Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CM Consulting Group Inc

Founded 2005 • With Angi since July 2006

5.0

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6064 Hyde St

Mentor, OH 44060

Description

Residential draftsman for new homes and additions/renovations

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
steve I.
5.0
05/04/2017
Work in progress.
Description of Work
Make construction drawings to build 2 homes.
Category
architect
Victor T.
5.0
05/27/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Technical drawings for a house addition. Nice and efficient work.
Category
architect
Peter E.
5.0
10/09/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Provided design consultation and final drawings for significant remodeling to our 1920's-era house. Also provided cost estimates for all phases of the work, which have proven to be quite close to our actual costs.
Category
architect
Lynn K.
5.0
07/21/2015
.
Description of Work
JOE THE OWNER DREW UP ARCHITECTURAL PLANS. HE WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL.
Category
architect
Lynn K.
5.0
07/09/2015
unknown
Category
architect
STEVE B.
5.0
06/23/2014
unknown
Description of Work
So far so good with Joe. He is very patient and allows the homeowner to express what they are trying to do. I am excited to review the first phase of the drawings to help determine where to put the sunroom on my house.
Category
architect
Diane A.
5.0
10/14/2013
Working with Joe on designs for a remodel was very good. He is thorough, knowledgeable & patient.
Description of Work
Designs.
Category
architect
Steven B.
5.0
10/08/2013
Experienced with architects and designers from past personal projects, CM Consulting group has earned time for a 5 star review! Joe, owner of CM consulting group has been a true blessing during a very detailed and "would be" difficult project. Due to CM Consulting Group, the construction project has been much more "trouble-free" than usual, for multiple reasons due to Joe and his team. 1. Professional, on-time, and always communicates! 2. Hands on Experience: Joe built homes with his hands, he knows construction, which means passing inspections along with saving money and reduced aggravation in the long run. 3. Pricing: No-Suprises! - Come to an agreement for the job and CM consulting will not continue to add hours like most architechts/designers! 4. Customer Service : Two Examples - A... We had substantial ceiling/vault work completed, Joe was there anytime he was called apon, assuring us he will stop by anytime to make sure the carpenters where following the drawings. B... We also moved a shower from the original wall to an exterior wall (concerned with the cold winters and water pipes freezing). When construction commenced, Joe assured us to not to worry, as the drawings have been approved by the city for a reason. We followed all the blueprints which stated how to install and what products to use for the water lines, along with how to insulate the exterior wall and water lines properly. (FYI - Pex water pipes along with R-49 insulation). CM Consulting, Excellent Job! Your in the appointment book for the Kitchen in a few months! Steven
Description of Work
Drawings for a high end Master Suite renovation, approval by the Village of Moreland Hills was mandatory.
Category
architect
isaac L.
5.0
07/08/2013
Joe was great to work with. He was professional, patient, flexible and very helpful in helping us arrive at the house we wanted. We went through many hours of planning and reviewing drawings and adding and subtracting - all through out, Joe continued to be patient and thoughtful and flexible, sometimes coming late in the evening to accomodate our schedules. We believe Joe goes above and beyond to help his clients.
Description of Work
Joe from CM Consulting Group helped plan and draft drawings for a major renovation in beachwood.
Category
architect
James A.
5.0
03/06/2013
We were very, very please with them. We explained what we wanted and they gave us drawings. We then submitted them to the city, who told us we needed to revise them. He redrew them and gave us a number of different options. On top of that we also found another variant that we needed to work with, and he represented us at a zoning board meeting, made sure everything was lined up, and then we were able to do the job. We were very please with how the look came out.
Description of Work
They did a drawing for an addition to a master bathroom to our house.
Category
architect
Debra K.
5.0
09/22/2012
We had a great experience with him. He listened to everything we wanted and designed it into the home.
Description of Work
He completely designed our home and did the blue prints. He would follow up with any issues during the build.
Category
architect
philip S.
5.0
09/02/2012
We were trying to find an architect for months and could not even get call backs. That's when I went on to Angie's List and found CM Consulting group. Joe returned our call that day and within a week we met with him to discuss what we wanted done. After the first meeting we knew that this was the architect for us. Joe was professional and very detail oriented. We could not have asked for a better experience. We gave our inputs and thoughts and Joe made them come to life. We started with an idea for a house and Joe gave us blueprints for the home of our dreams. I would highly recommend CM Consulting group for your architectural needs.
Description of Work
CM Consulting Group created blueprints for a new home for my wife and I.
Category
architect
WALTER Y.
5.0
05/06/2011
We couldn't be more pleased with Joe and how he took us from the concept of redesigning our home to completion of the actual build. He listened intently, was exceptionally responsive and provided us an accurate cost estimate for what we could expect to pay for a complete renovation and addition and acted as our general contractor throughout the process. Joe is a professional in every sense and someone who truly understands the building industry and process as well as understanding how to work with his clients. His primary work is as an architect but he is more than that. He is a home planner, designer and facilitator of the building trades. We were very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with Joe. His prices are reasonable and most importantly his work is outstanding. I will use him again and again and we highly recommend him to anyone considering the smallest job to a an extensive total house remodel as we did. You will be very happy that you chose him. I don't think we could have found a better individual to work with us throughout the process. Designing, remodeling and building a home is not 100% predictable and it is not a stress free undertaking. Joe Calderwood takes the worry out and resolves the unpredictable events to allow you to have confidence that the end product will exceed your expectations.
Description of Work
Joe worked with us on a major renovation of our home from start to finish. We began in 2009 and finished in April of 2011. We literally redesigned our home and stripped it down to the joists and added on about 1000 square feet. We were out of town for the majority of the renovation of our home and Joe acted as the home planner, architect and part time general contractor. He was an extra set of eyes and provided extensive advice on who the best contractors/bulders were for the work on our home. He ensured the work was done correctly and if there was an issue he made sure it was fixed correctly.
Category
architect
Carl V.
5.0
04/20/2010
Joe was wonderful to work with. He was quite easy-going and always very professional. As first time home renovators, both my wife and I felt completely comfortable (and confident) with him and his work. Thanks Joe and we would highly recommend you time and time again...
Description of Work
Drew up house addition plans - master bedroom & family room.
Category
architect
Mia S.
5.0
10/29/2009
He was very thorough and professional. The quality of his work was good and I was satisfied with his service.
Description of Work
He came and took measurements and drew plans for me for some architecture work.
Category
architect
WALTER Y.
5.0
09/30/2009
We couldn't be more pleased with the work that has been done. In early stages but so far we have been very pleased.
Description of Work
Total detailed remodel drawings and estimated cost of job. Outstanding company and individual. Top notch.
Category
architect
Ursula V.
5.0
02/09/2009
Will definitely call him for phase two and three of our renovation.
Description of Work
Joe was knowlegeable. He drew up a plan of interior design changes we and he developed. Presented us with a plan which we only added to in a minor way and is now drawing up blueprints for the building permit and a cost estimate of the work to be done.
Category
architect
DONNA G.
5.0
10/27/2008
They are very responsive. He seemed to understand exactly what we wanted. He understood that we were working with a limited budget. Quick turn around time. Was great at calling back and keeping in touch with email.
Description of Work
They came out and took measurements and discussed a long term renovation that we would like to do in stages. He then drew up plans for the stages.
Category
architect
SUSAN B.
5.0
09/29/2008
He is very personable and I was able to work with him very easily. He did a good job drawing up plans. He took into consideration what I wanted and was able to draw things up the way I explained. I would've liked to see some houses and examples of his work, but after two requests none came forward.
Description of Work
He came to my place and assessed my home. He drew up sketches for construction done in the house.
Category
architect
Lee S.
5.0
03/20/2008
Great person to work with ... he listened to my ideas of what I was looking for, and inserted ideas and concepts based on his experience and knowledge in the industry.
Description of Work
Joe created first a drawing for my master suite remodel that was a concept, based on all the input that I had given him. He hit a home run out of the chute! He then created detailed drawings for my builder.
Category
architect
CHARMAINE R.
5.0
11/21/2007
unknown
Description of Work
They did some design work for me.
Category
architect
MARGARET P.
5.0
11/02/2006
Joe Calderwood is a people person. He met with us and got information as to exactly what we were trying to do to our home. He drew up the plans, wrote a complete spec sheet for all phases of our project. He met with us every couple of weeks to give us updates on the project. The first contractor we had hired ended up having to be fired early on in the project and C&M Consulting had been giving us written documentation as to all the problems and errors they had been making. The second contractor turned out to be one we will definitely use again. C&M had no problem working with them. C&M made suggestions, changes in the drawings when necessary while all the time keeping us up to date about the progress. I have recommended this company to others since we were so happy with their performance.
Description of Work
Acted as our architect and project manager for the addition of a room, three car detached garage and completion of a 3200 square foot basement (including a full bath and a kitchen).
Category
architect

    Other local Pros in your area

    Lost Pond Construction Inc

    We are a remodeling and home improvement firm that incorporates highly consultative design services with exceptional workmanship in each project we complete. We foster collaboration with home owners through all phases of design and completion. Superb attention to detail and tireless pursuit of quality means that the work we do will be done in a manner that is sure to please and provide years of maintenance free reliability. Further Coupon Description: Let us help transform your remodeling dreams into reality. Sign up for a customized Design Agreement. We will come to your house, take photos and measurements, then develop floor plans for your project that can be used to focus your vision of what the finished product will look like. Prices typically range from $300 to $750 depending on the size and scope of your project. 50% discount applies to development of design drawings only. Please call for more information and to see examples of designs other clients have had done.  

    Angi Certified

    Buckeye Contracting

    Buckeyes Contracting LLC has been in business for two decades and has experience in a variety of construction projects, including residential and commercial projects. It's important to work with a contractor who has both the knowledge and experience to deliver high-quality results on time and within budget, Buckeyes Contracting is committed to providing just that. Our emphasis on top-quality service and unique style is also noteworthy.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Consulting - residential home plan designing & construction drawings, residential cost analysis & specifications.

    Services Not Offered

    Residential general contracting & construction management.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CM Consulting Group Inc

    How is CM Consulting Group Inc overall rated?

    CM Consulting Group Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does CM Consulting Group Inc provide

    CM Consulting Group Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does CM Consulting Group Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, CM Consulting Group Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does CM Consulting Group Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, CM Consulting Group Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CM Consulting Group Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, CM Consulting Group Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by CM Consulting Group Inc?

    No, CM Consulting Group Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does CM Consulting Group Inc offer?

    CM Consulting Group Inc offers the following services: Consulting - residential home plan designing & construction drawings, residential cost analysis & specifications.

    Are there any services CM Consulting Group Inc does not offer?

    Residential general contracting & construction management.