take that much time and effort to make sure I would be happy with the finished product. (And they were right - what I had originally chosen was not the best option - after looking at the mock ups, I chose a different braid and tack. The chairs look much better now than with what I had selected originally.) Wonderful job, very nice to deal with, definitely going back with more items!

Description of Work
Reupholster 7 dining room side chairs and 1 arm chair. Replaced springs, seating, and fabric. These were antique chairs. A craftsman who had recently refinished the wood told me that they were high quality antiques, so I wanted them done right!

Category upholstery

5.0

02/21/2008


KATE AND MARK K.

They were wonderful! They were so polite and very conscientious. They did really beautiful work.

Description of Work
They recovered a chair.

Category upholstery

    Services Offered

    Pick up and delivery, upholstery repair of boats, home, cars, home furniture & leather.

    Services Not Offered

    Convertible car tops.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details