Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling

Founded 1953 • With Angi since February 2011

4.2

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1414 Niles Cortland Rd

Niles, OH 44446

Description

Lou Carbone Plumbing, Heating & Cooling has been trusted by Mahoning Valley residents for nearly 60 years! Lou and Evelyn Carbone founded the business in Niles, Ohio in 1953, with only a small office and one pick-up truck. Today, Lou Carbone Plumbing, Heating & Cooling operates with eight stocked

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/03/2016


rosann R.

Description of Work
the came they looked they left. Here approximately 40 minutes or less. Owner did come one evening. His goal was to sell a new furnace. He did promptly email costs.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

1.0

02/10/2016


Frederick B.

Category plumbing

2.0

09/01/2015


THERESA H.

The only thing I can thank him for was shutting down, not off, the leak. He said I needed a new tank and told it would probably be a Rheem and the price would be "about a grand". When asked about the guarantee period he shrugged and said...Well it's a Rreem. He also said I would receive a call from the office to confirm before the office closed. I didn't. When I called the office to inquire what was going on the receptionist told me that it had to be ordered and it 'might probably' be in today. What brand? A Rheem. What's this going to run me? Didn't he tell you? Well..about a thousand. So what's the problem? Guarantee? 6 years. When can I expect it to be installed? When it gets it. Can you give me an idea so I can govern myself accordingly? When the truck delivers it. Today? Tomorrow? Next week? Wow. When I asked why they didn't call back she said'why would we call back?' Because you said you would actually. Bottom line while they did come out in a reasonable time they did not shut down the leak nor provide me with a the very least a written estimate as to What I was Getting andWhen. Cancelled them. Called another company (Komar) got a firm estimate. Know What I'm getting and When. New plumber was on time, with tools and Parts. Problem solved. You will see another review that says Carbone does not return calls. Believe it. They are not knowledgable, nor in my instance...professional. Won't recommend,won't use again. Period. I don't know if they will charge me for the 'service call' or not apparently information to them is not for consumer consumption. Frustrating. Made a frustrating experience worse

Description of Work
My water heater valve connection sprung a hefty leak. I had water gushing and the valves were stuck open. I called and they had someone out within an hour. He lessened the leak to a constant drip and left telling me a needed a new heater and left.

Category plumbing

3.0

07/11/2015


Nancy V.

Never followed thru to provide estimate 2 times I had to call

Description of Work
Write yo estimate

Category plumbing

5.0

07/09/2015


Joan K.

Description of Work
It went well. We were worried it was a bigger problem. It was a simple fix and they came out quickly and fixed it properly.

Category plumbing

4.0

06/11/2015


CAROL B.

Description of Work
Replaced boiler furnace. Experienced some installation issues. In process of those being corrected. Installer was very knowledgable and efficient.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

06/04/2015


Gregory L.

Category plumbing

4.0

02/19/2015


teresann D.

Description of Work
Fixed my leak. It went well but wanted to sell me new products. They may have been correct but their repair solved my problem.

Category plumbing

3.0

06/25/2014


Laura M.

The guy arrived on time and was friendly. He replaced the hot water tank within an hour's time. We are not unhappy with the service. However, we were not informed that Carbone's charges a flat rate of $818.00 for replacing a hot water tank regardless of how long it takes to be replaced. Maybe we should have asked about the cost ahead of time...Nevertheless, we were disappointed that we weren't informed about the flat rate up front. This information is also not available on Carbon's website. We believe we overpaid significantly.

Description of Work
Replaced hot water tank.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

02/19/2014


Steven B.

I will be using them again for future plumbing needs...as long as the price is right.

Description of Work
I had a PVC vent pipe leaking in my attic. They went into my attic, cut out the pipe that was leaking and replaced it. They also provided me with a free estimate for other work that I need done.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/18/2013


Gay K.

We have previously, had them do work on our bathroom ,also. It was a very reasonable price. Do good work. We would call them again for repairs.

Description of Work
Fixed air conditioner. Came out within a few hours of us calling. Very HOT day, we are very thankful for their reponsiveness.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/13/2013


Carlotta G.

Very pleased with the outcome and they were professional and they were knowledgeable in performing the job at hand. They cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Had sanitary sewer pipe and water closet replaced.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/13/2012


Barbara W.

They were very careful, and because they had to come in and out of the house a lot, careful in what they were doing, took care of my home, and cleaned up completely. We had an old water heater, furnace radiator, lot of mess. They were very clean, took their time, and were aware of our needs. I would use their services again in the future if I need to.

Description of Work
I used the services of Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling this past winter.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

06/26/2012


heidi P.

Worst plumbers ever. First the lady was rude when I called, I still set an appointment. I was not given a time but was told the plumber would call before he came out. The day of the appointment the plumber called four time to say he was on his way then would call a few minuets before he was to arrive to tell me he decided to go on another appointment instead. It was so inconvenient, I had to keep leaving work and then returning. When he did show up he showed no Identification, Kept putting down our home, and acted like I was a really big bother to come out on this call just to fix a leaky pipe. Then he tried to use a compression fitting because he didn't feel like bringing in his tools. I could have done that. He made no effort to clean up at the end and left a huge mess. Will NEVER use again. What a joke.

Description of Work
I had I leaking pipe in the walls and ceiling.

Category plumbing

1.0

06/07/2012


Margaret H.

Did not go very well considering we never got a phone call or free estimate.

Description of Work
My husband called this company on 5/25/12 and explained we were moving washer and dryer to first floor and needed a gas line and vent put in for dryer. My husband was told it would cost $49.00 for the estimate and they would call back in couple of days. On Angies list this company says "free estimate" and the also never called back. Very disappointed because we had heard they do excellant work but will not call again.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

I was alerted to the bad rating on Angie's list and immediately researched. The work order was placed inadvertently on the wrong dispatch table and it is 100% our fault. There also was some mis-communication between the receptionist and Mr. Member. Our estimates are free. We charge $49 for a service charge on a regular call. Not estimates. I called Mrs. Member and explained what happened. I appreciated her understanding and advised her that she would receive a discount on her next service call. We pride ourselves in our good customer service, but to error is human. Hopefully we will keep Mr. and Mrs. Member as valued customers. Nancy Carbone Nancycarbone@loucarboneplumbing.net
5.0

05/22/2012


Clara W.

I called Carbon's office and the person I spoke with took my info and the problem, said she would try to have someone come the same day. She called me later in the day to let me know that they would not be able to come til the next morning. I thought it was very nice that she called and let me know. And since it was not an emergency it was ok. The fellow came the next morning, put a new plastic line in and a new shut off valve, he had to work under the house in a crawl space. He was very professional and efficient. I would call them again for any plumbing needs.

Description of Work
Copper tubing from water line to frig ice maker broke, shut off valve not working.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/05/2012


Shannon R.

.This is the first time I used them and I felt very good about them. I would use them again.

Description of Work
.They had to reroute some plumbing lines.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/13/2012


Janet E.

I had a great experience with Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling.

Description of Work
We had Lou come out for some plumbing work.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/08/2012


Dolores V.

My furnace was not working when I awoke on December 29, 2011. I called Carbone Plumbing, and the serviceman came within two hours of calling for service. He was courteous and performed the service quickly and efficiently, and I found the charge to be fair.

Description of Work
Found and replaced thermocouple on furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Member, Thank you for posting a report on your experience with our company. We always like feedback so that we may strive to meet the customers needs. I am sending a coupon today for a discount on future services. Thanks again, Nancy Carbone
4.0

11/22/2011


Patricia J.

They were okay. They did great plumbing work.

Description of Work
I used Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling for plumbing work.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Member, We appreciate your feedback on the service you recieved from our company. It helps us to meet our customers needs more efficienty. I am sending you a coupon for a discount on any future services you may need. Thanks Again, Nancy Carbone
5.0

09/27/2011


Kathlean B.

The technician arrived right on time, was very professional and went to work immediately. He had everything with him that he needed to do the job. He completed the job and cleaned up any mess created by the job.

Description of Work
They installed a backup battery for our sump pump and performed a few small plumbing chores.

Category plumbing, wells

Service Provider Response

Member, We appreciate you taking the time to rate our company on Angie's List. We strive to put the customer and their needs first and all feedback is very important to us. In appreciation, you will be receiving a coupon in the mail to use for future plumbing or heating needs.
5.0

09/21/2011


JONATHAN O.

The gentlemen that came actually did work for my Rite Aid Store in Hubbard. He is very professional, punctual and listened to my concerns.

Description of Work
1.) Replaced toilet wax seal and installed new flange. 2.) Snaked the bathroom sink and replaced pipes. 3.) Replaced ring connecting drains under kitchen sing. 4.) Replaced 3/4" copper water line under utility sink in basement. Also, made recommendations to sewer drains located under utility sink, basement floor and garage floor.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/07/2011


Mary W.

They are dependable and there work is done really well. I have used them several times.

Description of Work
They have worked on our plumbing.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Member, We appreciate you taking the time to rate our company on Angie's List. In appreciation, you will be receiving a coupon in the mail to use toward future plumbing or heating needs.
5.0

08/07/2011


Dolores V.

I called on the weekend and left message, and call was returned on Monday morning. Prompt return of call. Appointment set up and repairman arrived at appointed time. Work was finished efficiently and promptly No problem.

Description of Work
Checked toilet and replaced fill valve mechanism (I had already purchased the kit). Checked kitcen faucet for slow flow of water. Replaced cartridge and faucet aerator.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/25/2011


ron S.

They are the only plumbers I have ever used. There was water dripping out of my bathroom ceiling. Apparently, the flange in the upstairs toilet had broken. They completed the work very recently. They charged me about $300 on the job. They took the old toilet out and they fixed the flange. They fixed everything, but the damage was already done to the downstairs ceiling. They did really well. They sent somebody out when I called them. The guy, who came out, was very knowledgeable and very polite. He covered other issues when he came out. Since it was snowing, he came out a little late. I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling, a few days ago.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Member, I see that you have been a customer since 2009 and we appreciate your continued loyalty. You will be receiving a coupon in the mail, to use for future plumbing or heating needs, as a thank you for taking the time to rate our company.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Honesty Plumbing, LLC

    We specialize in affordable basement waterproofing, please call 330-207-7254 for a free estimate. Over 25 years of plumbing experience. Honest and dependable. Specializing in affordable basement waterproofing.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Charles Burrows and Sons Well and Pump

    Call Bob 330-717-6824 Call Rob 330-717-7852 Find us on Facebook!  

    Angi Certified

    Any Drain, Anytime

    with 20+ years of plumbing experience let Any Drain, Anytime be your guide through the stressful situation of a clogged drain or minor plumbing repair. Feel free to check out my work on my Facebook page! You will find more reviews and videos of some of my jobs.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial repair & installation of plumbing, heating, air conditioner, water heaters, furnaces, boilers, heat pumps, sump pumps, central air conditioning, geothermal heating & cooling, commercial rooftop hvac, sewer and drain cleaning, sewer jetting, drain & sewer lines, water & gas lines.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling

    How is Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling overall rated?

    Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling open?

    Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling provide

    Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offers free project estimates.

    Does Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offer emergency services?

    Yes, Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling?

    Yes, Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offers warranties.

    What services does Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offer?

    Lou Carbone Plumbing Heating & Cooling offers the following services: Residential and commercial repair & installation of plumbing, heating, air conditioner, water heaters, furnaces, boilers, heat pumps, sump pumps, central air conditioning, geothermal heating & cooling, commercial rooftop hvac, sewer and drain cleaning, sewer jetting, drain & sewer lines, water & gas lines.