Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Friendly Sweeps

Founded 1986 • With Angi since July 2006

4.6

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4034 Fenn Rd

Medina, OH 44256

Description

Cost is determined by the job and work needing completed. I am able to work hourly or by job estimate.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/08/2018


Diane S.

Great. They didn’t need to actually sweep the chimney, and didn’t bother going through the motions just to increase the bill.

Description of Work
Inspection of fireplace/chimney in our new home. The house had been foreclosed and empty for over a year so we had no knowledge of the history. Friendly Sweeps checked out the chimney so we knew it was ready to use.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

05/12/2018


Marilyn L.

I called on Tuesday, and my work was scheduled for the next day. Lee called to let me know they could be here a half hour early for the appointment if that was ok, which I appreciated. Replaced missing cap on chimney and cleaned chimney and fireplace after inspecting it for any damages. Need a new ash door for in the basement which they said they would have to order and schedule another appointment with me to replace it. Also, I asked Lee for info on new glass doors for the fireplace and he promised to follow up on that too. They were friendly, punctual and got right to work as soon as they got here.

Description of Work
Replacing a missing chimney cap and cleaning and inspecting the chimney and fireplace.

Category fireplaces

5.0

09/01/2016


Carolyn K.

Highly recommend Friendly Sweeps. Very professional and very satisfied with work performed at my home in Brunswick. Work done in a timely manner and would not think twice to call on them again if the need arises. A+ Rating

Description of Work
Chimney Repair

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

04/22/2016


JULIE FRIEDMAN AND CHUCK B.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/15/2015


Oraline J.

Description of Work
Clean fireplace chimney, and repaired some cracks in the firebox.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

07/07/2015


Christy H.

Description of Work
Repaired gas leak in fireplace

Category chimney sweep

2.0

02/24/2015


Lisa T.

When I first contacted Lee in November, I explained that I had problems with drafts in my fireplace. He immediately suggested a chimney cap, which as I understood it, prevented drafts from blowing in, but still allowed smoke to blow out. We set up an appointment, he showed up on time and installed the cap. He did an inspection of the fireplace, and also installed a new easy-to-reach wire opener for the damper, as opposed to the latch that required reaching up to get to. However, days later, I still noticed a draft, and in looking up into the fireplace, saw that the wire opener prevented the damper from closing completely. In trying to adjust it, the damper got jammed in an open position and we couldn't fix it. I called Lee, and he came back - unscheduled, and my young adult sons weren't sure who was at our door or why, until they called to ask me if it was OK to let him in. He adjusted the damper. When I got home, it was still drafty, and I discovered that he'd left it completely open! I called and left messages several times. He finally called back. He did apologize for the delay, saying that he had several jobs, including snow removal which had kept him (understandably) busy. We discussed what needed to be done. He was to shut off the gas (we've actually never even used the fireplace), remove the wire and shut the damper 100%. He arrived as scheduled, with my teen son at home knowing to let him, and he did the work. But he had the nerve to leave an invoice for another $65! I have not paid it, nor do I intend to, as it took him 3x to stop the draft which should have been stopped the first time. Should have been. Our fireplace is still somewhat drafty, and I've covered it with plastic, which helps. But with the extreme cold temperatures we've endured this month, this room is still the coldest room in the house. Not sure if there is more going on there, and before next winter, I may contact another company to take a look. I do want to add that Lee was always pleasant on the phone, it's just that I was unhappy with the service.

Description of Work
Installed a cap at the top of the chimney to prevent drafts.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces, snow removal

Service Provider Response

Upon arrival to this customer's house, I was greeted by her husband and a very nice man at that. I installed a top ceiling damper for her which is a replacement for the current inefficient damper in the fireplace. This top ceiling damper caps off the chimney at the top exterior of the chimney and is the best option on the market for fireplaces. It does have a wire that comes down the flue and is mounted in the firebox so it can be opened if you choose to have a fire in the fireplace. In doing this I explained to her husband that per Ohio Revised code, I was not able to completely close the damper due to the vented fireplace she has in her fireplace. These vented logs requires a opening in the damper to prevent carbon monoxide from building up in the house if the damper remains closed and they turn the vented gas logs on. I left her the warranty card and all the information about the damper for her information. Apparently this information wasn't communicated to her. She called back after trying to "adjust" the damper to get it to close all the way and I rushed out the same day. I did say I was going to try and get there that day but wasn't sure when. She mentioned her son would be there after 3. I did show up without a call ahead (my fault) given the importance of carbon monoxide and the hazards it may cause the homeowner if the fireplace is turned on. I repaired the "adjustment" they tried to do for free and called the homeowner back to explain it had to say open which is out of my hands. Its the law, not my choice. I also explained the current damper in the fireplace is now ineffective given we moved the damper to the top of the chimney. She requested a few days later that I come back and cap off the gas line permanently to the fireplace in which I could then shut the damper all the way and help with the drafting issue. I went back a third time and did the work beyond the warranty of the top ceiling damper. I disconnected the gas line from the log set and plugged it off, adjusted the top ceiling damper to close fully and yes left a invoice for this additional work ($60 for time and materials, not profit). Her choice not to pay it is disappointing. This room is a sunken living room on a slab off the house, it will be the coldest of the house forever just based on nature. The draft has been stopped from the chimney, but the room will forever be cold, just not as cold as before.
4.0

01/13/2015


Leslie L.

.

Description of Work
They installed a new gas fireplace unit. It went well, and the unit is still working fine.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

4.0

12/30/2014


Ronald W.

he arrived on time. took a lot of care not to get the room/carpet dirty. did a very thorough job.

Description of Work
cleaned out our chimney.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/20/2013


George K.

Lee is very professional and Knowledgeable in his field. He is very friendly and will explain everything that he is doing! He cleaned two fireplaces and repaired one that had a crack in the chimney.

Description of Work
Cleaned two chimneys and minor repair of one chimney.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

2.0

08/22/2013


Brian H.

Lee did the Level II inspection of our fireplace/chimney when we were purchasing our home (He was hired by the seller). There was some water damage on the inside wall above the fireplace. We were told this was caused by a loose stone that fell inside the chimney and water got in. We were also told that this had been repaired. After the Level II inspection (which we insisted on), I called Lee to discuss the outcome (his receipt said all was good) and the water damage issue. I spoke to Lee for about 15 minutes, asking numerous questions. He assured me there were no issues. We went through with the purchase of the home. Approximately seven weeks later, a water spot formed in the exact spot that was damaged before (and what prompted the inspection). We had two different contractors come out and both have said the same things - multiple issues with the chimney including missing caulk/sealant and a rusted through flashing around the top of the chimney (which you can see from the ground). They both said these items should have been caught by the Level II inspection and that is was highly doubtful that a loose stone caused the damage. We contacted Lee and let him know what had transpired since the inspection and purchase of the house. We gave him multiple chances to come out and look at the damage which he kept assuring us that he would do. Suffice to say, after four to five discussions and promises to come over, we gave up trying.

Description of Work
Performed a Level II inspection per our request for a home we were considering buying at the time

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

A level II inspection as well as all level's of chimney inspections are performed based on chimney operation, safety and use. It does not involve water damage inspection to attic, walls or siding. Those inspections fall on the shoulders of your home inspector. This fireplace and flue does not have any signs of water damage and all the components are in good working condition as I stated on my inspection. I called a few times and the home owner was not available for an appointment as their availability is late on weekdays.
5.0

11/08/2012


Cheryl C.

Lee and his assistant were very pleasant and professional. They examined the fire box looking for cracks and potential problems, looked up the flue for problems, then cleaned it, taking time to cover their working area so as to not spread any soot in the house. Lee then asked if there were smoke and carbon monoxide detectors in the house along with any fire extinguishers. I thought that was a great question just for overall safety in the house. I was very pleased with his work.

Description of Work
I had Friendly Sweep come out to clean and examine my chimney flue.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

09/18/2012


Abby M.

The price was great and he was very informative.

Description of Work
I have used Friendly Sweeps for chimney sweeps.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

05/03/2012


Eduard P.

Very good service and the price was right. He was able to schedule quickly, and the work was performed in the evening which was convinient.

Description of Work
He installed a lock-top damper and replaced the ash door inside the fireplace.

Category chimney caps, fireplaces

5.0

06/19/2011


RICK Z.

Fine. No issues.

Description of Work
Removed chimney swift birds, cleaned out the nests, and installed caps to prevent future issues.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/27/2010


Stanley K.

See above. It went very well. Kevin was very knowledgable and gave us enough information to feel confident in operating both fireplaces (we had just bought the house). Would highly recommend him!

Description of Work
Kevin came out to look at our Ben Franklin fireplace insert to ensure it was ready for use. He indicated it didn't need cleaning (after he inspected it) and instructed my husband how to use it. He also supplied a new temperature gauge and told him how to use that as well. Kevin looked at our gas fireplace also, and said it was working properly and told us we could save a lot on our electric heat by using the gas fireplace to take the chill out of the air.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

09/20/2008


MARK & ANDREA H.

Great. Kevin is just a nice guy. He is always pleasant and efficient. I feel like I can trust him in my house. He suggested cleaning my gas fireplace which had developed a smell when you turned on the blower. I didn't know that it needed maintenance periodically but he took care of it - took the installed door off and cleaned. The wood burning fireplace was cleaned and checked. I also book my cleanings for next yr on the day of service. He gets in touch with me a few weeks prior to the scheduled date by phone and postcard to confirm the date or schedule something more convenient.

Description of Work
Cleaned wood burning chimney, checked flu and chimney inside and out for preventative needs. Cleaned gas fireplace.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

04/13/2007


DAVE M.

I have hired numerous contractors and Kevin and the friendly sweep is one of the few I would recommend to others.

Description of Work
Annual cleaning of masonry chimney. He also sold me a product called anti-creo soot, Kevin has been servicing my chimney for 3 years and he provides an above average service.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

07/21/2006


MARK & ANDREA H.

I would recommend Kevin. He was personable and left the house immaculately clean. Even wore shoe covers.

Description of Work
Cleaned chimney, cleaned fireplace, did safety inspection of all parts of chimney and firebox inside the house.

Category chimney sweep

    Other local Pros in your area

    360 Painting of Strongsville

    If you're ready to give your home a new coat of paint, don't do it alone! Painting your home yourself can not only be time-consuming and stressful, but it can also result in less than professional results. With the help of 360° Painting, you can sit back and relax while our residential painters handle the job with confidence and precision. We are an interior and exterior painting company that provides services for every area. Whether you simply need the kitchen painted or want to change every room in your house, our team can handle it all, and we'll ensure smooth and consistent results free of drips, seams, and inconsistencies.  

    Josh the Window Cleaner

    We are Northeast Ohio's premier window cleaning and power washing company! Our trained technicians are expertly trained to provide top customer service and communicate efficiently. We also have your health in mind by wearing masks at all times.  

    All American Gutters & Power Washing

    Here at All American Gutters & Power Washing we GUARANTEE our work, from a simple cleaning to the most extensive repair. We also specialize in power washing services such as houses, decks, driveways, sidewalks, fences, patios, & roofs etc. Our attention to detail is unmatched, and our work is GUARANTEED! Veteran Owned & Operated.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Anything chimney related from cleaning and caps to tuckpointing and new crowns. Installation of gas logs, woodstoves and inserts with liners. I also do minor electric and plumbing to building decks and basement remodels. Winter time snow plowing for Medina County and hauling of animals and personal belongings.

    Services Not Offered

    Carpet or roofing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Friendly Sweeps

    How is Friendly Sweeps overall rated?

    Friendly Sweeps is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Friendly Sweeps provide

    Friendly Sweeps accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Friendly Sweeps offer free estimates?

    Yes, Friendly Sweeps offers free project estimates.

    Does Friendly Sweeps offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Friendly Sweeps does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Friendly Sweeps offer a senior discount?

    No, Friendly Sweeps does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Friendly Sweeps offer emergency services?

    Yes, Friendly Sweeps offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Friendly Sweeps?

    Yes, Friendly Sweeps offers warranties.

    What services does Friendly Sweeps offer?

    Friendly Sweeps offers the following services: Anything chimney related from cleaning and caps to tuckpointing and new crowns. Installation of gas logs, woodstoves and inserts with liners. I also do minor electric and plumbing to building decks and basement remodels. Winter time snow plowing for Medina County and hauling of animals and personal belongings.

    Are there any services Friendly Sweeps does not offer?

    Carpet or roofing